WP, Griquas in freefall

The Lions secured a great comeback win against Western Province while the Cheetahs and Pumas beat Griquas and the Leopards respectively on Friday.

Twenty-year-old Elton Jantjies starred in the Lions’ fourth consecutive victory as he scored 31 points in the 46-28 win over Western Province in Johannesburg.

WP seemed to be in control as they led for most of the match (21-10 in the 28th minute and 28-19 in the 43rd minute) thanks to tries from wing JJ Engelbrecht, eighthman Duane Vermeulen and replacement wing Conrad Hoffman. However, ill-discipline and poor defence at the death cost them the game as the Lions scored 21 points in the last quarter for the win.

Flyhalf and Man of the Match Jantjies kept the Lions within reach by converting wing Michael Killian’s first half try and six penalties to see his team trailing 28-25 with 20 minutes remaining.

Then came the Lions’ comeback. The hosts scored three tries through Killian, flanker Derick Minnie and Jantjies for the bonus-point win, with the latter adding all the extras as he never missed one goal attempt all night.

The win sees the Lions surge from the bottom half of the table into fourth place on 25 log points while WP are now tied in second place with 28 points.

In other results, the Cheetahs stretched their winning streak to three victories as they beat Griquas 33-28 in Kimberley.

No 8 Ashley Johnson crossed the whitewash while wing Jongi Nokwe grabbed a brace of tries for the Cheetahs. Griquas also scored three tries through flyhalf Naas Olivier, lock Cecil Kemp and No 8 Danie Schoeman but pivot Louis Strydom’s 15 points via the boot clinched the win for the Cheetahs.

In Potchefstroom, the Pumas edged the Leopards 27-26 in a hard-fought away win.

The visitors scored four tries through wing Braam Pretorius, centre Shaun Venter, scrumhalf Tian Meyer and replacement fullback Johan Jackson for the bonus-point victory.

Lions – Tries: Michael Killian (2), Derick Minnie, Elton Jantjies Conversions: Jantjies (4) Penalties: Jantjies (6)

WP – Tries: JJ Engelbrecht, Duane Vermeulen, Conrad Hoffman Conversions: Willem de Waal (2) Penalties: De Waal (3)

Griquas - Tries: Naas Olivier, Cecil Kemp, Danie Schoeman Conversions: Olivier Penalties: Olivier (2) Drop Goals: Olivier

Cheetahs – Tries: Jongi Nokwe (2), Ashley Johnson Conversions: Louis Strydom (3) Penalties: Strydom (2), Meyer Bosman

Leopards – Tries: Dumisani Matyeshana, Theo van Wyk Conversions: Clayton Durand Penalties: Durand (3) Drop Goals: Du Rand

Pumas - Tries: Braam Pretorius, Johan Jackson, Shaun Venter, Tian Meyer Conversions: Pretorius (2) Penalties: Pretorius

Follow Gareth on Twitter

268 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

• 201.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

fellows I had one heck of a night … if you know what I mean,
    anyway woke up with a sore head and decided to write a new song simly entitled …

Hello winning days

May you ever grow in our hearts
    You are the grace that placed itself
    Where lives were no longer torn apart
    You called out to our country’s foe
    And you whispered to those for Mitch to come
    Now you belong to the big five again
    And the Lions spell out your name

And it seems to me you lived your life
    Like a Lion in the wind
    Never fading with the past
    When the pain set in
    And your footsteps will always carry you
    Along Gauteng’s greenest hills
    Your Lions’s will not burn out
    Your legend never will

Matches we’ve lost
    The empty stadiums without your smile
    This torch we’ll always carry
    For our nation’s golden Lions
    And even though we try
    The truth brings us to tears
    All our words cannot express
    The tears you brought us through the years

And it seems to me you lived your life
    Like a Lion in the wind
    Never fading with the sunset
    When the rain set in
    And your footsteps will always fall you
    Along Gauteng’s greenest hills
    Your Lions’s will not burn out
    Your legend never will

Hello winning days
    May you ever grow in our hearts
    You were the grace that placed itself
    Where lives were torn apart
    More than you’ll ever know

• 202.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-194: SBW showed touches of what he is known for (offloads, line breaks etc). He didn’t do a lot wrong, and had some good moments. I kept my eyes on him a bit (main reason for watching the game) and he was getting around looking for work. However, it did show up a little that he wasn’t quite ‘natural’ in his play and whether that is because he is fresh into the Cantab team or because he still hasn’t fully adapted from league I don’t know. I am guessing a bit of both. Time on the park will tell us the full story I guess, and I am picking that the coach won’t have been unhappy with what he saw.

