Defensive flaws flog Boks…again

RYAN VREDE writes that the Springboks’ defensive incompetence in the first half cost them victory.

Certainly to rebound from 31-6 down is a notable feat and speaks of character. The comeback was facilitated by an exponentially improved defensive effort and more clinical execution on attack. But ultimately it means nothing, and the Springboks have only themselves to blame for the defeat, their fifth in six matches.

Defensive failings have marked their campaign to date. But none of their performances in this regard have been so utterly shambolic, so diabolical, as what was on show in the first 40 minutes.

If they were defensively impotent last week, seven days later they were completely useless for 40 minutes. John Smit said after the Loftus win that a defensive performance like that wouldn’t win them the World Cup. Tonight’s effort would have seen them struggle against Grey Bloem.

They had the intensity of ballerinas at the tackle point and the accuracy of men cuffed and blindfolded, routinely falling off straight up hits. That’s when they put themselves in a position to make the hit, because on more than one occasion a flapping arm at a passing Aussie took the place of a conventional tackle. There was no evidence of the outside-in defence that was employed so successfully in 2009. There was none of the composure, controlled brutality, trust or communication that marked that period. The world champions defended like the chumps of the rugby world.

They missed an astonishing 15 tackles in the first half alone, and on five occasions missed two or more in the same move. Thrice those errors led to tries, the worst of which culminated in the Wallabies’ bonus-point score, where Bryan Habana and Jannie du Plessis failed, horribly, to scrag Drew Mitchell.

That saw them fall 31-6 down just 25 minutes into the game and at that point it seemed as if a caning was on the cards. Skipper Smit couldn’t rouse his troops because he was saving his energy for getting as much of the thin highveld air into his lungs as possible. He wasn’t alone in his patent fatigue, with numerous other heavies breathing so deeply I doubt there was any oxygen left in Bloem at half-time.

It would be acceptable if the onset of fatigue crept up without notice. But it didn’t. De Villiers was acutely aware that some of his key players were running on hope and adrenalin heading into the match. But the Bloem public’s viewing pleasure was deemed more important than a competent performance. That ludicrous decision was exposed.

Another perplexing call brutally exposed for its folly is the continued absence of a specialist openside flank. Such a player would have aided the Springboks’ ability to stifle the Wallabies’ attacking flow. Yet it was the visitors who dictated the pace with which the first half was played at. And it was a pace that caught the Springboks cold.

The the tide turned with Jaque Fourie’s late first half try. For 79 minutes it looked to be the significant score in the context of the result. The same diabolical Springboks lifted their performance markedly after the lock’s solo special, and in doing so exposed the Wallabies’ penchant for capitulating under pressure. Oh they are glorious and entertaining when faced with a feeble effort they were in the first half. But seldom has a Test team been as gutless, so defensively generous and so rudderless on attack, when under the pump.

But just as it seemed as if the Springboks had flogged the last bit of life out of their wounded foe, a defensive lapse gifted Mitchell a try, and with that hope was revived.

Kurtley Beale’s 50m dream killer after the siren had sounded plunged the Springboks into despair. But they will be mistaken to credit his accuracy, skill and composure for the defeat. They must reflect on a shocking first half for the root cause.

Follow Ryan on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

172 Comments

• 1.coherence: Reply to this comment

We’re all surprised. We thought our defensive system was perfect. Hasn’t Gold been doing an excellent job as a defense coach? Who could have seen this coming?

• 2.bobbyboyshey: Reply to this comment

p divvy, your time is up.cheers.

• 3.klippies101: Reply to this comment

will say it again worst bok defence in tr nations history just add the points and trys against

• 4.superbok: Reply to this comment

Please ask yourself what exactly will the current coaching staff do differently in the lead up to the WC that they couldn’t figure out in the 3-week break we had midway in the Tri-nations? They haven’t got any ideas anymore and neither should they remain in those positions…all 3 of them.

If Saru is serious about winning the WC, then they have the ideal opportunity to sack them now! If not, then at what cost will it be come the definate exit from the WC?

• 5.coherence: Reply to this comment

From the very first Tri-Nations test I have been saying that the defense is not up to standard, and that the players are not drifting enough. I guess this is still news to the Springbok coaches.

• 6.superbok: Reply to this comment

*definite

• 7.Eish: Reply to this comment

hey here’s a novel idea SARU, why don’t we keep the coach and coaching staff that have turned world cup winners in to one of the worst Bok teams in history.

• 8.klippies101: Reply to this comment

why doesnt pdv jusrt stand down if he lves the boks he knows he doesnt deserve it

• 9.BishopsOD: Reply to this comment

Guthro Steenkamp has covered himself in glory, together with Juan Smith and Francois Hougaard. I’m not for booing but Brian had better take those derisive-but-justifiable taunts to heart because he deserves them. I’m not gonna pay hundreds of bucks for that ****.

• 10.klippies101: Reply to this comment

i think the its all up 25 tries agaisnt the boks this 3 nations

• 11.klippies101: Reply to this comment

ja habana always looking for the intercept he is always out of postion

• 12.Zandberg Jansen: Reply to this comment

Once agsin Habana had a shocker….another 2 tries!! Drift defence was shocking first half. Thank goodness somebody spoke to them….they changed to the good old rush defence.

• 13.klippies101: Reply to this comment

well the boks did well for a team with no coach

• 14.coherence: Reply to this comment

@BishopsOD(BishopsOD)-9:

JDV, Jacque Fourie and JP Pietersen all made defensive errors. You’re just focusing on Habana because you don’t understand what the actual problem is.

• 15.chubb: Reply to this comment

Next week the AB will reaffirm their supremacy for sure. The much hyped up 2009 Bokke team lost a game to Aus; they won 5 games out of a possible 6. The AB will win 6 out of 6, there’s no doubt there.

Again the overrated 2009 Bokke team lost against Ire and France, raising doubt whether their winning the 2009 3N was supremacy or just a fluke? By what l saw in the 2010 3N l think it was a fluke!

• 16.superbok: Reply to this comment

@coherence(coherence)-14: I agree. No point in blaming the players. It’s been a slow death since the end-of-year tour. We know what the players are capable of when playing to a system. In every single match we have played differently in each half. All the skills have been coached out of them.

