Wallabies end Highveld drought
4 Sep 2010
JON CARDINELLI reports on the Wallabies’ monumental and dramatic 41-39 win in Bloemfontein.
Saturday was a sad day for Springbok rugby. With the Boks’ fifth defeat of their 2010 campaign, they completed their spiralling journey to rock bottom. Since the start of this year’s Tri-Nations, they’ve surrendered the Tri-Nations title, the Freedom Cup, and now the Mandela Plate.
They’ve lost three consecutive games to the All Blacks, and allowed the Wallabies to break a losing streak on the Highveld that goes all the way back to 1963. If there’s any doubt that this nightmare’s reached it’s nadir, the doubters need look no further than the Tri-Nations log.
The broken records and surrendering of trophies aside, the manner of defeat in Bloemfontein was sickening. Most would have expected an improved Bok showing, and perhaps a lift in the Wallabies’ intensity and accuracy was largely underestimated. The visitors scored four tries in the first 27 minutes last week, but it took only 25 before they bagged the bonus point in Bloemfontein.
They failed to hang onto that lead, a fact that underscored their soft mentality. But Kurtley Beale showed some deep steel when he silenced 38 000 booing South Africans in the dying seconds. Beale’s penalty, from a difficult angle on the halfway line, was a hit and hope. As it sailed between the uprights, Beale’s team-mates celebrated while the Boks could only hang their heads.
David Pocock was prolific at the breakdown once again, slowing South Africa’s ball and affecting some crucial steals on his own tryline. The addition of Stephen Moore to the Wallabies pack added some grunt, while the selections of Mark Chisholm and Ben McCalman ensured the visiting lineout enjoyed plenty of momentum from the lineout.
The decision making and incisive running of the Wallabies backs translated that pressure into points early on, and Peter de Villiers’s failure to pick a specialist fetcher for the fourth game in succession meant the visiting team recycled their ruck ball at a frenetic pace. Will Genia darted while Quade Cooper surged and probed, also showing his versatility with several ground-gaining grubbers and chips.
While the Wallabies were accurate in the first half, their attack was helped by some shocking Bok defence. The home backline was cut time and again, the men in gold making linebreaks look embarrassingly easy. Matt Giteau kicked well to help the Wallabies to a 31-6 lead, and with the way they started, it seemed they would cruise to a comfortable victory.
But the Boks nabbed a try before half-time as the Wallabies began to lose composure. The home team was the more impressive of the two in the third quarter and when Gurthro Steenkamp barrelled over from close range, a repeat of Pretoria began to seem likely. Jean de Villiers ran a brilliant line in the 54th minute, and Morne Steyn’s conversion saw the Boks trailing by just 31-30.
Bryan Habana had another torrid evening, his missed tackle allowing James O’Connor to make the break that set up Rocky Elsom’s try. He was subbed early in the second half for Gio Aplon, who showed why defence is more about technique than it is about size.
But Habana wasn’t the only player guilty of errors. The Wallabies were far less accurate in the second half, both at the breakdown and with ball in hand. Genia throwing the ball over the dead ball line was the worst example, but costly, momentum-culling mistakes prevented the Wallabies from making ground.
Steyn goaled a penalty in the 62nd minute to earn the Boks the lead for the first time in the game, and amazingly, it was the Wallabies that looked the more desperate side. The Boks were on the verge of their second come-from-behind win, and the Wallabies were staring down their second implosion.
The moment of madness arrived when replacement hooker Saia Faingaa spike tackled Flip van der Merwe in the 69th minute. Steyn kicked the ensuing penalty and the Wallabies faced the impossible task of closing the gap with only 14 men.
Drew Mitchell snatched a try, but the one-short Wallabies defence could not repel the Boks for long. Beale slipped before receiving a pass and the rebound was run upfield by the hosts. A breakdown transgression allowed Steyn an opportunity from a difficult angle, and the South African sharpshooter slotted the penalty to regain the lead.
Unbelievably, the Boks conceded a penalty in the final minute when Van der Merwe went off his feet at the ruck, and Elsom asked Beale to have a crack for the unlikely win.
What makes this defeat especially hard to bear is that the Wallabies were missing a number of first-choice players, while the Boks were only missing Fourie du Preez and Heinrich Brussow. There is a lot wrong with the Boks at the moment and changes need to be made.

335 Comments
4 Sep 2010, 19:07 pm
An end of a golden time in SA rugby…..
4 Sep 2010, 19:08 pm
Boks will be gutted.
I know I am – 2 evenings in a row.
4 Sep 2010, 19:09 pm
The guys who usually take the flack played quite well today – Matfield and Smit stood up. Guthro was immense and Danie as well.
Shame the rest did not pitch – except Jdv at times and Aplon for the 20 he was on.
Both Steyns looked bad, JPP was ok, Habana cost us about 17 by my count and our 6,7,8 was indifferent.
Good game of 30 minutes, but that is about it.
Prediction: PDV will be saying his goodbyes by next week.
4 Sep 2010, 19:09 pm
Last minuette Dragons…
4 Sep 2010, 19:11 pm
Anyway – on to today’s real main event, Sharks VS Bulls
SHARKS! SHARKS! SHARKS!
4 Sep 2010, 19:12 pm
So Keohane do you still think that PDivvy is going to be fired tomorrow?
4 Sep 2010, 19:13 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-2: aaaaw shame
4 Sep 2010, 19:15 pm
Higlight of the games was Vic’s break and chip-kick!
Amazing kick by Beale to win it.
These last 2 games have been rather astonishing. In each game I thought the boks were dead and burried by half-time.
Some good signs from SA but, as has been repeated ad-nauseam on this site, some players just arent up to it right now.
Perfect time now to play a “younger” team on the EOYT. Give Smith, Spies, Habana, Vic a “rest”, and determine their worth to the team after next years S15.
I dont think we have a international quality fetcher thats fit atm. Who would have done better then Schalk @6?
4 Sep 2010, 19:15 pm
@RedLion is born again(RL)-6:
He gave them too much rope here. Even in 2006 I don’t believe we lost twice at home like this.
Although I might be wrong.
4 Sep 2010, 19:16 pm
I can’t make up my mind about this Tri Nations Disaster.
Let’s not forget 2006. 49-0 . 1 year later World Champions
This is a special group with a proud record of achievements.
But where to from here I don’t know. Disappointing.
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-5: Go Sharks, condemn them to the bottom of the log for good.
@girshin(girshin)-8:
Keegan Daniel wold have not been bad.
Look at him tonight – he’s a little pitbull
Although I would have kept Burger at 8 and drop Blunt-Spies
4 Sep 2010, 19:17 pm
@RedLion is born again(RL)-7:
Your guys did ok last night. You must be chuffed.
4 Sep 2010, 19:20 pm
@girshin(girshin)-8: Smith should read Smit. For the record I think Vic is good enough but taking him on the EOYT might be pushing it.
4 Sep 2010, 19:20 pm
Here’s a crazy idea: why don’t we get a defense coach?
4 Sep 2010, 19:21 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-12: Yeah Daniel, good little player – he definately has the energy and work rate to make a nuisance of himself at 6. And his all-round game is very very good, punches above is weight.
4 Sep 2010, 19:22 pm
Pdv should go fired gone
To continue to play habana was really dumb
Plus other selections which dont make sense during the tri nations.
Boks were running on fumes and lack of confidence
4 Sep 2010, 19:23 pm
@coherence(coherence)-15: WP refused
4 Sep 2010, 19:23 pm
Make Heyneke Meyer technical advisor until after the World Cup.
4 Sep 2010, 19:24 pm
A very fortunate win for the Aussies as they should have won comfortably both times.
A very impressive 2nd half yet again by the Boks. Which makes one wonder why Boks play so piss-poor in the 1st and why Aussies play so piss-poor in the 2nd half. Conspiracy?
4 Sep 2010, 19:24 pm
Well done Australia!!! What a game of rugby! Bring on NZ next week.
4 Sep 2010, 19:25 pm
@girshin(girshin)-16:
Yep, should have maybe played centre – has the pace and upper body strenght to play break the line.
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-17:
The selections were a bit daft – they all knew the senior guys played too much. They talked about it non-stop – so why keep them on for 2 meaningless games.
Sure, we might have still lost – but at least then we would have had an excuse
I think the coaching team is nowhere without Smit and Matfield, that is why they are played all the time.
4 Sep 2010, 19:26 pm
Lambie only has a 71% kicking success rate – Sir Elton kicked 100% yesterday.
Who is better?
4 Sep 2010, 19:27 pm
@permelsy(permelsy)-21:
ummmm, I would not be so eager to see these aussies go up against NZ – the Blacks will skin them alive, especially coming bak from SA and habing two games here.
4 Sep 2010, 19:27 pm
Not much between these teams but both will be very different beasts next year. The reality is SA may be ‘only’ missing Fourie du Preez and Heinrich Brussow but those guys are intrinsic to the Bokke game. NZ are the gold standard but how did they cope without Carter and McCaw?
4 Sep 2010, 19:28 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-22:
Yes i agree they were plying on their own with the senior players basically running the show I dont believe the coaching staff had the support of the team
Pity the senior players were nto in form or fit
Nice try Mvovo
Lambie 0 from 2 – not nearly as good as Sir Elton that is for sure.
@RedLion is born again(RL)-23:
C’mon RL – you know that is not the only measurement.
If it was, that bloke from Scotland who kicked 100% for something like 2 seasons would have been top of the pile.
I can say that they are both quality – and would rather blood either of them before we play and overplayed MS on the EOYT
I wonder if this ‘performance’ was not designed to help those in power make their decision over de Villiers. I hope so because if that the best we can do against a very average Aussie side we are in deep trouble.
4 Sep 2010, 19:30 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-26:
I also think the balance of this team is wrong. We were a lot better when the boks were Bullsharks than what they are now.
Obviously for should be rewarded – but I think our 50/50 Bull/WP setup has something to do with our form.
PS> Give Mvovo a bok jersey!
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-24: The wallabies are a young team and extremely fit so i think they should be able to recover from the previous games. If they play like they did in the first 40 then next week may be a lot closer than people think. Big pressure on them to beat NZ and prove they are ready.
for = form
Ugh!
4 Sep 2010, 19:31 pm
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-19: He’s not the only coach available. SARU could also consider contracting a defense coach, but I guess I’m just going crazy.
why is it that we still do the stupid, up drive to waste time rather than playing the ball…thay were execellent on the ground the whole game and got away with a lot..
somebody needed to step up..
If Smit’s not making those call,,are the back line players around the ruck in charge?
Sal graag wil weet hoeveel wedstryde is al verloor agv die tydwen metode op die einde wat ontaard het in ‘n strafskop vir die span wat agter is en ook hoeveel wedstryde van der Merwe al sy span gekos het aan strafskoppe. Hoekom gee die bokke hulle teenstanders kans om op spoed te kom voordat hulle verdedig.
4 Sep 2010, 19:32 pm
The team had one obvious weakness: Habana. The other 2 are gone (Olivier and Kirchner)
The rest of the problems are not so easy to rectify. We need Brussow, but he’s out untill next year.
Morne Steyn is limited on the attack, but his boot is invaluable. I believe he has good attacking capabilities.
Smit is over the hill, but he played a decent enough game. Bismarck has no equal.
The rest of the guys are really just in need of a rest.
Remember, in Formula 1, one tenth of a second is a lot. So is rugby. We have the players, we just need to tweak the unit, and get a Ross Brawn. Hopefully Heyneke Meyer will finally take over in the next week or two and restore sanity.
4 Sep 2010, 19:32 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-30:
Yes I agree balance at the back 3 and at loose forward and early on the Ricky there (geeeeeez)
I do like Steyn aplon and Jp at the back now
4 Sep 2010, 19:34 pm
I have also had a problem with Spies for a long time Just my opinion
Should have Vermeulen
bring in Bismark the beast and Pdp keep Hougaard and hope Brussow is back soon for Cheetahs
4 Sep 2010, 19:34 pm
Save Krusty !
4 Sep 2010, 19:37 pm
is it okay to panic? i think its time to panic
4 Sep 2010, 19:38 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-39:
He won’t be sleeping soundly tonight.
Watch out for more pearlers.
4 Sep 2010, 19:40 pm
Well done to the Walla`s – I`m surprised they didn`t put 50 past us though. I almost wish they had, just to make the usual excuses (referee, bad bounce, luck etc) totally redundant. We got deservedly klapped 5 out of 6 games in this series and it should of been 6 from 6. This team is in dire need of fresh blood and decent coaching staff.
4 Sep 2010, 19:41 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-38: Vermeulen or Alberts from the Sharks. Ysters. I can`t understand how a guy like Spies misses more tackles then a midget like Aplon. It has to be down to attitude.
4 Sep 2010, 19:42 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-2: say that again, thank god, Liverpool is not playing this weekend
4 Sep 2010, 19:42 pm
@Black Sheep(Black Sheep)-42:
As much as i hate to hear it I cannot disagree with you
4 Sep 2010, 19:44 pm
@RedLion is born again(RL)-23: Why not play them both? Elton at 10, Lambie at 12 and de jongh at 13. All small guy`s who have proved you don`t need to be big to make the takcles, all players with creative flair, vision and astute rugby brains.
4 Sep 2010, 19:45 pm
@Black Sheep(Black Sheep)-43:
Yes Alberts is in great form I agree
Vermeulen is the classic # 8 and very good
I watched spies on one goal line defensive stand and he missed 4 tackles or did not bother to make them
Again he is great against a weak team with boks going forward
His is poor on defense
4 Sep 2010, 19:45 pm
Lambie now has a 50% kicking success rate tonight. He will not beat Sir Elton’s 100% kicking rate and I do not think he will take on 3 players and touch down under the poles like Elton did.
4 Sep 2010, 19:47 pm
@coherence(coherence)-15:
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-18:
Nienaber, the WP defence coach was indeed approached and spent a morning with the Boks. And then Pdiv wanted him more permanently – but this ahead of WP’s match against the Bulls.
PDiv had 3 – 4 weeks between the last test downunder and the Soccer City test to sort this out. Talk about bad planning. And then the WP guys are made out to be the bad guys.
Something sucks. Very amateurish from PDiv imo.
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-39: Why he is getting fired tomorrow – if you believe the spin doctor Keohane.
@Black Sheep(Black Sheep)-46: hmmm interesting idea. Mvovo and Basson needs to be in the team for sure.
@Black Sheep(Black Sheep)-46:
Yes for End of year tour.
