Boks 44 Wallabies 31

GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Tri-Nations clash in Pretoria.

80 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! From a turnover in midfield, Hougaard spreads the ball to the left to Matfield, to De Villiers, who offloads to wing JP Pietersen and he bursts through for the match-winning try. James kicks the conversion and Rolland blows the final whistle. The Boks celebrate their first Tri-Nations win. Matfield enjoys his moment as he becomes the first Bok to win his 100th Test. The Boks win 44-31!

77 mins: The Wallabies work the ball to the right side of the field but are penalised for accidental obstruction. The Boks have the opportunity to relieve pressure. Eventually, replacement flyhalf Butch James clears play from the Boks’ 22m area.

75 mins: Boks concede another penalty on the halfway line and Cooper kicks play back into the Boks’ red zone. It looks like the home team will need to defend the final minutes.

70 mins: The Wallabies have a lineout a 7m from the Boks’ try line after Cooper finds touch from a penalty kick. However, for the second time in the match, the Boks make a crucial steal in their red zone. This time Matfield reigns supreme.

68 mins: The Wallabies concede a penalty at the ruck after Beale took a quick lineout throw. Frans Steyn steps up to kick the 60m goal attempt and the ball sails over the cross bar. 37-31 to the Boks!

60 mins: Great defence from the Boks. The Wallabies break into the hosts’ red zone after some great attacking play from a 40m lineout. However, they are kept out by some strong defence and eventually lose the ball into touch.

57 mins: BIG HIT! Centre Adam Ashley-Cooper had 5m to go and one man to beat to score, but Hougaard dives in for a try-saving tackle as he dislodges the ball from Ashley-Cooper’s grasp. 5m defensive scrum to the Boks.

55 mins: After three big attempts to the try line from Fourie, Spies and Hougaard, the Wallabies did well to keep the Boks out. They eventually steal possession and run the ball out of their red zone.

50 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Who else, but Frans Steyn. The Boks find themselves in a great attacking position as replacement lock Danie Rossouw steals the ball from the kick off. After several phases, the Boks work play to the left and Steyn dives over in the corner. Morne Steyn kicks the difficult conversion. 34-31 to the Boks!

47 mins: Steyn is penalised moments later for the same offence, as he takes O’Connor around the neck. Giteau finds the target from 48m out. 31-27 to the Wallabies!

45 mins: A chance for the Boks to reduce the deficit as hooker Saia Faingaa is penalised for a high tackle on Hougaard in a kickable position. Steyn converts the penalty to make it a one-point game. 28-27 to the Wallabies!

41 mins: Steyn kicks off the second half high and deep. The Wallabies don’t clear the ball but opt to run it from their red zone. After several phases, the can’t seem to find momentum and they eventually kick the ball down field.

Half-time: Boks 24 Wallabies 28

40 mins: The Wallabies run a play from a scrum on halfway, but the ball is knocked forward and Rolland blows for half-time. Much needed break for the players after an action-packed first half.

30 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Some positive attacking play from the Boks. They put together 14 set phases before Hougaard snipes through the gap and offloads to No 8 Pierre Spies to dive over. Steyn converts. 28-24 to the Boks!

25 mins: WALLABIES TRY! On the counter, the Wallabies run from their own 22m area into the Boks’ red zone. Habana finds himself isolated as he gathers Mitchell’s chip and Frans Steyn is penalised for an illegal clearance at the ruck. Beale takes the quick penalty tap and offloads to lock Dean Mumm to score the Wallabies’ fourth and bonus-point try. Giteau converts for two more points. 28-17 to the Wallabies!

22 mins: Steenkamp is penalised at the breakdown. Beale is called to kick for posts from the halfway line. The fullback clearly has the distance but his attempt fades to the right and Habana clears.

20 mins: Wallabies concede another penalty, 60m from their goal posts. It looks like a Frans Steyn moment, but Morne Steyn steps up. The pivot lines up the kick and finds the target easily. Great kick! 21-17 to the Wallabies!

17 mins: The Boks have another attacking platform. From a lineout 20m out, they work a backline move. However, Rolland blows the Boks for obstruction as Steyn and centre Jean de Villiers collide during the set play. Wallabies kick for touch to ease the pressure.

