WP, Bulls suffer upsets
27 Aug 2010
The Cheetahs and Pumas picked up big wins against Western Province and the Bulls respectively while the Sharks and Lions secured bonus-point victories.
In Cape Town, the Cheetahs impressed with a 29-24 away victory over WP.
It was a poor performance from the hosts, arguably their worst of the year. The defeat against the Sharks last weekend clearly has dented their confidence as they looked out of sorts against the Cheetahs at Newlands.
It was a close contest in the first stanza but WP’s ill-discipline cost them as Cheetahs pivot Louis Strydom kicked the visitors into a 12-3 lead at half-time via four penalties. Pivot Willem de Waal found the target once for WP.
Province reduced the deficit when lock Adriaan Fondse scored early in the second half. However, the Cheetahs built a commanding 29-10 lead as flanker Kabamba Floors and Jongi Nokwe dotted down in quick succession.
WP struck back with two tries from wing Gio Aplon and No 8 Duane Vermeulen but it all proved to be consolation as the Cheetahs held their nerve at the death.
A spirited Pumas side pulled off the biggest upset of the weekend as they held on for a tight 22-21 win against the Bulls in Nelspruit.
Like Province, the Bulls produced a poor performance, despite having Springboks Zane Kirchner, Wynand Olivier and Dewald Potgieter in the starting line-up. But you can’t take anything away from the Pumas as the win was well deserved.
The Bulls led 11-10 at half-time as loosehead prop Dean Greyling crossed the chalk and flyhalf Francois Brummer added two penalties. The Pumas should’ve been ahead as No 8 Christo le Roux and flyhalf Elgar Watts scored tries but Watts failed to add the extras.
After the break, Potgieter drove over from close range but the Pumas struck back through wing Ashwin Scott. The hosts then went ahead thanks to a great team try finished off by centre Tiaan Meyer.
Bulls replacement flyhalf Jacques-Louis Potgieter had two late opportunities to kick his team ahead via two longe-range penalties but he missed both attempts.
In other results, the Sharks took advantage of WP’s defeat to stretch their lead at the top of the log to seven points after a 48-30 victory over Griquas in Durban.
The Sharks scored five tries in their bonus-point win while Pat Lambie added 23 points with the boot. Griquas wing Bjorn Basson was again the star performer for his team as he scored four tries to earn the visitors a consolation bonus point.
The Lions secured their third consecutive win as they thumped the Leopards 45-22 in Johannesburg.
The hosts dotted down seven times as flank Renaldo Bothma and lock Johan Snyman grabbed a double each. Flank Warren Whiteley, wing Michael Killian and scrumhalf Jano Vermaak also scored for the Lions.
The Leopards managed to score three consolation tries through scrumhalf Michael Bondesio, fullback Jan van Zyl and flank RW Kember.
WP - Tries: Adriaan Fondse, Gio Aplon, Duane Vermeulen Conversions: Willem de Waal (3) Penalties: De Waal.
Cheetahs – Tries: Kabamba Floors, Jongi Nokwe Conversions: Louis Strydom (2) Penalties: Strydom (5).
Pumas – Tries: Christo le Roux, Elgar Watts, Ashwin Scott, Tiaan Meyer Conversions: Watts.
Bulls – Tries: Dean Greyling, Dewald Potgieter Conversions: Jaques-Louis Potgieter Penalties: Francois Brummer (2) Potgieter.
Sharks – Tries: Stefan Terblanche, Beast Mtawarira, Odwa Ndungane, Monty Dumond, Craig Burden Conversions: Pat Lambie (4) Penalties: Lambie (5).
Griquas – Tries: Bjorn Basson (4) Conversions: Naas Olivier (2) Penalties: Riaan Viljoen, Olivier.
Lions – Tries: Renaldo Bothma (2), Johan Snyman (2), Warren Whiteley, Michael Killian, Jano Vermaak Conversions: Elton Jantjies (3), Burton Francis (2).
Leopards – Tries: Michael Bondesio, Jan van Zyl, RW Kember Conversions: Clayton Durand (2) Penalties: Neill Jacobs.

121 Comments
27 Aug 2010, 21:24 pm
Worst performance by Province/Stormers this year! The Bulls result is just rich, though! Wakakakakakakaka!