I like lambie at 15
Play dejong at 12 with JF at 13
We will have Pdp back with Hougaard on bench
Spies out and kanko too sorry sharks fans.
Jannie dup out too
Smit out
Brussow back
4 Sep 2010, 19:49 pm
@RedLion is born again(RL)-50:
If Pdv is not fired tomorrow he should be.
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-49: Perhaps SARU is also to blame for not giving PDV the personnel he needs to succeed. You can’t necessarily blame him if SARU doesn’t give him the support that he needs. Nevertheless, they should have been able to solve the problems that have been there since the beginning of the Tri-Nations.
stupid Kaplan – paaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaauuuusssssssssse engage. The law book says pause not paaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaauuuusssssssssse.
4 Sep 2010, 19:50 pm
Reasons
Stupid press comments
Seeing problems and not making the changes
Poor game plan
No support form the players
He is done, gone.
4 Sep 2010, 19:51 pm
to be honest all frans steyn is good for is the boot
4 Sep 2010, 19:52 pm
@klippies101(klippies101)-56:
Which Steyn?
geez pick stefan terblanche at full back
the anc will not fire pdv they picked him for a reason
what makes you guys think PDV will get fired?! he will guide us all the way to a semi final defeat against the ABs in 2011 and then bow out a national treasure
4 Sep 2010, 19:53 pm
well if the boks even make the semi at the world cup
4 Sep 2010, 19:53 pm
@klippies101(klippies101)-56:
Ok sorry frans yes plus too much of an individual player
Seemed out of touch with rest of team
But much better than Zane
4 Sep 2010, 19:54 pm
what a kool name fantasticbarnsmell best name of here for sure
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-59:
Yeah right
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-10:
Tri Nations 2010 surpassed 2006 as the worst disaster. Look the stats up. The Boks are deteriorating badly under this coaching team, yet again poor defensive structures!
at least zane can attack but frans is great under the high ball
4 Sep 2010, 19:55 pm
@klippies101(klippies101)-60: indeed. i think Ireland will sleep easy after seeing our performance this 3N
willem alberts to replace a tired spies
Erm only missing du Preez and Brussouw? What about Bismarck and Bakkies (yeah i know he was a cost this year but when playing well is an important component to the team)? Who were the Wallabies missing that would be as important such important players, JC?
4 Sep 2010, 19:56 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-63: a NZ national treasure i mean
@klippies101(klippies101)-62: thanks!
@klippies101(klippies101)-67:
Yes and vermeulen on bench maybe too
and ireland were kak at the world cup
go o driscoll
4 Sep 2010, 19:57 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-69:
yes now i agree
4 Sep 2010, 19:57 pm
the wallybies r missing monster eightman palu and i think thats it
4 Sep 2010, 19:58 pm
Jaco van der Westhuizen has got to be the oldest up and coming youngster in SA.
4 Sep 2010, 19:58 pm
@klippies101(klippies101)-65: zane is like 50cc yamaha, good over the first 3000rpm, but he still is only a 50cc. Frans Steyn is a 1100cc. No contest. The Sharks is going to eat Kirchner alive tonight, Olivier as well. (At least Olivier is a 200cc, Korean built, but 200cc.)
4 Sep 2010, 19:59 pm
Monty what’s his name is playing at fullback. What happened to Ludik? still out cold?
4 Sep 2010, 20:00 pm
like i sais before why do the players not go on strike till they get a coach i guess if they do will be accused of being rascist
malema would have a field day
and if the coaches cared bout the boks they would quit
4 Sep 2010, 20:00 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-47:to use a cricket analogy, Spies is like AB de Villiers – great player when he comes in on a flat pitch at 500 for 2, but never gets into double figures if you`re 79 for 3 and battling to save the test. Kanko just can`t seem to make the step up from S14 to test level.
4 Sep 2010, 20:01 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-74: he and Tereblance must have a combined aged of about 72
4 Sep 2010, 20:01 pm
Ja wat , is dit die einde van Mr Snor
4 Sep 2010, 20:03 pm
@Black Sheep(Black Sheep)-78:
Yes how come we see it and Pdv and coaching staff dont?
4 Sep 2010, 20:04 pm
@Black Sheep(Black Sheep)-78: however AB is currently ranked the best ODI batsman in the world whereas Spies is “hondkak”, as so to speak.
4 Sep 2010, 20:09 pm
lol nice
to be honest last year we had the best in the world
this year we look average, If this is the future of bok
rugby will we be cheering when we beat angola blind school cause thats the only team we will beat
4 Sep 2010, 20:09 pm
do the right thing pdv and stand down we shouldnt be struggling to beat the wallabies at home its just not right
4 Sep 2010, 20:10 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-38:
Yep, Aplon, Steyn and JPP as a back 3 has potential – Steyn just needs more gametime.
Also, need Mvovo on the bench at least
4 Sep 2010, 20:11 pm
________________________________________________________________::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::________________________________________________________________
Comrades listen please
This was not as bad as people think.
Coach PDV did VERY well this week. Its the playesr that letting us down as a country. Hougaard showed his immiturity today. Habana ,must go for Mvovo.
And also Frans Steyn is not as good for Aplon. But it was an ok loss. We will be ready for world cup.
4 Sep 2010, 20:13 pm
1 more thing to say – Earl Rose or Elton Jantjies for end of year tour ne !!
4 Sep 2010, 20:14 pm
SHARKS! SHARKS! SHARKS! SHARKS!
Gee hulle gas!
You know it is going to be a tough day for the bulls when Sjokolade Kriek and Meisiekind are their toughest players.
Sharks for EOYT (not in bok team today):
Beast
Bismarck
Daniels
Lambie
McCloud (Watch this oke, will be a great back-up to Hougaard come 2011)
Mvovo
4 Sep 2010, 20:15 pm
congrats Wallaby supporters, must be a concern allowing a team to come back like that
4 Sep 2010, 20:15 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-86:
Nah RG – any loss at home on the highveld to the Wobblies is way worse than what we think.
Also, when we look deviod of gameplan for 40 min – that is usually the Coaching team’s fault (note I said team – they all a bit kakkerig)
4 Sep 2010, 20:17 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-87:
I know you love Rose boet – and respect for sticking by him.
But Jantjies >>>>>>>>> Daylight >>>>>>>>> Rose
Jantjies is a complete package
4 Sep 2010, 20:18 pm
“If the Boks allow the Wallabies a similar buffer in Bloem it will only highlight their defensive and tactical frailties, but as poor as the Boks have been throughout the competition, you can’t see that happening again”
some of us could see it coming – 1 from 5 was a pretty big pointer
4 Sep 2010, 20:19 pm
I`m fearing the worst for the EOY tour. This will surely go down as the most disastrous year in Springbok history ever. We play dumb rugby. So much experience and we can`t even close down the game. Defences poor. Pathetic. This team as it is now has no chance of winning the RWC.
4 Sep 2010, 20:19 pm
@coherence(coherence)-53:
Well exactly. There needs to be more professionalism all round. JW wanted Eddie Jones and got him but it took a while.
If PDiv, while the Boks were downunder, said to Andy Marinos that I want this guy or that guy to assist, it could’ve happened. Things could’ve been different.
What gets my goat, is that demands are made at the last minute, and everybody must drop everything for the national cause. It just smacks of a lack of planning. The national team always comes first but SARU and Pdiv have got to understand who a particular guy’s employer is.
Another example. The Frans Steyn issue. Between Marinos, Peter Jooste and PDiv they must have known that NH players require a 14 day notice period before they can be released from club committments. This is an IRB ruling.
And then Pdiv questions Steyn’s committment to Bok rugby. Pdiv just makes an unpleasant situation ugly.
I’d love to be a fly on the wall when Divs has yet another tete-a-tete with his boss.
I lost patience with him a while ago.
4 Sep 2010, 20:20 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-90: No but you see sir I disagree. I was seeing on TV Piet was telling the guys what needed to be done . Mr Gold was looking worried and mr Muir was looking like for crying. But Ooom Pete had the level head. And was seeing what needed to be done.
Come second half now. He must have made a big announcement in the team room because they come back. because you see coach PIET IS BEST TALKER in the WORLD. He can make a man believe he can fight a lion and win ne !
Coach Pete is our national treasure . We must love him.
4 Sep 2010, 20:21 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-91: Ja meneer yesterday even I saw he is having a very good game. And he is got a nice look with a nice haircut , Its what we need now in SA rugby like a beckham for soccer ne ? All the girls can be crying for Elton and buy his t-shirts
4 Sep 2010, 20:23 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-88:
Oh Yes – and Burden!
4 Sep 2010, 20:25 pm
I loved the defensive structures PDV didn’t put in place. He is the clown prince of coaching… remember this gem after losing to nZ twice in the same manner, “I have no idea why we lost”.
A great coach indeed! LMAO. Laters fools.
4 Sep 2010, 20:36 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-95: bro you are crazy
4 Sep 2010, 20:37 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-99: I son’t understand how you mean?
4 Sep 2010, 20:52 pm
Do the Aussies move above us in the rankings now?
4 Sep 2010, 20:52 pm
@Suidkapenaar(Suidkapenaar)-75: hehehe brilliant!!!!!
4 Sep 2010, 20:58 pm
@klippies101(klippies101)-71:
Hmmm lets list.
Ben Alexander, Palu, Horwill, Ioane, Horne, Polatu Nau.
4 Sep 2010, 21:02 pm
@Fatflanker(Fatflanker)-25: Not having Brussouw hurts us big time. If he can keep his form and fitness he has the potential to be a Bok great.
Fdp, is also a big loss, but having him on the sidelines with Hougaard under his wing has certainly improved matters.
I think our biggest failing is our defence. We look good with ball in hand when we get parity in the forwards and use our possession “creatively”. The kick and chase works but requires a lot of precision and MUST be used in tandem with attacks with ball in hand from the right field position.
4 Sep 2010, 21:04 pm
What a rollercoaster game!
Congrats Bulls! Deserved winners! your bench made all the difference.
Must be a week where the minnows beat the big boys, eh?
4 Sep 2010, 21:11 pm
The Bok centres can’t tackle. And to think some dreamer imagined they were the best centres in the world? Pfft!
4 Sep 2010, 21:13 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-86: Cmd – No, this is bad for many reasons, not least but including
1) most experienced Bok team in history
2) home advantage
3) altitude
4) opposition weakened by injuries
5) 14 man opposition
6) Mandela Plate gone
7) Wooden Spoon gained
Doctor prescribes a reality tablet to be taken immediately, three times a day, until the light bulb is illuminated
4 Sep 2010, 21:40 pm
Well done to the Bulls beating the Sharks even with Olivier and Kirchner in the team. Pure guts. Great effort!
4 Sep 2010, 21:52 pm
If anybody is interested in Tri-nations stats:
This is our worst performance to date in the comp.
2005: 1 win from 4 = 25%
2006: 2 wins from 6 = 33%
2010: 1 win from 6 = 16%
This was also our worst defence of a Tri-nations crown
1999: 1 from 4 = 25%
2005: 3 from 4 = 75% (NZL won on BP’s – also 3/4)
2010: 1 frm 6 = 16%
Add to the fact that this was at altitude where OZ last won in the 60′s and we had 750 caps in the run-on team – our most experienced side yet makes this our WORST TRI-NATIONS EVER!
4 Sep 2010, 21:53 pm
@Suidkapenaar(Suidkapenaar)-108:
HAHA! Yes, that made it a titanic effort!
The minnows sure came to the party this week
4 Sep 2010, 22:35 pm
and there it is again S.A train wreck……..BUT it cant help when your coach screws(big mouth must get into players heads with his rubbish talk all week)
you before you even get on the park.lose the coach and you’re half way there!!!!!
4 Sep 2010, 22:40 pm
the form of juan smith returning from injury is a clear indication of what a bit of rest could do for the likes of matfield, M steyn, habana, spies etc.
and of course we need a new coach. his arrogance to completely and utterly ignore what is patently obvious just because if he took the advice of half the country then he’d be telling god he made a mistake…
this guy is an embarrassment and SARU are completely spineless if they let him continue in his role of embarrassing our proud team.
it is such a shame we cannot find administrators who just want the best for the boks and the supporters.
4 Sep 2010, 22:50 pm
what you know about arrogance or brains munkimonkey, you run and hide merchants got plenty to say from other side of the planet, rugby has advanced and developed in leaps and bounds since 2007 when slow poison dumb schmuck rugby ruled the roost, Boks had to step it up to the fast paced game and got caught with pants down same as in 06, except this time we lost by small margins whereas back then we were summarily destroyed.
These rugby pundits from afar got cr@p for rugby brains, nothing wrong with De Villiers rugby pedigree as it goes way ahead of his dumb schmuck delusional predecessor, but fools from over the ocean can’t see sh’t for fairy tales so they jump on band wagons looking for scape goats
Idiots supreme with trash heaps for reason.
4 Sep 2010, 23:07 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-113: What kind of coach picks a team with no fetcher game after game after game after game in 2010? What kind of coach picks Bryan Habana, Pierre Spies and John Smit again and again and again when they are so out of form and Victor Matfield when he so clearly needs a break?
Sh’t and fairy tales? That’s all we ever hear from you.
4 Sep 2010, 23:11 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-114:
which fetcher would you have played today, and which 8th man and which hooker, since you and friendly foe munkithemonkey from other side of Hades seem to know all the angles and all the rugby savvy alternatives?
Name your 8th man, fetcher and hooker and see where might have gotten us.
4 Sep 2010, 23:12 pm
Give the Wallabies some credit. Their attacks from deep in the 1st half was sublime. This time it was more their superior play than our mistakes that led to their tries (compared to last Saturday)We should be envious of the skill level of their back three. Of our back 3 only Aplon has the skills to match. F Steyn dissapeared. Should have stayed in France. JPP hardloop rond soos ‘n afkophoender.
The AB’s and the Wallabies made the change against the boks this year to treat line kicks as if it weren’t out. Just pass it inside the field of play, move it to Habanna’s corner and have a 50/50 chance of scoring.
Also give the boks some credit for the spectacular comeback. If it wasn’t for that perplexing penalty when the boks complained about the throw in not going 5m and the Wallabies subsequently scored their last try the Boks would have won easily.
4 Sep 2010, 23:13 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-114:
Imagine if we had:
-Aplon/Basson instead of Habana
-Alberts instead of Spies
-Stegmann instead of Burger
?
I dunno, these things were supposed to be sorted out in the June tests they simply threw away with their complacency and arrogance.