14 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Five tries, 14 minutes! Where’s the defence? Skipper John Smit turns down a kickable penalty and tells Steyn to kick for touch. It proves to be a great decision and moments later Guthro Steenkamp breaks through the Wallabies’ defence to score from 5m out. Steyn slots the conversion. 21-14 to the Wallabies!

10 mins: WALLABIES TRY! Unbelievable! My fingers can’t keep up! Wing Bryan Habana drops the ball from the restart and O’Connor pounces to score in the corner from his mistake. Giteau finds the target from the touchline. 21-7 to the Wallabies!

9 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! The Boks work towards the Wallabies’ try line from a scrum in their red zone. Great play from the hosts sees Hougaard dummy a pass to flanker Juan Smith, who runs a perfect angle to score. Morne Steyn kicks the conversion. 14-7 to the Wallabies!

4 mins: WALLABIES TRY! The visitors score from restart after some sloppy defending from the Boks. Fullback Kurtley Beale breaks through the midfield and offloads to the rushing Rocky Elsom. The Wallabies skipper is stopped 5m short but wing James O’Connor dots down after the recycle. Giteau kicks the conversion. 14-0 to the Wallabies!

3 mins: WALLABIES TRY! Referee Alain Rolland penalises the Boks for an early engagement and the Wallabies take a quick tap from their free kick. After strong ball carriers, scrumhalf Will Genia eventually drives over for the try after breaking through lock Victor Matfield’s tackle. Centre Matt Giteau adds the extras. 7-0 to the Wallabies!

2 mins: Boks let off the hook by TMO Shaun Veldsman. It looked like the Wallabies grabbed an early try after some silly errors and poor defence from the home team. This saw wing Drew Mitchell cross the chalk, but Veldsman believes Mitchell fell short and disallows the try. 5m defensive scrum to the Boks.

Kick-off: Wallabies pivot Quade Cooper kicks off high and to centre field, where centre Jaque Fourie gathers possession. The Boks run two set phases before scrumhalf Francois Hougaard kicks a poor up and under. Wallabies have the ball in a dangerous area early on.

Springboks – 15 Frans Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Butch James, 22 Juan de Jongh.

Wallabies – 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Richard Brown, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (c), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Saia Faainga, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 James Slipper, 18 Ben McCalman, 19 Scott Higginbotham, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Anthony Faainga.

Follow Gareth on Twitter

348 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All

• 301.cab: Reply to this comment

Bokke winning again
    ja lekker
    well played wallabies, certainly left nothing out there
    pity our okes canttake the game to them like that when we tour
    but it’s winning ways again, yes yebo

• 302.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

@Thucydides(Thucydides)-300: ja be jealous of our boytjies. Count yourself to be lucky kiwi. We have Chilli , we have Francois , we have JPP . We are unstoppable. The fires of Sprinbok passionate has been lit.

• 303.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Calm down rugbygenius….are you Snotskiet Yliads alter ego ?

• 304.Brink_015: Reply to this comment

Great game Juan Smith – close-run for MOM

But how many “You know” is it possible to put in an interview?

• 305.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

@wpforever(wpforever)-303: Calm down meneer? Afetr the critics said what they said? Never sir. I am a PROUFD SOUTH AFRICAN . Today i celebrate . My wife , my childrens and me . We are so proud and we realise that we cannot be stopped now.

• 306.David: Reply to this comment

@wpforever(wpforever)-299:
    It’s not just the passing or lack of it. It’s the fact that we’re just not supporting the ball carrier when they break the line. There should be players running into space off both shoulders.

• 307.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith what a boykie !

• 308.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Well done boys, you showed some heart there. Lots of work to be done, but for me the highlights as a team were:

Victor and Flip getting amoungst the opposition ball at lineout time.

Francois playing with an infectious energy that really led the way.

All the loose forwards playing really well as unit, no compromise, no quarter given.

Great finishing when required in front of the tiuch line. Bar one, but great defence from the Wallabies.

Smitty looked great, Pierre looked the way he should, Morne played better, Jean improved, soem old form returning for many of the older crowd.

Brain is the one really worrying aspect. It’s the wood for him next week for sure.

