Attitude adjustment
31 Aug 2010
JON CARDINELLI says Peter de Villiers needs to stop whinging about refereeing inconsistencies and address his side’s inability to compete for 80 minutes.
Contradictions are commonplace when De Villiers is sitting top table, but in Monday’s press conference, he delivered more than his usual quota.
Asked where it went wrong in this year’s Tri-Nations, the Bok coach rambled on about how unlucky the Boks were when it came to officiating on the Australasian tour. It was a statement that followed on from last Monday where he praised his players in a losing effort to the All Blacks, and lamented that ‘luck’ hadn’t gone their way.
No, Peter. You’ve lost four out of five games as well as the Tri-Nations title because in those defeats your team has been outplayed and you have been outcoached. Take it on the chin, learn from it, and move on.
Stop talking about luck and admit it: in the 2010 Tri-Nations, luck hasn’t been the deciding factor. The Boks simply haven’t been good enough.
He seemed to admit as much when he talked about attitude and intensity. He said he liked what he saw in the most recent clash against the Aussies. Question: Where was that intensity for the first three games, or indeed, the first half of the Test in Pretoria?
After the Australasian tour, De Villiers shrugged his shoulders and was at a loss to explain the results. He should have come clean and spoke about the drop of intensity, the lack of motivation, and why these things weren’t instilled before the tournament. He should have ‘fessed up to poor selections that undoubtedly played their part in a 0 from 3 return.
Instead, the public and media have been fed the trademark contradictions and gobbledygook. His supporters take the positive meaning from his statements and ignore the negative. Some of his critics take the negative and play down the positive. The rest of us look at these outrageous mixed messages and wonder how he can be allowed the job of coach and spokesman of the world champions.
And those messages aren’t all rugby related. In a moment of unprompted madness, De Villiers brought up the Bees Roux incident at Monday’s press conference. He had begun talking about how it was the duty of the Boks to give South Africans in unfortunate situations hope (it never occurred to him that winning is the Boks’ aim and hope is a byproduct) when he mentioned that the Boks are behind Roux 100%.
Why say something like that? It never occurred to any of the journalists to ask him about Roux, because you wouldn’t expect the coach to have a comment as it has nothing to do with the Boks. Saru are forever talking about sorting De Villiers out, but there’s no keeping his mouth in check.
He has obvious technical failings when it comes to rugby, failings that are overlooked when the player-driven system produces wins like it did in 2009. This year, those technical failings are certainly a concern. The Boks will get some important players like Fourie du Preez back from injury next year, but is it really worth going to the World Cup with a coach who isn’t up to the task?
Short- and long-term, do the Boks need this ongoing sideshow of mixed press-conference mumblings that make the organisation as a whole look incompetent? Do they need the extra pressure when they are already in a scrap to avoid the Tri-Nations wooden spoon? The answer is no, but I suspect Saru will continue to do nothing about this affliction.
De Villiers doesn’t bother about the criticism, mind you. ‘If you’re not for us, you’re against us,’ he says.
It’s a flawed kind of attitude, especially when you have a 1 from 5 record in the only tournament that matters outside the World Cup. Are you above criticsm with that kind of record? I suppose it’s just a bout of bad luck that’s led to the current situation then…
If Saru is intent on keeping De Villiers, they need to eliminate this attitude, and the sooner the better. A coach with a 1 from 5 record shouldn’t have much to say other than his team will do better in the next Test.

129 Comments
31 Aug 2010, 10:00 am
Snor is a nut, but he didn’t say the Boks supported the deed Bees got up to. Just the bloke himself. Although he should have said f..all about it.
Anyway, like last week vs NZ, we played for 70min. This past weekend it was the first 10 we didn’t play.
31 Aug 2010, 10:08 am
Yet another factless, one-eyed, braindead article. Does anyone know of a better banter-site?
31 Aug 2010, 10:09 am
What’s more concerning is that PDV refers to the magic 1400 – 1600 playing minutes, and then casually mentions that some players have played over 2000 already this year. And then he picks them again…
31 Aug 2010, 10:09 am
This guy is out of his depth, not only as a spokesperson, but also as a coach.
I thought his ramblings about the defensive system being perfect, but the players not adhering to the system was priceless. Here is a bit of info for you, Mr De Villiers. A system that cannot be implemented is flawed, and if your players battle to implement the system for five games in succession, your system is up to maggots.
Moreover, if your system was so perfect, why did you see the need to involve Nienaber in your defensive system? Our defensive “guru” Gary Gold’s system was horribly exposed at WP. It was only when Nienaber and Rassie came to the Cape that WP became more solid on defense.