4 Sep 2010, 23:15 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-115:
Alberts/Vermeulen
Stegmann
Bismarck, (been playing a hard fought game the last 2 outings.)
4 Sep 2010, 23:18 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-115: Alberts/Vermeulen, Flo and Bismarck.
4 Sep 2010, 23:19 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-118: Isn’t Stegmann injured?
4 Sep 2010, 23:22 pm
@diewareouboet(diewareouboet)-116: thats right was a true ding dong game of international rugby out the top drawer.
Somebody had to lose and usually as it happens the deserving eventually won.
Alberts/Vermeulen a good bet, Kankowski is worse than Spies, was Kankowski in full retreat that actually cost us that last penalty though it was Vd Merwe who got the whistle.
Bismark coming back from injury, and credit to Muir and De Villiers for sticking with Habana, can bet your bottom dollar White would have done exactly the same.
If it were White or Meyer coaching against this Aussie and AB outfit can’t see us doing much better perhaps a whole lot worse, then I’d have liked to have seen all the gnashing of teeth on the rebound.
4 Sep 2010, 23:22 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-117: Fact is, change one and the Boks would have won today. Habana must go. Lwasi Mvovo would be another good option.
4 Sep 2010, 23:23 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-120:
Ja ou, maar verstaan, if they chose Stegmann for the Bok callup as they should have, then he might not have been injured to begin with. HE injured himself in a CC macth against the Cheetahs.
Im saying taht’s what they should have had for the 3N.
Besides, he has recovered form his torn hamstring now, so let the sports begin. And slo, the 3N is mos nou klaar.
But the EOTY…….?
4 Sep 2010, 23:24 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-122:
Im not sold on Mvovo just yet, might as well be Basson then.
4 Sep 2010, 23:25 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-122:
But Alberts has convinced me now.
8 Willem Alberts
7 Juan Smith
6 Deon Stegmann
Anyone…….?
4 Sep 2010, 23:27 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-119: Flo is hopeless, though Schalk no fetcher, Schalk should go to 8 and Potgieter to 6 in absence of Brussow.
Schalk cost us big, his ramshackle bashing goes nowhere, he disturbs the flow and brings ball to ground every time instead of providing the continuity that good offload game provides.
Smit played well, should have seen it out and we might have won it. The Kankowski, Chili, and Habana subbing possibly cost us the game today. Smit, Spies could have seen us home, Kanko was p’sspoor, and Smit should have stayed on to close out the revival he was part of through the last 40.
4 Sep 2010, 23:29 pm
@crowbar(crowbar)-1:
A very short lived golden time, if you are to believed. 2009 only???
At least it was a golden time in your opinion. The AB supporters on this site were right. 2009 was an anomaly.
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-10:
We lost two games in the last 5 minutes (one actually in the last minute) It happens. Remember that we are playing against the no. 1 and no. 3 side in this tournament. A tournament where any team can beat the other team on any given day.
@Favena(Favena)-34:
Smit was not on the field. I think you should blame Matfield for that kak tactics.
@Alucard(Alucard)-64:
Did we conced more points this year than in 2006? I read somewhere that the points we conceded in 2006 were the most ever in Bok history in a year.
Maybe you can confirm!
4 Sep 2010, 23:29 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-125: Heinrich Brüssow must be nearly ready. He will make a huge difference. Stegmann as backup. Schalk has been immense and after a rest I would have him vie with Smith for No 7. Alberts can also play 7 if you wanted to give Vermeulen a shot at 8. I do rate Basson.
4 Sep 2010, 23:32 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-126:
Ja I agree mostly, Flou was just plain sad against the Lions yesterday.
4 Sep 2010, 23:33 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-126: Flo would be better against the wallabies, who are not as physical as the ABs. He is the best we had available for today. Smit probably didn’t have enough left in the tank. I said what you said elsewhere: negativity cost Boks the game.
4 Sep 2010, 23:34 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-126: Schalk is no 8. Tried and failed at RWC 2007.
4 Sep 2010, 23:35 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-128:
NO, Brussow is not nearly ready, he went in for a follow-up surgery.
He is out for the rest of the year. But ja, have to agree with you. Although with some direction from a proper mentor, Spies is still tops. I dont know what’s going on now, I thought after the first 10 minutes Spies put in it was gonna be a good day for him.
9Oh ja, en natuurlik glo ek ook mos daat Steggies beter is as Brussow, en ek’s nie die enigste een nie).
4 Sep 2010, 23:37 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-126:
I’ll play Potgieter at 8 and SB at 6. Schalk being the destructive/defending loosie and Pottie the linking/fetching loosie.
4 Sep 2010, 23:40 pm
@nama1(nama1)-133:
So, Potties has to “link” and fetch all at once?
4 Sep 2010, 23:41 pm
@nama1(nama1)-133:
Play a specialist openside at 6, that’s all.
4 Sep 2010, 23:43 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-126:
Holy sh*t kickshoot. That’s the most cogent comment I think I’ve ever read from you.
While I might not agree with the content, there’s not a f*ckadilly nambiepambie blousy poncy toffee nosy w*nkadoodle in sight.
4 Sep 2010, 23:46 pm
BTW, Juandre Kruger is much better than either of Hargreaeves or Sykes.
Should get a tour in with the Boks later this year.
4 Sep 2010, 23:46 pm
@nama1(nama1)-133:
Luke Watson is the only true fetcher/linker we have – nearly as good as George Smith at his prime.
4 Sep 2010, 23:47 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-128:
Stegman is like Spies. Can only play in a winning pack.
4 Sep 2010, 23:48 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-137: Agreed on that point.
Goodnight all.
4 Sep 2010, 23:48 pm
Hooker22
ha !
I’d die a happy man if I learnt how to cuss like King Skop. Who would you rather take as your wingman to the OK Corral ? I’d feel like Clint farken Eastwood with Skop at my side.
4 Sep 2010, 23:50 pm
Dirk Muir must f off immediately
4 Sep 2010, 23:51 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-141:
With his royal skop next to me, I’d feel like the other brother Darryl.
4 Sep 2010, 23:53 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-140:
Nag.
4 Sep 2010, 23:53 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-134:
Yep. That’s the game he plays in any case. Albeit from 7 at this stage.
4 Sep 2010, 23:57 pm
@nama1(nama1)-139:
O Rly?
Stegmann played the Bulls in every match in their nightmare 2008 season, which they flunked out and failed to even make the playoffs, yets Stegmann was awarded the Forward of the Year.
And he firmly cemented his place within the starting lineup.
In the Blues macth this year, he got blown off the park and the Blues outmuscled our boys all over the park. But Stegmann’s stats wer off the chart, go lookit up. He was immense in the loss, nevertheless.
Do you have anything to back your statement up with?
Can you jsut throw nonsense like that around?
Heinrich Brussow is nowhere in a losing pack…..
Shame.
4 Sep 2010, 23:58 pm
@nama1(nama1)-145:
The opendside is the roaming flank, but every player is an opportunist.
4 Sep 2010, 23:59 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-138: That was the first mistake PdV made on his first triN tour as coach, gave into senior Bok sentiment and banished Watson to keep the happy flow of the inner kring sanctified and holy, its coming back to bite him now, Watson would have been the perfect foil for the rugby played today. but the inner kring would have none of it so both Watson and Van Niekerk depart and leave the laager to go further inward on itself.
Such are the breaks if you got no ballas for principles and give into status quo dictates rather than stick it through to the ultimate win/win conclusion. Negativity ultimately brings zero rewards, negative style and negative decision taking always catches up in the end.
5 Sep 2010, 00:01 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-138:
You going to get some people to “puke’.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-135:
And drop Schalk????
Jy moet seker mal wees!!! Het jy sy vertonings die 3N gesien. Beter as ALMAL in die pak. Die enigste persoon wat met hom kon saampraat was kwota Steenkamp en in die afgelope twee weke, Juan Smith. Niemand anders nie. Jy’s bereid om hom te drop vir iemand soos Stegman???
Jy’s mal, ou seun.
5 Sep 2010, 00:01 am
@nama1(nama1)-139:
Also, where was Francois Louw inhis losing pack yesterday?
And in a losing team during the Tri Nations where he was unceremoniously dumped back to the WP team?
That’s poor form from you. Of course you wouldn’t want Stegmann near a Bok-jersey, because that would spell the end of Flou’s fledgling career.
5 Sep 2010, 00:06 am
@nama1(nama1)-149:
Wie’t ooit van Steenkamp as n kwota gepraat?
En al wat ek oor Burger te se het, is meer as helfde van die ondersteuners is bereid om hom op die bank te sien vir Brussow in die beginspan.
5 Sep 2010, 00:10 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-146:
Being named forward of the year amongst a bunch of losers means nothing, ou seun. All it says is that the other forwards were even more ****. Was he nominated for “forward of the year” in a SA context?
“Heinrich Brussow is nowhere in a losing pack…..
”
Are you trying to make a statement here? If so, go and have a look at his game vs France last year when the French fucked up our pack.
5 Sep 2010, 00:13 am
Luke would have made no difference
Get rid of Diek
5 Sep 2010, 00:18 am
@nama1(nama1)-152:
Nama, nou wat van Frans Louw?
Julle’t almal sy lof besing…. waar’s hy nou!?
Neewat, I don’t know where you get this angle from, but Stegmann never has a bad game. He was being blamed for Craig Joubert penalizing him alot, anyway Flou got penalized 4 times in a single match, so what? Stegmann’s stats for that match was very high. He was still the pick of the forwards. That’s how.
5 Sep 2010, 00:20 am
@nama1(nama1)-152:
And you WP bunch all just love Craig Joubert, don’t you. Wouldn’t you say that he’s the most fair ref of all, in all the lands?
5 Sep 2010, 00:23 am
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-10: no need to worry, the Boks do a better RWC performance we all know that. Wait til next year, thats the measure. Nothing else will matter after that for the next 4 years
5 Sep 2010, 00:28 am
@Nils(Nils)-20: yeah so extraordinary (both games), its almost unbelievable isnt it? I owuldnt read too much into it though, the Boks are a safe bet for next year, than the Wallabies I reckon. In a RWC year, everything is different. Boks will come good, as they do.
5 Sep 2010, 00:29 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-151:
Soos sommige ouens so graag se (manne soos JL1), hy sal altyd ‘n kwota wees.
*Het dit maar daar ingegooi vir ‘n bietjie reaksie.
5 Sep 2010, 00:33 am
@nama1(nama1)-158: Jy verstaan my nie, die stelsel maak hulle kwotas, ek sien rugby spelers
Die sisteem is nie reg nie, nie regverdig tenoor die speler nie en nie regverdig teen die sport nie
5 Sep 2010, 00:36 am
@nama1(nama1)-158:
Ja okei. Elkgeval, ek sien U’t ook reaksie probeer ontlok deur om te se Stegmann presteer slegs in n pak op die voorvoet.
Raak liewer nooit sulke onsin kwyt nie, asseblief, die effektiewe werk van die oopkantflank hang baie maal glad nie van die ander af nie.
5 Sep 2010, 00:45 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-154:
Waar val jy nou uit, ou seun. Wys my enige post waar ek al vir FL hoog aangeskryf het. Vir jou inligting, ek hou ook nie eintlik veel van hom nie.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-155:
Waar kom Craig Joubert in die prentjie?
As jy mooi gelees het, dan sou jy gesien het ek se, Stegman speel goed agter ‘n wen pak, net soos Spies. Ek is bereid om daarby te staan tot HY anders bewys. Nerens het ek gepraat van strafskoppe afstaan nie. Wys my daai “post”. (Wat is die Afrikaanse woord?). Wil jy ook nou soos HG raak en goed raaklees wat nie geskryf is nie, he?
HB presteer al word die Cheetah pak opgevok, stry?
5 Sep 2010, 00:49 am
That’s the last game I will ever watch the Springboks play – ******* bunch of pathetic losers who cannot even win at home.My bok jersey is in the ******* bin where it belongs.
5 Sep 2010, 00:54 am
@nama1(nama1)-161:
Ek dink ons het n kommunikasie probleem.
Elkgeval, U skryf:”HB presteer al word die Cheetah pak opgevok, stry?”….Nee, ek stry glad nie, maar terselfdetyd glo ek dit geld ook vir Stegmann, so hang dit nou van ons verskeie opinies af?
5 Sep 2010, 01:04 am
@JL1(JL1)-159:
Die onus berus nog steeds by JOU. Die probleem is egter dat jy die stelsel gebruik wanneer dit jou pas. Daar is nie ‘n rede waarom JY iemand soos Habana ‘n kwota moet noem wanneer hy van stryk is nie. JY neem daardie besluit.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-160:
Dis reg. jy moet grootmense respekter, ook in jou taalgebruik teenoor hulle.
En ja, Stegman, Spies, FdP, MS, WO, presteer net as hulle pak op die voorvoet is. Dis geen geheim meer nie.
5 Sep 2010, 01:07 am
@nama1(nama1)-164:
Die spelers wat U dan daar noem maak dan juis die span op.
5 Sep 2010, 01:08 am
Time to take down the Big Top. Pack away the clown suit, give away the animals to the zoos. The party is over, Hellium must go…… D ick (13-0) Muir must ply his trade in Khysakstein.
Pathetic can’t even describe that rubbish……….
5 Sep 2010, 01:08 am
From NZ Sunday Star Times..
“We like to think it’s almost impossible to win a Tri-Nations match away from home. Certainly the Wallabies and Boks have traditionally had plenty of trouble in that area. Both have away-winning records of less than 20%. The All Blacks sit at 57%, having won 19 out of 33 away matches.”
In Europe the comparative ability of the AB’s to play well away from home is just as evident…
Exactly what is it that the AB’s have that the other two don’t?
Worth thinking about? – is it a quirk of the respective national mindsets?, or is it something practical that could be analysed,learned,and successfully implemented by the other two?
5 Sep 2010, 01:10 am
@nama1(nama1)-164:
En watse geheim?
So you say that Stegmann and Fourie du Preez are to be judged and blamed the same. You say that Fourie du Preez ins’t worth much and can’t pull his weight in the team when his “pack is retreating”.
Well, Mr. Number One, plenty would disagree with you, including myself.
5 Sep 2010, 01:17 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-151:
“En al wat ek oor Burger te se het, is meer as helfde van die ondersteuners is bereid om hom op die bank te sien…”
Meer as 90% van die ondersteuners wil glad nie meer vir Pierre Spies op ‘n foto sien nie, wat nog te se van op die bank!!!
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-160:
“…die effektiewe werk van die oopkantflank hang baie maal glad nie van die ander af nie.”
