What a sham
30 Aug 2010
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says Saturday’s match at Loftus wasn’t Test rugby.
The Sydney Morning Herald’s statisticians had the Springboks missing 40 tackles and the Wallabies 26. Scrum.com had the two teams missing ‘only’ 18 and official broadcaster of the Tri Nations Test in Pretoria, SuperSport, had the two teams slipping tackles 38 times.
A few weeks ago the All Blacks beat the Wallabies 20-10 in Christchurch. Four tackles were missed in the match. That was Test rugby. Saturday’s effort was touch rugby at its best, and in the opening quarter both teams should have worn yellow so cowardly was the attempt to make a tackle.
There can’t be a more embarrassing miss than Wallabies winger Drew Mitchell waving Juan Smith through while some of the Springboks’ first up tackles were clumsy attempts at a cuddle more than a tackle. Maybe there is a bit more love between these two sides given the willingness to massage each other’s attacking egos in an opening 20 minutes in which players from both teams mocked the ethos of Test rugby.
There are those who will think Saturday’s nine tries represented a thriller and one of the great games between these two countries, but I can’t count myself among them. I’d like to think of Test rugby as a contest where one guy runs hard and the other attempts to tackle hard. This was a sham.
Bok scrumhalf Francois Hougaard’s cross cover tackle on Adam Ashley-Cooper in the 59th minute was a quality, but standard, effort in Test rugby. On Saturday you would have thought Hougaard had bought the Mountain to Loftus such was the reaction of his teammates and the shock on the faces of the Aussies. My God, somebody had made a tackle.
Butch James, on for Morne Steyn in the last 20 minutes, then smashed into an Aussie on three thunderous occasions and that was the collective defensive mongrel of a side famed for its intensity on defence. If the four missed tackles in Christchurch characterized the evening, then in Pretoria it was the fact that only four good ones were made.
The attack from both sides was mesmerizing. Then again when you watch the Harlem Globetrotters play exhibition basketball matches, when the opposition make no attempt to stifle their attacking genius, the attack usually is, and it showed that South African players are as skilled as the Australians and even more intelligent.
The Aussies survive on a mystique that they are the most intellectual rugby side on the planet but they played some of the dumbest rugby in the last quarter, whereas South Africa, stereotyped as the dummies of the world order, produced variety and composure to win a match that should have ended 50-all to make the farce complete.
Australia led 21-7 after 10 minutes but all four tries were gifts of love and seemed like a celebration that neither was contending with a black wave of attack or defence. The charity was unprecedented and despite the early advantage the Australians never controlled the game because their set phase vulnerability would not allow for this luxury.
Wallabies hooker Saia Faingaa followed the same path of his predecessors who have bottled it in South Africa when confronted with the imposing lineout presence of Victor Matfield. Australia had lost their primary lineout jumper Nathan Sharpe by the time Faingaa’s hands turned to jelly, but you could have put King Kong in a yellow jersey on Saturday and Faingaa would have missed his target.
In the build-up to the Test I wrote that the only three certainties are death, paying taxes and a Wallabies defeat to the Boks at the Highveldt. I also reminded those despairing of the Boks that whenever a Bok team needs a pick me up look to the Wallabies in South Africa. If only their cricketers were as soft upstairs when they passed through customs at OR Tambo International Airport.
The Wallabies don’t win easily in South Africa and that is why there is so little to be read into this Bok win. Even Rudolf Straeuli’s chaotic tenure as Bok coach produced back to back wins in 2002 and 2003 against a bloody good Australian team in South Africa – an Aussie team that had won the World Cup in 1999 and would beat the All Blacks in the 2003 World Cup semi-final.
There was more intensity in the weekend’s Currie Cup fixtures than in the Test match in Pretoria and that says everything about an international fixture that should be remembered for its betrayal of the values of Test rugby.

364 Comments
30 Aug 2010, 11:23 am
This test was like a dragon who swallowed a fire extinguisher. Just huff and puff and no fire.
30 Aug 2010, 11:24 am
yusus keo… why don’t you flippin cry about it.
awesome test. awesome win.
we are the fans.
30 Aug 2010, 11:26 am
Hope the aussies dont read this before Bloem….
Spot on!
Does anyone enjoy these articles, or find any substance in them?
As a neutral I enjoyed it. It was pretty loose, but that seemed to have something to do with the pace of the game.
30 Aug 2010, 11:29 am
The analogy of the Harlem Globetrotters is spot on, however if the goal of sport is primarily to entertain, then this match did fit the bill. And we won so I’m not complaining. The only complaint is that on Saturday nobody wanted to leave to couch to do a beer run, for fear of missing out on 2 or 3 tries.
30 Aug 2010, 11:30 am
Oh my word, are there seriously people who thought that this test was in any way up to standard in intensity and structure?
I suppose suddenly we have a great coach, the assistant coaches are worth their salt, John Smit is a world class hooker and Frans Steyn is the Bok Messiah. Fickle, fickle, fickle
30 Aug 2010, 11:32 am
What negativitity. I was at the game on Saturday and thoroughly enjoyed the spectacle.
Yes, it was not a close low scoring game like the traditional AB vs Bokke games, but who cares?
Are we never happy?
A win is a win.
30 Aug 2010, 11:32 am
The irony is it looked like a typical so-called ‘classic’ Bledisloe Cup encounter.
30 Aug 2010, 11:33 am
Honestly what is Keo biitching about ? Some games are more intense than others.
30 Aug 2010, 11:34 am
‘The Aussies survive on a mystique that they are the most intellectual rugby side on the planet but they played some of the dumbest rugby in the last quarter’ – keo is on fire this morning!!!
Keo are you saying Blue Bulls players only shine when the game resembles touch rugby and no tackling is the order of the day?
Agree 100%.
Why were there so many empty seats at Roftus on Sat? Anybody? It was Vic’s 100th…wasn’t it?
I remember a test in 2000.
It was between the self-same Aussies, and the All Blacks.
It was watched by 109 000 supporters if I am not mistaken.
The All Blacks were phenominal in the early part of the test, the Aussies came back and came within a whisker of snatching the test match only to be denied a a final Jonah Lomu try in the dying minutes of the test.
The score was 35-39 on the day, a total of 74 points scored.
It was hailed as the best test of all time…
Back to Saturday, two of the Aussie tries were as a direct result from individual mistakes you won’t see very often from the Boks.
The other two tries by them was well constructed and thanks to some brilliant stepping by Beale.
The Boks themselves scored some great tries from set pieces and pre-planned moves (Juan specifically), the other from continued pressure in the red zone and good continuity (Spies) and the last from great use of turn-over ball (for once) in JP’s try.
The Aussies only managed 3 points in the second half.
Most of the second period I think the Boks played some brilliant rugby firstly to erase the massive deficit built up by the Aussies, and secondly keeping one of the better attacking team’s at bay in the final 15 minutes.
I am afraid in many ways you missed a great test Keo given your views above…
That said and to what I will agree with, this type of rugby will not win you World Cups.
But I take some comfort that the Boks, accused of being a boring bunch of boers last year, beating the Aussies at their own game…
30 Aug 2010, 11:35 am
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-5: as the Business Day subscribers!
30 Aug 2010, 11:37 am
Mark, you’re an idiot!
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-14: Yes, it’s clear we have a lot of work to do, but hey, it was a great entertaining game of Rugby. Barbarian-esque, but that’s ok with me.
after the jake inspired kicking game plan the last few seasons i actually enjoyed this harlem globetrotting boks for a change.
30 Aug 2010, 11:38 am
This website has lost its mojo. negative articles these days and absolute dribble has made this website a shadow of what it was 3 years ago.
pathetic journalism I’m sorry to say.
30 Aug 2010, 11:40 am
keo is just a little bit pissed-off that pdv didn’t equal his buddy,jake’s,losing record!
30 Aug 2010, 11:40 am
Keohane, It was a meaningless test match which the crims were always going to lose, the 3N was lost and the only thing left to play for is pride – so why put your body on the line when you out score them at will?
So Keohane up your game and write a meaningful story on why Habana’s best days are over and why he should get the chop for the next flying sensation, Basson.
30 Aug 2010, 11:44 am
@RedLion is born again(RL)-21:
Ja – dis wat ek wil weet!.
How the hell did Habs go from Hero to Zero
O, sorry ek weet.
30 Aug 2010, 11:45 am
Keo:
I thought you subscribe to the view of a win is a win, guess I was wrong. If I’m wrong, therefore you also believe Jake White’s world cup win was a sham, it had to be a sham, knocking over the likes of Samoa, Fiji, USA, Argentina and England must a sham.
30 Aug 2010, 11:45 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-14: Listen PA, I am all for attacking rugby and I remember that test in 2000. Kaplan was the ref and he played a great part in that game.
We then played the AB’s in Durban – it was a try fest of note and we pipped them. I remember Thinus Delport having a blinder. Some were saying that it was a better match than the one between the AB’s and Wallabies.
Point is, my friend, those matches were marked by innovative play, tremendous pace and exceptional handling skills. This last Saturday’s game does not come close to those matches. The tries were not the result of innovation and skill, but rather the lack of defense, a disinterest in the game and silly mistakes.
A win is a win and I am glad that we beat the shackle draggers, but there was no improvement in our structure and our decision making. We had a better result, but mark my words, we are going to get hammered by a team that ups the ante against us.
30 Aug 2010, 11:46 am
what an absolutely load of garbage. if the Boks don’t clinically dismantle the opposition, it’s deemed a failure… and now a sham. each game of rugby is different, if it was all the same it would be boring as heck
30 Aug 2010, 11:48 am
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-5: no
we want shadowwwwwwwww & heineke!!!!
@RedLion is born again(RL)-21: He wont do that! It would mean doing actual interviews, and not writing the 1st thing popping into his empty head, and I’m not one for critisizing journos!
30 Aug 2010, 11:49 am
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-24:
I see Keo mentions Drew’s shoddy defense on Juan for his try…
From where I sit, Drew had no hope in hell to stop Juan.
It was a brilliantly constructed try with Matfield (I believe) going wide and drawing two defenders, creating a gap, Juan hitting it at a perfect angle from a perfectly timed pass by Hougaard…
Pierre and Steyn’s tries from sustained pressure, JP’s from a turn-over and Guthro from a line-out?
I fail to see what more the Aussies could have done to stop that…
30 Aug 2010, 11:51 am
@Staal(Staal)-22: well Habana is more interested going to fashion shows and sipping latte at at fancy coffee shops than he is working on his hand-eye skills at putting in the hard graft at training … that is how you go to zero.
30 Aug 2010, 11:53 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-29:
From where I sit, Drew had no hope in hell to stop Juan.
wat maak jy daar in die cheap seats?
30 Aug 2010, 11:57 am
Good grief, I never thought I would see this day. I must admit that I suspected it would happen, but I am surprised none the less. Since when do we accept mediocrity in our Bok team?
I think Keo’s assessment of the match is spot on. I am in total agreement that the performance of both teams was a disgrace to their national colours. The lack of commitment from both sides was shocking.
We re-employed our drift defense; waiting for them to run at us. If the Aussies did not make uncharacteristic handling errors, they would have killed us. Giteau was pathetic on attack, as was Cooper. They did not commit defenders to themselves because they were afraid of taking contact.
I am sorry if I compare the Bok team with the best in the world every time they play, and the AB’s would have put 50 past us again. I will not let anyone pull the wool over my eyes. The Boks are not worthy wearers of the green and gold.
30 Aug 2010, 11:57 am
@Staal(Staal)-31:
Oos Pawiljoen bra, Oos pawiljoen….
30 Aug 2010, 11:58 am
‘ brought the Mountain to Loftus’
lol, nice one
30 Aug 2010, 11:59 am
Keo, you sound like the kind of guy who gets misty eyed when recalling tests that ended 5-0. Times have changed. Move along. Plus, I’m not too fond of this habit of including a paragraph in which you remind readers of what you said earlier and how right you got it. This adds little to your piece other than to gloat. And most people don’t like that. But thanks for a great site, hey.
30 Aug 2010, 11:59 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-10:
You have a very sad life don’t you?
30 Aug 2010, 12:00 pm
If I were Kurtley Beale I’d wanna tear your throat out, Keo. Bad defending or not, his sidesstepping for the second try would leave any legendary defender on his gat. Give credit where credit’s due. Dodge defending was matched by sensational attack. Has anyone realised how the Boks have piled on the points against all teams since Helium’s appointment?
