Tri-Nations latest (Thurs)
26 Aug 2010
Keo.co.za brings you the news from the Tri-Nations.
Pocock ready for Boks
David Pocock acknowledges that the Boks will try to target him on Saturday.
Pocock has proved to be one of the in-form openside flanks in the Tri-Nations this season, a reason why Bok head coach Peter de Villiers wants to restrict him in the Tri-Nations Test at Loftus this weekend.
Pocock said he will try to adapt to being a marked man.
‘It happens and you can’t do too much about it,’ said Pocock. ‘It’s a case of on the field try and play your normal game and, if you have to, trying to work around it.
‘We’re expecting a very fired up and passionate Springboks. You’ve just got to be a bit sharper and be looking up for the big fellas trying to bash you around the ruck, so it’s good fun.’
Van Straaten gives Wallabies kick start
Former Bok flyhalf Braam van Straaten has worked with the Wallabies’ kickers at training this week.
Van Straaten, who played 21 Tests for the Boks, joined the Wallabies’ training sessions on Monday and Tuesday in Cape Town.
On Monday, he arrived towards the end of training to oversee the kicking practice. On Tuesday, he worked with Matt Giteau, Quade Cooper and James O’Connor for two and a half hours to fineturne their run-ups, kicking styles and follow-throughs.
The Wallabies leave for Pretoria on Thursday.

213 Comments
26 Aug 2010, 07:43 am
Bok Dragons!
26 Aug 2010, 07:46 am
Braam v Straaten…. now there is a horrible flashback…..
surely it must have been a nightmare… can’t be true that he played for the boks….
26 Aug 2010, 07:50 am
Sorry guys OZ by 10
Reasons:
Smit puffed at the 60min mark
Pocock to steal to much ball
Steyn to kick what Ball SA get and badly.
Habana playing 25 metres in field
PDV picks the wrong waterboy and then blames NZ
26 Aug 2010, 08:09 am
@Staal(Staal)-2: We once played a backline of van der Westuizen, Koen at 10, and van Straaten at 12! I think we had Dean Hall on one wing and Esterhuizen at 13!
26 Aug 2010, 08:20 am
@Staal(Staal)-2: Was he that bad? I remember in 2000 his goalkicking would have singlehandedly stopped the Wallabies winning the Tri-Nations were it not for a Mortlock kick from the sideline after the whistle.
26 Aug 2010, 08:27 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-4: LOL… those were the days(nightmare). We don’t have as many problems like back in the early 2000′s . Lack of coaching & players. Now its just the coaching!
26 Aug 2010, 08:29 am
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-5:
Yes, he could kick well…
26 Aug 2010, 08:38 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-3: disgaree..
boks by 12
Aussies to tire in the final quarter, only travel to the rarified air today..
Matfields 100th, return of Don Clarkes reincarnated boot..
26 Aug 2010, 08:38 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-7: Haha, say no more.
Regarding that area of his game though, I’m praying all three Aussie goalkickers learn as much as possible, as I think the next 2 weekends could come down to who slots their kicks.
26 Aug 2010, 08:45 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-4: Eina !!! How slow is that !!? lol
26 Aug 2010, 08:51 am
Braam was a great player. Not a total package, but did some things really well. Could kick to save his life, and man was he a defensive machine! His tackle stats back in the day when Harry and Solly were coaching put Corne Krige (another defensive machine) to shame.
And remember, at some stage he was the best we had to offer. Not one of the greats of Springbok rugby but a good servant of the game nonetheless….
26 Aug 2010, 08:55 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-4: Enough to make you puke on your Bok jersey
26 Aug 2010, 08:58 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-4: It was Halstead at 13. Koen at 10, Van Straaten at 12, Halstead at 13. 2001 EOYT.
26 Aug 2010, 08:59 am
Slowpow’s!
26 Aug 2010, 09:03 am
Too close to call….I think the altitude will help us for sure, but they gave us a good whipping last time out, and I think Pocock’s gonna poach our ball like there’s no tomorrow
And I don’t for a second believe Snor’s wheezy bullsh*t about ‘having a plan’..the man hasn’t come up with a ‘plan’ all year.
26 Aug 2010, 09:05 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-8: Look here, little mutant orc, don’t try and curry favour here.
Just because your side beat the Boks fairly and squarely last saturday, doesn’t mean you can come and adopt an I-stand-up-for-the-conquered type of attitude…
26 Aug 2010, 09:09 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-16: Yes! Bugger off and let us try beat someone at least!!
26 Aug 2010, 09:10 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-16: Why can’t you just be nice?
26 Aug 2010, 09:11 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-11:
Braam was a very good cricketer too – played for Northern Transvaal together with the late Gerbrand Grobler who was (as a rugby player) also in the same solid mould as Braam.
26 Aug 2010, 09:11 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-17: Yeah, hear, hear!!! and without a paddy match official in sight, dammit!
26 Aug 2010, 09:12 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-19: Wasn’t Grobler the only man to play (and win?) in Currie Cup cricket and rugby finals?
26 Aug 2010, 09:13 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-18: That i being as nice as possible to soixant-neuf. But to be fair he was gracious in victory – like his team…
Its enough to make you sick…
26 Aug 2010, 09:15 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-19: That’s right! I’d forgotten about that one. Good sportsman.