27 Aug 2010, 21:26 pm
27 Aug 2010, 21:28 pm
Ek lag maar net , sies die WP het kakka gespeel. Kon nie glo wat ek vanaand gesien het nie. Goed begin en ou is hulle go uit. Maar die Bulls verloor ? dis nog erger , maar nou ja daar was ander dinge wat daar gebeur het. Die manne se koppe was seker nie by die game nie
27 Aug 2010, 21:29 pm
What’s the upset?
Province battled to beat the Bulls on home turf then lost to the Sharks.
Cheetahs say they learnt how to dismantle Province from the Sharks and subsequently beat Province.
Plus Province had two of their ‘Boks’ back which always results in them loosing headway.
Bulls haven’t looked anywhere near as good without their Boks.
Upsets? Not at all.
27 Aug 2010, 21:31 pm
@BishopsOD(BishopsOD)-1: You were obviously watching the WP game – coming from a Bulls fan, the Pumas played fantastic rugby
27 Aug 2010, 21:31 pm
OOOOOH jis dis lekker om n Shark te wees!
27 Aug 2010, 21:33 pm
Can someone post the scores please. It appears as if keo does not care to supply these scores anymore
27 Aug 2010, 21:35 pm
@Washier(Washier)-5: Nee verseker! Hel dit was lekker om te sien!
Still think Dewald Potgieter’s try was an absolute farce…
And how Kuun stayed on the field after spearing a man!!?!?! :angry: Vuilgoed!!!!
Pity how the bigger unions still seem to get away with a helluva lot more.
27 Aug 2010, 21:36 pm
@rebelcraig(rebelcraig)-7:
Keo is only quick to post the scores if WP win dude.
Otherwise, they slow the game down …
27 Aug 2010, 21:38 pm
@rebelcraig(rebelcraig)-6: WAT”S DIE TELLING?!?! Supersport is bleddie useless!!!!!
To Supersport: 8 channels, 2 rugby matches, 2 soccer matches
AND 4 MAGAZINE SHOWS/HIGHLIGHTS!?!?!?!
FARK YOU VERY MUCH FOR NOTHING!!!!
After the huge profits you guys keep spewing out, I guess you just couldn’t care less.
27 Aug 2010, 21:38 pm
ROAR my Lions won YES.
27 Aug 2010, 21:40 pm
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!
The Cheetahs / WP game was classic!
Poor Smit, no matter what he now does tomorrow, he will be under the Whip from the WP / Bulls supporters
Hulle is almal seker erg moerig
@Washier(Washier)-5: So the Bulls weren’t ****? Amazing. But ya nee, Province were hondkak. The Cheetahs, though, were deserved winners thru and thru.
@OCO(OCO)-9: How do we post a penalty?
27 Aug 2010, 21:41 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-8:
Any mention of Duane’s double movement try?
27 Aug 2010, 21:42 pm
Supersport keeps alternating between posting last week’s log and posting with evrything but the Sharks vs Griquas game everytime I refresh.
27 Aug 2010, 21:45 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-15: lol, what double movement try? I swear people who bring that term up have no idea what it even means.
There is however probably more of a call for obstruction by Brok Harris though. Tight one. Cheetahs were easily the better side though.
I don’t think I can stand watching de Waal anymore tbh. Next few weeks are going to be painful as a WP supporter.
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-15:
Infringement no 1: Obstruction by big fat blonde brick
Infringement no 2: Held in the tackle and stood up.
Infringement no 3: Double movement.
But of course, we had a PRO on the field at missing bad things and messing up good ones…
Go with the Kiwi’s its their rugby brains that are still firing, the saffa brains are dead and stuck in dismal dreary dead-ends-ville.
Plumtree and Mitchell light years ahead of their saffa counterparts.
Check these idiot Bulls and stuck in the mud WP’ians chasing yesterdays shadows.
Cr@p strategies, cr@p coaching, cr@p ideas, and cr@p for brains
Plumtree and Mitchell showing saffas how to play rugby just like Aussies Kiss, Louden, Campese and Jones did before, now its the Kiwi coaches turn to show these dead beat useless brainless SA coaches up again.
27 Aug 2010, 21:47 pm
@renoog(silent_shadow)-17: Enlighten us please with what you think the term means.
27 Aug 2010, 21:48 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-19: The problem in SA rugby ALL start with the administration.
27 Aug 2010, 21:51 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-21: ehm, rephrase, almost every problem in SA rugby either start with the administration or never gets solved, thanks to the administration.