30 Aug 2010, 12:05 pm
It WAS just touch rugby. A shabby, forgettable 80 minutes of utter dross. Uganda versus Latvia.
30 Aug 2010, 12:08 pm
The fact that the tri-nations was already won had a lot to do with the way the teams played. Was a pretty mediocre performance though from both teams.
30 Aug 2010, 12:09 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-29: Well PA, from an attitude point of view, we looked much better on attack. There was a willingness to hang onto the ball, which was good. However, the parts that really trouble me are the line breaks of Beale and Genia – both leading to tries.
Gurthro’s try was a defensive error on their part at the back of the lineout. It is not the one on one defense that let the Aussies down, it was their whole defensive system. Juan’s try, to use your example, was a system mistake because you had three tacklers that I could see, going for the dummy runner. It created space for Juan who beat one of those players by wrong-footing him.
I know that it looks like I am nitpicking, but I am not convinced. I have seen our guys being hammered backwards by the AB’s and begin panicking when things do not go our way. We kick the ball away and we do not show patience on attack. The Aussies were non existent at the collisions. How many balls did Pocock steal from us. If I stretch my memory, I can recall him winning one penalty when JDV held onto the ball.
We were under no pressure at all. Hopefulle there will be more pressure on us this coming Saturday and if we can duplicate this performance while under pressure, I will personally apologize to you and all the other bloggers who believe that all is well in the Bok camp.
I will be at the game, so will maybe be in a better position to judge. Who knows?
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-32:
Exactly couch, and but for Ashley Cooper very uncharacteristic mistake and Fainga the flop the test could easily have gone the other way and then a loss would be a loss. The amount of aussie turnovers just from handling mistakes was almost unbelievable, and Cooper and Giteau had incredibly poor games. A more clinical side like the obvious Kiwis would have utterly destroyed that Bokke performance by an utterly depressing margin.
The thing with Deans and Henry is they analyse and study the heck out of the games and opponents, the aussies will come back a different team and with specific tactics. Whereas what will De Villiers do? same old same old, bet we see the same stupid bombs as well.
“the betrayal of the values of Test rugby”
don’t we think we might be delving towards the melodramatic at this stage ?!
it was a good game albeit littered by some gross errors and missed tackles. But hardly ‘soft’ or without it’s merits. And given the teams were fighting to avoid the Wooden Spoon, was reflective of their talents.
30 Aug 2010, 12:10 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-32: didn’t the all blacks had a chance the previous week and could only beat us in the last three minutes?all blacks and aussies play a diffrent type of game and to say the all blacks would have put 50 points on us doesn’t hold water here because we would have played differently…oh i forgot we actually did last week.games against the aussies in sa are always a bit like that…crazy.
It must be tough being a sports journalist.
You always have to sound so emphatic, absolute and ANGRY about everything.
You always have to hammer your points down onto the bemused public, most of whom just watched the game to have an excuse for a braai and a few beers.
@BishopsOD(BishopsOD)-37: Yeah great sidestepping by Beale, off both feet. The only guy we have that can do that is De Jongh. In fact he DID do that, to Beale no less in the Super 14 Semi.
30 Aug 2010, 12:12 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-44: LOL that’s well put, however you and I both know (and is witnessed by our respective strong views on the subject) that to many of us it’s not just that, but much more….
30 Aug 2010, 12:12 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-38: reminds me of a certain team dressed in black that plays like uganda at world cups!
30 Aug 2010, 12:13 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-44:
And why is everything always part of some campaign for these people.
The “get Butch and Jean back in the Bok team” campaign.
The “remind everyone what an evil person Strauli is” campaign.
The “PDivvy has banned us and now we have to get rid of him” campaign.
The “punt Jake White’s cause” campaign.
The “WP deserves to win the S14″ campaign.
The list is endless.
Nothing is ever just discussed on its own merit. Every event is seen as an opportunity to further the Keo cause, whatever it happens to be in any given season.
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-40:
One of 5 tries from a defensive error…
As for Juan’s try do you think gaps are only created due to error on the defending team’s part?
It was clearly a pre-planned move and one that worked. The execution was what made the try.
And I disagree, the first 20 was a free-for all characterised by individual mistakes on the Boks part more than anything else but following that, the match was quite tight with the Boks only securing the win two minutes from time that resulted from a turn-over ball.
The Aussies are by no means the All Blacks, hell they got 50 put against them by that team on fire but I think people are judging this test on the first 30 minutes and forget that there was actually some decent rugby played in the following 50 or so minutes.
The opening bit was a shocker, but thought the boks showed immense character and talent to come back from what most teams would not have. Got to tighten up but a win is a win and at least thus kickchase **** came to an abrupt end after the very first boxkick from hougaarded to an Aussie try. Boks do need to be more attacking, theybe become overly defensive, it was just what the doctor ordered, despite many predicting doom and gloom beforehand.
30 Aug 2010, 12:14 pm
It does my head in – Keo, you guys are a bunch of clowns – what do the Boks have to do to keep you happy ? You may not have noticed, but they actually WON the match, after loosing 4 in a row. Not a single positive in any of the articles here – all just ***** and moan, complain and whinge – where does the expectation level actually sit ? Must win by 14 points against ABs, 25 points against Aussies, and 300 points against anyone else ?
Even the Aussies manage to find something positive to say about their team – you guys – no, it’s all just whinge.
Personally, i really enjoyed the game – the skills on display from an attacking perspective were great – very few dropped balls, very few unforced errors, and lots and lots of continuity.
Interestingly, in Australia, they showed the “classic” 49-0 drubbing of the Springboks as the build up game just before screening the game – now THAT was a poor performance – so why you need to be so negative about a pretty good win, i don’t understand.
30 Aug 2010, 12:14 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-44: and the meat and beers tasted way much better after a win!
30 Aug 2010, 12:16 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-46:
I’ll be honest, my strong views are largely reserved for the Bulls. Not exclusively, but largely.
30 Aug 2010, 12:16 pm
And after one game of touch rugby, do you really think the boks will not improve their defense ? That why this article is so stupid. It wasn’t the most attractive game, but it wont be the last game where the intensity in defense is not up to scratch. Its because of matches like this why teams improve.
30 Aug 2010, 12:18 pm
This game at least taught the Boks that they CAN PLAY with ball in hand. That they CAN score tries. That they CAN compete at the breakdown and even neutralise a player like Pocock.
The confidence they must have gained from this game will probably only be evident in their play this coming weekend. If they get their defence up to scratch, minimise the unforced errors and keep the ball in hand, we may just see on Saturday the kind of team that PdV envisaged at the start of his tenure as Bok coach.
30 Aug 2010, 12:19 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-44: Keo is afraid of sounding like Gavin Rich, who’s afraid of sounding like Stephen Nell, who’s afraid of sounding like JJ Harmse, who’s afraid of sounding like whoever etc etc. So this necessitates the hunt for the unique angle. Sports writers pursue this angle with so much gusto (in an effort to sound not only convincing but also convinced) that they often end up drifting miles from where they first put their heads down to write.
30 Aug 2010, 12:20 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-53: Funny, I’d not noticed….
30 Aug 2010, 12:20 pm
@katman(katman)-56: Very well put. In fact, makes me wonder why there are so many of them around…..
30 Aug 2010, 12:21 pm
Picking a combined team from Saturday’s fun is not that easy:
15. Beale. Good stepping and Frans was worse than Jorrie when he played fullback. Whatever happened to him?
14. O’Conner. Great player.
13. Fourie
12. De Villiers
11. Mitchell.
10. Steyn. None of the 10s played that well. Steyn’s kicking was a bit better.
9. Mullet
8. Spies. Again, not a lot to compare him against.
7. Smith. Great game.
6. Burger.
5. Matfield. Good game.
4. Flip.
3. Jannie. I’m no tighthead specialist, though.
2. Chillieboy. Did enough, I think, during his time on the field.
1. Guthrow
Would not have guest it, but out loosies outplayed their’s.
30 Aug 2010, 12:22 pm
@katman(katman)-56:
I like that analysis. Sounds absolutely spot on.
30 Aug 2010, 12:22 pm
@Keo
This is the most under-rated comment you have ever made:
“There was more intensity in the weekend’s Currie Cup fixtures than in the Test match in Pretoria and that says everything about an international fixture that should be remembered for its betrayal of the values of Test rugby.”
I have been fortunate to go to two test matches this year (Witbank and Loftus) and I will not pay money again for the lame a.r.s.e effort that was on display in both of those matches. The springbok’s this season have delivered less intensity than the CC let alone the s14.
I can’t understand where the difference in intensity is coming from? These players had awesome s14′s and now they are nowhere? If I may venture a guess? JPP not 100% was running with a limp, Brian Habana looks like someone stole his sucker (same thing can be said of s14 final where he was tripping over his not so small bottom lip). FS not match fit, jogging all over the place. These are the obvious ones.
I would also like to mention the impact that Chilli-boy had on the match. At times he looked like Brussow in the way he attacked the rucks. As has been pointed out, he needs game time to prove himself and I think he’ll come out very well at the end! This has not received the coverage I think it deserves. (i.e. PDivvy made the changes he should have made against the AB’s the week before, sub JS with CR and NOT subbing FH with RJ)
Next point, the atmosphere at both matches (Witbank and Loftus) was that of a morgue. The atmosphere at Orlando (10’000 seats less) was electric compared to the dullness of Loftus on Saturday. What’s the difference? simple the vuvuzela! Time to embrace the device that helps bored spectators pass the time!
30 Aug 2010, 12:23 pm
What I’m dissapointed about is we have heard from everyone except for the Great One, with all he’s great insights. You gotta shake a leg to run with the big dogs.
30 Aug 2010, 12:23 pm
why is everyone going bananas about chilli? yes he made 2 turnovers against a tired Aus team, but also conceeded 1 penalty. He is the 10th best hooker in SA .. it’s digrace that he even get 10 mins game time.
30 Aug 2010, 12:25 pm
@Staal(Staal)-22:
wat weet jy staal? le uit meneer…
30 Aug 2010, 12:27 pm
@Habana_is_a_kak_token_player(suffer_guy)-63: SUFFER_GUY? Weren’t you the idiot who only wanted white guys in the team? Am I thinking of the right guy here?
30 Aug 2010, 12:29 pm
no katman ..that was saffa_guy .. apology accepted!
30 Aug 2010, 12:31 pm
@nama1(nama1)-55: glad that you mentioned pocock and the breakdowns becuase these famed sports writers on keo conveniently doesn’t mentioned it especially a facet of play that the aussies were going to beat the boks but did not.pdv proved that he can play this fast type of game and that european rugby(frans steyn)is way off pace in comparison to southern hemisphere rugby.pdv is a genius and came out of this smelling like roses on saturday!
30 Aug 2010, 12:34 pm
Anyone notice that since the Boks won in a high-paced, action packed ‘touch rugby’ game there is no talk of our players being unfit or too old?
Not to mention the massive defensive effort in the last 20 minutes (when we usually fade) to keep the Aussies out…
Every week, something new to ***** about…
So we played 85 minutes of rugby (keo’s criticism of last week against the Blacks)
There was much better use of subs (Chili for John, Rossouw for Flip – also one of Keo’s major criticisms last week)
Outscored the opposition 5 tries to 4 (another criticism Keo highlighted last week in his column)
And yet within an hour of the final whistle I counted two negative articles on this site.
@bluejay(bluejay)-67:
Oh yes of course, forgot to add the NO FETCHER bullshit we got fed the whole of last week.
@katman(katman)-65: apparently he is the nick stealer from an obscure website called rt… at least that’s what the say on here.
What an elitist, ignorant, bunch of scribes.
30 Aug 2010, 12:35 pm
@Habana_is_a_kak_token_player(suffer_guy)-66: None offered. You might be a different idiot, but you sound like the same idiot.
30 Aug 2010, 12:37 pm
@katman(katman)-65: You are 100% correct. That is his ultimate dream.
30 Aug 2010, 12:38 pm
@katman(katman)-72: Exactly.
30 Aug 2010, 12:38 pm
@katman(katman)-72: lol
30 Aug 2010, 12:39 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-38: Hey, I be happy if Latvia had such attacking flair (no matter whether shown in green and gold or gold and green jersey last Saturday).
Thou shalt not take the name Latvia in vain, my friend.
30 Aug 2010, 12:44 pm
Tacitus, don’t you think Spies should be axed? He is really playing bad for a year now.
30 Aug 2010, 12:45 pm
@mikezed(mikezed)-51: Keo needs the call from PDivvy. You know ‘THE’ call.