• 17.Kiwi_in_Vienna: Reply to this comment

Nice descriptive article there Ryan, but I do think you were a little unfair to the Aussies. Fair crack of the whip and all that old chum.

• 18.coherence: Reply to this comment

@Kiwi_in_Vienna(Kiwi_in_Vienna)-17:

The Wallabies knew exactly what the defensive weaknesses were and ran moves design to take advantage of it. They just seemed to run out of ideas in the middle of the game.

• 19.Black Sheep: Reply to this comment

@superbok(superbok)-16: come on man, the players are the ones out there, missing the tackles, getting sent off etc etc. they have to take joint responsibility along with the coaching staff. I firmly believe the best coach the bokke have right now is the one that transports them from the ground back to their hotel.

• 20.coherence: Reply to this comment

@Black Sheep(Black Sheep)-19:

Who selects the players? If they are not good enough, whose job is it to replace them?

Hopefully you are capable of answering these questions.

• 21.Zinzan: Reply to this comment

Not sure what the coach is supposed to do when players who have over a hundred caps start missing tackles. How does one justify not selecting a player with over 50 caps and a World Cup medal. Truth be told, it is just one of those seasons. Not even Manchester United can win every league title so lets not turn against our own players and coach.

• 22.coherence: Reply to this comment

@Zinzan(digger)-21:

You’re supposed to prepare them to drift to cover outside channels and communicate properly. If a player is not performing, he must be replaced.

It’s not that complicated.

• 23.posts: Reply to this comment

Great curtain raiser for the main game

• 24.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

John Smit’s one-handed catch of the point of the ball, WHILE ON THE RUN, is as extraordinary as anything I’ve ever seen on a rugby field – in all aspects he was the Smit of old, foraging, tackling, leading … but:

1) His doused throw to the back of the lineout has happened TOO MANY TIMES NOW – another gift try: he’s lost FOUR TEST MATCHES with bad throw-ins;

2) Chiliboy and Flib – the BENCH PLAYERS who came on – each gave away the penalties that gave the Wallabies TEN (10!!!!!) POINTS when they were buried and all but dead.

Why is it so imperative to send on our bench players – 98% of the time they lose the team more than they give …? (Unless they are Kiwis in which case they add).

But points for an incredible, absolutely incredible comeback – you’ve got to give them credit for that, even though that first half was terrible beyond belief (but Aussie backs were electric as well) … at the end of the day I don’t begrudge the Wallabies their first highveld win in 47 years … they had the long 55m kick to win and they got it … can’t complain – in that regard the game one.

Barnes’ reffing pretty good (compared …)

Time for a rest now and a lot of soul-searching; wish Eddie Jones was in the coaching mix going forward, certainly a strong case for it …

• 25.horiman: Reply to this comment

Eddie Jones… another clown into the circus mix.

• 26.BishopsOD: Reply to this comment

@coherence(coherence)-14: But the guys you have mentioned at least looked menacing when going forward. They really did. But yes, their defending has been dreadful. Waiting for people to run at them instead of thumping the man and letting him know you’re there.

• 27.rugbygenius: Reply to this comment

THE REASON WE ARE LOSING IS NOT PDV.

Its not the players.

It is the fans.

The fans do not support the bokke like before. They need to hold PDV high and give him our love.

• 28.coherence: Reply to this comment

@BishopsOD(BishopsOD)-26: My point was that there wasn’t just one player making mistakes. It is the whole system that is not working, and the coaches’ inability to fix it.

• 29.Zandberg Jansen: Reply to this comment

@coherence(coherence)-28: Good point!

• 30.dquinn25: Reply to this comment

@klippies101(klippies101)-3:

I agree this has been the poorest defensive effort from the Boks i have seen in a long time, remember the Mallet days even when the team was playing poorly it took a huge effort from the opposition to get through the Boks defence. Wallabies deserved the win purely for their first 25 mins. A number of these players need to either be rested or benched ie Spies and Habana. Never in my life have i seen such a drastic fall in form as Habana

• 31.BishopsOD: Reply to this comment

Definitely. That is why I wouldn’t mind being that fly on the wall at team meetings. I’m sure that behind closed doors players and management are letting rip at one another. They should stop bullshitting us. But then again, you don’t nail a teammate in public, do you?

• 32.BishopsOD: Reply to this comment

@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-27: You’re being sarcastic, right?

• 33.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Experience is not going to win the world cup! Form and a clear game plan will! Tired of all the excuses.

Was disgusted in Smit for not congratulating the Wallabies for winning! The guy is losing respect fast. A pity he didn’t step down when he was on top of his game.

Well done Wallabies and SA dropped from hero to zero. :(

• 34.vindicated: Reply to this comment

to the staff writers at keo.co.za – predicting the outcome of a game of rugby is more than an optimistic, historical thumb suck

Surley the advantage of altitude is negated when your team is so obviously unfit for rugby at this level

• 35.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@vindicated(vindicated)-34:

How you doing Vinnie? Long time mate! You well!

Don’t worry mate we got what we deserved! The whole of SA sees the problems but the coaching staff have no idea!

• 36.vindicated: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-35: Hello Bill, i think we got the right result today – another lost lead / surrender, (read Loftus) would have been difficult to come to terms with

• 37.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@vindicated(vindicated)-36:

Yeah well deserved too mate! Enjoy.

• 38.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Notice all Bok tries were hard worked, honest tries. How many tries were the Wallabies gifted? The most damaging was in the second half, when Popenis threw the ball in 4 meters instead of the required 5, which should have been Springbok ball, but Wayne Barnes instead chooses to penalize the Springboks, catching them of guard, leading to yet another soft try.

I knew Barnes was not going to let the Springboks grind it out till the 80 minutes with pick and go, I knew he was going to penalize even if a ruck had formed. This would never have happened if du Preez was on. He’d have put a box kick into the Wallabies 22 for a lineout, the Wallabies would then try and run it out of their 22 for a few minutes, knock on and the game would be won.

Anyway, the coach has to go. Extremely talented team that isn’t coached at all, dominate the Super 14 and this is what happens at international level, I wonder why? Come, lets bring in the Blue Bulls coaching staff or the Stormers. I would also say John Smit can vanish too, but his second half performance saved him.