27 Aug 2010, 21:52 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-20: And since you clearly believe otherwise, why don’t you do the same?
27 Aug 2010, 21:52 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-20: Not being properly held, hence no double movement.
27 Aug 2010, 21:53 pm
I seem to be sitting here talking to myself while I anxiously await the Sharks-Griqua score.
27 Aug 2010, 21:55 pm
@renoog(silent_shadow)-24: He was held and then he stood up out of the tackle.
Plumtree has botched a Super14. Ludeke has won several. The problem is SA rugby is people like you, SkopSkiet
You want to blame administrators for cr@p kak non existent rugby brains and strategies then you deluding yourself. Its the lack of brains and courage in the coaching fraternity not the administrators that is archaic and way behind the game. Saffa rugby revolves around vokmavoort bliksem brainless trash, ala we play to our dismal idiotic robotic so called strengths, which is no strength at all, just dumb schmuck delusional weaknesses.
We base our entire game on kicking and forcing the play through diabolical aimless biff bash crash rugby. Kiwis play constructive total rugby, they seek out the space and stretch the opposition, they dominate the initial phases and drive over the breakdown ball then whip it out to backs and offload through interplay, backs and forwards combined, total rugby in other words, as AB’s showed Bok,s and as Plumtree’s Sharks showed WP and as Mitchell trying to get Lions firing on all fours again.
27 Aug 2010, 21:56 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-25: Sharks won 48 – 30 apparently.
27 Aug 2010, 21:57 pm
@renoog(silent_shadow)-17:
I might be wrong – but isn’t a double movement when the player has gone to knees and elbows while being held in the tackle.
In this position he can stretch and place the ball for a try – but if he crawls on his knees or propells himself forward with extra movement of the knees to place the ball – that is a double movement.
27 Aug 2010, 21:57 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-26:
Great.
Except he wasn’t held.
27 Aug 2010, 21:58 pm
(^^^)
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-25: Kan nie presies onthou nie maar die Sharks behoort ‘n bonus punt te kry
@renoog(silent_shadow)-24:
C’mon – he was held every which way.
In fact, the only place I ever saw a man more held was at the Cape town GandL pride festival
27 Aug 2010, 21:59 pm
Bulls have lost to Cheetahs, Sharks, WP, and now Pumas and just scraped against Leopards under this twat Ludeke and you reckon he’s so sh,t hot. Bulls like Province playing yesterday’s trash can rugby.
They’ve both shot their bolt, and Bok’s exactly on the same trajectory going absolutely nowhere very fast.
27 Aug 2010, 22:01 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-18:
2 of those infringements whould have been 3 points kick at goal – the third one was = 7 points in the end.
there’s your problem
27 Aug 2010, 22:01 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-34:
27 Aug 2010, 22:02 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-31:
He was tackled.
Brought to ground.
AND… wait for it… RELEASED ACCORDING TO THE LAWS!
Apparently that very same law states that at that exact same point, the ball carrier must release the ball.
;0
27 Aug 2010, 22:02 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-35: Die wiel sal draai boet, hang bal
27 Aug 2010, 22:04 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-36:
Aw c’mon Doom. Harris was on his shoulder and pushed him through the tackle, he wasn’t held, so he was entitled to move again and jumped for the line.
Definate 5 pointer.
Now what about Aplon’s boot deemed to be touching the tip of a blade of whitewashed grass????
27 Aug 2010, 22:05 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-36:
Perhaps you reckon they could have pulled De Wet Ras out of the stands to kick it?
27 Aug 2010, 22:07 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-34: HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!! Good way to put it into perspective.
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-38:
Dunno Johnboy, I was quite happy with it at the time and never saw anything to disallow it.
Now, with 3 broken PVR remotes that cost R300 each that don’t rewind, I don’t have the opportunity to watch it again. Thank you DSfarkinTV….
Sharks 48 (5 tries) Griquas 30 (4 tries).
27 Aug 2010, 22:11 pm
Sharks top of the log and ahead of WP by 7 points now and on their way to Loftus to dish out a serious hiding.
27 Aug 2010, 22:11 pm
Ok guys, I’m out.
Cheers to all.
27 Aug 2010, 22:13 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-44:
Sounds like a cracker.
It’s ridiculous that DStv don’t show every game. There’s only 4 of them ffs and it’s not as if they don’t have the channels. And the fact that they offer to show the trys on All Out Rugby on Sunday afternoon means they have cameras there. Even without the prematch and post match bumf, heck even without commentary if they are so hard up, but just transmit the feed live.