Goes something like this: “Hi Mark. Its Snor here. Look, can we come to the same agreement as you did with old Jakey in 2006 ? You stop slagging me and the team. In turn I will give you access to inside info in the build up to RWC11. Hell you can also ‘join’ us during RWC11 and write another book that helps pay the bills.
Ja, I know some of your readers already think you are pretty wishy-washy, but I have enough kak with the real media already. Add that to Barney and Vic calling all the shots and I haven’t really got much to do, other than think of something stupid to say at the next press conference. So there’s my offer …… let’s be friends”
30 Aug 2010, 12:45 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-38: 1987, I was in Standard Five. I’m now in my mid-thirties.
Stuff that has happened since 1987: end of cold war, two Gulf wars, presidencies of Bush senior, Clinton (twice), Bush junior (twice) and Obama…
Stuff that hasn’t happened since 1987…
30 Aug 2010, 12:46 pm
@DenkerDromer(sjb)-77: You will never get Tacitus to agree to that!
30 Aug 2010, 12:47 pm
@Nils(Nils)-76:
what is latvia’s playing style anyway, forward orientated?
30 Aug 2010, 12:48 pm
What is nice about the wings we had on sat is that you know both can actually take on and beat their opposite number. JP is a bit of a coord, but he’s strong and busts many a tackle. Both he and habana finish well. Habana is pure class, don’t even consider dropping him, unless it’s to rest him.
30 Aug 2010, 12:51 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-74: Hey fatty… What’s your take on Hougaards performance over the weekend? I remember you saying something about how you were going to laugh on monday???? Please give us your expert opinion….
30 Aug 2010, 12:53 pm
3N All stars 2010-SO FAR
1.Steenkamp
2.Mealamu
3.O.Franks(much of muchness here)
4.Thorne
5.Matfield(his 2nd half performance on Sat is better than anything Sharpe & Donnely have done entire tournament-not a lot quality play from 5)
6.Burger
7.McCaw
8.Read
9.Hougaard(much of muchness-Cowan/Weepu/Genia)
10.Carter
11.Rokocoko(much of muchness)
12.Nonu
13.Smith
14.Jane
15.Mils
30 Aug 2010, 12:54 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-49: OK, I must admit I was a little grumpy watching the test because my golf was ****.
Maybe you are right, and maybe there were some good things that came out of it, but I will refrain from thinking that we are on an upward curve just yet. There are still too many things that I see needs to be improved and they have not improved over the last five tests. The only conclusion that I can come to in that regard is that the coaches are satisfied with the status quo.
Sorry, I remain deeply concerned
30 Aug 2010, 12:55 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-84:
Juan Smith has been much better than Burger.
@cab(cab)-82:
The guy in our team with the greatest ability to beat a defender thanks to fast footwork in a one on one situation is actually Francois Hougaard.
30 Aug 2010, 12:56 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-80: You are so right! I haven’t blogged here for some time but I still remember Tacitus as a very astute rugby blogger with excellent rugby knowledge in my opinion. However, where it comes to Spies he just strike a blank!
30 Aug 2010, 12:57 pm
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-85:
Please understand this why by no means even close to perfect.
I still think we struggle producing good quality possession and our tactical appreciation is sometimes very dodgy.
Also, as mentioned, this rugby will not win you World Cup’s but it was positive for me to see the willingness of the Boks to use the ball more and especially pleasing that we kept the Aussies out in the final 20.
There needs to be a better balance but there are more positives now than the whole 3N campaign at least.
30 Aug 2010, 12:57 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-86: Smith has only played one and a half games out of 5
30 Aug 2010, 12:58 pm
Keo.. as a wallabies supporter I think you’ve got this spot on.
I do rate the attacking abilities of the back three… mitchell, beale and connor but they look like a bunch of fairies when it comes to defence. Their attitude is non-existent… my god is it too much to ask for a covering tackle? We use to have a specialized defenceive coach in John Muggleton and the wallabies had the best defence going round but of course he got canned when Deans came in.
Also… fainga should have been taken off a lot earlier. Bad mistake by Deans. Congrats Deans… you’ve just been out coached by a clown!
There, rant over.
30 Aug 2010, 12:59 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-86: and both of them has been better than spies!
30 Aug 2010, 13:00 pm
@Lawman(Lawman)-90: is Sharpe out of the next game injured?
30 Aug 2010, 13:01 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-86: He is also our best fetcher, best defender (with Juan). Ek dink hy sal nogal vir John Smit mo*r toe skrum op hierdie stadium.
My starting 22 for overseas tour:
1. Beast
2. Bismark
3. Jannie Dup
4. Bakkies
5. Bekker
6. Stegmann
7. Juan (c)
8. Potgieter/ Vermeulen
9. Hougaard
10. James
11. Aplon
12. F Steyn
13. JdJ
14. Pietersen
15. Lambie (k)
16. Chilliboy
17. CJ
18. Flip
19. F Louw / Potgieter
20. S Pretorius
21. W Olivier
22. Basson
30 Aug 2010, 13:02 pm
Tacitus
yip phenomenal step, but I like him at 9 where he can cause mass damage ala joost (without the vuil onderbroek). Reckon the other one with a helluva step is de Jong and aplon, very fast feet. Wings should be JP and Habana with the younger guys mapoe, basson, gerhard and mvovu competing as backup
30 Aug 2010, 13:03 pm
@Boerboel(Boerboel)-87:
I’ll admit that he is stretching my patience a tad.
But he is also not as bad as the haters make him out to be.
He is without a doubt a better option than Plodder Vermeulen.
Kankowski is pretty much a Spies clone, slightly weaker than Spies in some areas, slightly better in others, but a notch below Spies as a whole.
Potgieter is promising, but I maintain he is too small to be the Bok no.8.
Then you have Rossouw, and in my mind he has always been a better lock than a loose forward.
Now, however much you feel agrieved by Spies’s under par performances – compared to the hype – he is still only disappointing rather than downright ****.
Average rather than poor.
His performances in the Tri Nations have been at about 50% of what I expect he should produce. But, and here’s the important bit, I don’t think there is anyone else in SA better than him.
And since Smith has been back, Spies has looked better as well.
Give him a couple of months off (he’s looking decidedly lean compared to his S14 bulk) and let him hit the gym and do some recuperating. Then unleash him in next year’s S15.
And all will be well.
30 Aug 2010, 13:04 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-86: i heard a rumour that basson beat shadow for pace last week.is it true?
30 Aug 2010, 13:07 pm
@bluejay(bluejay)-96:
Easy for such rumours to be spawned in the absence of evidence, seeing as the game was not broadcast on TV.
I would say it is unlikely, though.
30 Aug 2010, 13:08 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-88: Agreed. I think the Aussies will be better this coming Saturday. Hopefully we can put them away in style again.
I am very glad that Morne seemed to play a little flatter – it made the whole backline look much better (excepting the wings). Someone mentioned here that JPP was playing with a limp – I also got the impression that he is not running at full stride.
There is still much untapped potential in JDV and Mossie as a centre pairing. Thought Frans Steyn was a flop at 15 – we need Aplon’s pace and vision.
My team for Sat:
15 Aplon
14 JPP
13 Mossie
12 JDV
11 Habana (would love to see Basson get a go)
10 Morne (thought Butch was decent when he came on)
9 Hougaard (watch PDV give Januarie a start
8 Potgieter
7 Smith
6 Burger
5 Matfield (he needs a break, but he will play)
4 VD Merwe
3 Jannie Dup
2 Chili (he was good when he came on – needs a full test)
1 Gurthro
16 Smit
17 CJ
18 Danie
19 Kanko
20 De Jongh
21 Januarie
22 Butch
30 Aug 2010, 13:08 pm
@nicksteroonie(nicksteroonie)-9:
I quote: “Yes, it was not a close low scoring game like the traditional AB vs Bokke games, but who cares?”
The All Blacks have been murdering us!!! Can’t remember when we had a close low scoring game.
30 Aug 2010, 13:09 pm
@cab(cab)-94: I agreed with you untill you made that silly remark re: Habanna playing ahead of guys like Mapoe and Basson. Habana is a liability to an otherwise decent back 3.
30 Aug 2010, 13:10 pm
@bluejay(bluejay)-96:
Having said that, vd Heever was utterly cr*p against the Pumas. He has undergone a serious dip in form.
30 Aug 2010, 13:10 pm
JP and Habana were both made to look completely ordinary and classless by Mitchell and O’Connor. But it is a bit hard on them because they really don’t get given the same opportunities as the aussies and blacks. There is definately a big big gulf in quality between the Bokke back three and the rest, but that is down to the fact that they just aren’t utilised like they should be.
30 Aug 2010, 13:11 pm
@Boerboel(Boerboel)-87: Hehehehehehe.
30 Aug 2010, 13:12 pm
I actually think by picking hougaard at 9 and De Jong at 12, the bok backline becomes an entirely different threat since the oppo have to now watch the pace outside as well as the sharpness in the middle. If the boks can combine this with a powerful dynamic pack where 2, 5 and 8 offer more competition in the tightloose and breakdown for longer – could be an unstoppable Bok side.
30 Aug 2010, 13:12 pm
@pierre(pierre)-79: Hmmm… Boks winning a test series in NZ. (Come to think of it, Boks winning a single test in NZ — only happened 3 times in all that time)
Boks winning back-to-back 3N titles…
Boks holding #1 ranking for more than a flash-in-the-pan month.
Boks beating Oz by 49-0. Or getting ANY blanking score, however small, against NZ since 1987…
Quite a lot of non-events, come to think of it!
30 Aug 2010, 13:13 pm
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-95: Tac, Spies is a phenominal athlete and personally I wish him to get back to form as soon as possible. On Vermeulen I, however, differ from you. Vermeulen is a better bet than Spies and Kanko at the moment. On Danie I agree he is a lock, finish and klaar.
30 Aug 2010, 13:16 pm
@pierre(pierre)-79: When the ABs win the RWC2011, they’ll have erased their only significant “non-event”. It’ll be gone. Forever.
Unlike 49-0.
That’s written in indelible ink.
30 Aug 2010, 13:17 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-92:
Their saying over here that he might be alright come Sat. We really quite bare in that department if he’s out. Come WC though it might be a bit better… Horwill plus Vickerman.
30 Aug 2010, 13:17 pm
The truth is that test rugby has never been this poor for the last 50 years.
The only team that is worth its weight is the All Blacks
and even they are nothing in comparison with past All Black great teams
30 Aug 2010, 13:22 pm
KEO, your Monday morning big moan is back. I actually thought you turned the corner with your previous articles…..
The boks did very well to come back in a game where they were expecting to dominate from the start. Full credit to the senior guys in the team. to pull it back the way they did.
The boks must now build on this and look to the future.
I suspect the Kiwi’s are going to get better and better building towards a formiddable world cup team.
Bring it on i say. Give our seniors a rest during the end-of-the-year tour (which is 3/4 of our team to be honest) and let’s start fresh next year.
30 Aug 2010, 13:24 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-107: you mean that’s worse than the 53-3 back in 2003?
30 Aug 2010, 13:24 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-107: When they win? Surely you mean if, pilgrim. And even IF they win, they’re only halfway to the Boks’ tally. So not so much erased as smudged, wouldn’t you say?
30 Aug 2010, 13:26 pm
@katman(katman)-112:
30 Aug 2010, 13:27 pm
Victor @ 100
lol, so you would pick untested players over one of the great wings of the modern era?
30 Aug 2010, 13:27 pm
@cab(cab)-104: Add an unpredictable no10 to those.
30 Aug 2010, 13:30 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-107: the boks might still lead them 2-1 in world cups or it might be 3-0.have that thought crossed your mind old tackle flea-bag?
30 Aug 2010, 13:30 pm
yeah two eyes that would be perhaps ideal, but my boet convinced me morne is actually very good and he is, I probably prefer a jonibalm or larkham to a wilkinson or naas or fox, but fhe latter are game winners
30 Aug 2010, 13:36 pm
Ps. Here’s the northern hemisphere team (tbc by Peter and his cronies)
1. Beast
2. Bismark
3. Jannie.
4. BakKies/Flip
5. Andries (if ready)
6. Flo
7. Deysel
8. Kanko
9. Franscous Hougaard
10. Lambie
11. Basson/Nokwe
12. Olivier
13. JDJ
14. JPP/Gio
15. Frans (he is in desperate need of game time)
16. Liebenberg
17. BJ
18. Sykes
19. Alberts
20. Sarel
21. Peter Grant/JLP
22. Jantjes
Good enough team and we will develope some decent players, in particular the young Scott Lambie.