• 39.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

Boks still haven’t realised the game has changed significantly in it’ rule interpretations from last year and they are still paying the price. Boring 10 man rugby at the highest levels is DEAD now, thank God!
    It’s a 15 man game now, something the Boks have never embraced, but now, if you don’t play a 15 man game, your going to loose, the rules reflect positively on the 15 man. ball in hand approach.
    A century of mind set needs to change before the Boks will rise to the top again.
    To keep comparing to last year is total folly, the game has evolved significantly since then and the Books haven’t, simple.

• 40.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-39:

Has it now? Pocock never allows the tackled player to place the ball, yet he wins the penalties. Every now and then the refs will remember and the penalty will go the other way. The laws haven’t changed as much as people think.

Springboks didn’t play the up and under game in the second half. If only they played like that all the time. Running around without any real game-plan at the moment.

• 41.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-38:

SORE LOSER!!!

Dominant Boks seen to…hey mate those dominant boks have 2 wooden spoons in 3 tri nations.

Dominant?

• 42.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-40:

If he is not the tackler he does not need to allow the player to place the ball…the ball carrier should have done it before Pocock gets to the breakdown.

He goes in for the ball once the breakdown has occured….all about timing.

He is just a good player!

How are your dominant boks?

• 43.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Seriously

The only problem with PDV is his loose mouth otherwise he has brought in a complete style of rugby the boks have never played with.
    A fault though is he should have done the big step and asked John smit, Burger, Bakkies and to some extent Matfield to organise their swansong…retire by the end of 2009.

Matfiled is good int he set pieces but not so good around the park…give Bekker his position and given him 2 years to settle in.
    I think 2011 for matfield is a 2 years to long.

Smit needs to fall on his sword…he fell over whislt carrying the ball.

• 44.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-41:

Your Wallabies were 30 seconds away from losing yet another massive lead, keep some dignity. Last time the Wallabies won the Tri-nations?… The World Cup?

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-42:

Example: Spies ran off the base of the scrum, was tackled by Pocock, Pocock never allowed Spies to place the ball, he never once released the tackler, yet he wins the penalty. It’s fact that only every now and then the new law gets reffed properly. Its not just Pocock that does it, everyone does it. So what is the law? Barnes only started reffing it properly in the second half and even then still struggled.

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-43:

Matfield, not good around the park anymore? Did you not see his break, chip-kick, regather and pop to Fourie for the try? Imagine Sharpe doing that.

I definitely think Habana, Smit and JdV should not be taken with on the eoyt. Although JdV and Smit came good in the 2nd half. All three players have hungry replacements waiting, no excuse not to rest them.

• 45.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Tell it like it is:

FIRE:
    Div, Muir, Gold
    Smit, Habana at least.

Not good enough and really there is no honest sense of sorry, more like ‘oh another day at the office went pear shaped, where are my slippers’.

Arrogant, overpaid has beens.

• 46.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-44:

When last did Matfield do a chip and chase…has ever?

One swallow does not make a summer!!

• 47.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

I am not the one trying to keep dignity…I have not been shouting my mouth off how bad my opposition are…hey Kobus?

We were poor to lose our lead!!

Imagine sharp doing the kick and chase….well he does more around the park and holds his own at set pieces….constantly takes the ball to the advantage line…does Matfield.

Anyways these are my observations and not meant to boast but these players are showing their frailities now wonder what they will be like a year one.

This was the perfect game for PDV to throw some new guys in.

• 48.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-46:

Did he not just do it in this game?

Same thing happened in 2006, John Smit and White were one match away from being dropped, 12 months later they win the World Cup.

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-47:

Matfield is only one year older than Sharpe.

Victor will go down as the best ever while Sharpe will just be this big bald guy with googly eyes. Matfield is not the problem, he is not too old. Locks have a long life when it comes to rugby.

• 49.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

I can’t actually believe some people still think there is nothing wrong with the Boks and the rest of the camp.

You people must be on super drugs.

• 50.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-48:

problem for sharp was he had competition from Vickerman. Sharp always played in Vickermans shadow…so yea matfield was in the spotlight.

Yet though great teams dont really have standouts as all are standouts….wallabies are getting there!

Problem with many supporters and me included is I constantly think the wallabies have no big name players…this is getting everyone by surprise.

Wallabies should not even be competitive against the ABs and Boks!!

• 51.grant10: Reply to this comment

if any bok fan believes this squad and management team is, in a years time, going to go to kiwiland and win a WC hey are so delusional its simply beyond belif.

We leaked 9 trys in 2 games at altitude!!

All the home comforts and up against a Wallaby team that is lacking almost 10 players , with the most experienced Bok team in the history of rugby, and we down 30….6 in the 25th minute!!!!

Worse than shocking.

All that 2 nd half did was paper over a few massive cracks.

This bok team ,inclucing the 3 stooges, are a spent force.

Wales,Ireland,The Poms, Argentina, Kiwis and Aussies all will fancy there chances….

In 1 years time this team will be even more kaput.

Unless we man up to reality…..and do whats need to be done.

I somehow dont believe we have the guts .

• 52.GoTheBulls: Reply to this comment

Anyone with half a brain can see 11 to 15 does not deserve to be there. There is no defensive or attacking power. This can partly be blamed on the no vision backline coach we have. The TN was the ideal time to experiment with new players in the backline that wants t be there!!!!! We are picking players that may have excelled a couple of seasons ago. The time is now and you choose players that is the best in their position NOW! I have said this in the week that led up to the game – Wallabies if you want to score just run into the centre combinations channels and whala!

• 53.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-51: Maybe yarpies get “travel disadvantage” when travelling all the way to Bloemfontein. It’s not travelling across longitude time zones; it’s actually travelling back in time to the Fifties, really — historical time zone travel is a real swine for the modern metrosexual Bok.

Of course, for those blue denizens of Snor City, it’s not the same problem. They’re travelling forward across those historical timezones from the 1930s, while their coastal team-mates are travelling backwards. But travel is travel. And “travel disadvantage”, historical or longitudinal, just does their Bokkie heads in.