Fruean is a very good player and if the AB midfield needed extra backup he must be just about next cab off the rank. Still not convinced by Brett. Always seems a bit ‘brittle’ even when playing well. There is sometimes talk of him being a potential AB, but I personally can’t see it.

If Williams and Fruean get an extended run together and Williams settles into his game, they could be an attacking nightmare for most teams, even at international level. Just to early to really judge yet, so we Kiwis will ‘watch this space’ with crossed fingers. I have visions of SBW coming on in the last 20 mins of games and running riot through tired defenses. Then again I sometimes have visions of buxom blondes and they don’t always go to plan either.

• 203.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

who looks
    more comical
    matt dunning
    or brok
    harris
    one thing’s
    certain
    matt the
    better player
    maybe even
    today
    ab type
    rugby
    got showed up
    good and
    proper
    against
    a side
    who plays
    proper rugby
    for
    80 minutes

• 204.Grrrr....I'm still a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Dit was nou MOOI!!!!!

• 205.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-202: lol @ ‘buxom blondes’ :D i watched robbie frueam particularly in the S14 he wasn’t very impressive, still lacks some polish but has really stepped it up an notch in the ITM cup – don’t know if it’s because the comp is easier – but a work in progress nonetheless…

Stephen Brett as an all black!!! Geez, when that day comes then i’ll know the NZ first five cupboard is BARE!! I’d have cruden, delaney, slade and even robbie robinson before i pick brett…even beaver is better than brett.

• 206.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-198:

Ja good point man , as much as I love De Waal he should be overseas now finishing off his career. Hoffman a huge loss for Province , didn’t look bad when he came on last night.

@yank(yank)-197: Blah blah blah blah i knew someone on here had to bring some of that sour misery to the party. Even I as a Die hard Province man,I can be happy for the Lions that they are building something and improving…

• 207.yank: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-206:

You’re right – Well done to the Lions…Good for SA Rugby that they’re not whipping boys anymore…Hope they can take it thru to the S15.

I’m not anti-WP as such (I live in the Southern Cape but still a Shark fanatic) but the bias shown week in and week out by the WP based rugby press is sickening to the rest of us. So just want to see how they now react….make excuses ?? Or turn on their previous “darlings”….I think the latter more likely, let’s see….

• 208.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-201: to what melody is new song belted? I’m still trying to get my head around the lyrics ;)

• 209.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Candle in the Wind

• 210.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

hit n run……. Goodluck today. :D

• 211.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-208: @RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-209:

:smile: it was made famous by Sir Elton John – that song pays tribute to Sir Elton Jantjies.

• 212.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

Boks to rule the convicts by 11
    Sharks to snuff the Bulls by 6

RL out for now …

• 213.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

lions moet maar genoet om ander spanne se B spanne te klop .. pasop net as die Bokke terug is … en pasop vir daai pumas haha

• 214.bcoet: Reply to this comment

had the liions lost by even 1 point there would have been a separate posting on keo with the heading “Lame/tame/pathetic Lions lose…”
    But now that wp were convincingly beaten? A factual summary hidden away under a general resullts posting. At least the site is consistent – biased towards wp/stormers

• 215.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

transie/aliboy

Have been touting Freuan for a while now..He is a freak,finally looking like he will delivery on his outstanding talent.Had an arrythimia scare early in the ITM Cup before it started.But since commencement he has bn RIDICULOUS.At 1.91m 109kg with GAS! Scored 7 tries in 6 games.

SBW showed sum nice neat touches vs BOP,great tackle on Masaga,offloads well.Big fella but still feel he lacks explosiveness in contact esp for a man his size.We’ll see his development with time.decent showing though.