27 Aug 2010, 22:14 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-40:
Agreed with that, if MacCaw got the benefit of the doubt in his try last week, Aplon’s should have been awarded as well.
Can the TMO even rule on foot in touch that far back? Can he not just rule within the action of scoring – IE dotting the ball down?
27 Aug 2010, 22:14 pm
Bok’s going down tomorrow, hope you got all your kitchen knives nice and sharpened ready for the kill
F. Hougaard, Morne Steyn, Jacque Fourie and Frans Steyn main culprits of the piece along with Matfield and Spies going awol again.
Hope you ready for nederlaag No.5, is gonna get real ugly before it ever gets pretty again, till they realize they heading in totally the wrong direction no turning around till they get their noses rubbed right in the dumb deluded blindness they chasing to dead end eternity and back again.
27 Aug 2010, 22:15 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-46:
Good night John Boy….
Now where have I heard that before????
27 Aug 2010, 22:15 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-43: There’s one you get at some shops (I think Ellies makes it) that does not have that so-easy-to-break-****.
PS: Brick Harris was obstructing him, he was held in the tackle, Gion’s boot does have white paint beneath it and WP lost, now deal with it. You almost had Pro steal it for you, but you could not pull it off.
@Dusky(Dusky)-44: Thanks Dusky and cheers
Cheers almal, Doomsayer, skop, washier..
27 Aug 2010, 22:16 pm
Sorry chaps but can someone please tell us what was the score in the WP game ?
27 Aug 2010, 22:16 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-41:
no man – 3 points for WP for those 2 infringements VS. the 7 points they got from the DM try (that is double movement for those who do not speak acronym – Skopskiet, I’m looking at you
)
27 Aug 2010, 22:17 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-51:
Cheers!
Have a good one!
27 Aug 2010, 22:17 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-51: *** = play/pause/ffw/rew/ button
27 Aug 2010, 22:18 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-48:
We hear about the attacking team getting the benefit of the doubt, so surely that would have gone down as inconclusive?
But yeah, I never even thought about that, is the TMO not meant to be only looking at the grounding these days?
Anyway, Province deserved to lose and as much as it hurts, Free State are worthy winners and the score probably reflects the game correctly.
27 Aug 2010, 22:21 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-56:
Yip, FS had about 10 minutes where they were a step above WP.
Great game, as impartial viewer I enjoyed it a lot.
27 Aug 2010, 22:22 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-51:
I’m accepting it brother, see post 56. No complaints here, just chewing the fat.
I am really, really, REALLY keen to know what you wrote for play/pause/ffw/rew/ button that got moderated as ****. But thanks for the info, I’ll check it out. Bluddy annoying not being able to forward through the ads during Masterchef
27 Aug 2010, 22:22 pm
sparticus : WP 24 Cheetahs 29
27 Aug 2010, 22:23 pm
When Bulls and WP rugby is strong, Bok rugby is strong – which WePee fool supporters mentioned that pearler after the S14 final.
Ha farking ha – it may have an element of truth as shown tonight…
as a Sharks supporter who has had to tolerate you WePee twats’ bullshy.te through the S14 – aint life sweet with the Sharks on top of the log…
I have always said it: WePee – allfart noshit… its showing for 2 weeks in a row now…
Schweet…
27 Aug 2010, 22:26 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-59: Thanks !!!
27 Aug 2010, 22:28 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-57:
I came away from the game thinking that de Waal’s inability to adapt to the situation was what cost us. FS were playing really flat and were getting up quick, look at the last play when WP just kept going backwards as a perfect example.
I’d imagine de Waal was under orders and WP just kept trying to get the ball out wide, even though they were getting nowhere and infact looked to be in ‘turbo reverse’ at times.
But oh for a wee de Waal chip over the line every now and again to keep FS on their toes rather than going down the line and inevitably running out of space or ideas. How many times did WP have about 3 or 4 guys a metre or 2 away from the touchline?
I can’t help but thinking we miss Peter Grant and should call him home for the run in. de Waal just can’t think out of the box.
27 Aug 2010, 22:30 pm
@Dusky(Dusky)-59: Well done Cheetahs – aint it nice to get one over that “hugely talented” WePee team with the “great” Rassie in charge and their “awesome” coaching team. Laugh out loud!!!