The biggest concern for me is that it took them nearly two years to get the bullshit that Gold taught them out of the players’ minds, and now SARU is allowing Gold to contaminate the minds of our flagship product with his insanity.
**** Muir is not above reproach. He is our attacking specialist. Admittedly, the players looked impressive with ball in hand, but as anyone will tell you, the ball in hand game plan is earned with tight forwards that dominate at the rucks that follow the tackle. We did it well on Saturday, but I feel that we were allowed to do it by a lacklustre Aussie outfit. But, I am open to correction and will eat humble pie if we manage to do it again this Saturday against, what I believe, will be a better Aussie team.
31 Aug 2010, 10:10 am
Moes ‘n dominee gewees het
31 Aug 2010, 10:12 am
Snor is a people’s person. He feels for the man in the street. He felt for Bees and offered his support. Nothing wrong with that.
31 Aug 2010, 10:15 am
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-4: and what is so good about WePee post Gold… Nothing really…?
I see all the province players in the Bok side are “really” setting the field alight…
I wonder if that non-fetcher Juan Smith is from WePee? Naah, hes a Cheetah.
I wonder if Habanero and that donkey JdV are from WePee….? Yes they are.
31 Aug 2010, 10:17 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-7: More Sharks for the Boks, in place of overhyped WePee players. then the Bok ship will stabilise nicely
31 Aug 2010, 10:19 am
@Victor4CAPTAIN(UnbeataBULL)-2: The only thing that is braindead about this article is the coach under question. What do you expect journalists to write about when they are given these nonsensical babblings at press conferences?
Have you ever seen PDV at a press conference? Do yourself a favour – watch him at 13.00 on channel 200 on DSTV when he announces the team and listen to how he is incapable of giving any coherent, relevant to the question and rugby related answer. It is a joke, and with the decline of the team’s structures, I find the joke less than funny.
31 Aug 2010, 10:20 am
PDv didnt bring his side this year. He was largely underprepared and I dont know why because he has whole year to plan and plot. There is still hope for him though. A 4 week conditioning camp with the top boks will sort out the team. Week 1- Hennig Gerricke- to get the players mind right for the big year they are having in 2011. Week 2- Rassie to work on breakdown skills with the whole team. Week 3- Eddie Jones to sharpen up the players skills and work with the backline.
Week 4- Sheryl Calder to do some vision work with the team.
31 Aug 2010, 10:21 am
@Victor4CAPTAIN(UnbeataBULL)-2: I know what you mean. Im here hoping to read the comments of the likes of Mshiniwami, Pissant, Tacitus, Agile T*t, Stormersboy,Staal, Springbok Sarah etc. All of the journos here have long ago seized to warrant any respect.
31 Aug 2010, 10:21 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-11: Add Cane to that list.
31 Aug 2010, 10:25 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-8:
…. and Province might win something. Sounds like a plan to me
31 Aug 2010, 10:26 am
I dont have issues with the man himself, in fact his ramblings are a breath of fresh air compared to the boring wind some coaches spew out.
The hyper jump between senior rugby and juniors was too great for Jake and now I think maybe to much for PDiddy too.
Coaches, like players need to go through the ranks first, so vodacom, CC then S14 then Boks.
Its not the coach should be getting all the stick,
its SARU and the plonkers at the top.
Sack the lot of them (same at the Cheetahs) and pay the kiwi management half of what our guys get paid and we will win a lot more.
We might choke WC time but we will win more and play better rugga too!!!!!!
Oh yeah his two stooges as well. It must be hell for him cos those two will put the knife in anytime!!!
31 Aug 2010, 10:26 am
Jon, I think this site has been so hell bent to point out what’s wrong witht the current Bok setup you refuse to achknowledge when anything goes right.
The Boks have turned the corner and it’s about time this website actually acknowledges teh posities. Selections were 100% spot on. Kudos to DIV for selecting Steyn back at fullback (who competely changes the way the opposition plays) and selecting a perfect midfield.
DIV although is public relations nightmare, clearly HAS shown flexablity in facets of his coaching that have made a difference unlike plenty of past coaches.
Genius bringing in Hougaard these last 2 weeks and this had made a HUGE difference. Remove your blinkers, look at the positives because it’s becoming blantantly obvious that every journalist from KEO has a 1 sided view and that you *want* the Boks to fail purely to remove DIV. Many supporters and readers of other Rugby publications support my view.
31 Aug 2010, 10:28 am
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-11: I’m honoured. Please see post (3) above, What are your thoughts? Should this not be getting more attention?