Scrums need some more work, CJ looked ok for me.

• 309.wpforever: Reply to this comment

306 David,indeed so and that is down to the coaching in SA i reckon

• 310.grant10: Reply to this comment

smitty looked great????

WTF!!!!?????

• 311.Auntie Mavis: Reply to this comment

Well when Smit and pal were subbed the Bok scrum stopped standing up.

• 312.cab: Reply to this comment

Smit was fine, rallapelle was very good when he came on, great steal and huge tackle.

Boks going to win rwc2011, my money is down,rest smit and matfield and they come back like juan smith, refreshed and ready, get Bismarck, brussow, beast, bakkies and FdP in the squad and u got a helluva team

• 313.David: Reply to this comment

@wpforever(wpforever)-309:
    You’re right. It should be second nature.

@grant10(grant10)-310:
    Yes, he got through a lot of work. Don’t let your bias cloud the facts, Grant.

• 314.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-310: I actually thought he had great game, particularly by recent standards. He’s not a flashy player, never has been. But got through a lot of work in the tight stuff and looked a lot more involved. For me a much better performance.

• 315.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-306:

Exactly. When Beale made his break, he kept defenders on his right shoulders interested and then looped a pass left.
    Our guys don’t create options on either side. We run into opposing players too often, not into spaces.

That’s why a guy like Drew Mitchell is great to watch – you expect something to happen when he has ball in hand. Our guys can certainly learn a thing or two.

• 316.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-315: Juan has that ability. He can step off both feet. Very few can do that at pace. Makes him a rare commodity these days….

• 317.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-305:
    You have won 1 game and now your unstoppable? By all means celebrate but you seem to was ahead of yourself. As a kiwi what i saw of tonights game does not scare or worry me at all.
    But again well done

• 318.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-316:

He is exciting to watch. Would like to see more of him at 13 with a playmaker like JDV at 12.

Puts pressure on Jaque – but then again that’s good.

• 319.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-302: bwahahaha isnt it time for bed young man?

The Bokke have lost to the ABs 3 times this year, suddenly after one win against an Aussie side at home with the advantage of altitude, is not really anything special to crow about, as most level headed Bok fans will agree with..

especially when the side you beat hasnt beaten NZ in 9 straight games..

guess you run out of meds huh?

• 320.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-313: thanks dave well said

its amazing how some dont have the spine to be fair and give credit where its due

as good as chili played one must remember ur comming on when others are already tired so ur meant to make an impact

2ndly chili also gave away 2 or 3 penalties

smit gave away zero

but thanks all the same

• 321.couch-bok: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-320: Smitty had a wonderful average game.

• 322.couch-bok: Reply to this comment

Our little ladies lost 62-0 against the Argentinians, who-haa.

• 323.David: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-320:
    It’s a matter of giving credit when credit is due.
    I feel for Chilli, because talent needs experience, and he’s had very little at CC, S14 or Bok level. I can see what Jake and PdeV see in him, but he needs game time, which is running out.

• 324.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-323: agreed
    and one never asks more then that , just give credit where its due

its the same as some calling chili a quota , he aint no quota, is he 2nd best no , but he still no quota

• 325.David: Reply to this comment

What I find interesting is that nobody”s mentioned Rollands performance. He blew the game at the breakdown totally differently to the one against the ABs. This time he was strict on players going off their feet regardless of whether they were the attacking or defending side, whereas in the AB game he allowed the team going forward (ABs) to seal off the ball.

• 326.Puma: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-325: Yip interesting that David. Maybe the spider webcam camera was there???? Can’t make too much errors with that watching you. :razz: :wink: Well that could be why he reffed different. Or Paddy spoke to him. Cause he was totally useless in the game we played against the ABs. That camera catches everything. Refs will be found out by making too many bad calls.

• 327.David: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-326:
    I reckon he was brought up to date with how the IRB wanted the game to be reffed. The NH conditions make the ref more sympathetic to players going off their feet at the breakdown.
    Anyway, night all.

• 328.Puma: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-327: Probably could be David. Night mate. Still a win for the Boks was great no matter how it was won. I will take it. Proud of the boys.