I remeber old Gerbrand well. He had a couple of really good seasons at fullback. He must be the last guy to have done both at the highest level in SA?
26 Aug 2010, 09:15 am
stuff being nice. i woke up to a news 24 where robert houwing was punting fatso at loosehead….stuff it…i got so upset i gave my cornflakes to the Retriever!
26 Aug 2010, 09:16 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-8:
Your not suppose to disagree dammit.
26 Aug 2010, 09:18 am
Apologies guys for being overly happy and cheerful. I forgot this is Keo. BUT IT’S BY BIRTHDAY SO I CAN’T HELP IT!
26 Aug 2010, 09:19 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-22:
26 Aug 2010, 09:19 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-26: Happy Birthday, young lass…
26 Aug 2010, 09:20 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-26: congrats…..go big young lady…..!
@gecko(gecko)-13: Thanks for that – I knew it was some slow, crash ball specialist!
Not to worry though because with that 9, 10 and 12, I doubt the 13 would have recognised the ball if it ever happened, through some act of god, to head his way!
@grant10(grant10)-24: FFS please don’t hijack this thread as well!!!!!!!!!!!!!
26 Aug 2010, 09:21 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-26: Happy happy!
26 Aug 2010, 09:26 am
@gecko(gecko)-21:
I know he was the fullback the day Pierre Spies (senior)scored the famous winning try in the cc final against the Free State (he in fact converted it).I am not sure whether Northern Tvl won the cc cricket final while he played for them.
26 Aug 2010, 09:26 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-28: @grant10(grant10)-29: @Atreides(Atreides)-32:
Thanks you Guys. I guess it’s going to be Puza Thursday of note. Birthdays are cool. Presents and Flowers and bottles of wine and promises of drinks.
The ladies at my office are too sweet. I walked into an office of balloons and birthday banners.
But that is enough birthday. We are here to talk rugby after all.
Transformation told me that no one has ever won on their 100th cap. Do you guys recon ol Victor is going to change the hoodoo at Fort Loftus?
26 Aug 2010, 09:29 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-34: Enjoy your day, and go get a nice Durban boy tonight to treat you right… There aint no satisfaction from flaccid Cape budgie smuggler wearers
Of course the Boks will win… Plain and simple…
26 Aug 2010, 09:29 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-33: ROBZIM – Didn’t Spies senior play early ’80′s. Grobler played fot NT in the late ’80′s and early ’90′s – then moved to Transvaal early ’90′s. Got an SA A cap if i remember.
26 Aug 2010, 09:30 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-34:
Loftus is not a fort, the Ab’s have averaged 40 points a game there recently. Is there much interest in SA for the battle for the wooden spoon?
26 Aug 2010, 09:33 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-33:
Rob, the new Walter Trout CD out called…COMMON GROUND…All new songs.
The deadly blues continues from a fine guitarist.
Last year he brought out a CD called UNSPOILED BY PROGRESS…Unreleased stuff from a while ago…plus a few new tracks.
Catch a listen…
26 Aug 2010, 09:33 am
News | Fixtures & Results | Tables |
Why Bam Bam rates Burger as a fetcher
Thu, 26 Aug 2010 07:17
The Wallabies are well aware of what Schalk Burger can do. (c) Gallo
Schalk Burger is a ‘world-class’ fetcher, and highly rated by the Australians, even though he is regarded as just another ‘brute basher’ in his own country.
The Wallabies’ very own master poacher, David Pocock, does not share the sentiments of pundits who feel that South Africa do not have a proper openside flank in their line-up.
Speaking at the team’s Cape Town training base, ahead of the Tri-Nations Test against the Springboks in Pretoria on Saturday, Pocock said he does not believe the absence of a player like Francois Louw makes the Boks any less effective or dangerous at the breakdown.
“Yes, [Francois] Louw is fantastic on the ball, we saw that during the Super 14 for the Stormers,” said Pocock, when quizzed about the make-up of the Bok loose forwards and the impact it might have on Saturday’s encounter at Loftus Versfeld.
“From our point of view, the three [loose forwards] that the Boks have are all world class and they have proved themselves over a long time,” the 22-year-old Wallaby said.
He pointed out that World Cup winner Juan Smith also gave the Boks an additional line-out option.
But it is the question of how the Boks will cope at the breakdown, having failed to make a real impact against specialist fetchers like Pocock and Richie McCaw in the Tri-Nations this year.
“Around the field they are very good, and particularly out wide,” Pocock said of the experienced Bok trio – Smith, Burger and Pierre Spies. “With their height and their speed they are very hard to defend.
“It depends what you define as a fetcher,” he added. “Last year, with [Heinrich] Brüssow, he was clearly one of the shorter guys, a fetcher on the ball.
“Schalk [Burger] can play a bit of both. Personally, playing against Schalk, I rate him as a fetcher.”
According to Pocock, Smith brings a whole new skill set to the Bok back row.
“You saw at the weekend [against the All Blacks] when he was on the field that they were going forward, especially out wide.”
Pocock added that Burger was “very good” on the ball, adding: “To say they don’t have a fetcher is a bit harsh. Burger is pretty good there, so we’ll definitely have to look out for him.”