30 Aug 2010, 13:40 pm
I thought it was a good game. Yes both defences was piss poor and there were lots of errors but they Boks did well to comeback like that and keep the Aussie tryless in the 2nd half. The leadership of Smit and Matfield and the other senior players came through strong in this game. Also M&F. Steyn’s psychological boosting/draining(depends which side of the fence you are sitting on) penalty kicks played a big role in the comeback. With the confidence taking from this game the Boks can start building for the WC.
30 Aug 2010, 13:41 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-118: sorry, replace deysel with dewald and we’re good.
30 Aug 2010, 13:44 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-10:
Dont be a clown
Yes there were tries scored so i can see where you are coming from. Mind you someone who lives in the NH that sees a game with tries must be a bit confused.
30 Aug 2010, 13:47 pm
Get a clue, Keo!
A win is a win, it was a very exciting test match.
Once the Boks woke up and started playing after the initial 21-7 burst they won the last 68 mins by 37-10. And the defence was great from the Boks in that period
30 Aug 2010, 13:49 pm
this kiwi side is making me very scared, especially if take into account that the likes of sivivatu and mcalister still need to come back from injury…..
but if we have du preez and brussouw back we will be a different kettle of fish altogether as well.
30 Aug 2010, 13:51 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-118: Who is your Captain and Vice Captain??
30 Aug 2010, 13:53 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-123: Ja true they are also missing a few key players. But they dont actually worry me. They dont like playing under pressure so when it comes to knockout round at the WC they will choke once again and they are playing in front of there home crowds which will add more pressure to there WC campaign. Once they win a WC i will start to worry!!
30 Aug 2010, 13:54 pm
@bluejay(bluejay)-96: Yes. His 3rd try, shown on higlights reel. Completely skinned him.
30 Aug 2010, 13:58 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-124: dewald is captain, andries vice.
30 Aug 2010, 13:59 pm
“I’d like to think of Test rugby as a contest where one guy runs hard and the other attempts to tackle hard” How one dimensional can you get? It is amazing that in some quarters you are regarded as a pundit! No disrespect Keo but I am willing to bet you have never played rugby and if at all at very low level.
This was an exceptional game of rugby. Given that the Wallabies have no chance of taking the Boks on at there own game and winning, they tried to run them off their feet. That the Boks responding in the way they did was exceptional as it was uncharacteristic. The manner in which they won, adding another dimension to their game, will have given their self believe a big boost. The Wallabies will be stung by the loss but this young developing side would have added much to their bank of experience and they will be more than a handful next year at the WC.
30 Aug 2010, 14:02 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-125: i think you are right, the pressure of playing in front of 60 000 kiwi fans will have an affect on them. imagine they are trailing by 12 or more in the last 10mins. i don’t think they have the mental ability get out of a situation like that.
30 Aug 2010, 14:02 pm
@cab(cab)-114: Yes! Just as I would pick an untried scrumhalve (Hougie) ahead of the very experienced Ricki ANY day!
30 Aug 2010, 14:04 pm
Looks like this is the starting team for the WC.
1. Guthro
2. Smit
3. Jannie/BJ/CJ not sure how PDV is thinking here
4. Bakkies
5. Matfield
6. Burger
7. Smith
8. Spies
9. du Preez
10. M.Steyn
11. Habana
12. JDV
13. Fourie
14. JPP
15. F. Steyn
16. Bismarck
17. Jannie/BJ/CJ
18. Danie
19. Brussouw
20. Hougaard
21. James
22. de Jongh
30 Aug 2010, 14:07 pm
this test was like a Spaghetti Western
candy floss
at best a win is a win
at worst a crack polyfilla.
Now we belive all is well….who needs a fetcher?..MS i great [ problem is wc not at loftus ].
So predictable…….
farcical game…..not my cup of tea…
30 Aug 2010, 14:07 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-131: Thats a very white team!
30 Aug 2010, 14:08 pm
Two test matches have now made a sham of the “eminent” couchcoach Keo rugby theory of the need of a fetcher for the Boks.
Farking dunces!
30 Aug 2010, 14:10 pm
GREAT article KEO
30 Aug 2010, 14:10 pm
Wasn’t David Pocock supposed to play the poor Bokkies of the park all on his own this Saturday? All I read last week was how we were in for a lesson in fetcher play because we have no one who can play “on the deck” as it were.
What happened to that? When can we expect an artickle on what went wrong with superman Pocock?
30 Aug 2010, 14:11 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-126: This is where the obsession with pace and wings comes in. A wing simply has to be fast enough to beat and outpace a chasing player, who will usually be at leat 10 yards behind him. The real skill is in beating the player in the first place.
That’s where Shadow has been given way too much credit, he’s often been put into good space created by other players and had to round off, which he’s very good at. But so was Kabous Van Der Westhuizen.
Basson, Aplon, Mvovo will all get more Springbok game time than Shadow, for various reasons, mostly completely justified.
30 Aug 2010, 14:12 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-137: Shadow the hurdler is soooo overrated!
30 Aug 2010, 14:12 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-134: What do you do in the mornings? We almost never see you here before 14h00 our time…
30 Aug 2010, 14:13 pm
@grant10(grant10)-132: We dont believe all is well but rather that all is going to become well now. The team showed on Saturday that they still got it, that they can still win the big games. With a few tweaks this team will be great come WC time.
30 Aug 2010, 14:13 pm
smit showed great leadership ability on saturday and is a must for 2011.have to add that he looked quite good on saturday as well amd he looks a lot fitter and trimmer.
30 Aug 2010, 14:17 pm
@Craven(Craven)-136: if they do that it will be like having to admit that they got out-foxed by a clown!
30 Aug 2010, 14:18 pm
I could see instances where we would need a fetcher in the game on Saturday. It was mostly in the 2nd half when the Aussies where dominating and just putting in phase after phase. We had no-one to slow or steal the ball. But thanks to our great defence in the 2nd half and our exceptional cover defence we kept the Aussies at bay. For a team like the AB’s we need a fetcher either to start or on the bench. Brussouw on the bench will do great.
30 Aug 2010, 14:24 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-118:
Who is this Scott Lambie? His name is Patrick, get it right please man, I tell you this now.
30 Aug 2010, 14:24 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-137: Yep. Im a Bulls supporter but think that some of my fellow supporters are going a bit overboard with the praise of Shadow. Basson, Mapoe, Mvovo all very strong credentials for Bok selection imho.
30 Aug 2010, 14:25 pm
@grant10(grant10)-132: Notice that there is very little celebrating going on today, most bloggers agree we will take the win. It is therefore worrying that PdV is selecting the same team over again, seems he is more than prepared to take the win and build on it.
Where did I read that the sign of idiocy is trying something, failing and trying the same thing again and hoping for a different result.
30 Aug 2010, 14:26 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-125:
What would you calling playing in front of 94,000 screaming SAFFA’S at altitude?
30 Aug 2010, 14:27 pm
Let’s see. The Kiwis peaked this year… same as every other World Cups, the year before. Only difference, this time around they are boring! Extremely boring! News from NZ is that the AB-fans know this and interest in rugby had the biggest dip in 50 years.
No Mrs Tackler, can’t see the ABs getting rid of anything, other than more fans. Next year will be between the Wallabies, the Boks and the Pumas.
30 Aug 2010, 14:29 pm
Sorry should clarify that the real benchmark is AB, thus wins at home vs Oz are not close.
30 Aug 2010, 14:31 pm
What a sham! We all seem to want it our way. How many of you have actually played rugby?
30 Aug 2010, 14:33 pm
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-144: he has Scottish heritage you fool. His grandad was a scot.
GET IT RIGHT.
30 Aug 2010, 14:34 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-147: Ja the Proteas also won the 438 game and a couple of other big games. The Sharks also won the 2008 CC, but come World Cup time everyone will be focusing on the fact that the All Blacks are chokers.
30 Aug 2010, 14:35 pm
I look at that game as a stepping stone. The Boks needed to find a game plan that adapted what they are good at to the new law interpretations and get used to two influential players in Hogaard and Smith having significant impacts on the play. They weren’t perfect by any means, but celebrate the win as a step towards future development rather than a finished article ready to take on the world. They won’t consistently beat the top teams playing like that, but they are developing a game that will be more effective once they bring some more of their traditional strengths on defense and in the set pieces.
I agree with quite a bit of what Keo says as the game was strangely loose, with more of the tries coming from defensive errors rather than well developed attacking construction. You will always get scoring opportunities off opposition errors, but relying totally on them rather than your ability to break down a defensive line leaves you exposed against a side that is more clinical than the Wallabies were. I still wonder how well the Boks 3 wise men analyse the opposition and arm the team with attacking strategies to break down their defenses. Last year the analysis was evident and good. This year it is either non-existent, or looks more clueless.
30 Aug 2010, 14:36 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-151:
30 Aug 2010, 14:38 pm
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-144:
Did you enjoy the blackwash we gave you this year?
30 Aug 2010, 14:39 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-125: so was Eden park a game of pressure? you know 3-0 down, the WCs thought they just had to rock up to win… that to me is a major choke, and it seems only now they have finally swallowed…
I guess Soccer city was a game with no pressure either?
bwahahaha keep believing it, we’ve planned, along with Paddy, to ensure you get the same incompetent reffing in a World Cup next year…
you have been warned..
30 Aug 2010, 14:39 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-151:
It’s like watching a comedy.
30 Aug 2010, 14:43 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-129: like the mental ability to win in front of 90000 fans?
keep talking your rubbish..
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-140: the win at Loftus was a pressure game? bwahahaha it was a game to NOT win the wooden spoon..
delusion is a serious problem, perhaps you need better drugs?
30 Aug 2010, 14:44 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-157: i can’t stand some ppls’ intellectual inabilities….
30 Aug 2010, 14:46 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-158: boet, let’s wait and see…..i think carter may be shedding some tears again.
30 Aug 2010, 14:48 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-156: pops you guys played well this year, got rub of the green etc. Much like the Boks of last year, I for one would rather have had it this way round as a year out and hosting the competition will build the pressure nicely on you boys.
A year is a long time in rugby, we should know. Enjoy the 3N trophy that you guys deserved in 2010.
30 Aug 2010, 14:48 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-160: perhaps, but the constant need to reassure yourself that the ANs cant win under pressure, when they have done so twice this year already shows me how insecure you really are..
hoping for another team to fail rather then hoping for your own team to perform says so so much…
30 Aug 2010, 14:49 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-160:
What do you base that on, last weekends game at Loftus LOL
30 Aug 2010, 14:50 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-155: Yes almost as much as the Bokwash we gave you last year.
30 Aug 2010, 14:51 pm
@bananas(bananas)-161:
Doubt very much you were saying that after the French test this year.
From Tony Johnstone, on supersport.com
Three Springboks stood out to me.
The first was Victor Matfield, who was able to celebrate his achievement of 100 tests in the style that had so cruelly eluded John Smit a week ago. OK so he is not so dynamic around the park these days, but he is still the undisputed king of the lineout, engineering an absolute meltdown in the Aussie ranks. His lack of productivity elsewhere will not matter so much when his mate Bakkies returns with his insatiable appetite for work.
The second was Francois Hougaard. We have seen little of him as a halfback in NZ, but enough as a winger to know he has gas, but clearly he has more than that. When the peerless Fourie du Preez returns, South Africa will have a very strong one-two punch.
And the third was Chilliboy Rallepelle. Again we haven’t seen a lot of him in NZ, but when he came on he made a real impact with two priceless steals at the breakdown. He injected some real dynamism to the forward effort, something that was lacking in that final frantic quarter of the match at Soweto.
@bananas(bananas)-161: is that because you guys cant perform as favourites though?
do you seriously think NZ will cop another “didnt get the rub of the green” so blatantly at home? France played extremely well that day, but 2 penalties conceded with 30% possession, no penalty conceded in the second half…
would SA’s be happy if that occurred to them?
30 Aug 2010, 14:53 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-162: Mate you are the kiwi on a SA website slagging the Boks. What does that say about you ?? You guys should be on Silverfern enjoying your win. Instead you are on keo ………..hmmm says it all.
30 Aug 2010, 14:56 pm
@bananas(bananas)-168: that says Im enjoying the moment… I was responding to the cliched chokers call..
I was here last year too and copped my fair share…funny, you guys cant handle it being given back, but like to dish it?
what does that say?
like your coach and president, crying as well?