• 54.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-51: Hi Grant, I haven’t seen too many posts: I have tried to read as many posts as possible during the last 20 minutes – I hope I don’t repeat what others have said:
    Although I was gutted as well, I think it was “better” for the Boks not to win. If the All Blacks had such a lead after 25 minutes, they would have buried us. If we had managed a win last night Dev and the other 2 would have maintained that they were on the right track etc… Before the match Stransky asked Dev about the public asking for some senior players to stand down: standard stupid answer from Dev – “we respect other people’s opinions but we don’t have to listen to them”. That’s why I said that it is a “good thing” that we lost.
    Let’s hope somebody at SARU decides to do something about the coaching staff – this bullsh.. that the defensive system is in place, but certain individuals made mistakes, rather than the system …. I don’t buy it anymore.
    Remember that Muir’s contract is linked to that of PdeV: if PdeV is fired, Muir has to go as well. At this stage Muir is collecting money from 3 different sources: The Boks, The Lions and The Investec Rugby Academy – it seems that he is simply making provision for his retirement and isn’t doing much coaching. I haven’t been this disappointed in a long time!

• 55.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@GoTheBulls(GoTheBulls)-52: I agree totally with the “no vision backline coach” !! Not that the forwards are doing much better: that first lineout close to the tryline when Smit threw the ball way over Matfield, was totally unacceptable and gifted the Aussies a try!

• 56.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

That last penalty of Beale: it all started with a scrum for the Boks inside the half of the Wallabies, but we never got across the advantage line once – I can’t remember how many times the rucks were set up, but we were driven backwards 3 or 4 times, simply because we were not committing enough players at the breakdown.

• 57.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-56: Boks were winding down the clock, they used the pod approach to control the ball. The last two hit ups were self tackles, with the last so obvious, Flip VdM went over the top of Kanko sealing off the ball.

• 58.grant10: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-54: hi C

I agree….hate to lose and dissapointed as all hell…..but it may be the catalyst of change required.

We have 12 months….best we sweep clean and do our best to get ready.

We dont change we lose anyway, so may as well change and at least try …

• 59.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-57: I know they were winding down the clock but surely you don’t want to go backwards, especially if you know that you are in striking distance for a penalty kick. Flip was really “dof” to give that penalty away.

• 60.JL1: Reply to this comment

I wonder if Heineke Meyer will get the nod?

I would love to see a Kiwi coach take our talent lead us to the RWC

• 61.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-58: Let’s hope they admit there is a problem and give some of the better Currie Cup players the opportunity to go on the EOYT!

• 62.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-59: I think it was not Flips fault, I think it was the negativity of trying to protect the lead.

@JL1(JL1)-60: John Mitchell may be just the man. :)

• 63.Nautigal: Reply to this comment

What is the common denominator between the Springbok backline and the Lions Super 14 Backline?. Mr Muir.

• 64.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

C’mon Kobus, show some graciousness in defeat mate instead of looking to bag the opposition. Close game, but the boks were beaten fair and square.
    Boks have been horrible since last years tri and the score is now on the board. No point now sledging the opposition, look to fix the train wreck in your own back yard and you might start moving forward again.

• 65.iceman: Reply to this comment

Before the start of this years Tri-Nations, a group of friends and I were making serious plans to go to New Zealand for the World Cup.

Last night we cancelled everything!

It is just not woth it!

• 66.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

My family is going to the World Cup but we are now extending our time skiing rather than watching the Boks.

Bring on Queenstown.

• 67.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-64:

Tell that to Wallabie. I know he’s a kissing cousin, but open the other eye. You post on SA Rugby too, I think. Maybe you should stay there with all the other casual fans, aye bro.

All this proves is that the Springboks are currently off the pace, Wallabies are still the team that can’t beat the All Blacks and the Abs haven’t improved on anything, still playing the same 7s style, jungle rugby that saw France dispatch them in the 1/4s.

• 68.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-67:

Wow, angry much! Never posted on SA Rugby, sorry.
    AB’s haven’t improved on anything…..are you for real?
    Aus won fair and square but all u can say is Pococks a cheat. No doubt, when the ABs win it’s because they cheat also according to you. I love it, keep believing that tripe and keep losing.
    Until you accept that the boks as a collective are soley responsible for your own down fall and stop pointing the finger, it’s just going to be more of the same.
    You have the same arrogant attitude as your coach and top players, “there’s nothing wrong with us, it’s all there fault”.
    I hope you all keep it up, just makes it so much easier for us to continue to sink the slipper.

• 69.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-68: If Pocock was the only problem the Boks have I would be super stoked.

Boks are shiiiit. Fat. Overpaid. Undercoached. No defense. No idea. No plan. No vision. Nothing.

There is only one solution and it means firing the coach and anyone else in the firing line.

• 70.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-69:

Your dead right. You have summed it up openly and honestly.
    Problem is in your own back yard and easily remedied.
    It will be painful, but the answers start right there and the surgeons knife needs to cut away the dead flesh quick smart.

• 71.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-67:

And I’m not a bro, nor a casual fan.
    Fire, ready, aim just isn’t your style.

• 72.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-68:

Didn’t call Pocock a cheat, I said that the new laws are being reffed half-arsed. One minute you can tackle, latch on and win the ball and other times you can’t and have to allow the player to place it.

I’m going to explain this very clearly to you. Your All Blacks did not play the Springbok side that beat you last year. You played a team missing 8 of their starting 15 players.

Now tell me this, who is missing from the All Blacks right now? Ali Williams?

• 73.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Just to put things in perspective, in their last 15 outings starting with the EOYT, the Boks have only won 6 times. And 3 of those victories were against Italy.

And 2 of of those losses were against club sides.

And in the last two matches against the Aussies, we conceded the bonus point before the half-hour mark.

Should we keep the existing coaching staff till the WC?

Shouldn’t be a difficult call to make at all really. The answer’s in front of us.

• 74.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

I love the idea that the Boks are now going into a Bok conditioning camp?

What exactly is there left to condition? The SMitFit all you can eat diet?

The 2-pass scrumhalf, the come off your line and let them score Habanero Special? The Don’t Pass I’m Jacque Fourie Sidestep?

The further these players can get from Div and Muir between now and next year the better for all concerned.

• 75.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-72:

I guess that the Boks also lost because they were missing Danie Gerber, Naas Botha, Frik Du Preez, Henry Honiball!!

Are you living in the past?

The boks of last year would have been smashed by the ABs as they were fat slobs who would not have been fit for fast inteligent rugby.

• 76.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-73:

The only thing about firing the coaches is that you don’t know who will be selected to replace them. There are obvious and correct choices, but knowing Saru we’ll probably end up with Chester.