However, Pocock, like McCaw said earlier in the tournament, said it was important for players to make adjustments during the game – considering the vastly differing interpretations by match officials at the breakdown.
“There have been some [law] changes around the breakdown and that does make it harder, especially for spectators who may not be aware of them [the changes],” Pocock said.
“From a player’s point of view, all you want from the referee is consistency.
“If they referee a certain way, as long as they keep refereeing that way, the players are good enough to adapt.
“There will always be times when you will feel you are hard done by,” the Wallaby star said, adding: “Watching the [All Blacks versus Boks] game at the weekend, I felt there were times when guys got away with a fair bit.
“That [to police the breakdown] is up to the referees and we’ll just do our job the best we can.
“I guess it is a case of playing as close to the line as you can and trying to read the referee as best you can.”
Pocock admitted there would always be criticism of refereeing performances when so much was at stake, which makes it imperative for teams to study match officials as much as they analyse the opposition.
“All the technology and all the footage is there to do it, so I’m sure teams are starting to do a lot more work on the ref and how he referees the game,” Pocock said.
“They are fairly consistent, so you can see what they are looking for.”
He said the Wallabies would have to “work hard” on their breakdown skills this week, because the Boks have made huge strides in this aspect of their game since South Africa’s 13-30 loss to the Wallabies in Brisbane last month.
“The breakdown was very well-contested by both teams [last week], so that is something we’ll have to work on.
“If we’re short [in numbers at the breakdown] we’ll be punished for it.
“Overall we’re in for a real battle,” he pointed out. “You can see that is something they have really worked on in the last three games of the Tri-Nations I and I think they were very unlucky against the All Blacks to come away with a loss.
“We’re expecting a lot tougher battle than the last time we played them.”
Pocock, nicknamed Bam Bam after Ernie Rubble’s son in the comic strip ‘The Flinstones’, cemented his place in the Wallabies Test team last year – after making his debut in 2008.
After gaining just 13 minutes of play during the year-end Tests against New Zealand and Italy in 2008, Pocock last year featured in 13 of the 14 Tests played by Australia – starting in five of the last seven. His performance on the Grand Slam tour included a Man of the Match effort in the drawn Test against Ireland at Croke Park, as well as a maiden Test try during the 33-12 thrashing of Wales in Cardiff.
The Zimbabwean-born openside flank has been just as prominent in Australia’s Tests this year and hopes to have a big impact at Loftus on Saturday.
26 Aug 2010, 09:34 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-37:
True about Loftus. As for the wooden spoon fight. I think the desperation is just getting a win.
26 Aug 2010, 09:35 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-31: okay….just saying
26 Aug 2010, 09:38 am
@gecko(gecko)-36:
Good cricketer too, sharing the new ball with Vinnige Fanie with his left hand seam bowling.
Gerbrand Grobler was well liked both at Newlands Rugby and particularly at the Newlands cricket ground.
The Capie babes seemed to have an ovary wobble for him.
26 Aug 2010, 09:40 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-34:
That is not true, however. Australia won their match against South Africa when George Gregan played his 100th Test (Subiaco Oval, Perth, 31 July 2004). Gregan went on to play 139 Test matches for Australia.
26 Aug 2010, 09:40 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-26: What, you dont have real friends to congratulate you? Ah, what the heck….congrats!
26 Aug 2010, 09:41 am
@Jinx(Jinx)-42: No he wasn’t. I boo’ed him along with Naas, Pienaar, Rice and the rest. haha
26 Aug 2010, 09:41 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-40:
Happy birthday fellow Virgo. Have a beautiful day.
26 Aug 2010, 09:43 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-43: The first 7 guys to get 100 caps won. Next 7 lost. Last one to win again was John Hayes. Read this yesterday on another rugby website.
26 Aug 2010, 09:43 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-43:
Also, Jason Leonard played his 100th Test for England on 15 February 2003 against France. He had to leave the field after 33 minutes, but England won that match 25-17. He eventually obtained 119 Test caps.
26 Aug 2010, 09:45 am
@gecko(gecko)-45:
Nah, he was cool as he represented his province in both rugby and cricket. WP fans like his “WP style” running game at 15.
26 Aug 2010, 09:45 am
@gecko(gecko)-47:
Cheers, sounds about right.
26 Aug 2010, 09:46 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-48:
Looooong time boetie. Hope you well.
26 Aug 2010, 09:46 am
@Jinx(Jinx)-46:
Got your memory back yet?
26 Aug 2010, 09:47 am
@gecko(gecko)-47:
Here’s the list:
George Gregan (139)
Jason Leonard (119)
Fabien Pelous (118)
Philippe Sella (111)
George Smith (110)
Brian O’Driscoll (109)
John Hayes (104)
Gareth Thomas (103)
Stephen Larkham (102)
Percy Montgomery (102)
David Campese (101)
Alessandro Troncon (101)
Ronan O’Gara (101)
Chris Paterson (100)
John Smit (100)
26 Aug 2010, 09:48 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-52:
Ah, bless you Dawn… I’m cool.