30 Aug 2010, 14:56 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-163: no, i’m just basing my perception on previous results and facts.
30 Aug 2010, 14:57 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-167: Was referring to reffing decisions in 3N ’10, the Boks got some good calls their way in 3N and Lions in ’09. When its going your way … etc.
30 Aug 2010, 14:59 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-169: Fair point, there is too much conspiracy theorism going on here when we lose. However cant comment on behalf of Pdv or Zuma !!
30 Aug 2010, 14:59 pm
@bananas(bananas)-171: I agree, but dont you think the continual choking calls are rather pathetic? its a knockout tournament, a series of one off games… and we all know one off games can go either way..
look at Ireland and France on the EOYT last year, one off games…
but go ahead, continue calling us chokers, when we do eventually win another, it is only going to be all that much sweeter..
30 Aug 2010, 15:00 pm
Popps,
I reckon the bokke might put the ABs out early, let’s just hope they have different routes to the final cos otherwise all the kiwis will be supporting anyone that plays the boks.
@bananas(bananas)-172:
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-170:
Do you think the Bokke will ever overall the negative win/loss ratio they have against the Ab’s?
Keo, for a guy who’s only contact with rugby was writing the results for his schol’s newspaper, you sure are opinionated. I’d like you to tell either loose trio they were playing touch rugby on Saturday.
Was good to see both teams throwing the ball around a little and having a run from anywhere on the park. Defensiv efforts were a litle shoddy, but hardly touch rugby
30 Aug 2010, 15:02 pm
@cab(cab)-174: Cab, you should really google the draw first, we will only meet in the semi or the final…
so how are they going to put us out early?
30 Aug 2010, 15:02 pm
@cab(cab)-174:
You also thought the Bokke would clean us up this year.
30 Aug 2010, 15:04 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-176: no, the all blacks are too good and naturally better players.
too honest for you?
i believe it, but the boks will always have your number from time to time….
30 Aug 2010, 15:06 pm
Any team that beats the ABs in the RWC better make sure it’s the final cos the inevitable accusations and recriminations destroy others, Just look at the vilification aimed at poor barnesey and suzy?
ABs can def be beaten, especially with the refs clamping down on tricky fingers mccaw
30 Aug 2010, 15:06 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-179: fact is, since the EOYT last year, the Bokke have been on a downward spiral, but I guess most of these guys are too close to the team to see this…
at Soccer city, I can only recall 2 times that the Bokke threatened NZs line, one they scored a try and the second was the charged kick of Carters..
apart from that, their team was constantly under the hammer…
still, if they cant see it all the better for the rest of the teams competing next year..
30 Aug 2010, 15:08 pm
@cab(cab)-181: “inevitable accusations and recriminations”
you mean like the chorus that has emanated from the republic this year???????
30 Aug 2010, 15:10 pm
NZINCHINA
yeah but look at all our injuries, it’s a shadow of the 2009 team, plus fingers mccaw has been in scintillatingly crooked form, how was I to know he could raise the level of cheating beyond even tricky dicky hansie?
30 Aug 2010, 15:10 pm
Wat de hel soek die lot hier?
30 Aug 2010, 15:12 pm
@cab(cab)-184: Cab, you never afforded us the same leniency last year when it came to injuries, so why should we now?
your arguments are always like origami,
paper thin..
30 Aug 2010, 15:13 pm
Ek dink dit moet teen die wet verklaar word dat elke jan rap en sy maat met n onigeligte opininie op die net sy bek mag rek…
30 Aug 2010, 15:14 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-182:
Their upward spiral since winning the world cup was one tri nations in 09, they can’t win away from home so they will struggle next year in Auckland.
30 Aug 2010, 15:14 pm
@cab(cab)-184: what happened to cowboys dont cry
30 Aug 2010, 15:16 pm
Popps
yeah but your injuries never really hurt you much, I mean you still have problems at lock, whereas our injuries were worldclass…
30 Aug 2010, 15:17 pm
@cab(cab)-190: lets see, the best 1st 5/8th in the world didnt play the first two games, McCaw was just back from injury, we had to play a novice at lock….
some world class injured there two cab, but keep crying cowboy..
30 Aug 2010, 15:18 pm
@Staal(Staal)-185: Ja kyk, nieu seelanders en australiers se Pretoria is die mees vervelige plek in die wereld maar ek het nou nog nooit op n nieu seelandse webblad gesit en blog nie.
Dit terwyl queen en abba nou eers groot is in nieu seeland!
30 Aug 2010, 15:18 pm
@Staal(Staal)-187: wil jy name teen daardie aantuiging sit?
30 Aug 2010, 15:19 pm
Houggard,
Well played son, last weekend I wasn”t convinced, in fact I thought you had a poor game, I’m glad to learn that you also weren’t impressed with your decision making in that game, but on Saturday, you repaid all the faith they had in you, which I didn’t. I hope you continue to improve and go on to become a Bok legend, Well played son.
Ricky, its time, chief…..
Of dat elke snotkop sy medoënlose neigings van slefbeheptheid mag openbaar sonder enige erkenning aan sy eie tekortkominge tov die vorming van sy opinies.
Vertaal daai een lat ek sien!
@cab(cab)-190:
Thats poor Cab, you would not have won in Auckland with whoever you had on the park.
30 Aug 2010, 15:20 pm
@Horings(Horings)-192: always a brave man that hides behind a language to state his message…
no balls huh?
30 Aug 2010, 15:23 pm
@Horings(Horings)-192: hehehehe, ja-nee wragtag!
ABBA LMAO!
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-193: wat laat jou dink dis n aantuiging?
Ek maak nie wilde uitlatings nie…
Ek sien maar net jul almal kry pakslae hier by die manne daar oorkant die waters. Daarom hou ek dit maar afrikaans!
30 Aug 2010, 15:23 pm
196 nzinchina
maybe, but I think a few changes would have seen a far tighter contest, nevertheless all the bs aside, nz seem to have raised the bar again, pretty much did to the boks in 2010 what the boks did to the ABs in 2009, blitzed them upfront .
30 Aug 2010, 15:26 pm
@cab(cab)-190: problems at lock? bwahahaha Donnelly has been the find of the last two years for us..
totally outplayed his SA counterparts this year, Matfield included… who do you think has been responsible for the improvement in NZs lineout?
30 Aug 2010, 15:27 pm
@Staal(Staal)-198: still better then beating a cop to death, or sleeping with the stiffs in the morgue…
30 Aug 2010, 15:28 pm
Ongelooflik!
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-194: Respect! Someone that can change his opinion on this site.
@cab(cab)-199:
Mixed in with some superb backplay, Israel Dagg is going to haunt your boys for years to come. Sure you have some good players to come back in but your pack was at full strength in Soweto barring maybe one player.
@Staal(Staal)-195: slefbeheptheid – is dit soos daai diertjie in iceage? slef….sloth
30 Aug 2010, 15:29 pm
Weet julle hoe groot is ‘n rietvink se brein?
30 Aug 2010, 15:30 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-205:
Ja amper so iets!
30 Aug 2010, 15:30 pm
OK manne – nou moet ek waai.
Cheers.
Gaan GROOT! Jy lewe net 1 keer.
30 Aug 2010, 15:31 pm
@Staal(Staal)-206: groter as n aussie se brein???
30 Aug 2010, 15:32 pm
@Staal(Staal)-206: amper so groot soos paddy o’brian s’n!
30 Aug 2010, 15:36 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-197: He said that most Nzlanders and Aussies say that Pretoria is a very boring place with nothing to do, yet he has never spent hours on a SA rugby site. Also that Queen and Abba have only become big hit groups in NZ and Aus now.
30 Aug 2010, 15:37 pm
\@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-210: @Horings(Horings)-209: @Staal(Staal)-207:
brein groottes vergelyk nou ouens, is dit wat jou argument het gekom om te
Ek dink as jou span speel rugby cant, youll vind ‘n ander manier om julle beter voel
30 Aug 2010, 15:38 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-205: @Staal(Staal)-208: @Horings(Horings)-209: You guys are being whoosies you know. You’ve run out of argument so you play unfair by tilting the playing field in a language direction you know others do not understand.
You’re better than that. C’mon.
30 Aug 2010, 15:38 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-211: all good Rossi, thank you..
just having some banter, its fun when the shoe is on the other foot
30 Aug 2010, 15:42 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-214:
You’re welcome Poppa.
30 Aug 2010, 15:43 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-211:
He’s right about Pretoria once you have visited that monument the ANC failed to blow up, seen a game at Loftus and attended a private braii ( gun club ) its time to leave.
30 Aug 2010, 15:48 pm
I suspect it’s all the ingelse who are a bit too opiniated, especially after the latest bees revelation, the strange thing about all these ou baase is they can’t seem to get enough of these snotkoppe.
30 Aug 2010, 15:49 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-216: Believe it or not, my trips there have always been meetings, and meetings and more meetings, then a mad dash straight back to the airport, so I have actually never seen anything in Pretoria. I really cannot comment.
30 Aug 2010, 15:49 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-212: wow, listen mate. i apprecaite the fact that you’re giving it a full go in afrikaans, but can’t help to think the ‘cant’ was a little deliberate.
i was just having some fun boet, put down your sword and laugh a little.
i think NZ deserved every bit of praise that came their way this year. they started with their backs to the wall after the s14 and i belive they will go on and break the 18match world record for winning on the trot. they’ll get the team of the year IRB award and either richie of carter will claim the player oty award once more.
but, and this is a BIG BUT, i would want to think that next year will be diffent purely because the proverbial pendelum swings….always.
30 Aug 2010, 15:51 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-10: I doubt you’ve ever watched one.
30 Aug 2010, 15:52 pm
Just heard that Smit, Kanko and JP Pietersen on verge of signing with Lions…
30 Aug 2010, 15:57 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-221: what, you don’t read the rapport? that’s old news man….but strauli said he’s not letting go that easily…..let’s wait and see.
30 Aug 2010, 15:58 pm
And for the kiwis/ozzies, carry right on as far as I am concerned, I enjoy your comments alot.
30 Aug 2010, 15:59 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-221: whats today’s date?
30 Aug 2010, 16:01 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-219: I know boet, but last year we heard all sorts, NZ rugby is k@k.. Boks should only play CC until the ABs get good enough again etc etc..
so just returning serve…
its all banter, Im on record here saying I always want a strong SA and that SA/AB clashes are the ultimate… always have been in my books..
just enjoying the moment in the sun…
as for next year, a week is a long time in rugby, let alone a year… nything could happen, we lose Carter or McCaw and we could be in serious trouble..
the consecutive record is still a fair few games away, and with Carter out and Cruden in the next game against the aussies it may not be a foregone conclusion most think it is..
while I would appreciate the record, I am more concerned that the longer we go without a loss, the more the likelihood of a loss coming at the wrong time..
30 Aug 2010, 16:02 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-221: fcku yeah
30 Aug 2010, 16:06 pm
Smitty to be forward coach, king Carlos backline coach and Mitch head coach.
Kanko -JPP welcome.
30 Aug 2010, 16:06 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-225: also, if NZ dont win the WC, Id rather SA or Aus win it… maintain the whole SH dominance thing, even though the banter would be prolific on this site..
I could blog on silverfern, but who wants to blog with everyone on the same page…
30 Aug 2010, 16:08 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-222:
Well just heard it is almost a signed deal…no I don’t read the rapport – why you work for them?
30 Aug 2010, 16:09 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-224:
Why is it old news? Sorry I didn’t know that. Just heard on the news so thought it was new.
30 Aug 2010, 16:10 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-221: if Red finds out that you are fibbing he will bite your little head off clean from your neck and dump it in a pissbowl at the den … oh it is true.
30 Aug 2010, 16:13 pm
@RedLion is born again(RL)-231:
Well everyone else knows about it! I thought it was breaking news – obviously old news – LOL
30 Aug 2010, 16:17 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-229: no, they ran the story first yesterday….
besides, i think js is headed to france.
30 Aug 2010, 16:17 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-225: duplicitous, precious, precious supporter of the “eternal” no1 side….