Wat bedoel jy?
5 Sep 2010, 01:21 am
So the Mandela Plate wings it’s way Down Under and the TriN Trophy is replaced by the Wooden Spoon.
Only 1 left.
5 Sep 2010, 01:22 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-168:
Then you (and all those “plenty” who disagree) didn’t watch the games against France and Ireland last year.
5 Sep 2010, 01:25 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-170:
You forgot about the 7′s trophy? Lankal weg. (Gone already)
5 Sep 2010, 01:29 am
@nama1(nama1)-169: @nama1(nama1)-171:
Ja-nee, soos wat ek gese het, ons het n kommunikasie probleem, en ek gannie langer aanbly om dit te probeer uitstryk nie.
The fact remains, that in the polls, the public would rather see Brussow starting than Burger.
Make of it what you will.
5 Sep 2010, 01:31 am
Nama1
surely the Boks have a D Cup they play the Buxom Boks for that they can keep ?
5 Sep 2010, 01:33 am
That was aweful. That is an aussie side missing alot of players and they beat us.
Its time SARU needs to be decisive!
Habadonna needs a break off rugby.
Smit is still way too slow
No fetcher.
FSeyn is way off the pace.
But the real issue is coaching…
Thankgod for medication.
5 Sep 2010, 01:40 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-173:
Who conducted that poll? Where sre the results?
Ask Keo to put on a poll on this site that asks: Do you think Pierre Spies belongs in the Bok side?
The public would rather see anybody in Spies’ place at the moment. He’s been kak this whole year.
Gaan slaap. Klink my jy’s “moeg”.
5 Sep 2010, 01:43 am
Nama1
and yet he could be an incredibly effective winger. He tackles like Lomu, for starters.
Or put him in the 7s and win that one back.
5 Sep 2010, 01:50 am
Australia are now ranked #2 in the world.
5 Sep 2010, 01:53 am
Black Panther(Black Panther) and TheTackler(TheTockles) you two could hang out toghere and be mates. What a fine pair of saffa bashes. It seems both of you never got over your “South African” experience
5 Sep 2010, 01:54 am
Have to say, big up to Hedidntrunoutof Steemkamp. Has been the most consistent Bok this season, albeit among slim pickings. Solid without domination at scrumtime, picking up tries, powerful ball carrier and high workrate for a colossus. Well played that man !
And a face only a mother could love, just the way we like our frontrow.
5 Sep 2010, 01:54 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-177:
In the 7′s team. He’ll be a great.
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-178:
Do you also back Australia now? Is it a case of any team that beat SA is “my” team?
5 Sep 2010, 01:55 am
Kevin
and what “Sth African experience” of mine do you refer ?
5 Sep 2010, 01:59 am
Nama @ 181
‘anyone but’ ?
that’s a bit, erm, rich.
5 Sep 2010, 02:36 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-183:
Where’re you quoting me from? Read again.
5 Sep 2010, 03:39 am
Over the last few weeks I have read incredible stuff from the bokke supporters how the bokke will crush the wallabies.
I remember – “you heard it here first that will be the wallabies only win…after brisbane win”.
The Boks have been dominant – lets see 2 wooden spoons in three years.
Am I rubbing salt…I dont think so…lets just call it I keep my mouth shut and wait.
It was a good game of 2 halves…a wallaby surge a bok comeback and a beale deathnell.
I would have hated to be have been a bok supporter watching that kick go over…my sympathies.
5 Sep 2010, 03:52 am
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-185: congrats Wallaby, nerve wracking game for you guys..
5 Sep 2010, 04:02 am
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-185:
ha ha, yes enjoy the win and congrats. did not watch the game. ungodly hour here in NZ.
5 Sep 2010, 05:13 am
@KevinRack(KevinRack)-179: Bashing? Just pointing out the hard truth, pilgrim. That’s not bashing. The bashing is what you are doing to yourself. It happens when your mind makes a promise that your body can’t keep.
5 Sep 2010, 05:41 am
Australia have the makings of an extremely potent side here.
Next year, with the return of their many injured players, a self belief that must be growing, and some obvious skills and experience growing, they will be very dangerous in 2011 IMO.
5 Sep 2010, 06:10 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-188: Tackles…whats the SA word or phrase for choker? …..I think the Boks have undoubtabley lifted that tag off NZ now…one from six and lose three pieces of silverware in the process takes full honors!!@Black
Magic(Black Magic)-189: Yes I have always said they will be the major threat come next year, but dont lose sight of how good it is to be an AB supporter for now! …and dont forget they only just beat a team that has copped three hidings off us ( by two points)
5 Sep 2010, 06:19 am
Still a really good and entertaining game with some great commitment and some scything runs. Congrats to the Wallys for the drought breaker and now on to the next bizness!!
5 Sep 2010, 06:29 am
“Whats the SA word or phrase for choker?”
Let’s invent one, shall we?
The verb “choke” is “wurg” (passive) or “verwurg”(active). (The final -g is a rasping gargle, like when you inhale an insect by mistake.)
A former apartheid prime minister was Hendrik Verwoerd who deliberately choked much of the life out of the resistance movement who now appoint affirmative-action Springbok coaches like PDivvy.
So, using him as the template, let’s call a yarpie choker a “Hendrik Verwurg”. Remember to rasp and gargle that final -g.
There. That should do it.
5 Sep 2010, 06:34 am
Habana has completely lost a sense of shame, if he once had one, the concern – among too many others – is that neither the coaches nor the Captain managed to censor him so far for his lust of interceptions.
5 Sep 2010, 06:39 am
A sudden rush of arrogance and loss of rugby sense nearly cost the Wallabies the Test at the 37:30 minute. Elsom elected for a scrum instead of a place kick, which could making the Wallabies leading by 28 points and getting the ball back from the restart to close out the 1st Half, they got the Boks scoring a try instead.
Thanks Rocky for keeping us in the game!
5 Sep 2010, 06:44 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-192:
What are you complaining about?
PdV already made the ABs and the Wallabies looked MUCH better than what they are, no reason for bickering about.
5 Sep 2010, 07:10 am
EOYT will be interesting. You don’t wanna be losing any of them. Yikes.
5 Sep 2010, 08:26 am
@captain fantail(captain fantail)-190:
Not convinced that coming back from 25 points down to lose in the last minute by 2 is “choking”. Not convinced that coming back from 14 points down to win by 13 is choking.
Am convinced that losing 5 out of 6 is way kak.
Am convinced that PDivvy is even wayer out of his league.
Am convinced that Gold (Mr Defensive structures) is way seriously kak.
But the choking tag remains the ABs until they get the old ****** off their back and win the WC (which they must be favourites to do by a mile, at the moment). Just like Mr Smith’s proteas – win the big one, then you can lose the tag.
5 Sep 2010, 09:09 am
Article by Grant Fox
They say you can twist statistics to paint whatever picture you want.
When it comes to the Tri-Nations, I’m not so sure Pieter de Villiers and Robbie Deans will agree.
Since the All Blacks secured this year’s Tri-Nations title a fortnight ago with that memorable victory in Soweto, I’ve been quietly analysing some stats around the annual triangular tournament.
What I’ve found should impress even the hardest marker among All Blacks’ fans.
In a nutshell – when it comes to Tri-Nations’ stats – it is the All Blacks and then daylight. And by some way too.
We have now won the Tri-Nations championship 10 of the 15 times it has now been played. Or, to put it another way, we win it, on average, two out of every three seasons.
Of the 67 Tri-Nations’ matches the All Blacks have played, they’ve won 47. That’s a 70% winning record. With all due respect to our Springbok (40%) and Wallaby (38%) opposition, their records don’t look too flash alongside the men in black.
Maybe some knowledgeable reader can correct me, but I don’t know of any other annual high-level international triangular tournament where one country has been so dominant.
Maybe the Australian cricketers could lay claim to a similar winning record in the now defunct three-team, limited overs series they would host each summer. But those matches were all played in Australia, not on a home-and-away basis.
What’s even more remarkable about New Zealand’s Tri-Nations record is that, for most of those 15 years, Australia and South Africa have been among the top three teams in world rugby.
That makes the All Blacks’ feats even more meritorious.
The away record is even more mind-boggling. We like to think it’s almost impossible to win a Tri-Nations match away from home. Certainly the Wallabies and Boks have traditionally had plenty of trouble in that area. Both have away-winning records of less than 20%. The All Blacks sit at 57%, having won 19 out of 33 away matches.
What’s my point?
Simply that we need to celebrate that level of achievement. We often get caught up in the moment within New Zealand rugby. That’s actually one of our strengths and contributes to what making the All Blacks what they are. But it doesn’t hurt to occasionally pause and reflect. And then smile about a job well done.
On that point, and given the current All Blacks coaching group have been there for seven of those 15 Tri-Nations’ years, we should be tipping our hats to them too.
The three wise men have had plenty of flak (and praise) in recent times but with a winning record of about 85%, there’s a strong argument we’re in safe hands.
Ad Feedback
The doomsayers will tell us it all means nothing if we fall over next year in the World Cup. And maybe they’ve got a point.
But who would you rather be right now – us or the Aussies?
The Wallabies are going through enormous pain and, yes, it may all be forgotten if they win the World Cup. But what if they don’t? That makes it a pretty lean time for a long time if you’re a Wallaby fan. It will be painful if we don’t take the Webb Ellis trophy next year. But I have to say it’s been a pretty good time to be an All Blacks fan in the lead-up!
And, who knows, if we knock over the Wallabies in Sydney next weekend, we’ll have within our sights the world record – 18 – for the most number of successive test victories. The All Blacks will never admit it publicly, but I believe the chance to set that record will be on their minds in Sydney and should ensure another focused and strong performance. I know if I was still playing, it would motivate me.
I suspect we will see Piri Weepu start at halfback and assume the goal-kicking duties. That would help first five-eighths Aaron Cruden, who will also be assisted by knowing he has Weepu inside him and two other Hurricanes – Ma’a Nonu and Conrad Smith – outside him.
We need to find out more about Cruden at test level.
Dan Carter’s injury provides the perfect opportunity.
5 Sep 2010, 09:12 am
Well done boys, unfortunately I missed the game but a good result, Deans will be livid with the defence in the second half, what a come back, Now with so many of our players injured things are definitely looking good for us, Bokks on the other hand are in real trouble this close to the WC, We are only going to get stronger, I don’t think the Bokks can say that, Kiwis are the real deal, as always
5 Sep 2010, 09:13 am
@nama1(nama1)-184:
a quote would be in “quotation marks”
whereas simple ‘parentheses’ would indicate, in this case, an attempt to summarise an opinion/position. Which is what I did, ie you were suggesting Tackler would support ‘anyone but’ SA. I would suggest that you/most others would support ‘anyone but’ the ABs.
capische ?
5 Sep 2010, 09:19 am
@Black Power(Black Power)-198: I do have to agree stats can be what you make of them.
Your post, “They say you can twist statistics to paint whatever picture you want.
When it comes to the Tri-Nations, I’m not so sure Pieter de Villiers and Robbie Deans will agree.”
World Cup Stats…. SA & Aus 2 – NZ 1
SA can also argue they have a 50% WCup strike rate too.
Yeah stats are about as useful as opinions, bit like ar$eholes. We all have one.
5 Sep 2010, 09:19 am
congratualtions to the wallabies on their historic win…!!
great stuff for them and their supporters…
the better team on the evening definitely won…!!
5 Sep 2010, 09:21 am
@Black Power(Black Power)-198:
Lies, damned lies, and statistics.
BUT not in this case. No doubt about it, the ABs are the best in the world by a country mile and, a few blips aside, have been such for the last, hell, I dunno, 4 or 5 decades.
Their CV’s only glaring absence is a recent WC trophy. They are resounding favourites to win next year…playing the best rugby at home where they’re almost unbeatable. Take a fool to bet against them.
But the relevant word is “almost” and in a knockout tournament, statistically, they’ve always conspired to hit a hurdle along the way.
Which gives the rest of us hope. And we SAns (as so many posts on this board show) to tend to be a foolish lot.
5 Sep 2010, 10:11 am
Either the All Blacks are VERY VERY good, the best team ever ever ever or, there are some serious issues in SA and Aus.
Aus as a young team, playing the way they are is understandable. The Boks, with the most capped team in the Universe, losing, is not.
I think the Abs may be good, but the Boks are more worse than anyone.
12 months out from a RWC. There is ONLY ONE WAY TO SOLVE THIS. I’d rather lose in the RWC with a new coach and call it a learning experience than get trounced with Div at the helm and be nowhere in 12 months.
5 Sep 2010, 10:11 am
The Aussies nearly let it slip and that is the difference
between the Aussies and All Blacks.Give the All Blacks a 31-6
start and you’re dead and buried.
These boys in Black just love to rub your nose in it and would put another 31 points on the board,just to drive the message home.
The Aussie-rugby team does not as yet possess that killer instinct and have on two occasions surrendered what should have been a winning score.
It is clear that the Boks archaic approach relies heavily on the boot of Steyn and again 18 of the Bok’s points came through penalties due to Aussie transgressions.This goes to show that the Aussies are not as disciplined as the All Blacks and if they can approve in this department they will
be difficult to beat in next years world cup.
This was a tremendous win for the Aussies as rugby is not their no.1 sport and battles to survive.The loss is a devastating blow to the world and Tri-nations champions and
time has arrived to rethink the way the game is played at
international level.
There are many talented players in South Africa who now under
a new coaching staff should go on the EOYT to gain the necessary experience and compete in the shortened Tri-nations
next year.
Many of the current Springbok squad are past their prime and
players like John Smit and Ricky January can no longer claim a place just on past performances.
South Africa has to go to the world cup with three competent
scrum halves as especially in New Zeeland one of them is likely to retire hurt in some of the ferocious forward
battles the NH teams will bring to the park as they will
find conditions more to their liking.
5 Sep 2010, 10:26 am
@Brentie1(Brentie1)-205: Doesn’t matter how many scrum halves we have we are not going to win the World Cup with Div and Smit. Ever.
5 Sep 2010, 10:33 am
The best match of the entire Tri-Nations.
I think as South African supporters we’ve become too spoiled since 2007. The World Cup has made us (supporters) fat, spoiled brats. How dare we think that we “should” win every game, when was trying your best not good enough? Yeah the first-half was a horror show but the boys made up for it with the most dogged second-half of Tri-Nations rugby most of us have ever seen.