26 Aug 2010, 09:48 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-40:
If SA play like they did last Saturday just can’t see the Aussies not cracking under the pressure. Steyn will kick droppies once any lead is established.
26 Aug 2010, 09:50 am
@Jinx(Jinx)-54:
Talk about a senior moment.
I have never seen anyone have two in a row, though.
26 Aug 2010, 09:52 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-53: What’s most interresting about the list is that NZ rugby have no-one on the list. Fitzy had 92 when he retired and Mills and Justing Marshall are tied for 81 (2nd).
Not sure what it says, too much competition for places? No sentimentality? Not sure.
26 Aug 2010, 09:53 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-57:
Could be wrong but I though McCaw had more then Mils?
26 Aug 2010, 09:53 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-56:
Hey, who is perfect?
After all it was Double Whammy Wednesday like they have at Fruit & Veg City.
I made a blue baby shoes. What a lag!
26 Aug 2010, 09:54 am
@Jinx(Jinx)-51:
Howzit, Jinx. I’m doing well, yes. Been very busy with work.
26 Aug 2010, 09:55 am
When you are a has been you should STOP PLAYING rugby….Ronan O’Gara …he should have stop at 50 caps! Gareth Thomas…lol also
However a very interesting list of players.
26 Aug 2010, 09:56 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-58:
McCaw and Mils are both on 87 at the moment, I believe.
@Staal(Staal)-2:
What about Gcobani Bobo at 12 and Jorrie Muller at 13…
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-58: You are right. Sorry. He has 88 caps. He actually looks like he’s on course to break the 100, if he makes it to the WC.
26 Aug 2010, 09:58 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-62:
He should crack the 100 around about the same time he lifts the WC at Eden park next year.
26 Aug 2010, 10:00 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-57: Yeah, I was thinking the same thing. Maybe a lot of competition? A player like Mehrtens would have played 100 but was often competing with Carlos and was then over taken by Carter.
A lot of those are current players or recently retired – the Kiwis tend to lose a lot of players overseas after a World Cup.
Marshall and Howlett, I imagine, could have made 100 if they hadn’t left. But again – Kelleher was performing better than Marshall was.
26 Aug 2010, 10:02 am
dont want to stir but if some bloggers have there way Plod could set a new record of about 150 caps….
of course it would also coincide with a bok losing streak of about 49 tests….
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-62:
Actually, they’re both on 88 Caps.
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-66:
Fitzty would have got there as well but an injury cut short his career.
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-66: I think one of the reasons is that in the past, NZ rugby players have been paid comparitively less than than their other counterparts. Which makes the appeal of the overseas Pound or Dollar even more attractive. So yes, the migration north is much to blame, but them’s the breaks.
26 Aug 2010, 10:03 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-65:
I forecast a Springbok-All Black final.
26 Aug 2010, 10:04 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-68: Yes, I got my info off a South African website and didn’t check with the All blacks site. Should have known it would be false
26 Aug 2010, 10:05 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-71: cant happen…..its the draw….i believe we destined to meet in semis…
26 Aug 2010, 10:06 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-71:
That would be very nice, I haven’t studied the draw like others but would that mean one of us would have to lose in pool play?
26 Aug 2010, 10:08 am
I think its more a focus of the team comes first always, personal milestones are a bonus, mixed with competition for places…
26 Aug 2010, 10:08 am
@grant10(grant10)-73:
Has the draw been finalised yet?
26 Aug 2010, 10:09 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-74: if we lose to France in pool play, we will head to the Eng/Aus side of the draw… whoever wins our pool is drawn to meet SA in the semi if both teams make it..
26 Aug 2010, 10:09 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-43: Thanks for the info.@Jinx(Jinx)-46: Thanks Jinx!
26 Aug 2010, 10:10 am
@Jinx(Jinx)-59:
It’s that suit.
Made you lose your memory.
26 Aug 2010, 10:11 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-77:
Which side would you prefer?
26 Aug 2010, 10:16 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-80: doesnt matter to me.. it takes 3 tough games consecutively to win a WC…
26 Aug 2010, 10:17 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-76: ja
puma mentioned it the other day…..seems we cannot meet in final….
Surely rates to drop in Sept mate?
26 Aug 2010, 10:20 am
@grant10(grant10)-82: we can meet in the final, but NZ would have to come second in their pool, and with France there it could happen..
@poppa69(poppa69)-77:
If both the Springboks and the All Blacks top their pools, they will meet in a semi. But if either one of those two are runners-up, they will only meet in the final.
However, if both teams are runners-up – they will meet in the semis…
@poppa69(poppa69)-83: okay…..thanks
26 Aug 2010, 10:21 am
French might cause another upset. NZ are just not build for the World Cup setup. Like to play their running rugby and beat everybody 50 – 0 in pool stages and when its time to deliver in the knock out stages they can’t produce the goods. They can’t play under those kind of conditions…they can’t adabt. Boks can can ‘grind’ it out. If we need to win by 3 we will do it. NZ have run with the ball and score tries.
I love channel 231….saw the 2007 World cup game NZ vs French in the semi’s….the NZ boys carter were in tears! They coudnt take that pressure.
@grant10(grant10)-82:
Puma was wrong then. We can still meet in the finals.