31 Aug 2010, 10:30 am
@JockBok(JockBok)-13: Yeah, havent won anything yet… in say the last 20 years…
31 Aug 2010, 10:31 am
Keo , i think the boks need you there.
31 Aug 2010, 10:34 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-6:
Yeah, he feels so much for the man in the street that he ignores medical advice and select over played and burnt out players because the “crowds want to see their heroes”.
In modern professional sport there is no place for people like him – he should go and coach a choir at his church or something similar.
31 Aug 2010, 10:38 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-7: Oh please, you are most certainly putting your colours on the mast for all to see. I was not saying that WP is the best team in the country – that title belongs to the Bulls and rightly so.
My point, if you could see past your obvious hate for WP, is that WP is now better, although not the best, than they were under Gary.
They were the best defensive team in the S14 and there is far more structure.
Now, if they were even more useless than they are now when Gould was the coach, what hope do the Boks have?
31 Aug 2010, 10:40 am
Nah reporters in general are a bunch of pricks.
Some good ones out there but they are few and far between.
In the older days, reporters and teams and coaches had a cameraderie – it never stopped them from criticising the coach or players but at least they knew what they were talking about as they had a first hand account of information and not ‘sauces close to the team’…
31 Aug 2010, 10:42 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-19: In modern professional sport it is all about the money and putting bums on seats. Therefore PDV is doing the right thing in terms of modern professional sport by playing the star players. So I think your argument is flawed buddy. Rather say with the interest of the game and its players there is no place for him.
31 Aug 2010, 10:43 am
Can we talk about the team this past weekend? F Steyn had a poor game, try and all. Having him in the side for the one 3-point monster he scored is debatable. Habana had a schokcer – enoguh said already. Spies was schoking on defense. One good run (lead up for JPP’s try although got put on his behind good and proper by Pocock in that move). His run-in for his try was all due to Hougaard.
Juan Smith was immense, Chilli did more in 20min that Smit all season. Yea, he gave away a penalty, but at least he was up with the play to concede one. Steenkamp conceded 3 penalties, but had a good game.
Burger is getting to the Matfield/Habana area – the guy needs a break.
Would be nice to see Bismarck and maybe a different flanker this weekend, but I suppose we’ll have to wait till EOYT.
31 Aug 2010, 10:45 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-8:
I 2nd that
the form of WP has very rarely had impact on the form of the boks.
truth be told, it is the form of the sharks and bulls in the pro-era that benifits the boks on majority.
31 Aug 2010, 10:46 am
@gecko(gecko)-23:
Is deysel availible? I’d put him straight in there.
31 Aug 2010, 10:47 am
Pdivvy’s talk about losing being not so bad is a way to get everybody to get used to losing cause he knows he won’t win the world cup next year! He will take the best players in the world and mess them up so badly that we won’t make it past the quarters of the WC. I have been saying all along, it’s not to late get Heyneke Meyer in, best man manager in the business, with him up there and the players we have we WILL win the WC in NZ, but we need a change in the management NOW!
31 Aug 2010, 10:51 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-22:
I would argue that by not looking after the players he is killing the goose that is laying the golden eggs and that will lead to even less bums on seats and less money in the medium to longer term.
31 Aug 2010, 10:53 am
Note to PdV: One who has total authority is very likely to abuse his position. (This phrase was used by the British historian Lord Acton: “Power tends to corrupt and absolute power corrupts absolutely.”)
31 Aug 2010, 10:53 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-25: No. Long term injury.
31 Aug 2010, 10:54 am
@gecko(gecko)-23: I dunno so much about Pierre hey? I’ve been a vocal critic of his form, but the stats from saturday show him as having the most carries and most meters gained of all the forwards, by som considerable margin. his tackles were 2 short of Schalk, so not exactly absent there either. My “visual” impression of him from watching was that he was ok, much better than previous.
Also JS had a better game than he’s being given credit for. He carried for more meters than any of the tight five, Victor and Flip included. Chilli made a strong impression when he came on for sure, but he made 5 tackles and gave away 2 penalties, so it’s a double edged sword. JS gave away no penalties.
31 Aug 2010, 10:55 am
@flamed(flamed)-15: Bring in Hougaard the last two games and it has made a huge difference. If you are willing to open your eyes, you would notice that nearly everyone here has said that he needs to play since the beginning of the season.
