Hoskins must man up

GRANT BALL says that Regan Hoskins’ failure to discipline Peter de Villiers has led to the situation where South Africa is the joke of the rugby world.

When contacted by keo.co.za for his reaction to De Villiers’ latest media embarrassment, Hoskins said he wasn’t available for comment and wouldn’t be in future. This from the president of Saru.

Reports suggest Hoskins has been told by the government – who are already upset with De Villiers for not picking more black players during his tenure as originally promised -  to deal with the Bok coach. The official line is that the pending meeting between Hoskins and De Villiers won’t be a disciplinary hearing, but a less formal ‘heart to heart’.

It’s a similar scenario to what happened after last year’s British & Irish Lions series, where the pair had a discussion over De Villiers’s embarrassing media utterances including the racist analogy about Ricky Januarie and the ‘black mechanic/white mechanic’. After that ‘heart to heart’, Hoskins assured Saru’s stakeholders that De Villiers would refrain from this kind of discourse.

However, De Villiers’ first press conference of the 2009 Tri-Nations suggested not much had changed. De Villiers said he wouldn’t be muzzled, he said he was the boss, an outburst that showed what he thought of Hoskins and their previous discussion.

De Villiers must take responsibility for his own actions, but the Saru president is also culpable for the current situation. It should never have got to this point. A strong leader would have set De Villiers straight.

Throughout the 2009 Lions series, De Villiers was out of control. After just one success in the 2010 Tri-Nations, and De Villiers is his own worst enemy again. No other coach would still have a job, yet Saru has allowed De Villiers to continue.

There have been double standards in the handling of De Villiers when it comes to results as well. In 2006, four consecutive Tri-Nations defeats saw Jake White summoned to a meeting in Johannesburg from the Bok camp in Rustenburg, where they were preparing for an All Blacks Test.

White had to listen to all the Bok coaches since Ian McIntosh, with the exception of Kitch Christie (who had passed away) and Andre Markgraaff. The plan was to ‘plot the way forward’ for the Boks. Conversely, De Villiers wasn’t summoned to any meeting with former Bok coaches after the Soccer City fixture, which was also his side’s fourth Tri-Nations loss in a row.

Before the final Test of the 2006 European tour, White was brought home for an emergency meeting with his employers. This is the kind of treatment White had to endure, while De Villiers hasn’t been as controlled.

On his reappointment, Hoskins boasted how his tenure as president produced little controversy. Has no one in the passages of Saru been listening to De Villiers’s rants over the past three years? What must the new sponsors Absa think? Are they happy to be associated with such a loose cannon?

Hoskins has had the chance before, but this is a defining moment. He needs to show some proper leadership and actually make a decision. He cannot condone De Villiers’s public backing of a man up for murder, and after repeated offences, the disciplinary action for De Villiers should be dismissal. If Hoskins decides on any other course of action, then he’s failed South African rugby again.

Follow Grant on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

1,161 Comments

Pages: « 114 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 » Show All

• 1101.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Nama

I was at the test, in fact directly behind the touch down for the “try from the end of the earth”. Will never forget it.

• 1102.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Nama: Orbicular diorite!

I am work a long way from home. A great tip for a good braai on the Oliphants: The Bushmans cave near Lutzville.

• 1103.nama1: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-1100:
    My skoolvriend het altyd gese, ‘slaap is die suster van die dood.’

Vandag is hy ‘n dominee.

Wys jou net, ne. :lol:

• 1104.nama1: Reply to this comment

/#commentsk(KevinRack)-1102:
    My cousin works in Lutzville for Namaqua Sands. He in fact invited me to visit him this weekend but I have a class to attend on Saturday.

I’ll keep it in mind next time I visit him. Thanks.

• 1105.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-1104:
    Let me rather say, he stays in Lutzville.

• 1106.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

1103. nama1(nama1) and if you see me with a dop in my hand run and call the police, cos its ugly.
    It must be stunning now in your area with all the floewrs out.

• 1107.nama1: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-1101:
    I was watching it in the early hours of the morning. It was a great try.