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-84:
Who does SA have in pool play?
26 Aug 2010, 10:22 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-84: thats it exactly…
26 Aug 2010, 10:23 am
aussie team named for sat
26 Aug 2010, 10:23 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-88: wales….fiji…samoa….if memory serves me correctly.
26 Aug 2010, 10:24 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-88:
Wales, Fiji, Oceania 1 and Africa 1.
26 Aug 2010, 10:25 am
@Zandberg Jansen(Zandberg Jansen)-86:
Why would you enjoy watching that, seeing a professional sportman who has given it his all crying, did you enjoy seeing Smit and his wife in tears a few days ago I certainly didn’t only a w@anker like you would enjoy that.
26 Aug 2010, 10:26 am
@grant10(grant10)-91:
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-92:
Cheers SA won’t lose against those teams.
26 Aug 2010, 10:26 am
We could loose the Wales the way we are going.
Hell, we could loose to Fiji.
26 Aug 2010, 10:27 am
@grant10(grant10)-82:
Well, real interest rates have been rising due to falling inflation levels (i.e. the difference between inflation and nominal interest). This is driving the rand to strengthen despite slow global growth and risk aversion.
The rand will continue strengthening if the SARB does not cut rates on 9 September. Our opinion, however, is that the SARB will avoid this by cutting rates by another 50 bps and trying to push the rand back to the R7.50-R7.60 area.
26 Aug 2010, 10:29 am
@Zandberg Jansen(Zandberg Jansen)-86:
So the boks can grind it out can they……like last week?
If you like tears,you should come here more often,the last 6 weeks has been one big cry fest
26 Aug 2010, 10:29 am
@Zandberg Jansen(Zandberg Jansen)-86: obviously you havent watched the 3Ns this year, NZ have shown they can grind out wins this year, along with scoring tries to win..
they beat Aus in Wellington with 3 points scored in the 2nd half…
so perhaps theyve overcome that? and winning against the WCs at altitude, with 90000 rabid SA fans watching, with 3 weeks to prepare for the match, which is the captains 100th match, I think that is an achievement that ranks with any WC title…
26 Aug 2010, 10:30 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-96: thanks mate
ja….i feel the MPC missed a trick in June already….should of cut….
Really hope we get the 50 point relief this time.
26 Aug 2010, 10:32 am
boks must be careful in that pool….specially if its wet…..
Fiji will see it as a home game….
And wales no pushovers…..
But Boks must be favoured to top group….
26 Aug 2010, 10:32 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-98: Now that is a backhanded compliment if I ever saw one…
26 Aug 2010, 10:33 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-96:
I am short US commercial real estate through leveraged reverse ETF’s and long small cap gold stocks with proven reserves and plenty of upside exploration potential, your thoughts?
26 Aug 2010, 10:35 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-102:
Not my area of expertise, I’m afraid.
26 Aug 2010, 10:37 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-101: the point was, it was an immense win under all that pressure.. perhaps theyre developing BMT
26 Aug 2010, 10:46 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-104: Now, now… I remember the last time I watched a Bok/AB game “BMT” comeback.
It was at Kings Park (my last Bok/AB match live in SA) and the Boks were up for it like on Saturday… During the Haka a little Zulu impi did a bull-horn formation and some of the impi got a bit carried away and got a bit close to the AB’s – the fear in Kiwi eyes was gratifying
and the crowd drowned out the Haka. The ABs won in the last few mins with a very good bench coming on.
I think the AB’s, like this year, walked the 3N…
The year then: 2006…
26 Aug 2010, 10:49 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-105:
Wasn’t that 07′ the game at Kings Park?
26 Aug 2010, 10:53 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-106: I don’t think so, may be wrong – but 07 was the year when the Boks played their B side in the 3N…
That will happen again next year… History has a knack of repeating itself
26 Aug 2010, 10:55 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-105: Im not getting ahead of myself, unlike many who reckon the ABs will choke next year.. long time still for things to happen.
2006 was 2006, the boks will most probably have a harder run to the final in 2011…and they dont really like the cold, wet tokoloshe islands
26 Aug 2010, 10:57 am
Who would win a fight between the Zulus and the Maoris?
26 Aug 2010, 10:58 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-108: The ABs didn’t choke the last WC, they got knocked out fair and square…
…in the QFs…
26 Aug 2010, 10:59 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-107:
No,the Boks played there best possible side in the first game at home and lost in 2007. Then they sent a b side to NZ to get hammered
26 Aug 2010, 10:59 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-102:
WHAT?
26 Aug 2010, 11:00 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-107: so I hope this B side is better then your current A Side…
26 Aug 2010, 11:01 am
@gunther(gunther)-109: Maoris would pull out their tongues while the amaZulu go iKlwa… Finish, klaar…
@poppa69(poppa69)-108:
Eden park is the hardest rugby ground in the world for an away team to win at, so the Bokke will have to be at their very best if we meet in the semi’s, although some around here have blamed al sorts of things for the blackwash this year, its just a matter of them getting their best players back and they can’t lose next year in NZ, to be honest the Bokke have a terrible away record so its stacked against them, I can’t see them doing it.
“I am short US commercial real estate through leveraged reverse ETF’s and long small cap gold stocks with proven reserves and plenty of upside exploration potential”
Spanglish?
