Bring back Jake

SIMON BORCHARDT says Jake White should be appointed Springbok caretaker coach until the end of the World Cup.

White has been criticised for trying to get his old job back instead of supporting Peter de Villiers, who is having a nightmare 2010 season similar to White’s in 2006. However, it’s worth remembering that White inherited a team ranked No 6 in the world in 2004 and was still building that team in 2006 when everything fell apart. De Villiers inherited a team ranked No 1 in 2008 and on Saturday fielded the most experienced Bok XV in history with 750 caps. You simply cannot compare 2006 to 2010, and White’s credibility would suffer if he came out in support of what De Villiers and his assistant coaches have been doing.

It has become abundantly clear that De Villiers does not have what it takes to be a success at this level. He lacks technical knowledge of the game and relies heavily on senior players for direction, is a poor man manager (evident by his fallout with Frans Steyn) and is unable to make difficult decisions (like dropping a horribly out-of-form Bryan Habana). He has also been a disaster off the field, making several comments that have brought the game into disrepute and made him, and the Boks, the laughing stock of world rugby.

Saru must get rid of De Villiers now, while there is still time for a new coach to steer the SS Springbok away from the looming iceberg. But I agree with White that it would be unfair to appoint someone like Allister Coetzee as Bok coach just 12 months out from the World Cup with no guarantee that he will stay on beyond the tournament (how many coaches survive a poor World Cup campaign?). A long-term appointment like Coetzee needs time to settle into the job, and while it may seem opportunistic for White to throw his hat into the ring now, he genuinely seems to believe that he can get the team back on track. And so do I.

White has coached most of the players in the current Bok side. He has an outstanding technical knowledge of the game. He is not afraid to make difficult decisions. He knows what not to say at press conferences. And he knows what it takes to win the World Cup.

White’s offer to become Bok caretaker coach before handing over to Coetzee (who he says should have gotten the job in 2008) after the World Cup should be seriously considered by Saru over the next couple of weeks. Regan Hoskins was reportedly upset with some of the things White had to say about him in his autobiography, but the Saru president should not allow that to cloud his judgement and prevent him – and his executive – from doing what is best for Springbok rugby.

It’s time for Saru to stop De Villiers’ circus act and get serious about the Boks’ World Cup defence. It’s time for White’s return.

Join SA Rugby mag’s Facebook fan page

Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

711 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1115 » Show All

• 1.Staal: Reply to this comment

Ag snot! Dragons!

• 2.Staal: Reply to this comment

Ek bedoel eintlik….. ek verskil met wilde aantuigings en stellings in die media.

• 3.WestAussieBok: Reply to this comment

Regardless of whether this is a realistic solution, Jake shouldn’t have blabbed his intentions to the media like this.

His conversations with Hoskins, Jones etc… should have remained private until a decision had been made.

This just adds more pressure to an already tough situation.

• 4.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

SIMON, waar val jy uit?

• 5.ufo: Reply to this comment

getting jake white back would be a major mistake…

for purely rugby reasons…

‘experts’ are already bemoaning the fact that the Boks have stood still (or gone backwards) while the ABs and Oz have progressed since last year…

jake is so stubborn that he is ALWAYS right that he’d have us playing rugby circa 2007 ‘because it won a world cup’…

we struggled this 3N without a genuine fetcher… but jake is the king of the ‘we-don’t-need-a-fetcher-exept-to-fetch-beer’ brigade… jake has already said that he would not select Heinrich Brussow…

and people seriously think re-appointing jake would be an improvement…?

ui would be a major step backwards… IMO…

forget the less-than-integrity-filled way in which he has gone about it…

and just to remind everyone… jake was not fired…

he told SARU four or five months before the WC that he would NOT be available for another contract… they then went about advertising for and contracting another coach… they had no reason to offer or re-appoint him to a job he had already said he did not want…

as pissant has said… it’s time for cool, hard analysis of just what and where things have gone wrong and then make hard but informed decisions about how to fix things…

• 6.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

“and is unable to make difficult decisions (like dropping a horribly out-of-form Bryan Habana)”
    What about Spies and Plod….F-off Simon!

• 7.I_support_BEES: Reply to this comment

i’m not saying the must get jake back, but surely PDV must go!

• 8.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

bwuhahaha im pretty sure pdv has done something to the guys at keo – did he turn down an exclusive interview or just ignore you?

lets say Jake “im right because im” White takes over and he doesnt deliver then what? will he be clown as well?

Appointing Jake now will throw the team into utter chaos and disarray.
    At this stage(one year out) The senior players are the key to winning next year if you take pdv out the senior players won’t be happy with their guarantor away and without them we may as well not turn up next year.

• 9.Staal: Reply to this comment

Unfair to Allister Coetzee …. WAT DE HEL gaat hier aan?

Wonder hoe moet Heynecke voel? :lol:

ag nee wat… ons het die perd opgesaal, nou moet ons hom ry! Must honestly say that i would not mind if Jake gets the job….. IF THERE IS A JOB AT ALL!