The thing that irks us all is that we can, for the most part, see what needs to be done, but Div refuses to do it. Then, when he eventually wakes up to the fact and does what people suggest he does, and it works, you want us to give him credit? You must be joking
31 Aug 2010, 10:56 am
@gecko(gecko)-29:
to bad, no one else springs to mind. Louw doesn’t fit. Recall kabamba as an opensider everyone else decent is injured and vermuelen and alberts are 8′s?
31 Aug 2010, 10:58 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-27: I agree with you.
31 Aug 2010, 10:59 am
Chilli only gave one penalty – but nearly a second when the ref just decided to talk him. He does that thing Stegmann does well (Bulls tought?). Tackle, jump up (but don’t move), just flap your arms up to show you are not holding the guy, then go straight in for the ball. It is clever, but boderline. Then again, McCaw is clever, but boderline.
31 Aug 2010, 11:00 am
@Victor4CAPTAIN(UnbeataBULL)-2:
Agreed! how many times are these types of articles recycled.
31 Aug 2010, 11:06 am
“A coach with a 1 from 5 record shouldn’t have much to say other than his team will do better in the next Test.” Does this apply to Robbie Deans?
31 Aug 2010, 11:35 am
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-6: What about the dead man in the street? Doesn’t he feel for him? It was a criminally stupid, outrageous comment that did not need to be made. The point is that PDV suffers from foot in mouth disease and offers nothing positive as a coach.
31 Aug 2010, 11:36 am
@jamisz(jamisz)-36: That’s just it: you don’t hear Robbie Deans talking the kind of twak that PDV does.
31 Aug 2010, 11:47 am
“He has obvious technical failings when it comes to rugby, failings that are overlooked when the player-driven system produces wins like it did in 2009. ”
Can someone please refer me to a thread that explains why Keo writers (& posters) always refer to a “player-led system” when we win & PDV-led system when we lose. I’m trying to understand & I’m sure its been discussed before, so sorry to bring this up again.
Personally, I think Supersport commentators should announce it before every game (perhaps before the anthems).
Bob/Matt: “And I can now confirm that the team today, will indeed be the Player-led one…..Nkosi sikeleli Afrika.”
Something along those lines. So we know when to support them & when not to.
31 Aug 2010, 11:48 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-7:
Where did the Sharks end on the S14 log?? Please remind everyone??
Dude, you are an ***!! Those players have all been selected based on their performances in the S14.
The fact that very few Sharks players did well is the reason why there are so few of them.
Beast has been average and could even make the starting side ahead of Smit (and Smit is a hooker)
JPP – injured
Adi – injured
Bismarck – injured
Kanko – Spies is PDV’s blue eyed boy
Jannie – got game time but hasnt been dynamic at all
BJ Botha – been average
Ruan – overrated
31 Aug 2010, 11:49 am
@Couchcoach(GI POT)-20: Hate? WePee?? Never…
Only a tremendous dislike for the oh-so-superior-overhyped views of some of their supporters – the same ones who:
1. Showed glee at the misfortune of the Sharks
2. Needlessly denigrate Bok players while putting the abs on an undeserved pedestal
3. Denigrate and generalise about the Bulls and their supporters not through friendly rivalry, but out of spite and jealousy…
When the same stuff gets thrown back at you, not so nice is it?
31 Aug 2010, 11:51 am
@Voltron(Voltron)-39:
They will do anything to discredit the coach.
Gavin Rich, Cardanelli, Lanning, Zelim Nel… all of them are anti PDV.
31 Aug 2010, 11:52 am
@wpw(wpw)-40: When last did the Stormers or WePee win anything…
the Sharks have been in many a S14 final – not 1 in, say all of its existence…
31 Aug 2010, 11:53 am
@Voltron(Voltron)-39: This is very good point. In 2008 we were told the players didn’t want Snor ball-in-hand-type gameplan (as since Snor has been proven right – we need that kind of gameplan to match NZ).
In 2009 we were told we are winning because of the players picking the gameplan.
In 2010 (same gameplan) Snor is at fault.
31 Aug 2010, 11:56 am
SACK HIM!
SACK HIM NOW!
31 Aug 2010, 11:58 am
“Contradictions are commonplace when De Villiers is sitting top table, but in Monday’s press conference, he delivered more than his usual quota.”
Eish, all the language fundis will have a field day with the obvious pun
31 Aug 2010, 11:59 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-43: LOL seriously? Twice runners up, the last being in 2001, almost 10 years ago?
31 Aug 2010, 12:00 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-47: Oh sorry, let me not forget Frans’ incredible effort of 2007…..
31 Aug 2010, 12:00 pm
Spies had an ok game on Saturday. Still does not make an impact at the breakdown. Also dies with the ball alot. In future I think Spies would be better suited to a blindside role No.7.