Colin Slade called up? That oke is the most overrated player in squad.He really has not special talent,just a “safe” option,versatile-low error rate.Thats IT.how he is a viable first-five option at 10 is perplexing to me.not much difference btwn him & Hamish Gard..Delany is a better player…not by much but better.

• 216.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

Poppa

Just learnt there was an earthquake in Christchuch, a 7 magnitude one. Are you from that city? This kind of quake usually leaves a huge trail of distruction.

If so, hope you and your loved ones are OK. Will this have a negative implication in next year’s world cup preparations?

• 217.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata(Peter Mkata)-216:

Yes Pete,

There was a 7.1 Quake.

Sonny Bill Williams, making his Earth shattering debut for Canterbury.

2 Billion US$ in damage, but no loss of life. (A miracle no lives lost). The Timing of the Quake, in the early hours a major factor.

• 218.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-215: Delaney is more ‘mercurial’ than Slade and is more likely to bust a game open, but his error rate is probably too high for the AB coaches requirements. I suspect that Henry and co believe that they can still win games with a solid, if not spectacular, first five, but that a high error rate one leaves too much to chance.

• 219.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Well done Lions!!!

You fully deserved the win and you didn’t only win, you thumped my team. No excuses – beaten by a way better team on the day.

Enjoy the win! We are like the boks – losing becomes a habit – three in a row…

Lions have the best coach in the Currie Cup and well done on keeping him.

• 220.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata(Peter Mkata)-216: No major damage at the stadium. There will be a serious re-building of parts of the town center, but I doubt it will have any significant impact on the RWC.

• 221.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-220:

Great news then. Great building standards in you country. Think what happened recently in that island( forgot the name) with a less magnitude quake.

• 222.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-217:

Worst time for such a disasterous thing that can ever happen to humanity.

• 223.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata(Peter Mkata)-221: Unfortunately much of the damage seems to be the beautiful older buildings, churches, historic homes etc that were built without much allowance for earthquakes. Very sad as Christchurch is renowned for some of its beautiful older buildings. How many can be saved will be the question.

• 224.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

a earthquake in NZ?? I thought Spies is in Bloem?

• 225.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

Peter Mkata good player … but no Naas or Lem … probably the 10th best nr 10 in SA (all time)

• 226.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata(Peter Mkata)-222: They were actually saying that the timing was very lucky as with all the buildings that collapsed in the town center it is likely that many would have died if it had been the middle of the day.

• 227.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-224: It was SBW’s debut ;-)

• 228.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-84:

Hi Transie

Disappointing news, but certainly not a train smash. Guess we must get a proper goal kicker considering the the Kings outscored them. Still think Kings are on thier way to premier league. Wishful thinking? Yeah, why not!

• 229.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-225:

Well that is your take on him. But many say he was really good in the mould of Hugo Porta.

My old men told me that Tommy Bedford and Morne du Plessis went to see him in action because everyone was talking about him.Even Doc Craven had to go and have a look but must emphasise that no one could corroborate that.

I only saw him in action in early eighties when he was no longer playing provincial rugby. But class was written all over him.

• 230.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

like i said .. good player … no Naas or Errol Tobias .. probably in the top 10 flyhalves in SA. Thing is you also need to have a look @ the opposition!

• 231.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

all i can say is well done amabhubhesi. I called this game and fancied the Lions having a chance. looks like i was right. looks like the vaunted wepee defence wasnt up to much…

• 232.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-230:

Did you ever see him play?

• 233.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

another cc being kissed goodbye by wePee,

1. Loss to top-of-the-log sharks
    2. loss to cheetahs
    3. loss to lions

freefall is….

bwahahahaha….

• 234.ET: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata(Peter Mkata)-229:

Peter you don’t need Tommy B’s or Morne’s(both good,fair guys) word to confirm Mkata’s stunning brilliance, you can simply take my word for it as I have seen the great one in very many games(and they have not) for the excellent Kwaru sides he played in against W.P.U., Tygerberg, City & Suburban, Boland, Sedru etc.

Also saw my favourite Eric Majola before and Norman Xhoxho after Mkata and they were just as good if not better. So Kwaru had some very good fly-halves in their time.