2-0 in France’s favour, that series. Must’ve hurt you boys. First home series lost since the Boks in 1935/6?

• 1108.nama1: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-1106:
    Not really boet.

Was TOOOO hot in the summer and TOOOO much frost May/June.

Flowers are only starting to come up now in my part of the world.

• 1109.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-1107: it was a 1-0 series win, one test was drawn… only a 2 test series… it was a phenomenal try…

think the Lions in 71 would have been the last lost series before that one..

• 1110.grant10: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-954: your amateur attempts at analysing me are so very far off the mark.

The day i ever see a compliment about me coming from the likes of you, Charo, the unmentionable filth whose name will never pass my lips or elicit a response from me again [ squirrel killer ]….that is the day i have sold my soul and come up short.

I despise you and all you stand for…..my heart bleeds for you misguided supremists…..you sods are so farked up i actually cringe at the image you and your type project of Saffas.

So if you honestly believe it irks me that i get slandered and attacked by your little pack of yapping poodles….the exact opposite is true.It means i have retained the moral high ground.

The lions lot is that they get barked at by little wild dogs, jackals and cowardly hyenas…..

Nothing a couple of lions cannot handle….hey Mr Jackal??

• 1111.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-983:

Hi Nama

Sorry, I only saw your post this morning !!

What make of clubs ? Does the set contain irons only ?, driver , 3 wood, utility club, putter ??

With bag ??

• 1112.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-970:

Exactly – Hole in 1.

• 1113.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-1110: I love wild dogs, they way they hunt. Singling out prey and stalking it for kilometres on end, untill the poor animals collapses in an exhausted state as they rip out chunks of meat.

• 1114.Inevitable: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-1110:

Haha! Grant 10, a chest thumping lion? Boggles the mind.

You are pathetic and a major contributor to the dim view that people have of SAFFAS. Thankfully, you do not represent South Africans and hopefully you do not represent the DA!

Rangerman sums you up perfectly – every time.

• 1115.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Squirrel killer! That is really funny.

• 1116.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-1110:

get in there fella ! Hyenas, the lot of em.

• 1117.malema vs verwoerd: Reply to this comment

@capeflats(capeflats)-20: this is probably by far the most accurate post i have ever read on this site, great stuff man, keo and co really need to get their act together i find myself not wanting to visit this site anymore, it has been reduced from a rugby site to a place of entertainment, and it really resembles a circus, spot on…!!!!

it is good entertaining though, and i will be back for more, but certainly not from a rugby purist point of view.
    more like the “son” i would say. you know you are reading **** but the **** stinks so much and it gives such a great laugh that you just come back for more, almost like looking at a car accident scene( except the laughing of course), you dont want to look but you find youself looking against all you logical inhibitions…keo you are better than boswill wilky my friend keep up the good work and you might actually upstage Pdiv himself. seems like pdiv is your hero, my man

as for the wc we ( the boks) will retain it and we will all see keo sing pdiv’s praises as if he never doubted the man at all, mark my words, this site will stay true to its nature and do exactly that.. bring it on guys you give us a reason to come and listen to you, which probably means you are a success as that i suppose is your objective…!!!!

• 1118.grant10: Reply to this comment

yap …yap…

bark …bark…

only the little wild dogs….

not even a snivelling hyena….

zzzzzzzzz

not even worth the lions response.

• 1119.I_support_BEES: Reply to this comment

we will never win it with PDV … farking clown. Maak alles BLOU BUL en kry heyneke !!!

• 1120.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Inevitable(Inevitable)-1114:

Given that I am 1 of the ‘people’ and you are not, then perhaps Im better qualified to speak on ‘our’ behalf.

Youre talking BS, whereas G10 is right on the money – neander-numbskulls like JL1 and R’tw*t and Boy George are exactly the type who give Safas their bad name, G10 looks like the standardbearer of sanity and morality compared.

• 1121.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-1120: the pack of hyenas are nothing but schoolyard bullies…..i know the type….all mouth but no trousers…..

Big swaggering and smug in there loud abrasive pack…..

Its the definition of the coward…..and the follower types….