PdV sal ons coach wees tot einde WC2011…. live with it.

The circus has come to town…..

• 10.Simon: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-6: I said LIKE … it was one example. I agree that Spies and Smit should have been dropped too.

• 11.WestAussieBok: Reply to this comment

That said, this idea has merit. Jake’s best stint with the Boks was during the World Cup when he had the technical skills of Eddie Jones to complement his man-management skills.

And it would ensure that a brand-new coach would not have his own fledgling international career destroyed by a hugely difficult task in taking on this responsibility so soon before the WC.

Furthermore, it would be especially attractive to those in SARU who want to see a “transformed” coach remain in the hot seat (ie: Coetzee) without the risk of him failing so soon.

Essentially, White is prepared to be the sacrificial lamb and it would be silly not to consider his offer.

• 12.Staal: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-5:

” it’s time for cool, hard analysis of just what and where things have gone wrong and then make hard but informed decisions about how to fix things…”

Sure… but if i may ask a question… who’s gonna do it? :lol:

• 13.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-1:

Draak verkoue?

@WestAussieBok(WestAussieBok)-3:

Oh well, don’t tell the others but I think JW is just having some fun with the clowns at the circus. He knows he has somewhere between niks en f-ol change of saru back tracking and asking him to come back. To taunt them he even had the AC carrot dangling in front of the. Not sure what the clowns made of it but he had skop taking an extra pull on his morning zol and Mighty above has been throwing cornflakes at his screen util he realised he is mucking up his key board in the process.

Expect many more to ‘ave a go’ at the carrot to much joy for JW…

• 14.Staal: Reply to this comment

“if i may ask a question?… dit klink nie reg nie…

moet dit nie wees…

If i may ask…..

nie seker nie… waar Tackler? Hy sal my gou reghelp!

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-13: :lol:

• 15.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Simon are you mad?? That will be a huge backward step. How can you people vote yes on the poll? Jake is a sneaky b a s t a r d he knows the Boks are going to peak next year because the exact same thing happened to him. This whole thing stinks!

• 16.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@Simon(Simon)-10: Why didnt you clearly stated that in your article? Alot of people just read what is written in your article and not necessarily the comments.

• 17.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

Are you on drugs Simon? Jake White is no rugby messiah. If I remember correctly, a year out from the World Cup people were calling for him to be fired and replaced by someone else to do an ambulance job.

Jake harps on about de Villiers not changing – what about him and his views on a fetcher? Would he have selected Brussouw last year? Nope. He has made it clear that he wouldn’t drop Smit, and I doubt he would make the “tough decisions” which he keeps going on about, to drop any of his World Cup winners.

Jake White is a bl00dy agent. He has already contacted Eddie Jones, even although the job isn’t available, and also says that Alistair Coetzee should get the job after the World Cup – arrogant fool. It is clear he hasn’t moved on since 2007.

• 18.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Ek glo ook Snor het nie die kennis om op die vlak af te rig nie. Die man het dan nooit eers S14 afgerig nie. Hy het ‘n goeie span oorgeneem maar kyk waat is ons vandag. Dink dit sal die beste wees om Jake trug te kry al is dit net vir caretaker coach. Jake en Eddie is ‘n goeie kombinasie en die spelers is meestal spelers waarmee hulle gewerk het so die aanpassings sal nie te moeilik wees nie.

• 19.WestAussieBok: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-13:
    Yep, I’d be very surprised if it ever actually happened. There was far too much bad blood when he left his position after the WC. That sort of stuff is not forgotten nor forgiven easily.

• 20.GeniusSA: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-5: White proved that he didn’t need fetcher in 2007 to win the WC. The rules did not necessitate it.

Different story now though….1 thing for sure, our players would be FIT, RESTED when needed, have PROPER SKILLED coaches like eddi jones to hone their skills, have a proper DEFENSIVE structure.

Not to mention the players will know who the boss is. At NO stage can players dictate to a coach what to do, they can make suggestion etc, but ultimately the coach makes the final call …something PdV can’t seem to do. With White everybody will know who the boss is, which is great for the team. Like kids and teenagers need parents to lay down the law and make decisions which are best for the them, players need the same from coaches. Remember when White dropped Big Vic because of his attitude, Big Vic became the best lock in the world!

1 thing can’t be denied, that SARU’s political decision has backfired horribly. It’s taken 3 years to unravel White’s well groomed players but it was only a matter of time.

I really like the fact that Alistair would be groomed for future success!

Oh and I’m sure White won’t disgrace the country like PdV does on a weekly bases.

• 21.Staal: Reply to this comment

I just want to mention – should any Saru/Sarfu/Ouens met bok baadjies aan wat nog nooit vir die Bokke gespeel het nie member be on this blog –

i have seen a 1908 video clip af a maul and a line out, although a bit fuzzy i could clearly see the swinging right arms and stompng boot….. so should you nee a coach i will be able to help out with the mauls and lineouts….. between my work, scuba and golf.

But please keep this quiet….. one does not want to insult the current coach ……..

