Preview: Springboks vs Wallabies
3 Sep 2010
GRANT BALL says Australia blew their chance at breaking the highveld drought and another loss in Bloem will follow.
The contest to avoid the wooden spoon produced a loose affair last week, a game that suited the visitors in their quest to break a 47-year losing streak at altitude. They dominated possession in the last half hour, especially, but still botched it.
The tourists have spoken about the self-belief gained from their start, but it’s more likely that lost opportunity will haunt them and only serve up more mental demons. Reversing the result this Saturday after the nature of the Loftus blowout will take massive character from this Aussie unit, but they don’t appear to have the necessary mental fortitude to win in tough conditions, or when they’ve got themselves into commanding positions (for example, 21-7).
If the Boks allow the Wallabies a similar buffer in Bloem it will only highlight their defensive and tactical frailties, but as poor as the Boks have been throughout the competition, you can’t see that happening again.
Robbie Deans’ response has been to make three changes to his pack, two of them clear acts of desperation. Ben McCalman is selected to bring some physicality, but picking a lock at No 8 for his first Test start is a gamble at altitude. The Boks will adopt their kick-chase approach, and McCalman’s tactical nous at the back and his covering skills will be tested to the limit. Mark Chisholm displaces Dean Mumm in the second row, but whether Chisholm is the answer is highly debatable – he’ll play his first Tri-Nations Test this year after last featuring in Australia’s unconvincing win over Ireland in June.
The elevation of hooker Stephen Moore is no surprise, but it again highlights how big an opportunity the Wallabies wasted in Pretoria. Saia Fainga’a's lineout throwing faltered and he didn’t offer much in the loose, but Deans failed to bring on Moore and other substitutes when individuals were tiring.
The Boks have neglected the opportunity to blood new players and have made just one change – promoting Danie Rossouw – before the majority of the players undergo a conditioning camp. Whether their minds are on the break or what will be the final Test of the year for some will go a long way to determining the performance.
The standard of their showing is important in gauging whether the Boks have stagnated or regressed over the past six internationals, while their competitors have advanced. If the Boks can re-produce a similar set piece display as Loftus, and then replicate the team breakdown performance, they’ll have the quality possession needed to dominate the fragile Aussie defence.
It’s no surprise Morne Steyn had his best Test of the year, as did Jean de Villiers, against an Aussie midfield of Quade Cooper, Matt Giteau and Adam Ashley-Cooper. As dangerous as that trio are with ball in hand, if the Boks get front foot ball, they should look no further than attacking No’s 10, 12, and 13.
A possible second win out of six will get De Villiers crowing once more (who knows what he could say post-match), but it may just serve to lead to complacency and unfounded confidence that the Boks are on the right track under their eccentric coach.
Prediction: Boks by 10
Springboks – 15 Frans Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Gio Aplon.
Australia – 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (c), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Mark Chisholm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 Richard Brown, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Anthony Fainga’a.

135 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All
3 Sep 2010, 10:55 am
@Marino(Marino)-100: I think we are facing reality, the Boks know they have to improve major.
The advantage we have is we know we can do it because we have done it before, and we know to do it we have to improve.
The AB’s and supporters once again are thinking **** we are the best, nobody can beat us, the cup is ours, last 5 WC’s it was away from home, this time we are at home.
3 Sep 2010, 10:56 am
And the SAf woman in the #2 jersey has as much flab as John Smit.
3 Sep 2010, 10:56 am
Healthier colour though.
3 Sep 2010, 11:01 am
@Auntie Mavis(Auntie Mavis)-102: Did you see the English no 9? I believe she is their captain too. Gutsy is all I will say
3 Sep 2010, 11:13 am
Spies not at all intimidating
2010-09-02 22:31Email | Print
Ben McCalman (Gallo Images)
Stephen Nell
Durban – Wallaby No 8 Ben McCalman is not at all intimidated about the prospect of facing Pierre Spies in Saturday’s Tri-Nations Test in Bloemfontein.
