Bring back Jake
7 Sep 2010
SIMON BORCHARDT says Jake White should be appointed Springbok caretaker coach until the end of the World Cup.
White has been criticised for trying to get his old job back instead of supporting Peter de Villiers, who is having a nightmare 2010 season similar to White’s in 2006. However, it’s worth remembering that White inherited a team ranked No 6 in the world in 2004 and was still building that team in 2006 when everything fell apart. De Villiers inherited a team ranked No 1 in 2008 and on Saturday fielded the most experienced Bok XV in history with 750 caps. You simply cannot compare 2006 to 2010, and White’s credibility would suffer if he came out in support of what De Villiers and his assistant coaches have been doing.
It has become abundantly clear that De Villiers does not have what it takes to be a success at this level. He lacks technical knowledge of the game and relies heavily on senior players for direction, is a poor man manager (evident by his fallout with Frans Steyn) and is unable to make difficult decisions (like dropping a horribly out-of-form Bryan Habana). He has also been a disaster off the field, making several comments that have brought the game into disrepute and made him, and the Boks, the laughing stock of world rugby.
Saru must get rid of De Villiers now, while there is still time for a new coach to steer the SS Springbok away from the looming iceberg. But I agree with White that it would be unfair to appoint someone like Allister Coetzee as Bok coach just 12 months out from the World Cup with no guarantee that he will stay on beyond the tournament (how many coaches survive a poor World Cup campaign?). A long-term appointment like Coetzee needs time to settle into the job, and while it may seem opportunistic for White to throw his hat into the ring now, he genuinely seems to believe that he can get the team back on track. And so do I.
White has coached most of the players in the current Bok side. He has an outstanding technical knowledge of the game. He is not afraid to make difficult decisions. He knows what not to say at press conferences. And he knows what it takes to win the World Cup.
White’s offer to become Bok caretaker coach before handing over to Coetzee (who he says should have gotten the job in 2008) after the World Cup should be seriously considered by Saru over the next couple of weeks. Regan Hoskins was reportedly upset with some of the things White had to say about him in his autobiography, but the Saru president should not allow that to cloud his judgement and prevent him – and his executive – from doing what is best for Springbok rugby.
It’s time for Saru to stop De Villiers’ circus act and get serious about the Boks’ World Cup defence. It’s time for White’s return.

711 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 » Show All
8 Sep 2010, 00:08 am
You baling your man in case he gets it in the neck Keo
you shielding him from the arduousness of his own ambition?
I wrote on the other thread that PdV may not have all the fancy pants smarts to tiptoe round the tulips and do a shoe shuffling jig around the merry go round, but when it comes to taking it on the smacker he ready to go toe to toe with anyone, and I say bull to these toffee nosed journo’s and foreign presses, the Bok players know who they got in PdV and he’s a street smart little street fighter that won’t back down from any fight, from anyone.
And that is primarily what you need for a WC assault, you don’t need all that much smarts, sure you need some which he should get from his aides and assistants, and his two trump card seniors John and Vic, but what they need is do or die spirit, which they showed they still got plenty and more where it came from, through even being almost dead and buried twice the last two weeks they came back and clinched it once and almost a second time on the double.
PdV got grit and guts, more than he’s given credit for, and he’ll take these guys to the limit and come out punching if they give him half a gap. Way more than Jake could ever muster from all his clever fancy manipulative footwork.
8 Sep 2010, 00:10 am
Rugby911 you also a doubting Thomas unbeliever, pity for you you got no spunk left inside your scrotum
Can guarantee you Pdv got plenty, way more than some fancy pants second rate two timers.
8 Sep 2010, 00:16 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-652: never doubted his grits and guts etc, but starting to doubt his acumen, planning and long-term vision. Lets say JW is not the answer, aren’t you worried about what PdV has orchestrated on the rugby pitch alone? Surely you can’t be happy with it?
8 Sep 2010, 00:29 am
You guys that think rugby is like a game of chess, please its roller ball on studs.
Sure you gotta have some smarts, you got to know when to rest old tired legs, when to bring on fresh ones, who to invest you savvy in, which players got the combo patterns together and which don’t.