• 22.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Finally cat out of the bag!!!!!!!!

What do these teams have in common, Fiji, Tonga, USA, 7th ranked England, An over stretched Argentina……..??

• 23.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@WestAussieBok(WestAussieBok)-19:

Cuts both ways, don’t think JW will be interested either. He must be having a good chuckle though.

@Staal(Staal)-14:

Sal die Bokke happy wees met hom?

• 24.Staal: Reply to this comment

ai spelling!

• 25.BESTER: Reply to this comment

Die is weer ‘n Ebrahim Rasool job, om journo’s om te koop. Die veldtog se naam is “Jake White’s Winning Way” met Mark Keohane as project leader(head lobbiest.

• 26.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-23: happy with who?

• 27.grant10: Reply to this comment

bloody hell….

This is gaining momentum……i smell a deal….

• 28.Staal: Reply to this comment

@BESTER(BESTER)-25: :lol: Good one!!!

• 29.GeniusSA: Reply to this comment

All that being said….
    White should not be taken back, to much bad blood and I don’t like this backstabbing thing!
    Get Alistair and Meyer to team up for the Boks, take Rassie as a technical advisor and get King Carlos as backline coach…Niebaar as defensive coach.

• 30.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-12: You are spot on there Staal. Who? It’s spoilt goods at the moment, with so much surrounding the issue. It’s a brave (or foolish) man that takes this lot on…

It’s a moot point though, because for all my money, PDV ain’t going anywhere.

• 31.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@BESTER(BESTER)-25: Makes me wonder who was with Keo on that business retreat he was tweeting about – sponsored by Jake White’s Whining Ways perhaps?

• 32.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-27: Jake and John. Reunited at last. With Luke the beer fetcher….. ;)

• 33.Staal: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-27: i smell a rat! :lol:

• 34.grant10: Reply to this comment

i reckon Brussow and steggmann are kakking themselves….

• 35.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Is ons nie nou onder die Aussies op wereld ranklys nie ?

• 36.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-21:

Kom nou Staal, jy kan mos nie so lieg nie?! There were no movies in 1908, jy bedoel seker 1918?

Happy met JW as hulle hom nader trek.

• 37.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-12:

now THAT is an excellent question…! glad you asked it…!! :lol:

ja staal… that’s the crux…

now don’t laugh too loud… but…

i would suggest a renowned group of auditors… who know nothing about rugby and see everything in terms of figures and bottom lines… they can interview EVERYONE and ask them their opinions and formulate a spreadsheet of what the most of all those involved believe is wrong… in order of most to least… that would give us an unemotional starting point… and from there things should start looking fairly obvious and they can start taking decisions…

• 38.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-34: :) Burger at openside and Smit at 2…forever?

• 39.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-22:
    What do these teams have in common, Australia, All Blacks, France?
    Ill give you a hint: none of them played well enough to get through to the final.

• 40.Simon: Reply to this comment

@BESTER(BESTER)-25: Then how do you explain this? http://www.keo.co.za/2010/07/26/show-your-class-jakey/

• 41.grant10: Reply to this comment

luke to extend his Bath deal.

Steggmann to go to France with Frans….

Brussow to Engeland….

Every flank under 6 foot four and less than 115 kg s to rather play cricket…..

Plod to lead boks to 2015….wc.

sKOP AND g10 TO GO ON ANTI DEPRESSANTS …..AND A FEW HEART ATTACK tABLETS.

hier kom groot kak

• 42.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

No. If Jake White comes in again no way in hell Brussow will even make the world cup squad. Jake has a fascination with big forwards. He would rather have Danie play 6 instead of Brussow….

• 43.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-39: If we are going to hype Jake up as a messiah who will save the Sprinboks, a proper analysis of his successes and failures is in order.

Its a fair question – what was his record against France, New Zealand and Australia? How successful is he likely to be against them when the Boks meet them in the World Cup knock out stages. What was his record like before the World Cup etc. etc.

• 44.grant10: Reply to this comment

well at least the snake on record he wont play plod at 3……

But plod will be there in Japan in 2015…..the only 155 kg hooker….

• 45.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-41: lol truth brother. Truth.

• 46.ufo: Reply to this comment

@GeniusSA(Shauny)-20:

come on boet…

and now the rules definitely necessitate it…

last year… when the rules DID warrant a fetcher… and Heinrich Brussow made a massive impact…

in other words… when everything cried out for a fetcher

jake white said on boots and all “I would not select Brussow“.

• 47.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-41: Os, Monty and Skinstad to come out of retirment to add experience.

• 48.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-44: assistant coach :)

• 49.Staal: Reply to this comment

We need to make the sircle bigger imo… so my recommendations are…

Forwards coach: Tim Noakes… boys ons gaat rus!

Backline coach: Naas Botha…boys ons gaanie tackle nie!

Head coach: Buthalezi….boys ek kan speeeeeeech!

• 50.grant10: Reply to this comment

breaking news

bissy just choked on his mielie pap

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1115 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.