“Pierre played his best Test (of the year) last week, but I have confidence after playing against him earlier this year,” said McCalman.
He was referring to the Wallabies’ 30-13 win in Brisbane.
McCalman came on as a substitute 10 minutes before the end and helped Will Genia knock the last nail into the coffin of the Springboks’ Tri-Nations title ambitions.
“I got the ball from Will Genia and ran into Spies. I got the better of him in that situation. It was a great moment and made me realise that I want more Test rugby. Will scored shortly after that,” he said.
The Wallabies are clinging to the win in Brisbane and the lead that was surrendered at Loftus Versfeld last week as evidence that they have what it takes to beat the Boks in Bloemfontein.
“Everyone is disappointed that we could not convert that lead into a victory last week,” said McCalman.
“The Boks are physical, but the important thing is that we stick to our plan and take the game to them. Hopefully it can work in our favour if we can move those big guys around a bit.”
McCalman, skipper Rocky Elsom and fetcher David Pocock will be involved in an interesting battle of the loose forward combinations with Spies, Juan Smith and Schalk Burger.
Pocock told Sport24 on Thursday that the new application of the breakdown laws are good for the game because it encourages attacking rugby.
He believes there are still opportunities for fetching flanks to win turnover possession.
“You have to be careful about getting involved at the breakdown because you can easily concede a penalty. But I still believe there are plenty of opportunities at the breakdown,” said Pocock.
The Wallaby star expects Heinrich Brüssow to adapt easily when he returns from his knee injury.
“I believe players with that kind of ability will always find a way of doing well. One of the nice things about rugby and all its intricacies is that you always have to think on the field. I believe Brüssow will do well when he returns.”
3 Sep 2010, 11:25 am
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-105: Spies isn;t intimidating in the least. His biggest weapon is his speed with ball in hand. Not something to be intimidated about. Deysel, Bakkies, Danie. Now they’re intimidating..
3 Sep 2010, 11:50 am
Boks by 20.
SA 41-21 Australia
3 Sep 2010, 14:49 pm
BOKS 33
Wobblies 22
3 Sep 2010, 15:24 pm
SA 28 – OZ 18
3 Sep 2010, 16:09 pm
I cant recall an Oz program that predicts anything other than what is on the commentaters wish list Also, Jeremy Pauls’ dummy spitting display does nothing for him or their programme.
They persist in nominating the Wallabies as the “winners”. This smacks of bias not objective analysis and is beginning to give me the “whoops”. Eventually, their predictions may be correct but I wouldn’t bet on them. Has anyone lost by betting on the Boks against the Okkers (at altitude)in the last half century?
I hope they get stuffed in Bloem.
3 Sep 2010, 16:19 pm
Boks 52- Aus 21
3 Sep 2010, 16:25 pm
Let’s see what Jake White’s golden oldies can conjure up against the youthful Wallabies.
Pity Divvy couldn’t develop any new talent in the last three years instead preferred to plough ahead with Jake’s dream team.
And please don’t tell me Divvy got stiffled by the ‘senior players’. A leader won’t let himself be intimidated by his underlings. If you are that weak, then go coach Kindergarten.
3 Sep 2010, 16:29 pm
@Bludeks(Bludeks)-110: hehhehehehe….
3 Sep 2010, 21:12 pm
Wallabies 28 – Boks 26
3 Sep 2010, 21:17 pm
massive 7.2 richter scale earthquake just hit New Zeeland.
Canterbury & Christchurch were affected
4 Sep 2010, 03:29 am
Wallabies by 14+…they wont make the same mistake twice
4 Sep 2010, 06:18 am
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-115: It was probably caused by Sonny Bill Williams making his earth-shattering Canterbury debut.
4 Sep 2010, 06:58 am
for Springbok supporting, Western Province fans I guess you’re not gonna be top of any SuperBru pools
4 Sep 2010, 08:50 am
@captain fantail(captain fantail)-116: The **** is going to hit the fan(tail) to day….