….between WC’s and when Sa has a rare level playing field in 3Ns…
30 Aug 2010, 16:18 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-232: wait and see mate none of them have signed
i dont see the sharks letting them go , only maybe smit as most of next year which is his last he will be with the boks so not really playing
i have it on good authority the Sharks have offered kanko and jpp much more
like i said as for smitty not sure , and i know the lions have made a very big offer for him
30 Aug 2010, 16:19 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-234: good day mate
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-232: hiyas bootsman
30 Aug 2010, 16:19 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-233:
He wants 4 Million at the Lions I hear! I wouldn’t take him for free! LOL
30 Aug 2010, 16:21 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-234: hey, at least this precious, duplicitous kiwi will still turn up on a blog when his team loses..
how was France again? did you enjoy it there? we missed you and your wise remarks for the 3 week sabbatical you took..
“karma karma karma chameleon
you come and go
you come and go ohhhhhhhh”
all the way to france…
bwahahaha
30 Aug 2010, 16:21 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-235:
Howzit mate! I just heard on Radio 2000. Yeah Smit can go and maybe Kanko too – they should keep JPP, but I hear they are hunting a four try wing from Griekwas – so there may be something in the rumour.
30 Aug 2010, 16:22 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-176:
Do you think the All Blacks will ever stop playing rugby?
30 Aug 2010, 16:22 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-236: Howzit SL. Great WE where the 2 best teams in World Rugby rightfully won their games:
The Boks …and…..
The Sharks.
30 Aug 2010, 16:23 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-238:
Howdy Poppa!
30 Aug 2010, 16:23 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-81: I have no idea, probably forward orientated. Anyway, they are mostly amateurs (I can hardly think about more than two +/- professional clubs here).
30 Aug 2010, 16:24 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-239: like i said boet, kanko aNd jpp will be staying
smitty is touch and go , i know he had a seriously big contract with the sharks which ends end of the year , if they prepared to go that big again i aint sure
30 Aug 2010, 16:24 pm
Keo hits the spot again – he’s been on fire this year.
A win’s a win and after 4 miserable losses I’d take any win to be sure, so let’s clear that up.
But if anyone honestly thought that looked like test match rugby and not Lions vs Chiefs then delusion has well set in. Delusion does seem to be in great supply this year.
66 missed tackles – that’s just not real. I’d guess some around here were probably highly critical of the Lions Chiefs 65-72 effort in S14 round 2 this year, but now applaud similar rugby played on Saturday night as classic.
They were both rubbish rugby but I guess there’s no requirement to be honest on this board.
30 Aug 2010, 16:25 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-238: Irrelevent, and the return of HG led to many a pompous, uneducated ,south sea islander meeting their match…
1 HG = 10 Kiwis
Boks = 2nd to none
30 Aug 2010, 16:26 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-237: yeah i know. that’s what they are offering. i think it’s bloody rediculous.
@poppa69(poppa69)-238:
“every day is like survival…..”
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-242: Hey Boet, hope youre well mate… congrats on the weekends win … while not a complete display, they showed plenty of character and spirit to come back and win..
I think Vic deserved the win, I thought Smit probably deserved to win on his 100th test too though..
30 Aug 2010, 16:29 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-246: gees, only 10 tokoloshes to one HG, I guess HGs arent valued that highly in SA..
we all know tokoloshes arent valued at all in SA, so an exchange rate of only one to ten says a lot more about the value of an HG then it does about a tokoloshe..
nasty nasty little hobbitses
30 Aug 2010, 16:31 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-250:
30 Aug 2010, 16:33 pm
I can’t believe how big of a b**tch Keo.co.za is being about Saturdays Test!!!
30 Aug 2010, 16:35 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-250: Prat.
30 Aug 2010, 16:36 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-249:
Thanks mate! Consistency is what I’m looking for. You can’t win one and then lose four. It was unconvincing and anyone who is getting ahead of themselves – well then ‘bless their souls and then also their soles!
30 Aug 2010, 16:37 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-244: how certain are you? The Lions just stumbled into 40million for that soccer city test and can easily afford to buy Boks.
30 Aug 2010, 16:38 pm
Cheers I’m off home…
30 Aug 2010, 16:40 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-253: I can see why the exchange rate is so low, with comebacks like that I think it should be even lower though..
how about 7 tokoloshes to 1 HG, and we’ll even throw in a gratuitous wizard called Paddy for you..
consider him a gift..
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-254: I think the pleasing thing for them was they actually proved to themselves that they can adopt a more ball in hand type of game.. add that to your guys traditional strengths and you will take some stopping.. you definitely have the talent..
30 Aug 2010, 16:41 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-256: cheers boet..
30 Aug 2010, 16:42 pm
Bees bail set for R100,000.00.
30 Aug 2010, 16:43 pm
Aplon alone missed/evaded 7 tackles at FNB Stadium against the ABs and another 4 shared missed/evaded tackles with his quotas’ buddies in arms De Jongh, Habana and Pietersen, I checked the replays at slo mo twice each missed tackle, great fun!
30 Aug 2010, 16:43 pm
Would Keo say any of what he’s just written to the Boks’ face??
30 Aug 2010, 16:44 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-257: you know its true…
30 Aug 2010, 16:45 pm
@Ezee-23(Ezee-23)-261: No
30 Aug 2010, 16:46 pm
@Inevitable(Inevitable)-240:
Hope not.
30 Aug 2010, 16:46 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-260: Good for you, you have no life!!!
30 Aug 2010, 16:47 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-263:
I reckon your boys are still favourites for the wooden spoon.
30 Aug 2010, 16:47 pm
JS made 8 tackles in 60 minutes and carried the ball 6 times, Chilliboy didn’t carry the ball ONCE in 20 minutes and shared ONE tackle with Rossouw, demonstrated a great self preservation for the long Test career
30 Aug 2010, 16:48 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-260: is evading a tackle the same as a ‘faked tackle’?
30 Aug 2010, 16:49 pm
@Ezee-23(Ezee-23)-265:
I didn’t watch the Tests alive, I have other obligations,,,,,
30 Aug 2010, 16:49 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-262: whats true?
that an HG is over-valued at 10 tokoloshes?
no argument here mate..
hell, in NZ we dont even stock HGs, they keep disappearing and when they do return they are more damaged..
“HGs a man (a man) without conviction
HGs a man (a man) who doesnt know
How to sell (to sell) his own contradiction
You come and go, you come and go ohhhh”
30 Aug 2010, 16:50 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-266: Maybe, and of course duplicitous kissing cousins root for eachother… Kiwis do many Ben Dovers for Ozzies…
30 Aug 2010, 16:51 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-270: Of course HG is more than a match for 10 hand-bagging, mascara wearing islanders…
30 Aug 2010, 16:52 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-271:
Think your a little lost when it comes to our relationship with Australia but it makes for good reading.
30 Aug 2010, 16:54 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-272: do they have hand-bagging, mascara wearing tokoloshes in FRANCE?
merci beaucoup gollum…
nasty nasty little hobbitses
lmfao…
30 Aug 2010, 16:56 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-273: Its all plain to see…
NZ and Pitcairn – two very similar Ozzie island provinces…
30 Aug 2010, 16:57 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-268:
NO!
‘Faked tackle’ see Paulse ALTHOUGH he improved tremendously later in his Test career by his ankle wrapping tackle, just as effective
But they are semantically close.
Once Henri Honibal said to the Boks: “to win a Test (against the ABs) you must keep tackle and tackle, and tackle HARD at that” (Christchurch, 1998), remember Small tackling Lomu? seemed like the current backs are exempted
30 Aug 2010, 16:58 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-275: no no no, dont you know that Aussie is in fact NZs West Island?
30 Aug 2010, 16:58 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-275:
You would be a big hit on Pitcairn.
30 Aug 2010, 16:59 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-274: They unfortunately have the little ******** wherever I go – except for Germany… Now the germans seem to be doing something right, no Kiwis there – a blissfull refuge…
30 Aug 2010, 17:01 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-279:
Yer just Turks, Somali’s and every other refugee under the sun can see why you enjoy it.
@Hondo(Hondo)-269: Good for you……
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-278: Naah not really, I know the McCaws are an established family name there…
30 Aug 2010, 17:03 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-282:
Your lying then you don’t know Germany.
30 Aug 2010, 17:03 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-279: thats funny, because when I was in the Rhine valley I came across a store selling tokoloshe manaia’s..
how strange then that you say ze germans have none there…
I think I’ll start calling you Miss information!
30 Aug 2010, 17:05 pm
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-280: No dreadlocked pakeha handbaggers or mascara maori in sight… Was once greeted at Munich airport – “ahhh, South african, the best rugby players”… The germans know, the yanks know (they make movies about the best)… just accept it – the Boks are second to none…
30 Aug 2010, 17:07 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-285: the boks ARE second to none, theyre also first to nobody either
so we are in agreement then?
30 Aug 2010, 17:07 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-285:
Have to agree with you on that one Germany and South Africa do have a lot in common.
30 Aug 2010, 17:08 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-285: mascara maori?
Miss Information strikes again… Nonu is actually of Samoan heritage, not maori..
nothing like letting the facts get in the way of your rant huh Miss information?
30 Aug 2010, 17:09 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-284: It must have been an oversight – or you were using your kiwi bong too much in a london pub and thought you were there (Rhine valley, my left foot), either that or it was a temporary oversight an they were thrown out with the last clearout of roma
30 Aug 2010, 17:12 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-288: like a kiwi from pitcairn or a kiwi from NZ – the same thing, definitely not the best rugger players on the planet.. that is reserved for Saffers – second to none on the rugger pitch…
30 Aug 2010, 17:14 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-286: On the former point, yes. Well done, you are learning… next…
30 Aug 2010, 17:17 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-267: If you look at Ruggastats numbers, JS carried the ball for more meters than any of the tight five in the game.:
Name Carries Line Breaks Offloads Overall GL %Meters Gained
Gurthro 4 0 0 100 15
Smit 6 0 0 80 19
Jannie 1 0 0 100 3
Flip 3 0 0 0 9
Vic 4 0 1 67 13
So in this area at least he did quite well. In spite of what everyone thinks.
30 Aug 2010, 17:17 pm
Bit harsh from Keo, nobody is saying this was a great test but never the less to get 44 off Australia is not that bad and in recent games if the Boks had gone down 21-7 they would have definitely lost they did show some character to dig in and get the win.
30 Aug 2010, 17:18 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-289: yep, we travelled to the Rhine valley after attending Octoberfest in Munchen…
a kiwi bong? hahaha yep, its shaped as a springbok, because weve sucked the life out of them this year with our fellowship of the ring (aka Irish refs and Gandalf “Paddy OBrien” the white)..
so Sour-one, I find it strange you named your land Mordar, you know it means dont you?
30 Aug 2010, 17:19 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-292: That didn’t format very well.
30 Aug 2010, 17:20 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-294: LOL… Poppa, dont go getting upset now
30 Aug 2010, 17:24 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-296: upset, moi?
au contraire Miss Information
I love seeing gollum trying to protect his preciousssss
30 Aug 2010, 17:31 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-297: Its been said before…You know its true…
30 Aug 2010, 17:33 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-298: hahaha if I got upset Id log off, buy a ticket and escape to France…
oh hang on, thats been done already..
30 Aug 2010, 17:37 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-299: Naah, that don’t work – was in France already before the advent of the masterful Oirish reffing performances…
30 Aug 2010, 17:44 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-300: its been fun Miss Information..
catch you next time, and remember
watch out for them nasty little hobbitses…
30 Aug 2010, 17:48 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-301: Cheers mascara maori
30 Aug 2010, 17:52 pm
It was a strange game, but for the most part, I actually quite enjoyed it. It was different and that’s bound to rattle the cages of the traditionalists.
Must surely have been the most effective use of bench players yet by PDV too. Good news, he’s learning.
30 Aug 2010, 18:01 pm
The only solution to the Bok woes is to stop supporting the Boks
After the All Blacks test i had enough
30 Aug 2010, 19:22 pm
As far as i am concerned the tri-nations has run it`s course and the tests are in danger of dare i say it becoming boring.Personally i got more pleasure out of the series win against the british lions than i did the boks winning the tri-nations.For me the world cup remains the No1 trophy and the tri-nations trophy comes a poor second as it can be won every year,i would rather the boks win the world cup every four years than win the tri-nations once a year for four years,but that is just me.Does anybody have any views they would like to share on this.
30 Aug 2010, 19:38 pm
Keo:
“Why do boks feel need to support bees 100%? there’s a 9 year old boy who doesn’t have a dad. A cop is dead, murdered&boks feel for bees!”
The Police didn’t follow protocol, and now one of their comrades is dead.
1) Why wasn’t Bees handcuffed?
2) Why wasn’t Bees given the breathalyzer test?
3) Where were the other 2 patrolling police officers?