If Bismark is gonna take over John Smits position he really needs to work on his ball-handling. In yesterdays game against the Bulls he showed us yet again why he still lacks, in my opinion, miles behind Smit in important facets of his game.
In 2006 we lost against Australia 49-0, that was a horrible tri-nations, this is a horrible tri-nations but remember what happened the year after that loss? I do and if you’re a Bok fan and think we can’t do it again, I suggest you pack your bags now an head for the nearest exit…..
5 Sep 2010, 10:37 am
We`ve been poor this tri-nations and the coaching staff is definitely not up to it. Yet, we were unlucky to lose the 2 home tests to the AB`s and Wallabies (mostly because of decisive calls by the ref). On another day we could easily have won those games. It`s not all gloom and doom and I do not think we are far behind, even the AB`s given the performance in the last match against them. A new coach, injured players like Brussouw/Bismarck coming back, a few oldies shown the door (Smit) and we should be right up there in time for the RWC. But, we must make the changes now.
5 Sep 2010, 10:40 am
I can’t believe you people still think ‘the boys’ did okay.
‘Playing okay’ is not acceptable as a Springbok. That is the apologetic trash we expect from the ANC, not from our greatest national sportsteam.
Pathetic. If you think yesterday was good enough then you deserve Smit and Div and a new era of getting thrashed.
5 Sep 2010, 10:47 am
@Springbokvel(Springbokvel)-208:
“(mostly because of decisive calls by the ref)”
You really are kidding, the ref missed a few things on both sides of the coin. JPP for one was hard pressed making ONE single tackle that was below the shoulders. He was warned by the ref for incorrect entry and low n behold, less than 5 metres out he comes in from the side again. Luckily for him another forward beat him to the penalty. He should have been binned. Now you want to go on about the ref????
He cut n diced it pretty fairly for both sides.
5 Sep 2010, 10:57 am
You South Africans are the harshest critics in the world. Beale would miss that kick 9 times out of 10, and if he did we’d be blogging about the greatest come back in test rugby history.
The brand of rugby both teams played was electrifying. Those Wallaby backs are the best in the world, but the Boks going through 10+ phases over and over…. awesome to watch.
Some times the result hurts, but you have to celebrate the game. The tri nations will have the northern hemisphere sides trembling in their boots.
5 Sep 2010, 11:00 am
Oh and by the way, seriously, how can guys out there be calling for Smit’s head. He was brilliant yesterday, as was Matfield. They inspired the Boks to rally from 25 points down and score 30 unanswered points. That’s leadership. Don’t throw the baby out with the bath water!
Ditch the coach though. Please.
5 Sep 2010, 11:06 am
Smit is a vetgat and must go. FFS, Bismarck is 3x better and has been so for the last 4 years. Make Matfield the captain.
5 Sep 2010, 11:11 am
@The Old Enemy(BoksSecondBest)-211: & @The Old Enemy(BoksSecondBest)-212:
I agree the NH have been treated to some running rugby. This has been quite a TNs to remember.
For all the tries scored, I am going with Smits handling on the fly. The man is a colossus, fingertip control he reels in a popped ball. Barney may get the royal heave-ho, but for me he put out for South Africa yesterday. Matfields chip, chase, regather and offload was superb.
Eish, there is no pleasing some folks is there?
5 Sep 2010, 11:17 am
Problem with Smit is that he performce up to standard only once in 5 matches. A bit like Gibbs. Not good enough.
5 Sep 2010, 11:22 am
#208 SPRINGBOKVEL . Tend to agree with you . In the second half of each of these last two tests the Boks have done well. The first halves are another story.Part of the problem is poor selection.It is unlikely Aplon would have leaked the 4 or 5 tries Habana did in these games. And Aplon would probably have created something. Habana did not create a thing.Aussie commentators thought the penalty against JPP was harsh and unfair.
5 Sep 2010, 11:25 am
In the lead up to Michells try in the 71st minute there was a lineout – Aus threw in and the ball never went 5metres. Both the ref and the linesman missed this.The ball eventually went into touch and Aus then got a penalty which led to the try. What was this penalty for ?
5 Sep 2010, 11:28 am
until such time that there is ‘accountability ‘ in the bok set up we will continue to go backwards.
There is a culture of entitlement that has been allowed to grow in the biok set up . Smit and the seniors have become completely bullet proof. No matter the losses and humiliation of conceding 9 trys in 2 games, at altitude, at home, to a severely depleted wallaby team……and this fro a most experienced Bok team in the history of the game……what are the consequences?
Nothing!
Even the Friday before the test match we have smit undermining PDV about the eoyt rest not being that easy!!
Who the hell does smit think he is? Does he own that Bok jersey? Seems that way to me…..
As long as this culture persists in the bok set up i can virtually guarantee you that we will simply continue down the slope to even more disaster…..
i feel horribly depressed about the next 13 months or so……weak and indecisive leadership where we should have accountabiliy and responsibility.
5 Sep 2010, 11:36 am
i am also amazed that Smit has not now chosen to retire…..
And PDV ….after this rubbish that has been dished up how can you continue to coach this team?
Both of you should fall on your swords…..deep down i believe you both know you not up to it.
And PDV…take the 2 stooges with you.
5 Sep 2010, 11:37 am
@superba(superba)-217: Yes was tough, the ball looked as though it was short, but the penalty was given for a bok player being offside… think it was Flip
Can recall Burger running obstruction for JdVs try too, but the refs didnt see that either.
Swings and round a bouts.
5 Sep 2010, 11:39 am
@superba(superba)-217:
The ref missed that – so did the linesman, but overall the reffing was fine. Can’t blame the officials for us being 31 – 6 down. And if we didn’t get into that boat, we wouldn’t have had to worry about the odd call going against us (as the odd call went against the Aussies, too).
@The Old Enemy(BoksSecondBest)-211:
agree wholeheartedly. Matfield and Smit played their hearts out yesterday, barring the one lineout (and let’s not automatically blame Smit for that – sometimes the lineout caller gets the call wrong). Most experts such as Kobus Wiese and Ashwin Willimse believe the experienced players should be rested (as most of us do) and then returned fresh for the defence of the WC next year.
These guys have been there, in the trenches, but so many mutts and their speedo-wearing dogs on this site know better…?
5 Sep 2010, 11:40 am
At the end of the day the better team won and deserved to win playing that exciting brand of rugger despite doing all they could to lose the game.
The backlines are the main difference the blacks and aussies our worldclass but the Bok especially from 11 to 15 are pathetic, no imagination, no flair and no plan backed up by pathetic defence that makes a lack of attacking ability even worse.
5 Sep 2010, 11:43 am
@Hooker22(Hooker22)-221: delusional if you believe these old players will get it right in 12 months time in kiwiland……after getting murdered at home at altitude with the dices loaded in our favor….
Simply will not happen…..we will be blown away….lucky if we make it through the pool stages.
5 Sep 2010, 11:45 am
@Dex(Dex)-222: Problem is at 10… end of. I know Morne is a goal kicking genius but surely if the boks had a flyhalf that could put his centres away they wouldnt need to rely on goals. The talent from 11-15 isnt bad, it is made look bad by a 10 that doesnt let the backs loose.
5 Sep 2010, 11:46 am
@grant10(grant10)-223:
Says you. That’s opinion, not fact.
And if I have to choose between a nameless (often ranting and frothing at the mouth) blogger and experts who’ve actually been there and done it and know of what they speak, I’ll choose the latter.
But your mileage on this may vary.
5 Sep 2010, 11:46 am
Morne can tackle, kick and is safe at the bottom of a ruck… so give him the 15 jumper. Problem solved.
5 Sep 2010, 11:59 am
@Hooker22(Hooker22)-225: okay….fair enough.
I have truly given up hope….sad, but i believe unless fundamental changes in team management and personnel are made, we are simply making up the numbers at wc 2011….
For me PDV, Muir,Gold ,Smit ….must go.
Appoint a new captain, get rid of any complacency, let everyone know no WC places are guaranteed.
Gret the hunger back, appont a coach with credentials….someone like Mitchell or Mallet….
The key is to rid the sysem of ‘entitlement ‘ ….put the players on trial throughout the eoyt and the super 15…..
Only decide on the wc squad in June next year….create the hunger and desire again…..
Then watch us get back on track.
5 Sep 2010, 12:13 pm
@grant10(grant10)-227:
Look, I feel your pain – I was screaming so loudly during the first half yesterday, my 4 year old kid said, “daddy, you’re scaring me”.
That we’re in a bad place at the mo – not disputable by any but the most delusional. But a year out – is it time to make wholesale changes? A group of inexperienced but very good rookies might cause some upsets, but will they have it in them to hold it together for the entirety of the pressure cooker of WC rugby?
The current Aussies are a good exmaple of this – overflowing with skill and talent, but threw away the Loftus test because the pressure got to them, came a ball hair from throwing yesterday’s game. That Aussie team (with the few experienced injured players returning) will be much better come the WC due to the experience they’ve gained from this series – and especially the fact that they did manage to hold on for the win.
Is a year enough to get a new batch of Bokke in the right place to seriously challenge for WC honours? Personally, I doubt it. I’d rather rely on the old warriors (rested and reconditioned) than throw the youngsters into the pressure cauldron of WC knock-out rugger.
As to PuddDivvy and his two stooges – I’m torn. I think Snor is limited as a coach and a man-manager – that’s a personal opinion, not a fact. But, again, I wonder if a year is enough for a new coach to come in and get things right. How long has Deans been with the Aussies? They’re still trying to get to where they need to be.
Interestingly, I saw an article last week where Heynecke Meyer supported the retention of the senior players, so if he came in, would there be wholesale changes? And if not him, then who.
It’s a tough one, but in the end, I think we’re too far down the road to turn back now. I may be wrong, I guess the only way we’ll know is if Smit and co win the WC next year, or if a new brood come in and win. Otherwise, it’s all conjecture and personal opinion coloured by our own biases and that’s really worth nothing in the scheme of things.
5 Sep 2010, 12:14 pm
@grant10(grant10)-227: @grant10(grant10)-227: G10, from those that know, they want the same. Same as you. Any rugby person would. What they say in public is different of course and then you have a$$likcers like Skinstad. He should be ashamed of himself.
When the vote went down and Stofile got his wish, the real rugby guys wept. And yesterday was a case of I told you so.
You are not alone, ask someone whose job at SuperSport does not depend on their answers and you may find some truth.
And that truth would be Smit, Div and co are not right anymore at that level.
5 Sep 2010, 12:17 pm
And as for Smit, he played okay yesterday, more than he has all season.
In a game, at the end of the competition where he has to win to not be wooden spooners and then finally Fattie decides to actually play.
That isn’t character, that is saving your own humiliation.
Character would be displaying that kind of commitment at home, on a Tuesday morning conditioning run, rather than reaching for another biscuit.
Too little too late.
5 Sep 2010, 12:21 pm
Rulz is quite correct Morne must go to 15 I been saying so long time already. Even switch the 2 Steyns, Frans to 10, Morne to 15 you will see a marked difference to Boks game all round. Last year when we were up against Br. Lions Pienaar should have stayed at pivot and M. Steyn to 12 or 15 ahead of Olivier or Kirchner, Boks would have been singing by now. Same with P. Grant if Smit and Muir would have entrusted Grant with pivotal eole in 08 instead of Butch the Boks would have likely won that tri series too.
Too many poor decisions along the way because coach has his ear firmly twisted by his confidants, Muir, Smit, Matfield, Gold putting their tuppence worth in and coach making ultimate decisions which were not his first impression calls.
5 Sep 2010, 12:27 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-231: If the coach isn’t man enough to pick his own team as you suggest, he has no business being the coach.
Coach needs to command respect not cower in the corner. Smit needs his ears boxed got and solid. I think a guy like Deans or that old fox Henry would give him a bashing, one chance and then boot him.
5 Sep 2010, 12:32 pm
@Hooker22(Hooker22)-228: i am not advocating wholesale changes at all….
I would however argue that with the right coach and support staff a year is enough….Look at J Mitchell?
Its the ‘ culture ‘ in the set up that i find dwnright distasteful…..thats the real cancer…..the entitlement culture that exists.
Smit saying Friday the rest is not hat simple as a Grand Slam tour at stake …! Thats the cancer….its about personal glory, not whats best for the boks…..
We neednt throw out everyone…..in fact i would advocate the exact opposite…..open the 30 spots to all….its the ‘guarantees ‘ of wv places to seniors that has crippled us and created the complacency.
The poms refuse to do this…..look closely at what Johnson is doing, he is creating hunger. We should do the same.
I am not saying anyone should be stopped from making WC squad….i am just saying stop the complacency.
As for PDV and the other 2….its surely about honour and dignity, they dont deserve to be there anymore.
5 Sep 2010, 12:37 pm
@grant10(grant10)-233: Smit did say he was going to look in the mirror today. I just wonder where he is going to find one large enough.
5 Sep 2010, 12:38 pm
in the 1 st half smit was nowhere….gifted aussies a try with an overthrow into no mans land 10 m from our line.
Decent second half before being subbed. 25minutes of decent rugby out of 6 games…..
Bissy far more capable….its a complete no brainer.
Spies?
Habana?
F Steyn ? [ out of shape and never match fit imo ].
Jpp
Pocock having a field day at breakdown ….again.
and yet all these players mentioned are guaranteed wc players…..
No man…its the complacency….its killing us.
5 Sep 2010, 12:39 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-234:
Well i really hope he does just that…..because if he is honest he will call it now….its overdue.
5 Sep 2010, 12:39 pm
We need a backline and a defensive coach. Clearly don’t have either at present
5 Sep 2010, 12:45 pm
@grant10(grant10)-236: If he walked away now I might actually feel some pain and say good job and find some respect for him, for what he had done. If not, it’s all gone. A truly great person not only wins but knows when to quit.
5 Sep 2010, 12:50 pm
Smit and Matfield had good games yesterday was Matfield that sparked the revival. The subbing of Smit and Spies for Chili and Kanko probably cost the game ultimately. Spies should be impact off bench but Kanko shouldn’t be near a Bok jersey. Should start Vermeulen or Alberts at 8, Burger is another one that actually provides very little in the overall context of the game and is overrated. He’s a one man band that carries and dies everytime he biffs and bashes it up hardly ever linking or offloading. Burger should have been canned a long time ago for a specialist either in the Watson or the Brussow mold, he’s got very little savvy and provides nothing on deck only a rampaging bull wirh nothing upstairs.
5 Sep 2010, 12:53 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-238: smit should have retired after the B Lions….on a high.