Suggestion for the Boks – a little bit more black an white and a little less blue and white stripes – things will all come right…
27 Aug 2010, 22:31 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-60: My prediction, WP vs Bulls in Cape Town. Sharks to both it as they always seem to do.
27 Aug 2010, 22:32 pm
Skoppie for once I agree with some of the things you said not all (post 49) but some.
We nees to have a long hard look at how we play the game and Bulls can learn a lot from the Puma’s backline play. Man the Puma’s attacking coach is worth every penny they pay that guy.
27 Aug 2010, 22:32 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-60:
I take your WP/Cape Town loathing as a form of flattery you know.
27 Aug 2010, 22:33 pm
@Washier(Washier)-64: Sorry keyboard failing. That’s the sharks to fark it up in the final as in typical style
27 Aug 2010, 22:34 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-66: hehe, I was a shark myself for a long time, good to see them in the thick of things again
27 Aug 2010, 22:34 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-63:
It’s a poisoned chalice. You flood the Bok team with Sharks, you lose the Currie Cup.
Has anyone elses SS! gone tits up or have I not paid the subs this month?
27 Aug 2010, 22:37 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-69:
Thats SS1, and it’s back on now. So I can continue to watch the Bulls lose and try and cheer up a bit
27 Aug 2010, 22:39 pm
Bummer, they’ve put the WP game on now. Time for Sky News methinks….
27 Aug 2010, 23:06 pm
We may have lost to the Cheetahs at home , who we beat away from home so it’s not as bad, but I nearly wet myself laughing watching the Bulls game.
The Bulls, with 3 Boks back got beaten by the Pumas. yes WP beat them 54-13.
That is atrocious. And hilarious.
27 Aug 2010, 23:16 pm
I’ve been saying it for ages now. Basson is the real deal. The next/new? Habana.
He’s superb, got it all, could be a great international. Speaking of future great internationals, remember the name Julian Savea. This kid is going to be an absolute star. Remember the name
28 Aug 2010, 00:32 am
can some one please give Basson the bok 11 jersey asap!
28 Aug 2010, 00:36 am
WP-73
Basson has been aupeb in 2010,esp in late rounds of S14 & now in CC.Had an impressive debut vs Wales.Great speed & under high ball is superb.His tackling is still questionable at times & needs to vary repetoir-chips & chase can get predictable.But Basson,Mvovo,Mapoe-future is bright for Bok outside backs.
Would like to see
15.Aplon
14.Mapoe
13.De Jongh
12.F.Steyn
11.JPP
10.Lambie/Jantjes
9.Hougaard
28 Aug 2010, 00:44 am
yeah Savea is impressive,a man-child at u20 WC & impressed in Sevens circuit.
But u never know,freakish players don’t always reach their potential-can be dissapointing for various reasons-ala: Hosea Gear,Isiah Toeava,Sione Lauaki,Kaulo Tokino etc (many dominating age group level yet Test rugby inconsistent)
28 Aug 2010, 01:17 am
Ashley Johnson has been the Cheetahs best player in cc 2010.Excellent ball carrier & massive on defense esp offensive tackles.outplayed Vermuelen today.
Louis Strydom had his best game in 7 yrs
28 Aug 2010, 01:20 am
Yeah hopefully Savea makes it big for the game’s sake.
Yeah I get what you’re saying but I think that Gear and Ice could still have great international careers. They have both completely ripped the oppo up at stages in their S14 careers, yeah I know only S14 but in time I reckon they can do it at int level.
To’eava, one of my favorite NZ players by the way, has showed glimpses of it in the test arena and Hosea has been brilliant for the Maori’s v England
28 Aug 2010, 01:30 am
WP
Yeah Toeava is a handful when on form,combination of speed/power/explosiveness.But for someone who made his debut in 2005/6-he hasn’t pushed on at all.
Hosea Gear seems to excel at THAT level-Maori games.Has been for yrs now since 07.He has been the best NZ wing in NPC/ANZC for 2/3 yrs esp in 2008.But can’t seem to translate it to S14 nor Test rugby on a consistent basis.Flashes at best.
Gear is closing in on 26/27 yrs old if I’m not mistaken.Ice while young 23 I think has been around a wee bit.starting to wonder if he will ever step up….much like Norm Berryman,Joeli Vidiri,Roger Randle & the like..