4 Sep 2010, 09:27 am
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-101:
The ONLY time I have heard “we WILL win the RWC” is right here on Keo. The ONLY persons dumb enough to say that are Safas ! In fact, so stoopid are they – statements as-if-fact – that they were made earlier this year when 2 SA teams met in the S14 Final…..blinded by the same success you are now accusing Kiwis of ! This with (at the time) 2 x TriN competitions and an EOYT still to complete.
I have not heard 1 Kiwi dumb enough to say what you are now alleging but I sure have read enough from Safas.
Gee, what happened in the meantime ?
4 Sep 2010, 09:38 am
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-101:
In fact, I’ll do you a deal Kea-Cat…..
For every Kiwi here that you can find who said “we will win RWC’11″ over the past few months, I will find you 5+ Safas who said the same thing. But Im guessing you wont find one (no, Tackler doesnt count).
If you cant find one, prepare to wallow in your own sewerage.
4 Sep 2010, 12:13 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-120:
undoubtedly the most revealing post you have made on this blog.
your prejudice has been well and truly exposed.
4 Sep 2010, 12:18 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-120: Do you hate South Africa and South Africans?
4 Sep 2010, 12:53 pm
@JL1(JL1)-123: lol boet we already know the answer to that
4 Sep 2010, 13:15 pm
ah, the old offense-defence huh, that old nugget from Sth African rugby history, the Route 1 of De Wet and friends.
It works about 1 in 8 I suppose. Get it right and you’re on a winner.
Dear Charo, how I have missed you.
JL1, so warmly regarded here by fellow countrymen that the same question could almost
be asked of you.
Your genius hypothesis hinges on the hairline balance now of equating Sth African ‘confidence’ at RWC-time with my “hating” a country I have never even set foot in. WTF ?!
As for ‘Sth Africans’ themselves, I’m sure there are GCs and Fwits there as there are also GCs and Fwits in NZ, Aus, wherever. Brasilians are nice people too. So are Koreans.
Jeez, what were we talking about again ?
4 Sep 2010, 13:26 pm
Interesting concept this of yours tho, certainly not the 1st or last it’s been alleged over the years. This desperation to label another blogger here as either a Hate’r or a Love’r of whichever rival team.
It allows morons like JL1 and Boy George and opportunists like Dear Charo to openly wear their ‘I Hate ABs’ buttons so proudly on their own lapels whilst happy to slander the others here for allegations like it’s a disease. Cake AND ear it.
Black and White.
2009 – PdV was the Wee Meastro
2010 – he’s a Clown.
Ever heard of ‘Grey’ ?
4 Sep 2010, 13:29 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-125:
“JL1, so warmly regarded here by fellow countrymen that the same question could almost
be asked of you.”
Those will surely be the FWits that you are referring to
4 Sep 2010, 13:31 pm
Sonny Bill Williams hits the ground running,
his first Canterbury outing.
And the Earth shook.
7.1 out of 10.
4 Sep 2010, 13:33 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-126: Are you by any chance trying to justify your xenophobic behaviour towards South Africans?
4 Sep 2010, 13:39 pm
@JL1(JL1)-123:
Panther hates no one.
But he loves ballance.
And he admires truth.
And if the flame-thrower is turned on him,
and those he loves,
then the fire gets spit back.
3-0.
Burnt toast.
4 Sep 2010, 14:12 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-28:
Notice in the ad that Spies avoids making contact whereas Bryan puts in a smothering tackle.
These advertising types know their rugby alright.
4 Sep 2010, 14:20 pm
@JL1(JL1)-129:
A Saffa lecturing on Xenophobia!
Get those wagons in circle Okes,
Only one wagon oke.
Well, make it a small circle.
4 Sep 2010, 15:09 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-130:
You da man.
I DO love balance but so much as to give it 2 L’s.
4 Sep 2010, 15:12 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-133:
dont you just hate it when you fark up your punchline.
@Panzer Chief(cane)-130:
“…but NOT so much as to…”
4 Sep 2010, 19:25 pm
Grant Ball
The prediction was not quite right.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All