If not after 2009 tri nations….what a great platform….
now its tears and anguish…..i am not sure who advises Smit….but really i believe he has hung on at least a year too long now.
It is not only tarnishing Smits reputation, but also hurting the boks.
5 Sep 2010, 12:53 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-229:
While I agree with your response to skopskiet – if Snor is worth his salt as a coach (as skop believes, especially compared to that toffee nosed poncy f*ckadilly Jake White), he should not (apparently) be bending to the whims of the senior players – I find it interesting that just because commentators have opinions you don’t agree with, you brand them as @sslickers and stooges of Supersport.
Maybe they just don’t share your viewpoint, sweeping statements like “G10, from those that know, they want the same. Same as you. Any rugby person would” are counterproductive because they’re stated as fact, when they aren’t.
I stand corrected on this, but the only previous player who’s come out on record as being opposed to Smit’s continuation in the Bok team is Ollie Le Roux, and we’re all aware how much baggage comes with that opinion.
5 Sep 2010, 12:56 pm
agree with you skop…..
We need a hard grafting traditional 8 and a proper opensider.
And i still believe we are short a 10 that can get the most out of our backs….
Must say i was disgusted at the booing yesterday…..habana didnt deserve that…..
Frustration is growing amongst fans.
5 Sep 2010, 12:58 pm
@Hooker22(Hooker22)-241: I am allowed my opinion, you know as well as I do that in South Africa telling the truth is not productive. Bobby is particularly partisan. The glaring problems in SA rugby are not addressed on any tv magazine show, by any commentators by anyone involved. I understand why.
Ollie is a poor example I know that and get your point but ask players behind closed doors and see what they really feel.
5 Sep 2010, 13:01 pm
@grant10(grant10)-233:
You don’t want Smit there. And there’s several others you’ve lambasted over the months (Spies, Steyn, Habana, Burger, etc) – I’m not going to try find all the names – but I’m guessing it’d amount to a least half the current starting team – that’s wholesale changes.
As regards the coach – it’s hard not to agree – Mitchell has made a huge difference with the Lions. But they’re not going to win the CC, they’re still not even guaranteed a spot in the play-offs. Somewhere along the line, their youth and lack of experience will get to them in a tight game and they’ll blow it, I suspect. In two year’s time, that might not be the case.
The WC is a knock-out tournament (assuming the first rounds are negotiated) of the highest pressure, especially in NZ. Again, I’d rather take tried and tested warriors who’ve won in the ABs backyard than (at least half) a team of newbies who, I suspect, would be overawed.
Anyway, we’re going in circles. Only the future will reveal the outcome.
5 Sep 2010, 13:03 pm
Saw your Twitter post on the Home Page Keo.
“Spent last four days at company bosberaad in Oubai. Probably a good thing as I don’t know if my heart would have handled being in bloem”
Never mind your Heart – what sort of damage happens to your liver at a FOUR data bosberaad?
5 Sep 2010, 13:04 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-243:
Of course you’re entitled to an opinion, just don’t couch in a pseudo-fact.
I don’t have access to players behind closed doors – I can only go by what’s put out in the public. Perhaps I’m naive, but I’m not one for conspiracy theories.
5 Sep 2010, 13:04 pm
data = day!!
5 Sep 2010, 13:11 pm
Habana should have been switched to center or bench because at wing he’s become a liability but his hunger and desire to do well for the team is still there. Habana should have been benched with JdJ and Aplon start.
Start team like this
M. Steyn
Aplon
Fourie
JdV
Basson
F. Steyn
Hougaard
Vermeulen
Smith (c)
Potgieter
Matfield
Sykes
Kruger
Bismark
Gurthro
Beast
Chili
Vd Merwe
Duvenhage
Pienaar
De Jongh
5 Sep 2010, 13:11 pm
@Hooker22(Hooker22)-244:
Ja…..for me Smit is no longer good enough.
Spies as a starting 8 not an option for me either.
I have my reservaions about MS as the player to win us a wc at 10….he is very effective in SA but away i have yet to see him deliver.
As for the rest…..i am all for form showing us the team closer to the WC….
Hardly a palace revolution.
5 Sep 2010, 13:12 pm
Could someone tell me what the chances are that Hoskins is going to fire PDv? I honestly believe he has enough reason and more to gain if a new coach is elected… What do you guys reckon will happen? And if he doesnt get fired, what would be the reason for keeping him?
5 Sep 2010, 13:14 pm
@grant10(grant10)-249:
Okay, but if you’re all for form showing you the team closer to the WC for the rest, why won’t you allow Smit, Steyn and Spies the same privilege?
5 Sep 2010, 13:17 pm
anyone know what time we’ll know whether PdV is fired or not? this could be the best day in sa rugby since the world cup
5 Sep 2010, 13:20 pm
GREAT RESULT
The Boks deserved to lose even though the Aussies choked.
Cant suuport this lousy Bok team
although i thought Matfield was magnificent
5 Sep 2010, 13:21 pm
@Hooker22(Hooker22)-251:
Van Niekerk is far superior to Spies
5 Sep 2010, 13:22 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-204:
All you bok fans need to listen to this guy. He is a rear breed amongst the bok supporters who understands the issues and knows how to fix them.
5 Sep 2010, 13:27 pm
@superba(superba)-217:
Bok player picked up the ball in an offside position after it was knocked on by a team member.
5 Sep 2010, 13:42 pm
De Villiers has put full faith in his senior vanguard and his close confidants and they the ones who let him down ultimately on the field of play. Now the lily white bitter and twisted gall bladder contingent want to bury a sharpened kitchen knife between his shoulder blades. I reckon he should bale because he’s up the creek with no paddle, stuffed if he stays or stuffed if he goes, he’s in a no win situation either way they decide today.
The rugby following fraternity in this country the most fickle bunch of underhanded bigoted white twats you will find anywhere anytime. They want a white fool idiot that cries out for assistance from a washed up Aussie to bale their inadequacy or else a puppet stooge like Coetsee to toe the white mans whims and fanciful party line.
De Villiers should stay and shove these peoples snotty nosed whitey White opinions up their highfalutin nostrils. But if they gonna muzzle him and turn him into the white mans stooge they all looking for then bale out now because no way in hell you gonna appease this blood thirsty mob of howling heinous hyenas any which way you make your peace or apply your rugby application.
5 Sep 2010, 13:49 pm
@Jeez(Jeez)-250: He won’t be fired because Hoskins is a politician and is in it for the wrong reasons. SARU is doing everything in their power to pander to politicians and not to rugby (new stadiums case in point).
5 Sep 2010, 13:57 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-257: Vent much? Need tissues? How about a Pap sak?
Dear me. Blame the coach. No blame lilly white Smit. No blame the coloured guy! Blame the white guy! Blame the guy with the moustache! Blame the crowd for being naughty. Blame the ref for looking like Tintin (Barnes does doesn’t he? LOL).
Blame Habana. No you can’t he was once IRB playe of the year so he will be brilliant FOREVER!!!!!
You people are all quite insane.
If you can’t handle each other then listen to the guys from across the oceans, they have no motives for saying anything other than the truth.
If you really want to ask the ‘right’ person, ask a Kiwi with more than 10% Maori ancestry so you don’t have to worry about the race thing and make sure at least one of his parents is a South African (so he isn’t saying things to make us lose).
Ask Brendan Canon too, he seems to know something.
Or you can continue to insult each other, the Australians for beating us with a combined age of about 12.3 and the Al Blacks for walloping us but being bad in World Cups. Somehow the fact that the All Blacks haven’t won a world cup in a while seems to make it okay for the Boks to be in a shambles.
All very odd.
5 Sep 2010, 13:59 pm
Hoskins is a two faced idiot that sold his own brother down the river. By stating they appointed De Villiers ‘not solely for rugby reasons’ and then endorsing it all along the mans tenure and giving the white anti De Villiers, pro Meyer lobby more fuel and ammo to stoke their ravaging bazookas with is almost tantamount to treason.
They should back off and leave the man to sink or swim by his own devices, if he’s inept and can’t cut it on the big stage his inadequacy will bear fruit of its own accord same as they allowed Streauli or White to live or die by their own reasons, decisions and devices.
5 Sep 2010, 14:02 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-259:
Habana is Pathetic
and your defence of him is sad
Smit has become a joke, pity that a Bok hero has not got
the integrity to retire because of his greed for the 2011
world cup
5 Sep 2010, 14:03 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-260: I think, to be fair Div was hung out to dry long ago. SARU appoint the guy and then make no attempt to help him with PR.
Not Divs fault no matter if he’s a great or terrible coach that PR isn’t his thing.
SARU should be ashamed for so many reasons.
5 Sep 2010, 14:03 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-258: the point is SARU is looking bad…Hoskins just might fire him for selfish reasons
5 Sep 2010, 14:04 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-260:
Hoskin is just trying to keep his job
like the ANC politicians, no different
5 Sep 2010, 14:05 pm
@Boksarenumber4(Boksarenumber1)-261: Come on surely you get sarcasm? I’m not defending Habana I am taking the p1ss out of people who do because he once won a trophy.
Read the thing again.
5 Sep 2010, 14:07 pm
@Jeez(Jeez)-263: True, but firing the first non-white coach is going to be an awful balls up. Just shows what happens when you hire the wrong guy for the right reasons.
One more tenure of a Meyer etc and we’d have a decent non-white to put in the job for the right reasons and then this kind of thing would be a non-event.
Shortsighted sillyness costing all, including Snor.
5 Sep 2010, 14:11 pm
your a toss @ssed f’ck face goodthingtwat that shoulda f’ckd off long way back you underhanded little cowering piece of two faced lily white garbage. Punks the likes of your snot nosed schmuckadilly ponsified prat@ssed idiocy are the worst kind of f’ckwit second grade supporter this country needs. If this Black Magic schmuck thinks you the kind of idiot palooka this country needs as the voice of reason in this country then heaven help the rest of us, you the most diabolical piece of underhanded schmuck@ssed backstabbing scum anyone could ever hope to look up to. You’re trash garbage only you and idiots like this Black Magic ponce don’t know it, despicable second grade underhanded two face paleface tRd.
5 Sep 2010, 14:13 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-265:
lol my apologies, it was a rather lenghty comment
5 Sep 2010, 14:14 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-266: I have to ask, are Gold and Muir window dressing?
PDV hasnt been given the right backing from the get go.
5 Sep 2010, 14:14 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-267: And a happy day McMeal to you too Skoppie the Love Monster.
I suggest you have a lie down before you rupture something.
5 Sep 2010, 14:15 pm
yeah that was a little heavy handed of me, read into it what you will. If you see anything there that resembles something worth considering then consider it, otherwise toss it into the garbage can where it might be deserved. Your choice.
5 Sep 2010, 14:15 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-267:
dude if youy are not drunk you need anger management
i am white, do you have a problem with that punk?
5 Sep 2010, 14:16 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-267: Breathe
5 Sep 2010, 14:17 pm
@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-269: I have to imagine that Gold and Muir were suggested by Smit. (or at least Muir). Going back to the Sharks days.
Whoever’s idea, they have to be two of the dumbest inclusions in test match rugby history.
And you are right, Div, whatever his shortcomings or wonderfulness has been woefully helped by SARU from day one. It’s like they appointed him to please Stofile and then ran away and watched, hoping he would implode to say I told you so. Odd.
5 Sep 2010, 14:18 pm
i would even be happy if a statement was made saying that no player is guaranteed a place in the wc squad and that every game leading up to the wc 2011 can be viewed as a trial.
Its the complacency that has been created that i detest the most.
5 Sep 2010, 14:19 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-271: “Scratching his head, not sure what just happened”
5 Sep 2010, 14:20 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-274: Yep, Jake puts up his hand and voila… Steady Eddie appears. I think SARU could pull their fingers out and back the guy.
Hey! I don’t know if this guy can coach, but give him a shot. Get in some experts and trim the dead wood.
5 Sep 2010, 14:22 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-266: i dont think race will be a factor and it shouldnt save him…if he was fired for just bad results alone, that would have been tricky for Hoskins, but PDV is consistently giving him more reasons to fire him.
Especially after he mentioned that he supports a white man who, could possibly be convicted of the murder of a black cop… The coach-the team-SARU… is looking very bad. PDV is a political liability and that will be enough reason to give Hoskins the get go to fire him…
5 Sep 2010, 14:24 pm
@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-277:
Yes EDDIE was never given the credit he deserved for helping
the BOKS win the world cup, Jake could never have done it without him,
it was a brilliant decision to employ him
5 Sep 2010, 14:25 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-267:
Shut up you racist idiot…
So much for thinking you had some sense.
5 Sep 2010, 14:25 pm
@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-277: Well yeah. If you didn’t vote for him then it’s not your problem but the guys who marked an X next to Div’s name should have been there to support him. If he’s good enough to get an X then it’s your duty to help him.
@Jeez(Jeez)-278: Well to be honest if that is the case then SARU and Hoskins may have dodged a bullet they deserve.
5 Sep 2010, 14:27 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-266: Agreed, unfortunately I think PDV lack of experience in PR (putting it lightly) and managing senior players egos is costing him games …
5 Sep 2010, 14:28 pm
Did you guys watch the england aussie world cup womens game?
The Aussie left wing took the england right wing out
with a tackle the ABs would have been proud of
5 Sep 2010, 14:33 pm
@Boksarenumber4(Boksarenumber1)-283:
The English and NZ Womens Rugby Teams are friggen awesome.
Frighteningly so.
They would give Franz Steyn nightmares.
5 Sep 2010, 14:33 pm
@Boksarenumber4(Boksarenumber1)-283: Saw a little of the game. I couldn’t believe the size of the English scrummy, she was quite quick too for a keg with legs.
5 Sep 2010, 14:36 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-284: There is one area in which Kiwi chicks are hotter than SAFFA chicks 0 the ones that play rugby (yours are hectic but ours are from planet gorilla biscuits.)
5 Sep 2010, 14:38 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-286: Geeez lost my $hit!
5 Sep 2010, 14:43 pm
got nothing to do with the color of your skin, got plenty to do with the color of your thinking, something all your highfalutin ducking and diving fancy footwork will never erode from your palefaced attitude. So call whoever you like as a racist. The ultimate racist is the one that judges people based on presupposed opinions around the color of their skin, and highfalutin white snotty nosed rugby supporters are riddled with the malady any which way you wanna try pretend they not.