A combination of
6. Brussouw
7. Spies
8. Vermeulen/Alberts/Burger
What do you guys think?
31 Aug 2010, 12:02 pm
Bok squad for November:
1. Mtawarira, Van Der Linde
2. Du Plessis, Ralepelle
3. Du Plessis, Botha
4. Botha, Van Der Merwe
5. Bekker, Hargreaves
6. Louw, Deysel
7. Smith (captain), Potgieter
8. Vermeulen, Kankowski
9. Hougaard, Pienaar
10. James, Grant
11. Basson, Mvovo
12. De Villiers (vice captain), Lambie
13. De Jongh, Jacobs
14. Pieterson, Aplon
15. Steyn, Jantjes
Injured: Brussow, Du Preez
Rested: Steenkamp, Smit, Rossouw, Matfield, Burger, Spies, Steyn, Habana, Fourie
Dropped: Januarie, Olivier, Kirchner
31 Aug 2010, 12:03 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-47: and the mighty WePee have been “awesomely” successful in the 90′s and 00′s…
31 Aug 2010, 12:04 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-24: the truth is spoken here in this post…
31 Aug 2010, 12:11 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-51: True, but you can hardly hold your team up as a paragon of a successful Super Rugby franchise….
31 Aug 2010, 12:13 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-53: Why not – until the Bulls deserve recent success, they were the only truly competitive Sa Super rugby franchise…
31 Aug 2010, 12:14 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-49: Spies is not a no8. He doesn’t like the rough stuff either. Think of Juan at no7 and try imagine Spies at no7. Nope….wont work. And BTW…no Juan?????
31 Aug 2010, 12:14 pm
Match 22 for November tour:
1. Mtawarira
2. Du Plessis
3. Du Plessis
4. Botha
5. Bekker
6. Louw
7. Smith (captain)
8. Vermeulen
9. Hougaard
10. James
11. Basson
12. De Villiers (vice captain)
13. De Jongh
14. Pieterson
15. Steyn
16. Ralepelle
17. Van Der Linde
18. Van Der Merwe
19. Potgieter
20. Pienaar
21. Grant/Lambie
22. Aplon/Jantjes
31 Aug 2010, 12:15 pm
@puff(puff)-50: We have similar selections. Here is my bunch for end of year tour.
1. Beast
2. Chiliboy, Bismarck
3. BJ, CJ, Jannie
4. Bakkies, Flip
5. Hargreaves, Kruger
6. Flo
7. Smith ( C), Potgieter
8. Kanko, Vermeulen
9. Hougaard, Ricky
10. Butch, Lambie
11. Nokwe, Mvovo
12. JDV ( vc)
13. de Jongh, Adi
14. JPP, Basson
15. Aplon, Kirchner
Players to rest/condition/injured: Guthro, Smit, Matfield, Danie, Bekker, Burger, Brussouw, Spies, du Preez, M.Steyn, Habana, Olivier, Fourie.
31 Aug 2010, 12:16 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-49: Improve his ball handling and try him at wing. Otherwise nowhere.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-54: Forgetting about the only other team to win a super Rugby title perhaps? The Lions? Yes, it was the inaugural one, but a win none the less, and against great players and teams of the day…..
@Two Eyed(Two Eyed)-55: I suspect Juan will be heading overseas or retiring after 2011. I might be wrong though. I see what you are saying but then where do we put him?? On wing??
31 Aug 2010, 12:17 pm
Isn’t Bekker out for the year? Pick Juandre Kruger before he is tempted to come back to UK. Hell, they wanted him to stay – they fancied him for England.
31 Aug 2010, 12:19 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-59: True, but that was before the Kiwi’s perverted what was meant to be an interprovincial tournament into a franchise system…
To be successful you need to weigh yourself internationally and here the Bulls standout, winning the Super 14 not only once.
If you want to gloat about winning the Currie Cup, then go on and convince yourself. It is watered down and more like the Vodacom Cup.
I just love to read certain bloggers going on and on about their team and trying to lobby support from the Bulls supporters to bring his point across. You know your team has a long way to go to even compete with the Bulls mate…
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-60: Wing.
Australian squad for RWC 2011:
1. Robinson, Slipper
2. Polota Nau, Moore, Faainga
3. Alexander, Baxter
4. Vickerman, Horwill
5. Sharpe, Chisholm
6. Pocock, Waugh
7. Elsom, Mumm
8. Palu, Higgenbotham
9. Genia, Burgess
10. Cooper, Barnes
11. Shepherd, Mitchell
12. Giteau, Faainga
13. Mortlock, Ioane
14. O Connor, Hynes
15. Ashley-Cooper
@puff(puff)-56: Bekker still injured by November and Peter Grant is still in Japan by November so I dont see PDV picking those two.