26 Aug 2010, 11:02 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-111: May be so, but we all know how it ended in 2007…
26 Aug 2010, 11:02 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-113: EISH!
26 Aug 2010, 11:03 am
@grant10(grant10)-100: Boks pool – Wales, Fiji, Samoa, Nambia. All Blacks pool – France, Tonga, Canada, Japan.
26 Aug 2010, 11:04 am
“I am short US commercial real estate through leveraged reverse ETF’s and long small cap gold stocks with proven reserves and plenty of upside exploration potential”
Tantric financial broker’s latest pose.
26 Aug 2010, 11:04 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-118:
26 Aug 2010, 11:07 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-120:
Used to be, just for fun now I run an English school in NW China much more rewarding even if the money is terrible.
26 Aug 2010, 11:08 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-115:
Tell the Auckland or Blues team that.
It may hold a good record for the AB’s, but it having a special magic, that is bulls-hit.
I have been in the stand and heard louder cheers for the opposition than for the home team.
26 Aug 2010, 11:09 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-115: Maybe the French can help us before then
26 Aug 2010, 11:10 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-120: are you fascinated by this?
26 Aug 2010, 11:11 am
HG
I think a keo poll is called for.
Roy…
My money is on the zulus… It’s hard to do the haka with a knobkerrie sticking out yer arse.
26 Aug 2010, 11:12 am
@Brads(Brads)-123:
I don’t need to they won’t be competing in next years world cup, think you can upgrade good record to fantastic record they haven’t lost there since 94′ I doubt any other sporting team on the planet can get near a record like that.
26 Aug 2010, 11:12 am
@JL1(JL1)-124:
Hi JL, the French can’t save you this time.
26 Aug 2010, 11:14 am
@gunther(gunther)-126: LOL
26 Aug 2010, 11:15 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-122:
Does it have any “upside exploration potential”?
Goodness I’m good today.
26 Aug 2010, 11:16 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-125:
You got a problem?
26 Aug 2010, 11:17 am
@gunther(gunther)-126:
You should know.
26 Aug 2010, 11:18 am
Sing us another one, Boy George !
26 Aug 2010, 11:18 am
That “leveraged reverse” really has me pondering.
26 Aug 2010, 11:19 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-133:
Good day
Do you have any thoughts on long small cap leveraged reverse?
26 Aug 2010, 11:20 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-128: They can, if they beat the ABs in the pool games and end top it could mean that we then face the French in the semis
I think the French will be up for it in the earlier stage against the ABs
26 Aug 2010, 11:21 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-130:
That would mean renting another classroom, just too risky.
26 Aug 2010, 11:21 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-132: And so should you… two-front-teeth…
26 Aug 2010, 11:22 am
@gunther(gunther)-126: hahaha jy kan kak praat!
26 Aug 2010, 11:23 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-138:
Sorry?
Whatyoutalkingabout.
26 Aug 2010, 11:23 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-131: a big one @ that!
26 Aug 2010, 11:24 am
Seems SA has had a lot to do with history at Eden Park
1921: First international rugby game between NZ and South Africa in which the Springboks won 5-9
1930: First Lions Tour to Eden Park attended by 45,000
1931: First Bledisloe Cup game between NZ and Australia, NZ won 20-13
1937: Springbok Tour attended by over 50,000
1950: Lions Tour
1956: NZ defeated the all conquering Springboks for a series clinching win – this tour still holds the record for attendance at Eden Park, 65,000!
1959: Lions Tour
1963: Springbok Tour
1965: Springbok Tour
1966: Lions Tour
1971: Lions Tour
1981: The now infamous Springbok Tour, when the match was flour-bombed by a Cessna
1987: Hosted the final of the inaugural Rugby World Cup in which NZ defeated France 29-9
1993: Super10 arrives at Eden Park, first game Auckland v Samoa
Lions Tour
1994: Springbok Tour
1996: Hosted inaugural Super12 semi-final and final (Auckland v Natal, AKL won)
1997: Hosted Super12 semi-final and final (Auckland v ACT, AKL won)
Springbok Tour
1988: Rugby League World Cup final
2001: Springbok Tour
2005: Lions Tour
26 Aug 2010, 11:25 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-140: Your “leveraged reverse” gaps – above and below… You should know…
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-127:
You are missing the point.
There is no special atmosphere at Eden Park.
The fact the Boks have not won there since God know’s when means bugger all. NZ could get rogered at the same ground by a different team entirely.
They have been and will do so again.
Whether it is at the next RWC is unknown. But the ground, apart from straight home advantage, has no apecial appeal.
Gezzus, most of the local fans would prefer they replaced the shi-tter
@Transformation(Transformation)-141:
What is the nature of your big problem.
Dr Kill and Noprah are here to assist.
26 Aug 2010, 11:26 am
NZinChina
The French will help us.
We buy weapons from them and they help us win world cups.
It’s called the entente cordiale…
I hope you aren’t long on any South African gold companies. You might find that their mining rights get awarded to someone else.
All of a sardine.
26 Aug 2010, 11:26 am
A bit of useless information on the test for Saturday…
Toks van der Linde will sing the National Anthem.