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-75:

Is that a fact now?

The Super 14 this year is a perfect example to show that there is nothing wrong with our players, yes… some are out of form, but rather this year than in 2011. Coaching.

• 77.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-75: I reckon the kicking maestro is the man; Bram somethingorother. Obviously kicking at altitude is different to sea level and his assistance is greatly appreciated.

• 78.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-76: It is a two edged sword KittyKat. If it isn’t the coaching it is the players not executing the coaches plan… A, B, C, etc.

As so far as Habana, I think his problem is he is STARVED of the ball. For some reason he has to continually come of his wing searching for the ball. Something wrong when you can get the ball to your wingers. Habana in ANY other national side would be scoring points.

• 79.Puma: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-75: @RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-77: Well done to your Wallabies.

• 80.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

cant get the ball to your wingers ( cant not can ) sorry

• 81.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-79: Thank you very much.

• 82.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh I am still on a high and will come back down to earth when we name our reserve hooker for next week. :P

Dunno who will get the bench, perhaps Damien Fitzpatrick or Huia Edmonds.

• 83.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-53:
    With your constant sniping at South African cities and their supposed backwardness, one could be forgven for thinking you’re living in New York or some other progressive city.

Alas, you’re living in NZ, more third world than South Africa in just about every department. Fact.

With that level of ‘sophistication’ on your doorstep, you’d be well-advised to keep tjoep-stil…or, if you have to blabber, it would be better to celebrate the beauty and simplicity of smalltown living on the world’s last bus stop.

• 84.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-76: correct we have the players for any kind of rugby and together with the Frogs are the only teams that can beat the blacks, at home and away.

• 85.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

Gimme a break, we has Stephen Donald last year, that’s like sending your team out with their hands tied behind their backs and 1 broken leg each.

• 86.superba: Reply to this comment

Tackler why dont you go down to Christchurch and help your countrymen in Christchurch whose homes have been flattened by the eartquake rather than blogging ??? Roer jou gat.

• 87.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-76:

Too right. Common sense isn’t in abundance at SARU. Change has got to make you better, stronger.
    And we all know who was supposed to get this job.

• 88.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-84: Now therein lies the problem… Confidence is thinking one can, humility is not saying one can.

This is why the AB fans regard the Bok fans as arrogant. ;)

• 89.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

So let me get this clear, the only reason you have lost this year is because of injuries?
    You sir a Muppet!

• 90.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

The super 14 shows you have great S14 players.
    Read the comments from your countrymen and wake up.
    You have serious issues that need addressing, to live in ignorance is to keep getting belted.
    I hope your rugby leaders have your attitude.Gonna make our job a whole lot easier.

• 91.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@iceman(iceman)-65:

Lol, how sad and fickle. You want to try being Scottish for a day my friend. It’ll maybe give you a bit of perspective.

• 92.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

This is where the RSA public do not understand this.

S14 is very different to National level.

RSA has the depth to filed somewhat strong sides and somewhat the same with NZ. Aus does not have the quality depth to fill all position in their teams with above average players.

The difference now is at national level. Aus have 30 players of high calibre yet RSA have somewhat good players with some high calibre players.

It is about coaching as to how you gell your players.

In my opinion the Boks were fortunate to get the draw they had in RWC 2007 and their win plastered the cracks because in 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2010 the boks have been poor in the tri nations.

Admiting though the wallabies have not been good and Deans had to wield the axe and bring in the youth and this is the journey we are seeing.

The ABs and wallabies have been on the rebuild and the ABs due to their depth have got their quickly wallabies still on going.

The Boks have been the beneficiares of this…they have plastered us while on the rebuild.

For the Boks its back to the same old same old as we start seeing the order restored.

• 93.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@Joe Maher(Joe Maher)-83:

Joe,

We just took a major hit here in NZ.
    A 7.1 magnitude earthquake.

Not one single fatality.
    Hospitals coped very well.
    Not one reported looter.
    All those evacuated, housed in relative comfort and safety.
    All those who suffered property loss, will be compensated fully.

No Foreign Assistance required or sort.

Compare that to Haiti………..which took a 7.0 Richter scale hit…………………..222,000 deaths.

Third World, I don’t think so Joe.
    And you don’t either ……..so don’t type ****.

• 94.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-93: Are there 220 000 people in ChCH? LOL

• 95.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@Joe Maher(Joe Maher)-83:

Might be the last bus stop, but god damn it they play tough hard and winning rugby there!

@ 84. RedLion is born again(RL)
    “@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-76: correct we have the players for any kind of rugby and together with the Frogs are the only teams that can beat the blacks, at home and away.”………..

Have a look at the scoreboard my friend.
    For all time in test matches, NZ 45, SA 33
    Tri Nations NZ 10 titles, SA 3
    Tri Nations NZ winning 70%, SA 40%
    Tri Nations NZ winning away 57% SA 20%
    RWC SA 2, NZ 1.

Keep dreaming pal, bet that wet stain will wake you up though.

• 96.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@ Kobus Kitty 72:

Ab’s are missing Andrew Hore, Sivivatu and Ali Williams from their top string line up. Adding those three, fully fit, would pretty much cancel out the Boks regaining Brousouw, Bakkies, FDP and Bismarck.

The Ab’s are also missing a number of significant bench players, including Kahui and Toeva.

All of the Tri Nations sides are missing some important players. That’s just rugby.

• 97.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

Now back to business:

Congratulations to Dingo, Rocky and Co.

Great match, with 3 tries that will surely make the Top Ten of the entire 2010 International Calender.

The SA Team must be wondering what they have to do. Great fight back. One of the greatest ever I would think. Life can be cruel.

Bok fans look to the positives…………………….you are having your bad luck now…………………………it must change soon.

And Old Victor,
    my o’ my, …………………………….there is life in the Old Dog still.
    Brilliant.

• 98.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-88: well when the AB’s lose again in RWC’11 we will simply just call them and their fans ‘chockers’ :wink:

• 99.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-94:

It did slip below 220,000 Goodie.

But 15,000 SA Immigrants restore numbers.

• 100.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@ Wallabie, :92

Good comments/analysis. What the Bok supporters on this site are missing is that Super Rugby form doesn’t always translate to test rugby. In 98, 3 out of the 4 semi finalists were NZ teams, both of the finalists NZ teams, yet the Ab’s lost all for tri nations games that year.