31 Aug 2010, 12:20 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-59: True. Beat Auckland in the final who, lets face it, was the strongest non-international team going. Then again, we, WP, were bloody awesome in the ’80′s. Now look at us.
31 Aug 2010, 12:22 pm
@gecko(gecko)-67:
The tide changes mate! Teams don’t always stay at the top.
31 Aug 2010, 12:22 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-62: @gecko(gecko)-67: I think that when it comes to the Super Rugby Stats only the following teams are relevant:
New Zealand Crusaders 7 2
New Zealand Blues 3 2
South Africa Bulls 3 0
Australia Brumbies 2 3
Australia Reds 2 0
South Africa Lions 1 1
31 Aug 2010, 12:24 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-69:
Absolutely!!!
31 Aug 2010, 12:24 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-69: That’s win, runners up. The rest is simply a case of arguing about who is more mediocre than the other.
31 Aug 2010, 12:25 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-68: True. The bulls still holds the record for the least log points in a superrugby season.
31 Aug 2010, 12:25 pm
@gecko(gecko)-67: yeah but we’ll be back. And in fact we already are.
31 Aug 2010, 12:27 pm
@Two Eyed(Two Eyed)-72:
…and also hold 3 Super Titles! I could live with that stat if it were my team…
31 Aug 2010, 12:28 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-73:
For sure. Just gone through a two game slump, nothing to be too concerned about
31 Aug 2010, 12:28 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-74: Agree…just shows how the wheel turns.
31 Aug 2010, 12:29 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-75: May be a 3 game slump after saturday
31 Aug 2010, 12:30 pm
@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-66:
Kruger and Bosman then.
31 Aug 2010, 12:31 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-75: (Nodding and looking around nervously)…..
31 Aug 2010, 12:33 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-74: Agreed. Highs and lows. But great highs…..
31 Aug 2010, 12:33 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-79:
For sure! Let’s take one week at a time. I would rather be in their boots than in the Bulls boots though.
31 Aug 2010, 12:35 pm
@puff(puff)-78: Ok cool i could live with that.
31 Aug 2010, 12:37 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-69: I don’t see the “amazing” Stormers on that list…
The Sharks have been the only Sa representatives in S14 knockouts for many a year before the deserved recent success of the Bulls… the Stormers have been in knockouts, what? Once, twice in S14 history – whoopee and now they are the saviours of bok rugger? The boks recent record debunks that…
Those Lions were a truly great side with a truly great coach, unlike the Lions and Stormers of recent times….
It is good to see the Sharks back where they belong on top of the CC log – I look forward to a Sharks vs Bulls or Sharks vs Cheetahs final when WePee hype subsides…
it will be a long CC on Keo if WePee are unsuccessful – Some Sharks supporters do not forget the Sharks denigration during S14 by WePee and Lions supporters…
31 Aug 2010, 12:37 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-81: Yes. We need to make sure we secure a home semi. Then take it from there. With our Bokke back for the final it’ll be anyone’s game. Sharks haven;t gt too many people returning, so we’ll definately benefit if we meet them in the finals.
31 Aug 2010, 12:40 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-84:
They have Smit though! Let’s just hope they play him.
31 Aug 2010, 12:43 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-83: I didn’t have them on the list. Neither did i have the Sharks on the list. That was my point. Its like we are arguing over bragging rights to the best of the bottom half? I’m sorry but really, that’s certainly not worth fighting over.
As for the Currie Cup, as Naas says, it’s not won in August. All bets are off when the Springboks return for the semis. The usual supects I imagine, and we all remember how that ended for the 2 home semi finalists last year
31 Aug 2010, 12:44 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-83:
Does your anti Province/ Stormers bias have no end !!!!
The Sharks have achieved fark all in recent times or the past !!!!
You Sharks supporters must be the most delusional bunch I have ever seen !!!
31 Aug 2010, 12:44 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-85: hahaha i was thinking that exactly as i was typing but i thought it would be a bit mean…..
31 Aug 2010, 12:47 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-86: Speak for your Stormers being in the “bottom half” – Sharks were the team of the 90′s, second to the Bulls only in the 00′s and are now back where they belong – on top…
31 Aug 2010, 12:48 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-87: 1 Currie Cup a few years back proves 1 more than WePee…
31 Aug 2010, 12:49 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-89:
In a watered down CC………….. big whoopppeeee !!!!