I wonder if they actually understand or even realise just how farked up they actually are. Not an independent thought or point of view between the lot of them…a bunch of backslapping sheep ….

and they think i care about what they think about me?

Delusional another one of there ailments!

Time for me to do some business.

Hace a good day BP…

• 1122.grant10: Reply to this comment

hace is have

• 1123.I_support_BEES: Reply to this comment

grant10 is the PDV of keo.co.za … a clown

• 1124.gunther: Reply to this comment

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

Akunamatada!

• 1125.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@I_support_BEES(suffer_guy)-1123:

actually, it was Krusty who said ‘we support Bees’ so it looks like the cream pie is on you, Bozo.

• 1126.Inevitable: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-1121:

You care a lot.

That’s why you are frothing at the mouth.

• 1127.Inevitable: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-1124:

• 1128.Inevitable: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-1120:

I said he was a major contributor…

You would never find an Aussie or Kiwi slagging off their national captain like he does.If it did happen, the guy would be sorted in double quick time.

I am surprised that he hasn’t had his big trap zipped yet. Amazing!

• 1129.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Inevitable(Inevitable)-1128: you welcome to come try…..the fact that you would like opinions silened through ‘me being shut up ‘ sounds exactly ;like your type would try and do.

But bring your pack with you…..by yourself i have very little doubt you may come up a little short hyena.

• 1130.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

554″>gunther(gunther)-1124: LOL, fark some chaps have a good dose of stoopid not to notice this one liner.

Classic!! with a capital C…

gunther the line king…

• 1131.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1130: nah

saw it

very funny

spilt my tea.

• 1132.Inevitable: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-1129:

Opinions are welcome. Slagging off the national captain while hiding behind your nic is not an opinion, it’s just cowardly.

But then we all know how brave you are on paper. No doubt you will get your chance to prove yoursef. Rather sooner than later, I expect.

• 1133.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Inevitable(Inevitable)-1132: ag hyena…

you are boring me….

lets just scroll on by…its far easier. You not going to stop me expressing my opinions. So ignore them….its simple really. I certainly ignore loads of bloggers i find childish or devoid of intellect or real opinion…

In fact i cant remember engaginng with you in the past? So lets leave it like that….i am 47 years old….not 12….so this really is all just plain stupid and extremely childish imo.

Go find someone else to play with….i am not in your circle….go run off and find a fellow back slapper

• 1134.Inevitable: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-1133:

“i am 47 years old….not 12″

Well blow me down! You should certainly not be name calling at your age, leave that to the 12 year olds. If you apologise to John Smit I will forgive you.

• 1135.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-1131: yeah, flipping funny, grunter’s kickslaps – just one line achieving pages of sledging…

• 1136.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Inevitable(Inevitable)-1134: no mate.

When Plod apologises for having a go at LW i will consider him a better person…..

So till then we at loggerheads……so lets make this my last post to you .

Pity….seems you could be okay if you choose your own path and not run with the pack…

• 1137.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1135: the bugger almost cost me my keyboard….

He is a master of the 1 line.

cheers now

• 1138.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Funniest thing I heard today was a term for Australians – DidgeryDouchbags LOL I love it

• 1139.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-1137: cheers, good weekend and may barneys Boks prove you wrong…. again

• 1140.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-1138: :lol:

BTW – Who’s farking idea was the pink? good idea but highly compromising on Keo…

• 1141.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1140: Pink???

• 1142.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-1141: sharks in pink tomorrow and against cheetahs…

• 1143.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1142: Oh it’s for cancer. Odd considering we are not French.

• 1144.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1142: for a charity…

• 1145.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Halftime 17 – 9 to Cheetahs

• 1146.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-1143: yeah, a bit of sharks a la stade – all thats missing is the queen of hearts…

• 1147.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-1145: what stream?

• 1148.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1147: Supersport, live stream online. First ever only-internet based live stream. Owen is commentating, but no graphics, some poppie keeps showing the score on cardboard, tres funny

• 1149.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1146: Prinsloo? :-)

• 1150.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-1149: hehehehehehe, very true…

Pages: « 114 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.