• 235.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Thank you Mr John Mitchell, if it wasn’t for you, Elton Jantjies would still be playing under 20 rugby while all his SA U/20 white peers like Lambie et al would have moved on to Currie Cup honours, whilst Elton would have had to wait for Herkie Kruger to prove 1000 times that he is hond K@k!!!!

• 236.ET: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-235:

So true and to think that they think they fool the majority view.

• 237.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-234:

Hi ET

Correct, no doubt certainly.

Saw Norman and the Watson brothers in Dad Qeqe on many occasion. He was great too. He was from Grahamstown – wonder what happened to him. A big flyhalf those days, must have been +100kg.
    But the reputedly greatest in nonracial rugby , never saw him in action,was Eric Majola. Do you know that Khaya and the other fellow Majola who worked for Cricket SA are his sons? Great cricketer too I believe.

• 238.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-235:

He’s a great talent that kid. Will go far I’m sure.

As you said, the Sharks are playing Lambie – a 19 year old – at fly half.

Now, if only Province had the guts to play Cronje in a starting position things could be different.

Seems like this is the year of the youngsters.

• 239.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-236: That is what so annoying about SA rugby, your typical SA coach would have found a thousand paternalistic reasons why not to play Elton, funny enough, all those k@k reasons would have made “sense”, thanks to the “Gaffie Du Toit” theory.

Allister Coetzee is part of this malaise, he is institutionalized.

• 240.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-238: Dont hold your breath on AC playing Cronje, AC found it right to play a Aussie 19 yr old ( Matt Tomua) ahead of a SA 19yr old ( Lionel Cronje)

• 241.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-240:

Typical consevatives. Would rather err on experience rather than be bold. Lets hope that Mitchell would be a positive catalyst!

• 242.ET: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-239:

Not only Coetzee but everyone they specifically and deliberately favour like Hoskins, PDeV., Sauls and more.
    These are people that they feel they can dictate to and thus control like puppets on the strings they want to pull.
    Their being given opportunities is planned and well thought out and advancedie ‘gatkruipers’.

People respected in rugby in the cities like Cape Town, eBhayi, Kimberley are more street smart and will not be pushed around thus are not open to being puppets, are just left in the cold eg Nkanunu,Stofile and others.

• 243.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-240:

After 3 losses, de Waal has got to be past his sell-by date. Hoffman, at one stage was being groomed as a FH, but that didn’t work out.
    With Grant in Japan, Cronje has got to be an option. He did well for the WP u/21′s yesterday – just to give him some playing time.
    Rassie – the ultimate innovator – has also to realise when something is not working. WP kicking penalties while the opposition are scoring tries is not what I call fun.
    Particularly when there are so many talented outside backs around.

• 244.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata(Peter Mkata)-241: In Jake White’s U/21 World Cup winning team, Jean De villiers couldnt make it into the centre pairing, he was used on the wing, the starting centres were Dewey Swartbooi and Clyde Rathborne, Clyde threw his toys, fine, Jean De Villiers was picked to tour with the boks for that year’s European tour, not Dewey Swartbooi, why?

• 245.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-244:

You know the answer to that as much as I do. Very sad story indeed. Remember star the under 21 world cup in 2004/5/6 Thabang Mokoena, think was part of PDV winning team? Another sad story!

• 246.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-243: AC like all Jake White disciples, believe that you kick for territory, then start to play from inside the oppositions 22m, anything else is called “unstructured” rugby, well it seems Mitchell is a student of “unstructured” rugby.

• 247.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

cr.ap man, jantjes got and made the most of his break like all other talented kids with an opportunity. this is not a hue issue, don’t make it one. he is a talented kid, not a talented black, “non-white”, “coloured” or whatever you want to label him, kid. many talented kids of all hues get missed in sa’s definitely faulty talent net.

you guys have a serious, sick group pathology that is ripe to be slated – the fact that you are showing this in the present is not connected to the past.

• 248.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata(Peter Mkata)-245: The boy you are referring to is Thabang Molefe, nominated world player of the year, in his age level,left the Bulls because of WO, got benched by Loffie for Doppies, got gatvol and quit rugby. …

• 249.Ratel Brussow: Reply to this comment

HaHa WP.

Now for the main event!

Go Boks.
    Go Sharks.

• 250.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-247: Do you understand the meaning of the word “paternalism” ?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.