5 Sep 2010, 14:45 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-288:
PDV is a f@ckup doesnt matter what colour he is
5 Sep 2010, 14:46 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-286:
“ours are from planet gorilla biscuits”
lmao
5 Sep 2010, 14:49 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-284:
It was the tackle of the year from the Aussie left wing
English wing could not get up for the rest of the match
5 Sep 2010, 14:52 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-288: Skop I think most people are intolerant but it’s not a colour thing, more a cultural thing.
Otherwise Hindus and Muslims would love each other and yet they don’t (at least in KZN).
English and Afrikaans would love each other and yet they don’t get each other.
Zulu/Xhosa etc etc etc.
That aside, do you really believe that Peter is a great coach, the best we could hope for and it’s the players who are the problem? Seriously 100% not his fault even in a tiny way. Even if he were Jan Smuts’ Great Grandson?
5 Sep 2010, 14:56 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-292:
i am not a racist
i hate all people equally
the human m.o.n.k.e.y race
smile m.o.n.k.e.y.s
while we destroy our planet
5 Sep 2010, 15:06 pm
@Springbokvel(Springbokvel)-208:
since when do you lose 2 Tests – at home, at altitude, with 3 weeks rest – and both at the death, despite the advantages… and its because youre “unlucky” ?
Perhaps the problem is that youve bought in to luck/external factors playing a part. Which appears to be Krustys problem too.
as if ‘Played 6 Won 1′ didnt already tell you enough.
@Boksarenumber4(Boksarenumber1)-254:
undoubtedly
5 Sep 2010, 15:11 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-294: The fact that the Boks were able to come back and beat the Wallabies once and almost twice is also telling.
It says that the Boks were beaten at home at altitude by a young immature Wallaby team that almost threw it away because of their inexperience vs the most experienced team in history.
Tell you what, that speaks even louder than P6 W1 as to the very very tragic state of the Bok 1st Team.
How many other test teams would throw away a lead like the Wallbies did? None because they have more experience. The Wobblies will only get better and this won’t happen again.
The guys who put on the Bok jersey and coach them disgrace the legacy.
5 Sep 2010, 15:19 pm
@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-224:
100% correct. We had far more penetration with BJ on the field than with MS. Great kicker, yes, but there it ends.
I’m hoping that Jantjies will step up to the mark. Mvovo to replace Habbana and Lambie to replace JdV. then we’ll have a team that can attack with pace.
5 Sep 2010, 15:27 pm
@OCO(OCO)-296:
Jantjies is not the cure, he is part of the Bok disease
5 Sep 2010, 15:35 pm
then leave him be to prove it to you in no uncertain terms what a f’ck up he is.
So far he’s lost close encounters in the most demanding rugby competition on the planet, no 49-0 or 53-3 losses afforded to his white predecessors who were both allowed to see their tenures through to the WC, one of whom was bundled out the quarters by world no#1 team NZ, the other not even meeting any team ranked higher than 6th and fluking a p’ss easy WC win.
PdV is not without fault absolutely not by any standard, but to lose against Deans or Henry by close margins at the death does not equate to totally useless out his depth, because all his white predecessors proceded to lose against similar opposition by much higher margins and were spared the boot
He’s made some stupid mistakes and been taught valid lessons along they way as result of these, not unlike his white.counterparts before him. One went into the WC with stupid regimental type idiocy and lost in the quarters, another was so out his depth he called on an Aussie who had walked the road and utilized his WC acumen and experience to solidify his shaky out of depth base.
PdV has decided to utilize the experience of Smit and Matfield as his platform for his assault on the WC defence if his wrong then he’ll get the repercussion of his poor judgment. If he’s right an awful amount of raw egg beating going to be the end result.
5 Sep 2010, 15:43 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-298: If it isn’t about colour why did you mention the race of previous coaches 3 times?
Come now Skop, tell the truth and shame the devil. Peter could turn up at a game in a shower cap and a night gown and you’d still love him. Even if he picked a 75 year old transvestite as TH prop you’d think the man was on fire.
Truth Skop, is it about him being not white or about him being not White.
5 Sep 2010, 15:47 pm
Time to start planing for RWC 2015
(THE 2011 RWC trophy is a goner)
5 Sep 2010, 16:07 pm
@Oval Ball Tart(Oval Ball Tart)-167:
Become the No1 rugby nation in the world, every year for a couple of decades and you will also have similar stats.
5 Sep 2010, 16:22 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-178:
Great victory for us. JC confuses mental softness with relative inexperience. He won’t be the first to underestimate the Aussies and dare say not the last. Boks combined experience, something like 750 tests!
The Aussies are going to be a threat at the WC. Young guns who aren’t afraid to have a go. They need to rock up with a full strength side though.
I can’t wait to see Sonny Bill Williams pull on the black jersey. If he goes to WC it’s going to electrify the tournament. Some of the current world ranked centers are going get shredded – nightmare stuff for them!
5 Sep 2010, 16:31 pm
Pieter de Villiers is a good rugby coach, as good if not better than nearly all his predecessors who by virtue of their dimwit heritage were all white, each and every one, from Mackintosh, to Christie, to Maarkgraaf, to du Plessis, to Mallet, to Viljoen, to Streauli, to White:
White rugby pundits judge him by far different standards to the way they judged their dubious white palooka prat idiot coaches before him. If they didn’t there wouldn’t even be a hint of firing a coach who so far has given pretty much as good as he’s gotten.
5 Sep 2010, 16:41 pm
What is all the fuss about? It is not as if the Boks lost to **** teams. Australia, New Zealand and South Africa are all capable of beating each other. This year the ABs have the wood on us.
5 Sep 2010, 16:48 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-303: What you say may be true but perhaps you want Div to succeed for all the same reasons?
Just saying.
5 Sep 2010, 17:16 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-303: In response to your tirade against me on the other string from yesterday:
@skopskiet(yliad)-550: Slumtown and WP like a host of others are White @rselicking schmucks looking for brown mans blood anyway you wanna see it.
Ive made no racist comments on this site ever. I wouldnt mind if Allister Coetzee took over from PDv so how that equates to seeing brown mans blood i´d like to know. You can do better than stoop so low my friend. very childish and uncalled for.
I was never a fan of De Villiers from the first headless chicken running test matches. I got lulled into a false sense of security last year when we won the Tri nations but the writings on the wall. We shall speak again next year after we lose the World Cup mate. Save this post – if PDV takes this team to the WC its over.
You can do with that whatever you want but the proof is in the pudding and after RWC2011 you´ll have your answer. Absolute waste of a current crop of amazing talent.
Enjoy your racist vitriol Skop. I challenge you to dig up one post where ive been racist.
In response to your assumption that i´m probably judging PDV differently from his predecesors – wrong I was never that into rugby till last World Cup – not to the extent of coaching anyway. So my attitude to him is what I see him do and say. And i´m sorry the guy is clueless and embarrasing. When someone repeatedly says the things he says then you have to wonder about his mental ability. He also has a massive ego to boot and cant be quesitoned. Hence his clause in his final contract with SARU giving him sole rights to selection.
Again the proof will be how we go in the next year and unless he changes tactics and more importantly selection policy I can confidently say were going to get nailed. The Boks showed they are capable of playing an All Black style rugby as exhibited in the first 20 minutes of the 2nd half yesterday. What is distressing is that this has not been displayed in recent time and there seems to be a mental incapacity as well. It was well exhibited in the B&I Lions tour last year which Im still not convinced we deserved to win. We´d comepltely play them off the park for 30 minutes and then just go limp letting in tries left and right and playing negative rugby till the end to cling to our shrinking lead. Had the first 2 games gone another ten minutes we would have lost the series. And ok we had a good Tri Nations last year – so then explain what the hell happened on the EOYT last year, the June Tests this year (which were far from convincing – especially considering Argentina got nailed twice by Scotland then managed to beat France) and finally this years shocking attempt at a Tri Nations defence? Weve slipped from 1st to probably 3rd on the IRB world rankings after this last defeat to OZ. We were streets ahead of them along with NZ. How the hell do you explain it? The only good rugby was last years Tri Nations in recent history.
5 Sep 2010, 17:22 pm
De Villiers has not ‘failed’ yet, he has performed to levels afforded him through standards set by those he’s entrusted to carry out his plans and strategies on and off the field.
here his results
04 Sep 2010 SAF v AUS 39-41 Bloemfontein H
28 Aug 2010 SAF v AUS 44-31 Pretoria H
21 Aug 2010 SAF v NZL 22-29 Soweto H
24 Jul 2010 SAF v AUS 13-30 Brisbane A
17 Jul 2010 SAF v NZL 17-31 Wellington A
10 Jul 2010 SAF v NZL 12-32 Auckland A
12 Sep 2009 SAF v NZL 32-29 Hamilton A
05 Sep 2009 SAF v AUS 6-21 Brisbane A
29 Aug 2009 SAF v AUS 32-25 Perth_AUS A
08 Aug 2009 SAF v AUS 29-17 Cape Town H
01 Aug 2009 SAF v NZL 31-19 Durban H
25 Jul 2009 SAF v NZL 28-19 Bloemfontein H
30 Aug 2008 SAF v AUS 53-8 Johannesburg H
23 Aug 2008 SAF v AUS 15-27 Durban H
16 Aug 2008 SAF v NZL 0-19 Cape Town H
19 Jul 2008 SAF v AUS 9-16 Perth_AUS A
12 Jul 2008 SAF v NZL 30-28 Dunedin A
05 Jul 2008 SAF v NZL 8-19 Wellington A
The only two games we were comprehensibly beaten were the 19-0 in Cape Town 2008, and the 21-6 hiding in Brisbane 09,
other than that each and every test was a close fought affair, unlike some the cr@p whitewashes we received when being coached by his overrated predecessors,
yet all the handy placed palooka white rugby brotherhood of twats wanna have him drawn and quartered for performing in the main way above any other of his similarly endowed white palooka prat coach predecessors.
He’s done no worse than anyone before, and perhaps slightly better overall. But schmucks over here wanna pretend its a train smash of epic proportions, SA don’t beat NZ or Aus all that regularly, why don’t these dumb schmuck fools check back on the records and see exactly how we performed in this competition since 1996 when it all started.
5 Sep 2010, 17:44 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-307: Pardon my ignorance here mate but firstly 27-15 in Durban to Oz is comprehensive to me. Beaten by 12 points is comprehensive. We only managed 2 wins in the first Tri Nations, and 1 this year. Had it not been for last year those would be shocking. I also believe for the first time since the game has gone pro – we have a wealth of experience and talent. That we could not make that count in 2 of 3 Tri Nations is no success. I dont know and care about previous results with previous coaches like ive stated before. I´m talking about now.
And youve not responded to the racist allegations you made about me either.
Youre constantly insulting all and sundry on this blog who dont agree with you – look at the list of words you use above – palooka white rugby brotherhood of twats, white palooka prat, schmucks, dumb shmuck fools. Do you think thats normal behaviour? Do you feel good about yourself? Are you a happy person? Do you have a life beyond this blog? Why are you so rabid about your opinions? Are you never wrong? I agree with a lot of what you say, but you dont have to always be correct. Were all human.
And a final question for you. Do you think we can take the World Cup or at the very least reach the finals with Peter De Villiers at the helm with his current selection policy? I´d like a firm answer on that so we can have another discussion post RWC2011.
5 Sep 2010, 17:53 pm
White Record
14 Jul 2007 SAF v NZL 6-33 Christchurch A
07 Jul 2007 SAF v AUS 17-25 Sydney A
23 Jun 2007 SAF v NZL 21-26 Durban H
16 Jun 2007 SAF v AUS 22-19 Cape Town H
09 Sep 2006 SAF v AUS 24-16 Johannesburg H
02 Sep 2006 SAF v NZL 21-20 Rustenburg H
26 Aug 2006 SAF v NZL 26-45 Pretoria H
05 Aug 2006 SAF v AUS 18-20 Sydney A
22 Jul 2006 SAF v NZL 17-35 Wellington A
15 Jul 2006 SAF v AUS 0-49 Brisbane A
27 Aug 2005 SAF v NZL 27-31 Dunedin A
20 Aug 2005 SAF v AUS 22-19 Perth_AUS A
06 Aug 2005 SAF v NZL 22-16 Cape Town H
30 Jul 2005 SAF v AUS 22-16 Pretoria H
21 Aug 2004 SAF v AUS 23-19 Durban H
14 Aug 2004 SAF v NZL 40-26 Johannesburg H
31 Jul 2004 SAF v AUS 26-30 Perth_AUS A
24 Jul 2004 SAF v NZL 21-23 Christchurch A
Streauli Record
09 Aug 2003 SAF v NZL 11-19 Dunedin A
02 Aug 2003 SAF v AUS 9-29 Brisbane A
19 Jul 2003 SAF v NZL 16-52 Pretoria H
2 Jul 2003 SAF v AUS 26-22 Cape Town H
17 Aug 2002 SAF v AUS 33-31 Johannesburg H
10 Aug 2002 SAF v NZL 23-30 Durban H
27 Jul 2002 SAF v AUS 27-38 Brisbane A
20 Jul 2002 SAF v NZL 20-41 Wellington A
Viljoen Record
25 Aug 2001 SAF v NZL 15-26 Auckland A
18 Aug 2001 SAF v AUS 14-14 Perth_AUS A
28 Jul 2001 SAF v AUS 20-15 Pretoria H
21 Jul 2001 SAF v NZL 3-12 Cape Town H
Mallet Record
26 Aug 2000 SAF v AUS 18-19 Durban H
19 Aug 2000 SAF v NZL 46-40 Johannesburg H
29 Jul 2000 SAF v AUS 6-26 Sydney A
22 Jul 2000 SAF v NZL 12-25 Christchurch A
14 Aug 1999 SAF v AUS 10-9 Cape Town H
07 Aug 1999 SAF v NZL 18-34 Pretoria H
17 Jul 1999 SAF v AUS 6-32 Brisbane A
10 Jul 1999 SAF v NZL 0-28 Dunedin A
22 Aug 1998 SAF v AUS 29-15 Johannesburg H
15 Aug 1998 SAF v NZL 24-23 Durban H
25 Jul 1998 SAF v NZL 13-3 Wellington A
18 Jul 1998 SAF v AUS 14-13 Perth_AUS A
Du Plessis Record
23 Aug 1997 SAF v AUS 61-22 Pretoria H
09 Aug 1997 SAF v NZL 35-55 Auckland A
02 Aug 1997 SAF v AUS 20-32 Brisbane A
19 Jul 1997 SAF v NZL 32-35 Johannesburg H
Markgraaf Record
10 Aug 1996 SAF v NZL 18-29 Cape Town H
03 Aug 1996 SAF v AUS 25-19 Bloemfontein H
20 Jul 1996 SAF v NZL 11-15 Christchurch A
13 Jul 1996 SAF v AUS 16-21 Sydney A
Bottom line is SA vs Aus and NZ always are close encounter affairs sometimes a win or loss by 1 point or one kick making the difference.