26 Aug 2010, 11:27 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-143:
Sorry to disappoint you.
I have all my teeth.
26 Aug 2010, 11:27 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-147:
26 Aug 2010, 11:28 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-148: That truly is disappointing, HG definitely expected less…
26 Aug 2010, 11:29 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-143:
How’s the trouble and strife?
Still got you by the balls?
I recall you having to get outta work and 16h30 sharp for fear of your very life.
Henpecked is a sorry state.
26 Aug 2010, 11:29 am
@gunther(gunther)-146: if that happens money_man will be an even bigger b*tch
26 Aug 2010, 11:31 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-151: did you get my mail?
26 Aug 2010, 11:31 am
@Brads(Brads)-144:
I never said there was, its just the hardest place to win a game of rugby, you can take that any way you like.
26 Aug 2010, 11:33 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-151: It is nice to be “got by the balls”, with a full set of teeth…
Henpecked is a virtue and is allowed by HG as a concession to one only…
16h30 is a choice to few…
26 Aug 2010, 11:33 am
Come now transie, everybody knows you hate the Zulus
26 Aug 2010, 11:34 am
Can you believe it. Toks is singing the national anthem on Sat
26 Aug 2010, 11:36 am
@gunther(gunther)-146:
No chance, your power grid is 3rd world, your mining workforce is a shambles and you have a corrupt government not the criterea I usually look for.
26 Aug 2010, 11:37 am
Wallabies team named.
26 Aug 2010, 11:37 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-158: you forget the gini coefficient…
26 Aug 2010, 11:38 am
HG
Henpecked is a virtue…
That all depends on the hen.
Don’t worrie about dawn, she hasn’t come right since Madiba was in charge…
26 Aug 2010, 11:39 am
@gunther(gunther)-161: my hen has all her teeth…
26 Aug 2010, 11:40 am
Cooper back at 10 the only change in run-on XV from team that last played All Blacks
26 Aug 2010, 11:40 am
Gitt’s back at 12.
26 Aug 2010, 11:45 am
HG @160
Jacob Zuma is the genie coefficient…
You rub his tummy three times and you are awarded valuable mineral rights…
26 Aug 2010, 11:46 am
@gunther(gunther)-161: hen pecked AND tamed by the south sea island tokoloshe..
eish…
26 Aug 2010, 11:50 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-120: Ok so what he’s saying is that he’s selling property and buying gold. Simple. Need any further translations don’t hesitate to ask ok?
26 Aug 2010, 11:51 am
@gunther(gunther)-156: yeah that’s why i’ve dated 2 zulu girls in my life cos i hate them
26 Aug 2010, 11:54 am
@gunther(gunther)-161:
What?
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-162:
So do I.
@gunther(gunther)-165: lol. tummy inequalities…
I sense some censorship coming…
Guys, looks like they are going to hand out 30 000 Victor Masks at the test on Saturday. The mask makes Victor look like a children’s bible version of J-e-s-u-s.
26 Aug 2010, 11:56 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-167:
No more translations.
Can you translate for me into brokerspeak:
I want a caesar salad for lunch.
26 Aug 2010, 11:56 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-166: Former true, latter – never…
Remember the Alamo next year when the WC is draped in Bok Green and Gold….
….again.
26 Aug 2010, 11:59 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-171:
Many happy returns!
Live long and prosper.
26 Aug 2010, 12:02 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-172: Cant help you there. Not really a salad person. Finance: Good. Salad: Bad.
26 Aug 2010, 12:03 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-172: Stormerboy, like many WePee supporters, is highly proficient in brokebackspeak…
(Sorry Stormerboy, it was too inviting to miss)
26 Aug 2010, 12:03 pm
Happy Birthday lilly.
I hope transie is taking you out for supper.
In Pretoria victor is j e s u s.
Have you not noticed the positioning of his arms when he jumps at lineouts.
26 Aug 2010, 12:07 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-172: The words “long” and “short” can also refer to confidence levels, like “Bullish” (positive) or “Bearish” (negative) such as “I’m very “Bullish” on provinces chances of winning the CC this year, whilst I’m very “bearish” on Jake White’s chances of even being the Springbok coach again”
It can also refer to “have” and “have not” such as “The ANC is “long” on Policy, but “short” on Delivery”.
And so ends the lesson.
26 Aug 2010, 12:09 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-176: But I don’t eat salad, tossed or otherwise!
26 Aug 2010, 12:09 pm
We will beat Australia by at least 40 points on Saturday.
Remember Carel Du Plessis’ last match in charge of the Bokke at
Loftus?
61-22 was the scrore.
This time is going to be even better!
26 Aug 2010, 12:12 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-178:
So, the DA, like WePee, is “long” on hype and “short” on reality…
Yeah, I get it…
26 Aug 2010, 12:13 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-181: haha yes, you understand the concepts very well, even if your application lacks a certain “unbiased view”
26 Aug 2010, 12:14 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-179: …nothing wrong with fruitcake for the streeptruie
26 Aug 2010, 12:16 pm
Peaches
I’m more of a high-leveraged mortgage-backed securitisation with convertible warranties wrapped in a CDO in Yuang denominated Notes man, myself.