31 Aug 2010, 12:50 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-91: Still a CC…
Outtahere…
31 Aug 2010, 12:51 pm
You don’t often hear the Bulls going on about their team though! They don’t have to. Their record speaks for itself. It’s the wannabe guys who gloat day in and out and have nothing to show for the rants. Bwahahaaaaaaaaaaaa – One Currie Cup what a joke…
31 Aug 2010, 12:53 pm
I think the Cheetahs have more bragging rights…
31 Aug 2010, 12:54 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-93: But you do hear the incessant hype of Stormer / WePee supporters about their “successful” team continuously…
31 Aug 2010, 12:56 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-87: Did they not win a currie cup two years ago?
31 Aug 2010, 12:57 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-95:
I’m hearing more hype from you mate! It is like the pot calling the kettle black.
A successful team doesn’t need to tell the world they are successful – the world sees it…
31 Aug 2010, 12:58 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-97: Well then look at the log
Outtahere
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-95: Remember Cape Town has small town mentality so forgive them their hype it is the same year in and year out
31 Aug 2010, 12:59 pm
@Airwell(Airwell)-100: Eish
31 Aug 2010, 13:00 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-98:
Yeah I just looked…The AB’s have won it by a country mile and the world knows it too!
Cheers mate.
31 Aug 2010, 13:04 pm
But as a Bulls supporter on this site you have to give it to the WP they managed to get into the Super 14 final without a tight 5. So well done but that little fact is going to expose you badly in the CC even with your Springboks back. Also the form of Hababana and RJ is not going to help you in a semi or a final.
31 Aug 2010, 13:07 pm
@Airwell(Airwell)-100:
That’s a stupid comment !!!!!
Where you from ??
31 Aug 2010, 13:09 pm
The reason the Bulls fans don’t talk about their drought, it that when it was on, they were gone. Loftus was empty. Like Man U fans – all only came on board when things went well.
Me as a WP fan, from the heights of the ’80, the small blip in ’97, the suprise of 2000 and 2001 and in the **** since then. Still have ti support them. Still watch/listen on RSG when they loose vs Griquas or Valke a few years ago.
31 Aug 2010, 13:20 pm
@gecko(gecko)-105: I remember the days when it was only the couching staff and some of the players family at loftus…weekend after weekend. Suddenly now everybody is a bulls supporter.
31 Aug 2010, 13:26 pm
@gecko(gecko)-105: you’re talking about a drought, i refer you to 200b when the Bulle finished 10th in the Super14…the crusaders were moering them 55 – 17, the Loftus crowd started walking towards the gate with 15min left on the clock!!! Fairweather…
31 Aug 2010, 13:31 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-107: *2008*
31 Aug 2010, 13:45 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-43: Chief, I dont think anyone in their right mind would compare WP’s success against Natal, that is something that you and all the sharks fans who are alive as of today, will never get to do in this lifetime
31 Aug 2010, 13:48 pm
@gecko(gecko)-105: Province supporters do not need to prove their credentials, we consistantly have the highest average attendance per year for our stadiums, win or lose. Because that’s what fans do. We support our team. That fact alone makes us the best supporters in SA.
We cannot control how our team plays, we can only control how we support them, and in this we are the champions.
If certain bloggers from other unions want to keep spewing nonsense at the WP fans and their supposed attitudes, based no doubt on a combination of gross generalisation, insecurity and i’m sure jealousy, then I can’t stop them. That’s on them, not me.
I can just try to keep my head high and pick myself up, dust myself off and go back screamimng and shouting for my team next week.
31 Aug 2010, 13:59 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-109: WePees “success” is distant history (80′s and before interspersed with the Bulls)… Sharks are the present and future with much catch up to do with current rightful Champs – the Bulls…
31 Aug 2010, 14:08 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-111:
Had one too many at the Richmond ???
31 Aug 2010, 14:10 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-112: Too early for the Orange Tree and not a Friday
31 Aug 2010, 14:11 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-113:
31 Aug 2010, 14:52 pm
@gecko(gecko)-105: Thats a bit of a generalization, dont you think? I dont go to Loftus, out of principle, cos the majority of those hooligans cant contain themselves.
I did however still contribute in other ways to show my support for the men in Blue. Ever since I watched my heroes like Gerbrand, JJ vd Walt, Naas, Deon Oosthuizen etc. I have supported them through the lean years, as well as the fat years….
Hou by die blou, I say. Supporting a team only when things goes well, is a sure sign of the type of person you are.