• 101.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-95: Don’t even go there. You can’t reason with these Bok supporters any more than you can reason with Bakkies on a rugby field.

They unfortunately (not all of us but a lot on here) believe that the Boks are the best ever.

Perhaps if the Boks hadn’t been isolated in the 1980s things would be different but if, whens and buts mean nothing. Since readmission we have been lucky to win 2 RWCs. One in SA very luky considering a no-try try not awarded to the French in Durban and an easy run in 2007.

Yeah we won, the Abs also seem to self-implode come RWC year and so we have 2 trophies. Good on us.

Between them, we haven’t looked good and of late, even more tragic. Why… well now more than ever we can clearly see why and yet these guys refuse to see it.

I never thought I’d see the day where a loss against Australia saw fans saying ‘the boys did their best’.

WTF is that if not loser speak. I am waiting for the press conference Monday to see what that loser Div and crew have to say for themseleves.

• 102.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@ RedLion: 98

Yep, good wins in this year’s tri nations don’t mean anything come the world cup, particularly where the Ab’s are concerned. Ab supporters will be nervous as hell going into every WC game from the quarter final on, that’s for real.

• 103.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-99: LOL :-)

too cold for me down there. Wellington is my town, windy but not auckland :-)

• 104.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-98:

You can take youre armchair RWC wins. Who’s that you beat again, Tonga and England?
    I would rather continue too lose RWCs but continue to belt you in the intervening years, much more satisfying to continually roast bok meat 2 out of every 3 seasons.

• 105.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-103:

Do you live in Wellington Goodie?

• 106.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

What the convicts simply do not understand is that there is no way in hell that they have enough quality players to field 3 professional teams never mind 5 from next year.

Now with their 30 or so high quality international players can anyone tell me the last time they won a 3N trophy, hell can anybody tell me what exactly have the convicts won in the past 10 years?

Nothing absolutely NOTHING worth writing about.

• 107.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-105: Nope mate, my dad used to as a kid and my sister lives there now.

I live in Durban but if I had to move to NZ, that would be the spot.

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-104: Be fair, we may have dodgy RWCs but we didn’t make you lose to England in 2007 :-)

• 108.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-106: Next year we have the Kings, don’t even go there.

• 109.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-104:

Come on now Blackie………………………………….that last WC loss to France was frigging devastating.

Well it was to me anyway.

• 110.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-101:

Well said mate.
    I’m just getting a bit fired up by the blonks here who think their p00 don’t stink and that somehow they have been robbed or something. WTF!?
    I just don’t get it.
    Last year we got creamed, had some horrible personnel problems as well, but we looked inwards, accepted we were beaten by the better team and went back to the drawing board.
    I just don’t see how some of the plonkers here don’t get that, it is their team and coaches that have the problem, and you must look inwards to fix that.
    How can you say that the coaches and personnel for the Boks are all OK when you’re getting constantly wiped?
    Sticking my chin out here, but I bet I could guess the particular heritage of the blinded fools who continue to spout such garbage.

• 111.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-104: Get this.

After NZ won the 3N Jake went up to Henry and congratulated him on a fine championship victory and then looked him dead in the eye and said ‘I will see you in the RWC final – just make sure that you win ALL of your matches because we sure as hell are going to make it to the final’

Well Jake lived up to his end of the deal, he won ALL of his matches to make it to the final. He beat the Argies twice who in turn beat the Frogs twice who beat you All Blacks once – and for good measure we beat the POMS twice who beat the living daylights out of the team who choked the life out of the men in black.

Do you get it?

• 112.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-109:

Yeah, it was.
    What I’m saying is, if we cant have it all, I’d rather the current pattern than winning RWCs and being no where in between.

• 113.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-107: I mean France of course, with the dodgy English ref :-)

• 114.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-104: TBH I really think that Henry was afraid to win all of his matches because he knew that the Boks would be waiting for him in the final – GH figured lets bail out in the quarters, blame the ref just to avoid those chocking Boks in the final.

• 115.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-111:

I get it.
    You won fair and square, and we lost, choked again.
    But , personally, as I just said, if we cant win a RWC, I would prefer the status quo then accepting mediocrity in the intervening years.

• 116.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-106:

Australia currently hold the Mandela Hub Cap.

• 117.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

Hmmmmmmm, I think they beat the Boks last time they met from memory?

• 118.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-110: The heritage you refer to is actually a bit more complicated, like anything is in SA.

I think there are many angles, these are the GENERAL ones:

1. If you are not white it is the players, not the coach.
    2. If you are white it is the coach and not the players.
    Both above think there is nothing wrong with SA rugby.

3. If you have a brain and are any colour its more like some of the players, too much rugby, all the coaches and SARU as well.

• 119.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-116: Nice one. No flies on you.

• 120.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-114:

Your right there of course, just like 2003.

• 121.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-116: nice one trophy in 10 years and they are going for a record 11 straight klaps against the AB’s.

• 122.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-121: They beat us, at home. Just stop making a fool of yourself.

• 123.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-114:

“Graham Henry afraid to meet the Boks……”

Tri-Nations log
    Team P W D L BP Pts
    All Blacks 5 5 0 0 3 23
    Wallabies 5 2 0 3 1 10
    Springboks 6 1 0 5 3 7

Yeah right, Ted lies awake at night, terrified of what nightmares, sleep might bring.

• 124.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-118:

Fair enuff. My thinking was more along the lines of which white heritage, but I get your drift.

• 125.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-124: That too, but I’m leaving that one alone, it’s even more complicated.

• 126.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-123: I was talking about 2007 afraid. :smile:

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-122: they beat a team that is coached by PDivvy and fat Smitty ffs. With the player we have we should have killed them!

p.s. Keohane when is that press conference.

• 127.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-126: I know who they beat but they represent the Springboks, those results go in the record books I am afraid. There is nothing in the parenthesis about (bad coach, fat captain), just we lost.

you can’t throw stones at Australia for not being a Ferrari when we haven’t invented the wheel.

• 128.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-121:

Red,

This is a very young Aussie Team.

I doubt very much NZ could do as well, with a Team so inexperienced. Maybe SA could, I don’t know.

Their (Oz) Administration is showing great patience, and this patience will show results sooner or later.

My best guess would be WC 2015. Get your money down to the Bookies now.