26 Aug 2010, 12:17 pm
Transie @ 168
See!
You even plunder their maidens.
Is there any limit to your emnity?
26 Aug 2010, 12:17 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-182: Markets are never unbiased – its all a question of information and observation…
In “short”, perceptions count…
26 Aug 2010, 12:19 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-174: Thanks Dawn. Nice to see you back in the land of Keo.
@gunther(gunther)-177: Thanks Gunther. Trans usually just makes sure I get soaked in alcohol.
26 Aug 2010, 12:20 pm
@gunther(gunther)-177: Oh and I shouda known about Victor.
26 Aug 2010, 12:20 pm
@nicksteroonie(nicksteroonie)-180: Think win against the Wallbies at Ellis Park 53 – 8 was the best so far.
Don’t think we will beat them by that much if we win. Probably around 7 points the most I feel. That is if we win. Going to be tough. Cooper is also back and will make a difference to the Wallbies side.
26 Aug 2010, 12:21 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-184: I had you for a sub-prime Fannie Mae…
26 Aug 2010, 12:24 pm
@Puma(Puma)-189: My heart over head call cost me the lead in Superbru!
I’ve learnt my lesson…
I reckon the Boks will take it by 10-15
26 Aug 2010, 12:26 pm
Stormersboy
Learn to love the salad.
When you hit thirty carbs become the enemy.
Ask barney…
26 Aug 2010, 12:28 pm
@gunther(gunther)-192: Hell mate I’ve hit 40.
26 Aug 2010, 12:29 pm
Lilly @ 187
He’s a player that one.
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-187: what the HELL?!!!
@gunther(gunther)-192: I’m substituting Beer for John Daniels in ever increasing amounts. That’s gotta count for something.
26 Aug 2010, 12:31 pm
@gunther(gunther)-194: ja a basketball player
26 Aug 2010, 12:32 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-197: That figures…
26 Aug 2010, 12:32 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-195: But you do look after me too.
26 Aug 2010, 12:38 pm
Stormersboy
Hit the jack as hard as you can until the Doc takes that away from you too..
Then you’ll end up like grantie scrabbling around the back of the fridge for a Windhoek light, pissing in your speedo everytime the doorbell rings in case it’s Barney popping round for a beer and a chat.
26 Aug 2010, 12:39 pm
@gunther(gunther)-200: Farking LOL
26 Aug 2010, 12:50 pm
@gunther(gunther)-200: That’s friggin hilarious!! I had a chat to Grant about the incident when Ryan emailed me to **** on me for making fun of him and he said that exact sort of thing, along the lines of “It’s a blog, I mean if Smit were to take the stuff I say seriously he’d probably come and moer me.”
26 Aug 2010, 12:58 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-184:
Do you do that with oil?
26 Aug 2010, 13:34 pm
Just to bring some humour aboard on this otherwise dreary nite:
Rugby – after losses to Ireland and England
A seven year old South African boy was at the centre of a courtroom drama today when he challenged a Pretoria Supreme Court ruling over who should have custody of him.
The boy has a history of being beaten by his parents, and the judge awarded custody to his sole aunt. The boy protested that his aunt beat him more than his parents and refused to live there. When the judge suggested that he live with his grandparents the boy claimed that they beat him more than anyone.
The judge dramatically allowed the boy to chose who should have custody of him.
Custody was today granted to the Springboks Rugby team, as the boy firmly believes they are not capable of beating anyone.
26 Aug 2010, 15:30 pm
@captain fantail(captain fantail)-204: and in a seperate case an invisible AB no 7 is being sought in an eye gouging case at FNB stadium on saturday
26 Aug 2010, 15:39 pm
@Airwell(Airwell)-205: The case is being investigated by the serious crime squade the Hawks for possible organised crime connections due to the suspects close ties to the international Mafia head Paddy O’Brian
26 Aug 2010, 15:43 pm
@captain fantail(captain fantail)-204:
Hehe, good one!
27 Aug 2010, 02:49 am
@captain fantail(captain fantail)-204: hahahaha thats a good one.
@Airwell(Airwell)-206: mate thats dry.
27 Aug 2010, 03:04 am
@Zandberg Jansen(Zandberg Jansen)-61: Ronan O’Gara dropped the goal to win the Grand Slam for Ireland for the first time in 50 years last year.
27 Aug 2010, 03:28 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-111: ‘possible’ being the operative word, like this year they were missing a 1/3 of their starting XV.
27 Aug 2010, 05:28 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-210:
Like i said Possible.
Same as the ABs last year missing a heap of players,we could only play what we had avalible,still not an excuse that should be used for a loss,but you seem to use it alot. This year we are missing a couple and not as much as SA but thats the way it goes.
27 Aug 2010, 05:50 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-211: I have the ABs team lists from last year, Carter’s missing for a while but everyone else is available. That’s not losing a third of your run-on side bro.
27 Aug 2010, 09:37 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-212:
I am sure we were missing a couple of jumpers. McCaw was injured for a bit or just came back.
Personally i think only Steyn and Brussow will make a difference,the rest i think will not.
Lets hope you havnt included Bakkies as he will add about another 9 points to the ABs score as would Bismark due to foul play.