28 Aug 2010, 01:35 am
I mean it has taken Nonu nearly a decade(6/7 yrs) to play at any level of consistency at Test level.has had to refine his game to be effective at the higher level…being big strong & fast doesn’t only cut it at Test level.Nonu for instance can’t run over defenses much like his first few seasons in S12/14 rugby,yet the smaller but effective Conrad Smith gets more linebreaks that his more physically imposing & gifted counterpart.
28 Aug 2010, 01:38 am
Well done Pumas.
I watched last weeks game agains the Lions (delayed on Fox) and they were really robbed of a victory by hell of an incompetant ref.
Now they beat the Bulls,
yet none of their players will ever see a Bok jumper unless they play for 1 of the big mafia unions.
Elgar Watts, is great but misses too many attempts at goal.
As for Lions, Mitchell and Spencer are doing wonders (a dog with no legs could do a better job than d i c k).
Who the f u ck was the retarded commentator(not Hugh) from last weeks province/sharks game.
It was painfull to have a someone way out of his depth trying run the the big dogs, al;most like a coach we know.
It will be a terrible tragedy that a union can win the Currie Cup and not be rewarded with a birth in the S14. The CC should be a feeder system for the next level on a rotational system with the Currie Cup winner getting automatic inclusion instead of the mediocrity system we run now.
28 Aug 2010, 03:39 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-80: Your tag is disgusting. You obviously never had bullets coming your way or you’d pull your head in. People pull triggers, not guns.
28 Aug 2010, 07:39 am
very dissapointed with wp and bulls…..
Well done cheetahs….i have not seen game but by all accounts a well deseved win….and Pumas…thats an awesome result.
Sharks are setting the bar very high…..andi believe Bjorn Basson has now broken the CC record for trys in a season. Brilliant.
WP have allowed the exciting Hoffmann to fly the coop…..dumb. Give L Cronje a full go at 10 now…..Wikkelspies is too 1 dimensional….offers no real threat on the advantage line….a bit like M Steyn….
Be brave AC….
Next week at ellis park will be another loss for wp….Ellis park not a good place for us either.
28 Aug 2010, 09:00 am
I wonder how long before the Sharks sign Basson ? Anyone care to guess ?
28 Aug 2010, 09:03 am
@grant10(grant10)-83: Totally. The real problem was actually our imability to impose our game plan upfront. We need a bit more bite there. Our locks are just not cutting it, Bekker plastered this problem over with his imposing game the last season or so. The occasional good front foot ball was dealt with very badly by both Duvenhage and Grant.
Not good at all.
28 Aug 2010, 09:03 am
@grant10(grant10)-83: Hey buddy – if you are worried about another WP loss next week, how do you think the Bulls are feeling about facing the Sharks at Loftus ?
Of course, it is an opportunity for redemption, so expect them to lift their game, but the prospect of the ‘old foe’ in form when your team has just lost to the Pumas must be causing a few nervous stomachs here in Pretoria.
Because they know us Sharks will have a field day afterwards
28 Aug 2010, 09:05 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-85: Duvenhage and Grant ? Are you living in the past, or did I misunderstand your post ?
I believe your halfback pair was included Willem De Waal – a man who is costing WP dearly right now. He is your Nr 1 flaw right now – but, I know the WP faithful probably will defend him.
28 Aug 2010, 09:19 am
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-75: Howzit Mshiniwami, Yeah I agree stort of with those backs. I would change a few there for after wc 2011.
15. Frans Steyn
14. Mapoe
13. De Jongh
12. Lambie
11. Mvovo
10. E. Jantjes
9. Hougaard.
Mshini, I think JPP will probably move overseas after the next world cup. Remember this will be his 2nd one coming next year. Also as much as I rate Aplon think he is 27 now not sure if he turns 28 this year and 29 next. So changed my team a bit around there. Think we have to find place for Lambie and Jantjes in the team. Both very talented can’t leave one out. Also where would Basson from Griquas fit in? He is playing awesome rugby at the moment.
We sure do have plenty talent coming through for wc 2015.
28 Aug 2010, 09:20 am
Grant you clearly didnt watch the game.
The loss had just as much to do with de Waal as it did with the other 21 players.
WP were just not good enough on the day, handling was poor, got penalised out of the water at the breakdown.
There werent many good performances other than from Aplon. We missed Whitehead in the centres. Welsh clearly isnt a centre anymore, was awful and Engelbrect had fumbleitis on the wing
Cheetahs outplayed us when it mattered and deserved to win. No biggy. You cant win them all!