• 129.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-126:

You still think all your players are better!? WTF?!
    Of course you do, you were robbed by a conspiracy of lies and cheats.

Just remember Einstein, you basically chose your national team from 2 excellent Super 14 teams, we choose our national team from 5 good teams.
    Get it?
    I doubt it.

• 130.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-126:

And then you got smoked by Aus who are lucky to scrape up 15 players, yet u were robbed again.
    Wow, some people just don’t get it.

• 131.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-127:

The voice of reason and intelligence, luv it.

• 132.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-129: @Black Magic(Black Magic)-131:

our players are better that the convicts and we have better players not even in the squad – remember these are the same players that contested the Super final.

• 133.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-132:

Yet you still lost and you still don’t get it.

• 134.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

Hey Red,

A bit of googling reveals the following;

Oz have won 39.2% of their 3N matches since 2000.
    SA have won 38.5% of their 3N games since 2000.

Your denigration of the Wallabies appears to be a crock of shiit.

• 135.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-133: I get it man – it is recorded on the scoreboard forever!

but I would rather choke one year before the RWC than during the world cup if you know what I mean.

• 136.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-134:

croc of kak?

and we have won 2 3N titiles since 2000 how many have they won?

:cool:

• 137.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

Thank you PANZER CHIEF – reading some of these blogs (Grant, etc.) you would have thought Victor Matfield was deadwood – only one word for his performance (after winning all his lineouts – except the inevitable bad throw-in from Smit which has now cost us FOUR TEST MATCHES – contested the tight and lose magnificently, one of the best Bok tacklers) and then that moment of kick-and-chip … your word sums it UP: BRILLIANT – thank you I thought I was going crazy reading some of this stuff …

Re: Smit – his second-half was lethal … pity he came off – incidentally our two bench players gave away the two penalties that led to the 10 points that lost ANOTHER test …

• 138.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-137: The turning point (kick up the ar$e) was Fingers brainfart. The birthday card Barnes gifted Mr Deans with was a shot from the blue. Incidentally do you know who Fingers lifted???

Flip VdM :shock:

Ironic huh ;)

• 139.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

By the way, I genuinely think Flip is a talent.

• 140.Black Magic: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-135:

You didn’t choke.
    You were out coached, out thought and out played.
    You still don’t get it.

• 141.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@Black Magic(Black Magic)-140: to me choke = out coached, out thought and out played. :grin:

• 142.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-141: or is choke only what the AB’s do?

• 143.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-136:

How many have they (OZ) won?

Points 1st 2nd 3rd
    2010 NZL 23 AUS 10 SAF 7
    2009 SAF 21 NZL 13 AUS 7
    2008 NZL 19 AUS 14 SAF 10
    2007 NZL 13 AUS 9 SAF 5
    2006 NZL 23 AUS 11 SAF 9
    2005 NZL 15 SAF 13 AUS 3
    2004 SAF 11 AUS 10 NZL 9
    2003 NZL 18 AUS 6 SAF 4
    2002 NZL 15 AUS 11 SAF 7
    2001 AUS 11 NZL 9 SAF 6
    2000 AUS 14 NZL 12 SAF 6

it appears 2 red.
    Same as SA.

We await your apology to the good Wallabie supporters for your inaccurate, ill-informed and unfortunate outburst.

• 144.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-143: I see so basically they have not won anything since 2002 – that is 8 years of drought. Convicts please accept my humble apologies.

• 145.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

To the Kiwis and Ozzies:

You don’t get it. Apparently because New Zealand hasn’t won a world cup since 1987 there is nothing wrong with South African rugby.

Add to that the fact that South Africa managed to almost beat a team of Australians not old enough to buy beer in America means South Africa is great.

There is no logic in this country, there is only weird loyalty/hatred of everything that isn’t in line with particular world views of the individual.

• 146.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-145:hmmmm I will look up on the age thing

p.s. condolences for yesterday … first the Boks getting klapped then the Sharks getting klapped straight afterwards. :razz:

• 147.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-144:

Ahhh… I would be only too proud to be of convict heritage. :lol:

You need to be Australian to comprehend the prestige. :)

• 148.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-137:

J.B.

Victor would still be the first choice lock, in most (if not all) Internationally Selected Teams.

I used to think he was an arssrehole. But have changed my opinion in the last few years.

And, for what it’s worth, among the best locks ever.

Just behind (and I mean Just):
    Marty Johnson.
    John Eales.
    Skylab Cutler.

But ahead of Legends like:
    Prik De Preus (Spelling).
    Colin Meads.
    Willie John McBride.
    Mark Andrews.

• 149.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-146: It’s okay, Boks needed to lose and the Sharks will bounce back. At least we won the CCup in 2008.

When did the Lions last win anything LOL ha ha ha ha ha.

• 150.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-146: 21 & over to imbibe in the USofA… fact.

• 151.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-150: I’ve been following this madness of the new drinking laws in New Zealand.

18 to drink in a club but 20 to buy at the off licence? NZ is all a bit mental with their laws, remember I got my drivers at 15 there, 15 is sooo young looking back. And yet, they still reward kids for having babies at 16?

One of the weirder sets of laws NZ has.

• 152.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-149:

:sad:

1999 was the last time the Lions won anything – we klapped the Sharks to win the CC.

On Friday we klapped the WPians and look forward to meeting the Sharks and the Bulls in the next round – who knows with Mitch and King Carlos as our coaches maybe this can be the year of the Lion again.

• 153.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-152: I sense a resurgence at the lions and SA rugby needs it. That man Mitch is a genius.

Now if the Bok management look to the Lions and see who coached them when they came last in the S14 and didn’t win a match and then looked to see where that guy is now they may discover something quite profound that everyone else seems to know.

• 154.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-144:

Hey Red,

You Okes have more player resources than Oz and Nz combined.

And they (OZ) have less than us (NZ).

But they (OZ)still put up a great show.

And if RU, did not have RL to compete with in NSW and Q/land, we would both be in their shadow.

In fact, they would have won every RU WC, if they could call upon the talent available in the NRL.(Rugby League).

• 155.BillTong: Reply to this comment

I haven’t seen any Currie Cup games this year (TV only option where I live), but judging from the game reports here on Keo – the scores often seem very high (for both teams) – eg Bulls v Sharks – two of the top teams – at 40 – 34.