In context of all his predecessors in this competition De Villiers has performed no worse and in the main better than most the others, so whoever thinks Meyer or White would have performed any better are living in high handed fool deluded paradigms of white endowed false paradise.
5 Sep 2010, 18:02 pm
if pdv is to ‘survive’ and take this core group through to wc 2011…..it will probably mean that we will
1 .Have Bissy on the nench for 3 quarters of the game.
2 .have the ‘cant play out of SA ‘ MS at 10.
3 probably not play an out and out opensider.
4 . be stuck with spies at 8 man.
All in all a rather gloomy picture for me personally
but….
if pdv can get control back….ie….stop the influence of the fat boys club…..and insist on proper rest and conditioning for the ‘seniors’….perhaps we may still have a semblance of a fighting chance.
5 Sep 2010, 18:04 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-308: have a look at all your white coaches records and show me where De Villiers performed worse than 0-49 or 6-33 or 26-45 or 17-35 for White
or
9-29, 16-52, 20-41 for Streauli
or
6-26, 6-32, 0-28 for Mallet
or Viljoen, Du Plessis or Markgraaf and I’m telling you you living in highfaluting white mans day dream denial thinking another white coach would have done any better or worse under circumstances.
His record is par for the course in this competition, Saffa rugby is by no means superior to AB or Wallaby rugby and hasn’t been since readmission, and the records of Whit, Streauli, Markgraaf, even Mallet, Viljoen and Du Plessis has proved it to be so.
No white coach would have performed better under circumstances of changed rules and strategies, and possibly a whole lot worse, pity White didn’t get given the benefit of the doubt to prove what a consequential inadequate fool he actually was without Jones backing him up, because his 3N record proves his actual pedigree which is no way better than PdV.
5 Sep 2010, 18:08 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-307:
Once again you fail to see the obvious (I am not surprised by the way).
Jake White built a team from the rabble that was handed to him, unlike PdV who was gifted a WC winning side. This team had not reached it’s full potential despite winning the WC. That Jake White wished to continue with the team (and the team with him) was no secret. That he was cruelly denied that opportunity will forever be another stain etched into the SA history books.
At the time, many if not most, expressed the opinion that this new politically motivated appointee was a bad move & that it would most likely end in tears. One didn’t have to be an Einstein to figure that one out!
As much as you would like to re-write history so that it makes sense to your warped brain, it is not going to happen.
5 Sep 2010, 18:15 pm
Slummie, don’t take Snotskiet (and Gwanty1) too seriously, particularly on tik Sunday in CT. He typifies current SA and the SA rugby fans Mallett spoke of. Bigoted, pigheaded, one-eyed and now racist.
It’s actually quite simple for SNAFU. Recognise PdV’s limitations and give him support. Don’t fire him. Give him admin and official support and some specilaist coaches. Defense please.
But I suspect petty, egotistical, self interested stupidity will reign supreme in SA Rugby for some time. Until there is a significant change towards total professionalism, don’t take SA rugby too seriously. Enjoy the victories but don’t expect them.
5 Sep 2010, 18:18 pm
@husky(husky)-313: why always mention me?
Stop your obsession my man.
5 Sep 2010, 19:19 pm
@husky(husky)-313: Ja the unfortunate part is this team could have been so so much more had they been coached well. Selection policies have interfered dramatically too eg. Habana´s indefinite run, Ricky Januaries inclusion in the squad ad nauseum, recently the return of Frans Steyn – he is obviously off the pace, the inisistence of selecting nobodies like Earl Rose et all for tours etc etc. There should be one policy and one only – in form players play. Out of form players get a chance or two and if they dont shape up theyre back with their provinces till such time that they prove otherwise. Only way. We have too many talented and on fire players who do not get chances. It must be awesomely frustrating. Take Kankowski for one – he has been good at provincial level but like Wynand Olivier just doesnt seem to be able to handle the step up to test rugby. How many chances has he been afforded? What difference did he make yesterday? What difference would a Duane Vermeulen or Willem Alberts have made? I think a significant one. Ditto with Cj van der Linde – would Werner Kruger have added more value – I think very possibly. Your bench should not be a backstop – it should be a weapon of hellfire and brimstone that the opposition should fear.
With a good bench we could have injected so much more in the end and taken that game away. Imagine for a minute a player like Deon Fourie coming on for Smit. We need some real bite in the final 20. Aplon made an immediate impact when replacing Habana. I think PDV gives way too many opportunities for players to “get back on form”. **** Muir himself was backing Habana to make a comeback just before the weekend. just goes to show how wrong these boys are as a whole. To be fair PDV cant be blamed for all. its the entire coaching staff.
Mvovo has been magnificent this year. Why isnt he getting a chance? He would have made a far more telling impact then Habana who again cost us 2 tries yesterday with some out of position play and poor tackling.
5 Sep 2010, 19:22 pm
I don’t blame the coach so much as the players, but they are all in it together and that loss was not a good one and it sets sa up very badly for an EoY tour which is now essential to win most if not all games with a young side.
What I want to know us why are they so lacidasical in their approach. How the fk can give the wallabies a 25-point lead and expect to come back from that?
5 Sep 2010, 19:40 pm
Tell you one thing they better pick some hard young things for up north cos they going to be molested if our tightfiwards are performing grubber kicks ala 3N. Different game up north. Better get prepared for it both with selecting the right players, alberts is a must, and getting their heads right to grit it out – leave kanko matfield jan dup smit spies hargreaves at home.
5 Sep 2010, 19:42 pm
And no rabeheimer rose either – this better be a genuinely good backup side cos otherwise it could be a disaster
5 Sep 2010, 19:51 pm
1. Beast 2. Bismarck 3. BJ 4. Danie 5. Flip 6. Potgieter 7. Juan (c) 8. Alberts 9. Hougaardt 10. Morne 11. Mapoe/basson 12. JdJ 13. Fourie 14. JP 15. Frans
16. Gurthro 17 rallapelle 18 CJ 19. Bekker 20. Louw
5 Sep 2010, 19:51 pm
Cabernet Sauvignon
Any young team we send will struggle
But that’s not the point..
Keep your eye on the prize…
5 Sep 2010, 20:08 pm
Yeah any team will struggle but this tour is no room for passengers or developmental projects -best players in sa right now, except for seniors they are resting.
Even Scotland going to be up for it
5 Sep 2010, 20:21 pm
@cab(cab)-321: Cab, jeepers hope those Scots don’t beat us again. Wont ever hear the end of it ever. My Scots mates still remember beating us in 2002. Until this day they never let me forget.
So while we are world champs hope they don’t beat us.
We have some great talent coming through that could do it in the grand slam. Still have to take a few senior players with. Can’t take all youngsters. Juan Smith will tour. Probably Bakkies seeing he has not had much game time. Better be game fit and disciplined though. JdV might seeing he never played much this year. Think he sat on the bench for Munster quite a lot. Bismarck will tour. He was in the last world cup so must be now a senior even if he is young. The rest can be youngsters with those few seniors.
Need though to get a new backline and forward coach. Otherwise we wont be up to much really. Think that is where we are missing it totally.
Bring on Mitchell. (Poor Lions wont like it..hehehe) P. Rossouw from the Bulls for backline he would do just fine.
None of that will happen though. So let us see.
5 Sep 2010, 20:24 pm
@cab(cab)-319: Cabbie, Think all contracted Boks wont tour.
So count out a few there.
5 Sep 2010, 20:26 pm
@cab(cab)-316: Our defence. Mostly coming from Habs, Cabbie that let through some easy tries. That put plenty pressure on the rest of the players. At one stage we wer 21 points behind after about 25min. Not good enough. Think Habs cost us about 21 points. Aplon should have started.
5 Sep 2010, 20:28 pm
Not once in the entire game on Sat did a Bok backline move not have a prop,lock or loosie in it slowing the move down !!!
Until we can get out of this habit we will struggle, obviously at times it is necessary to bash it up with the forwards but we never allow the backs to do what they need to do.
Why do you think the Aussies look to have so much pace ?? …..it’s because the backs are allowed to play !!!
5 Sep 2010, 20:32 pm
Puma
yeah prob need a few snr players at least on the bench to guide the team maybe juan bakkies guthro cj and bj who all been over there
5 Sep 2010, 20:46 pm
@cab(cab)-326: I am one for always taking the best for tests. HATE to see us not playing the BEST players for a test. BUT for this eoyt we HAVE to take youngsters. Think our players are just far too tired. No use flogging a dead horse. They rest, get conditioned they will all be back. If we could have played like we done in our 2nd half yesterday from the start we would have been away like a race horse.
Anyhow for the eoyt. Take: Jantjies, Lambie, De Jongh, Hougaard, Mvovo, Basson, Vermeulen, Alberts, Beast, Bismarck, Flip, Sykes, Juan, Bakkies, CJ maybe BJ and Frans Steyn. Fransie needs more gametime. He will do fine. Would have said Aplon but he too has been playing since the start of the S14 and must be very tired. Pity Brussow will only be ready for S15 otherwise he would have been top of my list.
Think Deysel and Potties might be injured still. Not too sure if Potties will still be injured, maybe not. Also Stegmann maybe take him too.
Probably left out a few there. But those youngster will do very well.
5 Sep 2010, 20:52 pm
@cab(cab)-326: Guthro has been awesome this year, but he has been playing since start of S14. So probably needs to rest too.
Maybe they rest these players for the CC and take them on the eoyt, who knows. From now until the first test against Ireland gives us 9 weeks. Still think the senior players need to rest. Pity this is a grand slam, should just have been what we played last year, then just take all youngsters, nothing to lose then. Hate to lose the grand slam, but that is what we might have to do by taking the youngsters to try them out. Then they could just surprise everyone.
5 Sep 2010, 22:47 pm
Heres some stats for Skop to put in his De Villiers pipe and smoke it: Youre list above doesnt tell the following story:
South Africa conceded 22 tries during their campaign, the most they have given up since the Tri Nations started in 1996, and twice as many as they conceded in each of the previous two seasons.
That i´m afraid, is simply shocking. What the hell happened to the proud Stormers defense? In almost all the early Ozzie tries last week and this week look at the defensive line – we are bunching in the middle and leaving the wing completely ungaurded. What the hell is that all about? And why do you always see the same faces hovering around the missed tackle area? Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana, John Smit, less so Victor Matfield, Morne Steyn and Frans Steyn. Say what you like about Juan de Jongh and Gio Aplon but their defence is solid. Ditto Houghaard. What does that tell you? The young guys are tackling more – the older guys are either too slow, too sore or too tired to do it.
Worrying stuff – and even more worrying is that PDV hasnt taken this opportunity to introduce more young players… surprised he hasnt called up old Odwa carthorse Ndungane as well. Another of his selection stuff ups.
One has to ask why havent chances been given to:
1 Coenie Oosthuizen
2 Tiaan Liebenberg or Deon Fourie
3 Werner Kruger
6 Deon Stegmann
7 Willem ALberts
8 Duane Vermeulen
9 Sarel Pretorius
10 Patrick Lambie
11 Lwazi Mvovo
15 Riaan Viljoen (could do with some alternative options at 15 and i´m not hooked on Frans Steyn at the moment. Riaan cant do worse than Zane did surely)
5 Sep 2010, 22:49 pm
another quote:
Although the evidence of recent months suggests some radical re-thinking may be necessary, Springbok coach Peter de Villiers insisted that the right systems were in place for success in the World Cup.
Yeah right. Pull the other leg. I´m not saying PDV cant do it – but I dont think he has the balls to do it. He´s out on the ledge and he cant decide if he should jump.
5 Sep 2010, 22:54 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-315: Spot on. Our bench could have been much better and made a telling impact. Couldn’t agree more on Kanko, F Steyn & CJ.
5 Sep 2010, 23:00 pm
@diewareouboet(diewareouboet)-331: Thanks man. Its so frustrating cos were seeing damn good rubgy played at Currie Cup and Super 14 level – then you hand the players over to PDV and it all falls apart. And he doesnt select the form players from the aforementioned competetions even after professing too. Its diabolical. We have some amazing talent and depth of talent in SA at present and its simply not moving forward take any position and i can give you at least 3 to 4 good options eg:
1 Gurthro – been amazing
1 Beast
1 Coenie Oosthuizen
2 Bismarck
2 Tiaan Liebenberg
2 Gary Botha
2 Deon Fourie
2 Adriaan Strauss
6 Heinrich Brussouw
6 Schalk Burger
6 francois Louw when on form otherwise Deon Stegmann
6 Jean Deysel or Jacques Botes
5 Sep 2010, 23:22 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-332: Exactly. We should have performed better with the talent we have. Comparing PDiv with previous coaches (not that I necessarily rate them)is not comparing apples with apples. They did not have the palyers he has to choose from.
The AB & Wallaby coaches lifts the performance of the players in the national side which is not the case with the Boks.
6 Sep 2010, 07:06 am
@Hooker22(Hooker22)-197: Nice ‘try’ mate but losing 5/6, leaking more try’s than any other team in bok history over the same period, losing a sixty three year record and losing to Ireland and France and three lots of silver ware inside of six games puts you miles in front as the new ‘Verwurg’ of rugby at this level.
Sad as it is for the Boks and supporters to find a low never seen before at this level. I am sure the true character of the Boks will re-emerge though with some rest and a new coaching team.( or part there-of)
I for one would really like to see PDV stay on as coach till after the WC, to improve our chances….but alas I think his fate is sealed as his record is appalling and his mouth has created way too much controversy. His latest gaff regarding the policeman may be just the nail that SARU has been looking for.
Dont take my comments to heart mate, we are all vulnerable at times and at the end of the day its only a game.
6 Sep 2010, 07:09 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-303: Pieter Div has a worse record than WHite right now, so the stats dont back your assertion that he is better. Quite the contrary when you look at eth manner of defeat this year.
When White lost FOUR (as opposed to FIVE) in a row, we were all calling forchanges – one way or another.
I have to say that in both cases, the one common feature in the teams of today and 2006 was the leadership of Smit. I am starting to doubt his leadership. I think he is no longer an inspirational leader, and he is fast losing respect amongst his colleagues. A 6 month rest from international rugby for him will do the Boks a lot of good I think.