As the Sharkies found out in Kimberley!
28 Aug 2010, 09:30 am
@WP_(WP_)-89: WP, Good morning mate. Yip us Sharkies did find out in Kimberley for sure…hehehe. Maybe a good thing it happened so early in the tourney. We worked on it..
Ag, you know this is still very early days in the CC anything can happen.
Sharks still have to play Province at Newlands. By then some of your Boks will be back. Well if they are allowed to play that is. Some are going to be rested for the CC. Should be a cracker that game.
28 Aug 2010, 09:44 am
Said it before, will say it again.
WP only knows one game plan, and they are either too stupid or too limited to change that.
Upset their structures, and you will have the beating of them.
When you force them to play another style, they fold like a bad poker hand.
They then try a hybrid version of a game plan and similar to the Boks, find themselves wanting.
Well done Cheetahs, you, like the Sharks figured this out.
And if the Bulls did not lose key players in their match at Newlands, they would have beaten them too.
28 Aug 2010, 09:45 am
Hey Puma
Congrats to you and your boys, looking very good mate.
Not sure if we can catch you boys anymore but as you say still a long way to go.
Yeah you have those days when not much goes right, still we’re playing the Lions next week. Hoping for a great bounceback
Ya really looking forward to the Sharks game at Newlands, should be epic
28 Aug 2010, 09:50 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-87: Sorry boet, meant dewalt and Willem De Waal. My mistake. Was responding to a post from Grant, hence the mistake.
28 Aug 2010, 09:51 am
@WP_(WP_)-92: Sharks playing some good rugga WP. Though never saw last nights game just kept up with the updates on Sharksworld as it was not shown live.
Province will be back they a very good side. Still think the final should be WP/Sharks at the Tank
Then you know my Sharkies sometimes we fall along the way at semi time….hahaha. Though really hope it don’t happen this year and especially not next week when we play Bulls at Loftus. One game at a time right now. Hope we get that one on dstv. They should be showing all the CC games really.
Cheetahs are becoming everyones bogey team. They can beat any team on their day.
How good is Basson from Griquas? Some great talent coming through for after wc 2011.
28 Aug 2010, 10:10 am
Puma
Yeah dstv must get their act together!
Must say I watched a bit of the Pumas game last night and enjoyed the spectacle.
Ya cant see too many problems for the Sharks for the rest of the reason, Loftus may be tricky and then Newlands but should wrap up top spot. Hopefully we can grab 2nd
Basson is brilliant, said is many times before. He got all the skills
I said a few weeks that I would have had Aplon at 15 and Basson at 14 on the overseas leg instead of Zane who is very average.
Lots of great talent coming through. Very excited.
Watching Canterbury – Auckland at the moment. great to watch NZ cup
28 Aug 2010, 10:25 am
@WP_(WP_)-95: Yes also rate Aplon a lot only he is 27 now. Not sure if he is turning 28 this year or next otherwise will be 29 next year.
Still a great player though. BUT we have super talent coming through.
Mvovo
Mpoe
Basson
De Jongh
Hougaard
Van Der Heever
JLP
Lambie
Jantjes
Our backs are going to party there….hehehe. Sure can move that lot, plenty speed there. We also still have Frans Steyn who is only 23 at the moment.
28 Aug 2010, 10:26 am
@WP_(WP_)-95: Agree with Dstv. Why not show all the CC games? They have plenty enough channels. Wish there was competition for em. They would wake up.
28 Aug 2010, 10:27 am
@WP_(WP_)-95: Going to watch a bit of the NZ cup too. Also enjoy watching their domestic cup.
28 Aug 2010, 10:36 am
Well done to the Cheetahs, Lions, Sharks and well I never the Pumas.
Province thought they just had to turn up and win, similar to our premier team. They gonna have to pull out all the stops if they going to beat the Lions next week, which all but a given. On that performance I think they are moving in the wrong direction – south like the Boks.
Didn’t see the Sharks game, but they are creating space on the table which bodes well for them.
The biggest shock is the poor performance from the Bulls as well. Having some big boys back and still performing so badly. Both the big boys need a kick up their jacks. LOL
28 Aug 2010, 10:37 am
@Dusky(Dusky)-84: I thought the same thing. He would look fantastic in black and white.