What’s happening to the defences? Is this being mirrored in your National Team – which as Keo points out has leaked 22 tries in 6 3N games.

Is ‘D’ not important in SA rugby anymore??

Just a question…

• 156.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-151: Booze in Australia is 18 at pubs, clubs, restaurants and bottleshops. We are fairly democratic here, if you can hold a gun and vote… well then you can drink. Legal age in most respects in the land of Oz. 16 is the age of consent… but we wont go there. :)

• 157.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@BillTong(BillTong)-155: Good question. Sharks and WP have been good on defense except yesterday and Friday.

I think the rule seems to be ‘score more’. You may have a point.

• 158.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-156: You guys have too many laws.

South Africa has one law I think. Pay your taxes. They are word class at collecting tax money. Anything else, you’re free to do as you please.

• 159.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-154: maybe but England have more player resources that all 3N combined – hell if they did not have football they would be unbeatable and they would basically own William Web forever … hell if we did not have football wich is an 80% sport here in the republic perhaps we would own William Web forever. :wink:

• 160.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-159: Choice is the problem. In the good old days :roll: there was cricket and rugby. Oh and the toffs played tennis. :P

• 161.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-159: Soccer is such a bad game. The World Cup was enough to relegate it from my list of ‘maybe should watch sometime’ to ‘never again even if you force my eyes open with matches”.

• 162.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-159:

And,
    Oh Yeah Red,

If all these Boks coming home next year,
    are going to be as good as Young Fronken Steyn.

You Mothers are Pharkked.

• 163.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-162: You guys are just lucky you have 100 000 of our best rugby players living there now :-)

• 164.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-159:

True,
    England have more Registered Rugby Players,
    than NZ have in their TOTAL MALE POPULATION.

So what could 900,000 soccer players do to the equation. They are **** at Soccer………………..why would they be any good at RU.

DARTS…………….this is the true calling for any red blooded Pom.

(personally I find it an enthralling TV sport).

• 165.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-163:

Two year ago Manawatu had 5 Saffas in their Squad.

• 166.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-165: My facebook mates told me about the Earthquake quicker than the news. Probably 1 in four of the people I studied with and knew at that time live in NZ now.

• 167.husky: Reply to this comment

He, he more squeaking and squealing from Bo fans and NZ and Oz crowing from the top of the dung heap. Guys, just face it, SA has the players but their coaching and admin is lacking. NZ and Oz are a total package BUT everyone lifts their game for RWC so NZ, who coast along at No. 1 feel thay just have to go through the motions and it will all fall into place. It hasn’t for a long, long time.

This time round they may get it right, particularly with SA in disarray and Po’B instructing the refs to blow to order.

We shall see.

• 168.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

#148 – PANZER – Agree wholeheartedly re: Matfield – isn’t it amazing how many bloggers on this site think he should quit?

Regarding your locks – tricky question, but:

Lineout jumping

1) Matfield
    2) Eales
    3) Johnson

Leadership

1) Eales/Johnson
    3) Matfield

Running/loose

1) Frik Du Preez
    2) Benazzi
    3) Matfield
    4) Dauga

Tight play

1) Meades
    2) Du Preez
    3) Johnson
    4) Benazzi
    5) Dauga
    6) Botha

Clearing a ruck

1) Meades
    2) Botha
    3) Du Preez
    4) Johnson

Rolling Maul

1) Meades
    2) Du Preez
    3) Johnson
    4) Benazzi
    5) Eales
    6) Botha
    7) Matfield

Big Match Temperament

1) Johnson/Eales
    3) The rest

On balance Colin Meades is still probably the best player per sue – but you could argue the toss: Johnson and Eales bring the capataincy factor to the table and it’s huge and you have to take it into account for overall value. Tough call …

• 169.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

Seriously the defensive coach needs to take a long hard look at themselves.

In fact the whole group does. The will not be RWC winners playing like this. they could not string together five good game with mentality like this!!

On another point: If ever there was a more clear demonstration that, in the new game, when you are not scoring points, you are having them scored against you. Stonewall defence is just no longer an option – especially at the end of the match.

The Boks scored 34 unanswered points in the second half, and Australia could not score against us because they could not get their hand on the pill. But as soon as we catch up, we go into defensive mode (WRONG!), take our foot off the gas, and start KICKING THE FU@KING BALL TO THEM, allowing them to have a crack. Instead of continuing what we were doing, and putting 50 points on them. WHY!??????

SWEET MOTHER OF GOD what will it take to teach these idiots that possession is key? And that predictableness is poison? That 10 man CR@P at the end, trying to run the clock down – WHY??? We became predictable, and they knew exactly where to have their fetchers stand. Where was our faith in our ability to attack?

• 170.whatever: Reply to this comment

@J.B. Cowper(J.B. Cowper)-168:

Yeah, I’m guessing you studied Meads clearing many rucks and managing rolling mauls from the many vidoe clips of the time??

You can’t compare. The game was different, the rules different, the ball different, the players smaller.

How do you get that Meads was better at clearing a ruck than Botha?? Come on dude!

• 171.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

The bok coaches ust e drunk if they think they dont DESPERATELY need a defensive coach. Cause clearly **** aint a defensive coach. His record with the Boks and the Lions speaks for itself. A whole team of players cant all of a sudden becime rubbish defensively. So it MUST be the system they employ. Maybe its too complex?
    Dunno. But it sucks.

• 172.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

#Whatever … I have seen footage of Meades in action, as it happens – on top of that I’ve spoken with people who’ve played with Meades and are still in a state of shock; and I’ve read the literature. He was part of Brian Lachores unbeatables (pre-1970) which included great players such as Tremain, Nathan and Gray, not to mention Lachore himself.

And before you go off on a rant about the relative size of players in those days compared today – it is not size we are comparing but skill level and value added.

Also, you can say what you like about the Kiwis, but they know their rugby and Meades is considered their best ever player by those who have seen it all.

Finally, whereas I would marry Bakkies Botha if he would have me, and rate his clearing skills as second to none in the modern game, he wasn’t as effective or BRUTAL as Meades (who played in the days when anything went in the game): Bakkies goes in battering ram head first, Meades went in FEET FIRST and got sent off famously for it.

He was more brutal than Bakkies. He always stood behind the Boks and respected them. I stand by my statement.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.