4) 30 minutes ater the incident, Bees’ credit card was used to buy McDonalds.
5) Why would you climb into a car with a 120Kg man suspected of drunk driving? With no backup and no patrol vehicle following.
6) They claim the other two policeman were too traumatized to explain what happened, yet they arrived after the paramedics. It seems they were surprized and needed to get their story straightened out.
It seems to me that the policemen were trying to hijack Bees Roux, they already stole his credit card, and were expecting Mohale to do the rest of the job, and got a nasty surprize.
If Bees Roux was found in the early hours of Friday Morning the 27th, dead in a ditch along the N1, the very same police would have been thousands richer, and none of those blacks would be protesting against “racially motivated murder”, their protest is ironically racist.
Don’t be so surprized, we all know how corrupt South Africa’s police are and how crime-friendly our government is. Hell, even the Police commissioner himself is the most corrupt of the lot, the intelligence minister’s wife is smuggling cocaine in from Columbia and journalists are being arrested for investigations not even published yet, and the deputy-president-to-be is calling for the mass slaughter of all Afrikaners and farmers. (Farmers, whom by the way feed 1500 mouths per farmer in this country. Kill 1 farmer and guess what happens to production and pricing.)
30 Aug 2010, 19:45 pm
There was more intensity in the weekend’s Currie Cup fixtures than in the Test match in Pretoria and that says everything about an international fixture that should be remembered for its betrayal of the values of Test rugby.???
I have only see this now. What a joke of an article!! Great rugby. On which planet does he live?
30 Aug 2010, 20:00 pm
The Boks finally won and here you go peeing on the party.Can’t enjoy a good game, can you Keo?
30 Aug 2010, 20:06 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-306:
Strange, ANC-supporters like Mighty Horua are throwing their toys out the cot.
Last year city officials decided to change a street name in Durban.
It was formerly named after Edwin Swales. A WWII major (South African born) and pilot who was awarded the Victoria Cross for his bravery behind enemy lines and sacrificing his life for his teammates.
They renamed the street to Solomon Mahlangu. A struggle so-called hero.
What did Solomaon Mahlangu do to be honoured?
During the Struggle, he walkied into a store house in Natal, and shot (planned murder) two elderly white men whom he had nothing to do with. AND now he’s a hero.
It seems to me Achilles was born before his time. The question that always vexed him was:
Will his name be remembered after he was long gone?
And, How will it be remembered?
The easy solution was if he hadn’t been born before his time, joined the ANC, and killed innocent people at random of whom he knew nothing, and VOILA! You’re a hero. We will start naming some geography after you and publishing your account in the constant fight against phantom oppression.
30 Aug 2010, 20:21 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-306:
good post
30 Aug 2010, 20:26 pm
@dquinn25(dquinn25)-310:
Thanks. People are so “emotional”, they’re just ready to do what they condemned Bees for….
30 Aug 2010, 20:35 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-309: certainly doesn’t make sense. But equally, neither did apartheid boet. I’m not going to sit here and debate the merits with you, because I don’t have the answers. Suffice to say, we live in a crazy $#@%ed up land. Whatever happened to Bees, I hope justice prevails.
30 Aug 2010, 20:38 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-312:
Natuurlik. I we all agree mostly. And we’ll just have to wait and see.
30 Aug 2010, 20:38 pm
@Zandberg Jansen(Zandberg Jansen)-307: don’t read too much into it. Keo has created for himself a niche of journalistic sensationalism. It’s a means of attracting readers I suspect. There are shades of Malema in there somewhere.
30 Aug 2010, 20:46 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-313: if he’s innocent I feel for the man. If not so be it. I’ve witnessed bullying of the kind before and it shocked and saddened. Equally, I’ve witnessed manipulated fabrications and they’re the same. Lets see what the law turns up. I’m sure he’ll invest in good legal support, who will squeeze the truth out of the system much like the recent Selebe case.
30 Aug 2010, 20:51 pm
Boks should stay out of this sad scenario
lending support one way or the other is one poorly judged mistake.
Maybe truth never comes out like who killed JFK, Bees should not have been soused up in the wrong part of town the early morning before his mates were playing a CC game, wrong place wrong time, if destiny gonna seek you out better you don,t make it any easier for her.
30 Aug 2010, 20:51 pm
@TASSIES(TASSIES)-315:
Ja, 100% boet. Looks like they also tried hard to make them struggle for financial support with that rediculous bail.
ET murderers admitted to hacking him to death, LIED about their nationality, and got R5000 bail together.
30 Aug 2010, 21:22 pm
What a load of sanctimonious tripe, Keo. What would make you happier, a bump and grind 9-6 win? What-a-sham your journalism is becoming. I would rather see 9 tries and more “touch rugby” any day, and that is not because I’m ignorant of the finer nuances of the game! Celebrate the win FFS!
30 Aug 2010, 21:43 pm
I have no idea how anyone can support something like that.
30 Aug 2010, 21:49 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-309: Further info for you on street re-naming: They wish to change Kingsway Rd, that runs thru Amanzimtoti and Warner Beach (south of Durban) to Andrew Zondo who blew up part of a shopping centre in Toti killing dozens of people. Many of the victims and their families still live in the area. How is that for sick! Unfortunately there are a lot of sick people in high positions in this country.
30 Aug 2010, 21:55 pm
@julz(julz)-320:
Yes, Ernst van Dyk, South African wheel chair marathon champion, and world champion lost his legs in such a bombing.
Such a bombing that is considered heroic by the ANC.
30 Aug 2010, 21:57 pm
@julz(julz)-320:
The bombing that got Ernst was outside a sports stadium (Ellis if I remember corrctly) and two little girls lost their life.
The bomb was planted under a car, if I remember the news that day correctly.
30 Aug 2010, 22:12 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-321:
My bad, it wasn’t Ernst van Dyk, it was some other guy……
30 Aug 2010, 22:32 pm
Bees, jou bees!
30 Aug 2010, 22:33 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-324: F OFF!
31 Aug 2010, 00:41 am
Well said Keo, that game was a joke.
Take the win, but certainly not a “Test” match in my books!!
As for bees…….maybe we need to let the law and justice take it’s course??……..hopefully nothing is rigged, no-one is bribed, no prejudices surface and the truth will come out…….yeah right!
31 Aug 2010, 00:58 am
Why is Keo.co.za being such a b*tch about Saturdays Test?
31 Aug 2010, 04:14 am
keo – muppet – Juan’s hand off of Mitchell was *perfectly* timed. Try enjoy next time
31 Aug 2010, 04:52 am
Jeez Keo, instead of appluading tejh man for putting the Boks on teh steps to teh right game plan, you criticise the hell out of him.
You know what? I, for once ENJOYED us not gi9ving teh ball to them to try and get through us. I LIKED US having a bash for chanage. Did it mean we were vulnerable on turnovers? YES!!! But that is to be expected as our fluency on attack was OPFCOURSE going to be **** because WE HAVE NOT DONE ANY ATTACKING IN THREE YEARS!!!!
But the fact that we won anyway while playing badly means that we were finally swimming WITH the current, instead of against it. As opposed to playing the game of our lives and losing anyway, like in Soweto. This should be viewed as a massively positive step!!
Before, when Snor advocated running from all parts of the park, it was a) too much, and b) the rules at the time did not justify such running rugby (we were swimming against the current then). But the rules have chamged, and the rugby must change with it. Please note I am NOT advocating helter skelter rugby- I am adovocating a ball in hand, possession based, STRUCTURED approach.
Thank God we finally have!! And after only four hidings!!
31 Aug 2010, 05:05 am
**** typing, but I am gatvol of Keo not trying to guide our coach in the right direction, and instead just looking for sensationalist headlines.
31 Aug 2010, 05:27 am
@SjamBok(SjamBok)-330:
Cr ap typing? I think you have send Tackles straight to the edge with some of your spelling…
31 Aug 2010, 05:47 am
Better defence has made soccer only “Highlights” watchable. Hope it doesn’t do the same to rugby with only one try a match. I enjoyed Saturdays game and was entertained for the full 80 mins.
31 Aug 2010, 05:48 am
These journos are pretty shite. Never happy only when Problems win.
That was not test rugby, so what is test rugby doos. Forward play and driving around the rucks. Piss off
Both teams gave it all, both teams needed the win and played to score tries. Thank-you it was enjoyable.
31 Aug 2010, 06:23 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-333: I agree. They seem to be hell bent on discrediting the Bok team and coaches and refuse to pass any compliments. Die res van die tyd hang hulle WP onderrokke uit.
With the tri nations already decided this test would have been different from the start i.e. less physical. It doesn’t mean that both teams did not badly want to win this one.
The Boks showed a lot of character to come back and the intent they showed for certain periods of time was good to see. Especially the lead up to Spies’s try was excellent.
31 Aug 2010, 07:56 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-306: Let me have a shot at this.
The Police didn’t follow protocol, and now one of their comrades is dead.
1) Why wasn’t Bees handcuffed?
Law of Criminal Procedure dictates that a suspect does not need to have cuffs slapped on him, he/she merely needs to be ubder ‘physical control” of the arresting officer who needs to make it clear that an arest is performed. Handcuffs are considered humiliating and only used as a last resort by police officers. He might have made a udgement call which turned out bad.
2) Why wasn’t Bees given the breathalyzer test?
Stark reality is that police are ill-equiped. In all likelihood they simply did not have one. They might have been on the way to have one performed by a medical examiner.
3) Where were the other 2 patrolling police officers?
I dont know, guess we will find out soon enough.
4) 30 minutes ater the incident, Bees’ credit card was used to buy McDonalds.
I fail to see how that impacts on the case at hand. Bees could have lost it at any point during the night, to be used by any of a number of people.
5) Why would you climb into a car with a 120Kg man suspected of drunk driving? With no backup and no patrol vehicle following.
Because its what you do for a living and you dont expect to get beaten to death. Only consider that he might have been wanting to give Bees a break and transport hm home safely.
6) They claim the other two policeman were too traumatized to explain what happened, yet they arrived after the paramedics. It seems they were surprized and needed to get their story straightened out.
Maybe. Or maybe you are jumping to conclusion, pre-judging the matter.
It seems to me that the policemen were trying to hijack Bees Roux, they already stole his credit card, and were expecting Mohale to do the rest of the job, and got a nasty surprize.
Or they were trying to take a drunk driver home so that he does not danger his own life or the lives of others on the road.
If Bees Roux was found in the early hours of Friday Morning the 27th, dead in a ditch along the N1, the very same police would have been thousands richer, and none of those blacks would be protesting against “racially motivated murder”, their protest is ironically racist.
On the other hand. If Bees Roux had crashed into pedestrians in his drunken state, killing 5 or 6, we all would have bemoaned the lack of law enforcement on our roads.
Don’t be so surprized, we all know how corrupt South Africa’s police are and how crime-friendly our government is. Hell, even the Police commissioner himself is the most corrupt of the lot, the intelligence minister’s wife is smuggling cocaine in from Columbia and journalists are being arrested for investigations not even published yet, and the deputy-president-to-be is calling for the mass slaughter of all Afrikaners and farmers. (Farmers, whom by the way feed 1500 mouths per farmer in this country. Kill 1 farmer and guess what happens to production and pricing.)
I fail to see how the above relates to Bees’ case. Remember that he beat the cop up, stopped the assualt when his vehicle started rolling and ran to his car in order to pull up the hand brake, then returned to the already badly beaten victim and finished him off.
31 Aug 2010, 08:00 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-335:
No mate, with all your preaching, he did not beat up a cop…….he is alleged to have beaten up/killed a cop. Inocent until proven guilty………nice try though!
31 Aug 2010, 08:13 am
@whatever(whatever)-336: The part where he beats up a cop is the only thing that has been verified by an independent witness, thus not Bees or one of the cops. Also, I wrote the post in response to Agile’s which does not deny the assault having taken place.
31 Aug 2010, 08:28 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-306: Give that man a BELLS
31 Aug 2010, 08:53 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-335:
As a police reservist who has been in similar situations before, let me have a shot at it as well:
“1) Why wasn’t Bees handcuffed?”
I agree with Taahirah, you don’t always handcuff the suspect. The police have a duty to always maintain the dignity of suspects, therefore, for example, we always try to search suspects out of sight of the public. The handcuffs are used to restrain physically threatening suspects, and it is a judgment call. Sometimes we rather use cable ties instead.
“2) Why wasn’t Bees given the breathalyzer test?”