31 Aug 2010, 14:58 pm
This artical is the very essence of what is wrong with springbok rugby. Why is it that after a coach only leaves and then his strong points are highlighted? To date PDV has not got a single compliment about how he runs the team… yes its true that PDV makes some stupid dicisions, but to be fair so did jake white. Remember the selections of Meyer Bosman, Francios Swart, Derick Hougaard? Yes it is time to acknowledge that PDV is doing a good job. His record is on par with that of Jake White and to even suggest that a team is coaching itself is ludecris to say the least? How does a team coach itself? Please listen to yourself and actually try and grasp what you are trying to sell. I believe PDV is on par to take us to the world cup. He is bringing through some great youngsters and also building a good team, yes he makes mistakes along the way but so have all the other coaches. I think its time we stand behind him and support him. Remember how everybody called for Jake Whites head in 2006? Saru gave Jake the support and that led to us winning the world cup… PDV deserves the same kind of support.
31 Aug 2010, 15:05 pm
@Deni-do(Deni-do)-116: Jake White wasn’t an embarresment. PdV IS!!!!
31 Aug 2010, 15:05 pm
“@Robzim(Robzim)-19: In modern professional sport it is all about the money and putting bums on seats. Therefore PDV is doing the right thing in terms of modern professional sport by playing the star players. So I think your argument is flawed buddy. Rather say with the interest of the game and its players there is no place for him.”
Why has there been so little comment about how poorly attended the last test match was? If i’m an example of the typical fan, my willingness to cough up to watch PDivvy’s team has declined a lot. I know a lot of people will always watch a ‘bok-kiwi match, but with both of the other teams struggling, the kiwis are the main draw-card nowadays. I’m not interested in watching the so-called stars, or listening to the so-called coach.
31 Aug 2010, 15:23 pm
Most of the Sharks supporters like to bask in the glory of the BlueBlood culture!
31 Aug 2010, 15:28 pm
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-119: Not “bask in the glory”, rather an admiration and respect for winners…
Its called learning from the best in order to take their place – the abs did that with the boks and are at no.1 temporarily…
Hopefully the Sharks can do the same…
Sorry for you that WePee and the Stormers are not the standard…
31 Aug 2010, 15:37 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-120: That school of guppies couldnt even beat Griquas in Kimberley….
And where did they finish on the S14 log?
31 Aug 2010, 15:42 pm
Till later
31 Aug 2010, 16:00 pm
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-121: At least they were bigger competition in the one final they were involved in! Last year, we couldn’t have asked for an easier game to clich the S14….AGAIN!
31 Aug 2010, 17:02 pm
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-121: Hmmm, they beat the Stormers and WePee…
31 Aug 2010, 17:17 pm
Let the lush drink in peace, don’t try 2nd guessing the happy clown, he is what he is.
31 Aug 2010, 20:28 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-107:
yes, “fairweather” indeed.
31 Aug 2010, 23:20 pm
It’s getting to the stage where I actually want Div to succeed. The clowns masquerading as jourenalists on this site, along with best mate Gavin Rich is what’s truly embarassing.
1 Sep 2010, 00:02 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-120: temporarily bwahahaha
the temporarily was when the Bokke got double points for beating Fiji and Argentina to TEMPORARILY go to number one…
we all know how long that lasted dont we?
you continually clutch at straws mate… tell me again how many Super titles the Sharks have? bwahahah
1 Sep 2010, 07:16 am
I’ll go with #21 Pissant’s comments about journo’s being rubbish. The only decent analysis of the TN seems to come out of NZ and Oz with the SA sychophants changing their tune week in and week out. Mallet’s comments about the idiocy of SA rugby fans is well-proved by keow’s muppeteers in these comments.
PdV can sense SA rugby’s problems but does not have the resources and support to do anything. Claiming SA has adapted to the “breakdown laws” (more like how PoB has told the refs to blow against SA) is like a beaten wife saying she’s adapted to her husband’s abuse. If she doesn’t act, and she ussually needs support to act, it will happen again and again. That is for SA rugby admin to act on.
Where I think PdV is weak is organising and structuring defense, ball protection and set pieces. Muir and PdV love running rugby and I think devote too much of their time to cunning backline moves which almost never get a chance to be played out due to organised defence. The back up plan to this is kick and defend, sometimes poorly organised kick and chase. He needs more and better people to assist him.
He is also not that good at organising his bench and squad. I reckon he needs a decent succession and rotating replacement plan that everyone buys into. It is not possible to simply keep playing the same players, over and over. Then are Januarie and Chiliboy second best in the country in their positions? If it’s quota’s rather have Aplon and de Jongh.