28 Aug 2010, 11:01 am
The Cheetahs played well but there was something very odd bout the Province performance. Yes it was poor, ridddled with basic errors, sloppy, but the lack of heart was something else. Backroom politics? Tranquilized food? No Pieter Louw?
28 Aug 2010, 12:05 pm
Willem De Val stood so deep at fly half when he was trying to run the ball. It was just so easy for the Cheetah’s defence, pretty pathetic for a professional rugby player to be that slow and useless. He has served his purpose, now change him!
28 Aug 2010, 12:12 pm
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-102: I would too. No room for sentiment in rugby. Oh wait, John Smit is still our Captain.
28 Aug 2010, 13:19 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-103: Hiyas grant ^5
28 Aug 2010, 13:38 pm
What the fook is happening to Keo.comedy.za
Follow Keo on Twittsville:
-One hour ago.
-4 hours ago when he was succking JW’s dikk.
-72.3 hours ago when no one gave a toss what Keo thought.\
Hours out from a Test Match, we, the Disiples of Keo.Co have no thread to express our individual views.
Meanwhile Nero fiddles.
28 Aug 2010, 13:57 pm
My, my, my, how things have changed in just 7 days – this time last week WP were unbeaten and leading the log by 2 points – now they are 7 behind the leaders and have 2 losses against their names.
28 Aug 2010, 14:16 pm
@SuperStirrer(SuperStirrer)-106: and us sharkies made that happen
28 Aug 2010, 14:20 pm
Yessssss! Cheetahs! Province should follow our lead and get rid of Generaal de Waal. Or at least demote him to Corporaal.
28 Aug 2010, 14:20 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-107: yes you did. Your feeder team even beat us last night.
28 Aug 2010, 14:29 pm
The Pumas probably couldn’t believe their luck when Wynand Olivier and Zane Kirchner were released to the Bulls!
28 Aug 2010, 14:31 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-109: lol boet there is more cheetahs in the wp team then the sharks team
28 Aug 2010, 14:31 pm
@Black Sheep(Black Sheep)-108: Completely agree with you in De Waal. He’s as bad for WP rugby as Naas Olivier was. WP needs a proper running flyhalf. Please come back soon Peter Grant!
28 Aug 2010, 16:15 pm
you know – the Sharks were always my second favourite team after WP – I read this blog regularly and am gobsmacked at what a bunch of wankers the Sharks fans are???
historically Shark fans were good sports and dignified – but this bunch on Keo are total tossers.
Judging by their comments this year – you’d swear the Sharks won the Super 14 and already have the 2010 Currie Cup in the bag.
Get a grip fellas and wind your necks in. [and stop poaching Free State talent]
28 Aug 2010, 16:16 pm
@brains_trust(brains_trust)-113: Hey take that back, we’re not all bad champ.
28 Aug 2010, 16:28 pm
@brains_trust(brains_trust)-113: Where were you a couple of months ago when all the WP supporters were having a good go at the Sharks team following their performance in the S14. Having a go at their management and saying that the Sharks were on the slide. It cuts both ways my friend. There are some onnoxious and opinionated WP supporters on this blog too. Learn to ignore them all and concentrate on the rugby.
28 Aug 2010, 16:30 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-115: And poaching FS talent is bad but Lions and Bulls are fair game heh.
29 Aug 2010, 11:19 am
let’s face it….that bulls team should never be losing to the pumas.
Kuun is poor though, a good team man but not good enough.
I imagine the news of bees roux on the eve of the game took it’s toll.
these boys need to pull finger otherwise they won’t even make the semis.
29 Aug 2010, 11:30 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-117: All I want is Griquas in final 4. That would be awesome.
And Basson in a Sharks’ jersey.
29 Aug 2010, 11:34 am
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-118:
haven’t the sharks bought enough players?
aren’t half the cheetahs backline moving down next season already?
29 Aug 2010, 11:40 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-119: Never enough. I’d like the Sharks to buy all the players and then we could have The Sharks vs Sharks CCup and S14 finals. Horray! Play one at Kings Park, the next at Moses LOL
30 Aug 2010, 09:39 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-119: Only Meyer Bosman going to Sharks, and a few Grey players.
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-102: Hmmm… Willem won 3 more Currie Cups than the rest of the WP team combined. What I saw on Friday was the entire WP backline being tackled backwards… not often you see a team after 10 phases being 20 meters back from the starting point!