For one of three reasons: one, they weren’t equipped with mobile breathalyzers; two, there are two different offences – (1) being over the legal blood alcohol level while driving and (2) being intoxicated while driving. You can still be arrested and convicted for drunk driving even if you’re blood alcohol level is not taken, if there is enough external evidence of drunkenness, e.g. bloodshot eyes, slurring, lack of coordination, smelling of alcohol etc; three – they decided that there is too much paperwork involved in processing a drunk driving arrest (trust me, there is a lot of admin involved) and decided to give Bees Roux a break by letting him go and escorting him home.
“3) Where were the other 2 patrolling police officers?”
We have often had situations where we’ve stopped drunken drivers who then begged for mercy because a conviction would ruin their careers (think students). I imagine a professional rugby player would have done similarly. In such situations, depending on the circumstances, a judgment call is made and often it is decided to drive the person to his or her home, i.e. one of the policemen gets into the suspect’s car and drives it to his/her home. This is backed up by the fact that the car was travelling towards Equestria (where Bees lives) and not the direction of the Brooklyn or Sunnyside police stations. The police car will in almost all cases follow (because obviously the policeman will need to be picked up once he’s dropped off the suspect). Who knows what happened here, they might have taken a wrong turn and lost sight of Bees’s car. I suppose we’ll find out soon.
“4) 30 minutes ater the incident, Bees’ credit card was used to buy McDonalds.”
Irrelevant. A credit card transaction is often only processed after the purchase, sometimes even days. As Taahirah pointed out, it could also have been lost by Bees in his drunkenness and used by someone else.
“5) Why would you climb into a car with a 120Kg man suspected of drunk driving? With no backup and no patrol vehicle following.”
As stated earlier, I believe they were trying to take him home. This is backed up by the facts that (1) Bees was not handcuffed, (2) that the policeman was driving his car and (3) that they were driving in the direction of Equestria, where Bees lives, and not in the direction of the police stations. The patrol car was likely following, as I said earlier they might have taken a wrong turn.
“6) They claim the other two policeman were too traumatized to explain what happened, yet they arrived after the paramedics. It seems they were surprised and needed to get their story straightened out.”
I agree with Taahirah, I think you are jumping to conclusions. I imagine I would be extremely traumatised if one of my colleagues had just been beaten to death – irrespective the circumstances. I can refer you to numerous scholarly articles on shock and its effects, if you like.
“It seems to me that the policemen were trying to hijack Bees Roux, they already stole his credit card, and were expecting Mohale to do the rest of the job, and got a nasty surprize.
Or they were trying to take a drunk driver home so that he does not danger his own life or the lives of others on the road.”
I think the first claim of yours constitutes defamation without any sort of proof – baseless allegations. I believe your second possibility is likely what happened.
“If Bees Roux was found in the early hours of Friday Morning the 27th, dead in a ditch along the N1, the very same police would have been thousands richer, and none of those blacks would be protesting against “racially motivated murder”, their protest is ironically racist.
On the other hand. If Bees Roux had crashed into pedestrians in his drunken state, killing 5 or 6, we all would have bemoaned the lack of law enforcement on our roads.”
Please spare us the sensationalist claptrap. There is no need to jump to conclusions until we have heard more. The investigating officer and the magistrate at the bail hearing have already stated that there are irregularities involved here. Let us wait for justice to do its course, I am sure the truth will emerge. Until then, inflammatory emotional posts will help no-one.
31 Aug 2010, 08:54 am
@svs(svs)-328: Agreed!!!
31 Aug 2010, 09:02 am
funny thing is when the kiwis and ozzies play out a game like this they celebrate it as rugby at its purest and as an example of how the game should be played!
31 Aug 2010, 09:17 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-339: I’ve said from the start, we should wait and see what the investigations turn up. The media will run ANYTHING they feel will sell papers….
31 Aug 2010, 09:49 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-339: This is all mere speculation. Lets wait to see what comes out of the police investigation.
If Bees did infact kill the officer because he was drunk, he needs to get punished to the full extent of the law. If he was being hi-jacked and acted in self defence- I say good on you Bees.
These are all facts we dont have at our disposal, so getting into arguments over speculations are very unfair towards both Bees and the families of the deceased. I did however not like the threatening statements made the the deceased’s brother in court, saying that he’ll get Bees’ mother….
Time will tell…….
31 Aug 2010, 12:21 pm
Had we won a hard fought battle with a 15 – 6 win with one try, Keo would have said that we have lost our attacking flair
I for one really enjoyed the game
31 Aug 2010, 17:08 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-335:
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-339:
OK, a patrol was in the neighborhood, it was apparently or should be more than one policeman. There were apparently 3 policeman.
Next, did they find Bees behind the wheel, or in the passenger seat?
If he was in the passenger seat, what was the problem?
If he was behind the wheel, how did they force him into the passenger seat?
Are you telling me the officer flashed his lights, ran his siren, pulled Bees off, peered into the car, had a chat (or try to), left his vehicle and partners, asked Bees to move over to the passenger seat and then merrily proceded to climb into a car with a 120Kg drunk man to drive him to his home? What would he do when he got there?
Wasn’t the policeman rather trying to take his to the police station.
Could it be that the policeman told him that he is taking him home, and didnt want an arguement that he was actually en route to the station, and when Bees didn’t recognize the route as leading home, he jumped to the conclusion that he was being hijacked? (they didn’t even get a few blocks far, by the looks of things).
If Bees is as mean as some think and mistrusting of black men, then it isn’t likely that Bees would allow the policeman to climb into his car without any further ado anyway.
Furthermore, Taahira says:
” If Bees Roux had crashed into pedestrians in his drunken state, killing 5 or 6, we all would have bemoaned the lack of law enforcement on our roads”
I DO bemoan the lack of law enforcement in every aspect.How many hundreds of lives have already been destroyed by these bungling, incompetent policemen?\
It’s the exact same effect. The fact is, the police didnt do what they should have done, either they dont know protocol or are incapable of executing it. I dont feel sorry for Bees, and I dont feel sorry for the policeman. The only person I feel sorry for is the 9-year old kid: to be brought into a family like that is tough.
Lastly, WP_Forever says as a reservist, that he too would be too traumatized to speak if his college was beaten to death.
But apparently they only pitched up after the paramedics. Furthermore, if that’s the way you feel, I respect that. I would NOT be too traumatized to speak. I’d be pissed off and tell them exactly what happen, and paint Bees as black as I possibly could.
The credit card could very well have been stolen at the police station after the arrest by the police and used then. How traumatized is that?
So a college of yours just got beaten to death. Let’s go get some Mickey D’s his stolen money.
Yeah, most of this is speculation, I’m entitled to it.
31 Aug 2010, 17:59 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-335:
Anyway, very good responses by both of you. Thank you.
31 Aug 2010, 18:08 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-345: all that energy about a case you have no connection with?
31 Aug 2010, 18:09 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-347:
It was quick and painless.
31 Aug 2010, 18:11 pm
But there is, somehow, probably more bad than good to be doen by bloggers commenting and throwing speculation around.
Perhaps we should just keep this to kitchen talk?
What do you say?
31 Aug 2010, 18:12 pm
349 is for you Transie…
31 Aug 2010, 18:16 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-349: that has been my stance from the get…
31 Aug 2010, 18:17 pm
It’s just that, in the industry I work in, safety is EVERYTHING!
It’s all round you. We beat them to death with safety regulations.
Colour codes, cards, sirens, induction upon induction, paperwork, backup procedures, house keeping etc.
I am angry at the police not giving sufficient heed to protocol, and now one of their own is dead.
I hope if anything, this case is a dark reminder and textbook example of what NOT to do, and hope that the best can come of this situation, and that the police pull their socks up.
31 Aug 2010, 18:20 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-351:
Coupled with this, the polices general unprofessionalism and disregard for regulation, sees so many people murdered with service arms.
Their bungling and incompetence has seen justice denied for thousands of law abiding citizens.
31 Aug 2010, 18:22 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-351:
(BTW, this post 353 is why I included the last paragraph of post 306, not to be sensationalist or inflammatory, I was trying to paint the milieu).
31 Aug 2010, 18:25 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-306: Hell, thats an illuminating angle.
31 Aug 2010, 18:30 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-339: Eish, an equally illuminating post. Now this is what you call a debate.
31 Aug 2010, 18:32 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-345: Eish, CSI Pretoria. Good reading…
31 Aug 2010, 18:34 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-335: Eish good response
31 Aug 2010, 18:37 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-345:
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-335:
Classy debate, no racial insinuations. Good stuff on an uncomfortable subject…
Hopefully that shuts up the lynchmob…
31 Aug 2010, 18:37 pm
Agree with you Keo, I can’t stand these 10 try games. The AB’s game was one of the best I have seen, outside of a WC.
Close close matches in NZ under Jake rate the same to me. Intense, massive defense, that’s what I love to see
31 Aug 2010, 23:29 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-359:
Reports say that the brother of the deceased metro cop, Taubokong Mohale, shouted at Bees Roux at court yesterday:
“I’m going to get your mother, you f*cking dog”
This is now after his familiy released a statement to the media that they “Hold no grudges against Bees”.
This tells me two things:
1) They released the initial statement in order to appear saintly and in an effort to contrast themselves with Bees and his alleged actions.
2) This tells me something about the attitude with which these men were raised.
Tonight on the news, in front of the cameras we have the exact same Taubokong Mohale saying:
“God, the Big Man upstairs, must see to it that justice is done…..”
I wonder if that entails Taubokong Mahole torturing Bees Roux’s mother to death?
1 Sep 2010, 00:38 am
Keo – agree, our defense was rubbish for the first 30 minutes or so.
But none of the tries WE scored were particularly soft – Jaun’s was a classic switch, wrong-footing everyone and with a great hand-off, Guthro’s was pure power, Spies’ try was persistent phase play with some brilliance from Hougaard, Frans’ try, although a bit lucky was again well deserved and from good play and so was JP’s at the end.
The fact that we were 14 points down so soon meant that for the first time we had to PLAY rugby rather than this non-sense of kicking the ball away at every opportunity and “keeping it tight”. I have always maintained that if we play to our attacking strengths and back ourselves, we can beat any side, even the AB’s. True, to beat the All Blacks you have to defend better than we did on Sat, but I can’t help but feel that we are wasting the incredible talent of JdV, Jacques Fourie, Habana, JP, Aplon etc…
Of course, you need to play with intensity, use the forwards to soften the guys up before you go wide…. But for GOODNESS sake, GO WIDE, use the backs and play rugby that doesn’t bore the average rugby fan to tears. The new law interpretations are designed to benefit teams that play ball-in-hand attacking rugby. Hasn’t the success of the AB’s show us this this season!!!??? So how come you and your team of writers continue with this tripe about playing for territory and focussing on the kick chase.
Yes, the first 20 minutes were a bit ridiculous, but after this it was awesome rugby – because for the first time this year we actually HAD to play to try and win it.. I think it was a classic match, with the result in doubt until JP’s try. Yes, sometimes a tight, intense game is enjoyable, but on the whole I prefer Saturday’s kind of game to the boring game we had in the WC final with no tries ,everybody being to scared to make a mistake and everybody playing conservative, boring rugby. In the group phase we should have beaten the English 50 – 0 , so why the heck did we let it get so close in the final of the WC? Should have killed them again!
Thank goodness for the new law interpretations! At least it is making rugby into the spectacle that it should be. Maybe, just maybe the Springbok team will realise that they can stop playing old style bash-it-up-and-kick-rugby, and rather play the total rugby that PdV spoke about when he started. If we do, we’ll kick serious butt, and the only team that will be able to beat us will be the AB’s on a very good day, especially once we have Brussouw and Du Preez back.
2 Sep 2010, 12:51 pm
@Viking(Viking)-362:
SA Rugby Manual:
1 – “Look for space along the length of the field”
2 – “if you see space… kick into it”
NZ Rugby Manual:
1 – “Look for space across the width of the field”
2 – “If you see space, get your inside backs (10/12) to draw defenders (not try to run through the defenders)
3 – Get your outside backs to utilise it
That is why, even on attack our backs stand still and flat, and when they get the ball they don’t know what to do with it and they are thinking “Why The F.. didn’t Morne kick the ball!!” LOL
2 Sep 2010, 12:55 pm
@Bell(Bell)-363: footnote to point 2 of NZ Manual: *Please excuse Ma’a, he doesn’t always understand the difference between “draw” and “bulldoze”. Much like Francois Steyn, except he can’t kick.
LOL…