• 329.SAussie/QldRed: Reply to this comment

Well done to your Bokks, not a lot either team can take away from today, Didn’t like the ref but do we ever, We wouldn’ be worrying the Kiwis, either of us

• 330.bluejay: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-317: normally i feel very scared watching the kiwis play between world cups but somehow very relaxed during the world cup.wonder why?

• 331.Black Power: Reply to this comment

All Blacks have nothing to worry about after that game.

Two poor teams having an off day.

Anyway, well done to the Boks

• 332.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@bluejay(bluejay)-330:
    So your scared 3 years and 10 months every 4 years,what a shame.

Anyway the point i was making that the game wasnt a great game as in standards. Defense was utter rubbish,Oz and the Boks will get beaten in the NH playing like this. England would beat both these teams as would Ireland.

• 333.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

These kiwi bloggers are getting ahead of themselves must he’ll boring in NZ for you been here with your worthless comments

This game was played at a faster pace than last weeks epic but no as much physiical stuff
    See smittie and flip still carrying the scratch marks from last week kiwi eye gouging

Funny that paddy has decided only now after his team win the trinations to send out a warning to players going off their feet

Too late Paddy u ****

• 334.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-333:
    I take it your comment is aimed at me.
    I think instead of skimming through and reading only what Kiwi bloggers say,my posts were aimed at what Rugbygenius has been saying on this thread. Again do yourself a favour and read what he said and see where i am coming from first

• 335.Dex: Reply to this comment

Kevin stop whinging like a child, its pathetic.

Look at the brand and style the Kiwi’s are playing coupled with great execution, compare that to the boring tired style and gameplan of the Bok coupled with poor execution, very poor fitness for this level and tell me that the results didn’t go the way they should regardless of any vast imagined refing conspiracy.

• 336.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

has anyone noticed how Our Kevin has recently added a change-ball of ‘Kiwis gouging’ to his stock ball of ‘Kiwis cheating’ ?

A bit of variety is a good thing.

• 337.Boertjie: Reply to this comment

Hey what’s happening with Bees? Did he do it? Was the cop provoking him?

• 338.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Boertjie(Boertjie)-337: he will only get to see the magistrate tomorrow, otherwise he is stewing in the tjoekie for the weekend…

• 339.Boertjie: Reply to this comment

Cheers Boet! What a mess…

• 340.Dex: Reply to this comment

And all completely his own doing, killing an innocent father who leaves behind two children merely for the crime of doing his job.

No sympathy, if the facts are what they appear to be, in that he was driving drunk, thought he was above the law and brutally bashed a cop, I think the real question is why didn’t they shoot the thug?

• 341.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Boertjie(Boertjie)-339: yeah pretty big mess…

• 342.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

Aussies ran out of steam in second half.Would have done better if Moore was kept on field.Hougaard deservedly man of the match.
    Made two tries and prevented one,worth 21 points to the Boks.
    Good to see a Bok showing a bit of flair.Now to find a suitable replacement for Habana and the Boks may offer sterner opposition to the Kiwis.

• 343.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Houggard has started his Bok career well. Also contributing the queerest dive since Greg Louganis was a boy in his debut against the Blacks in JoBurg last week. Milked a penalty (I think the local vernacular is ‘cheated’) for it and applauded for his efforts.

Suddenly Jimmys bogan-do dont look so lemon either.

• 344.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-343: Sort of Christian Cullen meets scrumhalf.

He’s not called Frankie Goes to Hollywood for nuffink.

• 345.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

And Juan Smith was MOTM.

• 346.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-344:

sorta….

he’ll do well to be half the player that FdP is. He didnt have it all his own way, reading the postmatch accolades here has been interesting to say the least. Genia slipped in easily for a try and was prominent in Wallabies early domination. But his enthusiasm is infectious and he has serious wheels, always helps.

• 347.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-345:

J.Smith is the best blindside on the Planet in this form. Elsom was before he left for Leinster but hasnt really fired since returning. And Kaino has been consistently superb in a more dominant pack. But great to see Juan back, he would be the best pick as Capt should Smit retire prior to RWC’11.

• 348.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Dex(Dex)-335: There are only 2 styles of rugby, winning and losing, nothing else matters to fans

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.