And then you need some patterns, defense and offense, get the ball motoring through the hands and into space and away from contact if you can ala Robbie Deans style.
But bottom line rugby is about mainly passion, guts and never say die, especially at WC.
England has shown they got that quality even though talent wise they way down the pecking order yet they won it once and made finals twice.
Aus got it and so do we. Aus got more smarts, we got more gees and deep down drive, thats what brought us back from the dead twice and almost holed out in Soweto.
We been down on savvy lately, down on conditioning, and down on smarts, we playing old hat 2007 game patterns while Aussie under Deans and Henry’s AB’s are playing 2010 fast pace juggernaut rugby.
I saw patches of our first stanza on Saturday first few minutes and i thought keep that up and we drill them. Then JS decided to lift the pressure and give them carte blanche through the back 3 and midfield counter attack and they prized us apart like jackrabbits caught in the headlights.
But we bounced back so hard they thought it was tickets till we lifted the foot off the peddle again deep into last quarter and we capitulated.
Rugby is hardly like chess Rugby911, rugby is about do or die commitment and guts first and foremost and secondly using those top two inches with some dexterity ultimately to clinch it.
8 Sep 2010, 00:39 am
@WestAussieBok(WestAussieBok)-11: JW has absolutely no chance at all of becoming the caretaker coach, remember Woodward after he won the world and then coached a disastrous Lions team?!
JW is just being facetious, there’s a reason why he has been appointed to a premium coaching job, outside of the Lions Rugby Union on a consultancy basis. He also coached a koshius team at stellenbosch and they accomplished absolutely nothing.
If we were to appoint a caretaker I would advance Eddie Jones, he’s a real coach! The fact that JW has known the core of the players for so long means very little when the core of the guys he knows are over the hill and just dog tired.
JW is no saviour, just an irritant.
8 Sep 2010, 00:42 am
Hear Hear Qudeni
Sing it again Sam
one more time for the audience left out the back door.
8 Sep 2010, 01:05 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-656: Someone has to say it! They need to know!
JW is unemployed, why has he not been taken up by a Super team yet or an international team? He was a consultant at the Lions – nothing happened, then this fellow from NZ gets there and immediately the Lions are coherent.
JW is all hype, he knew he could not take the Boks to WC victory, and that’s why he brought in his good friend, Eddie Jones. He had no choice, the back line was misfiring, the forwards could not link with the backs, it was a shambles, JW had several years to fix it but could not.
He needed a game plan and Eddie provided it.
8 Sep 2010, 01:08 am
Keo – what does “had his time” mean? How many Lions tours did Ian McGeechan coach? Coaches get better with experience.
Do you mean it can’t happen politically?
8 Sep 2010, 01:20 am
Qudeni – what utter drivel. EJ supplied an important piece of the puzzle. But to suggest JW somehow stumbled into success is borderline moronic.
I have a lot of objections to JW, not least his arrogance and presumption that we’re all fools. But it’s churlish to deny him credit for what he achieved. Indeed I maintain it establishes him as the best option for identifying and addressing the top ten things required for a bok RWC win.
Perhaps there are better options to step into PdVs shoes, but as with all recruiting you cannot ignore track record
8 Sep 2010, 04:16 am
I dont think JW is the answer . Its going backwards.
Also the timing is difficult
If you fire Jdv can a new coach come in and have boks ready for WC
Also what coach is going to accept the position knowing he has one year and if does not win the WC or do well he is gone
8 Sep 2010, 04:33 am
PdV isn’t going anywhere, only the fools and the grossly naive can think the anc will let go their cherry on the of the quota cake.
So next year more of the same except the old get older, FdP will be back and that will help, but as of winning abroad, forget it.
8 Sep 2010, 04:40 am
660 Coachpete:
Gatland took on Wales and won the next 6N with a Grand Slam. JW can certainly win the RWC with the raw material at his disposal. Much harder for anyone else – he has deep knowledge if the players, the systems, the setup, of test rugby, the competition, the RWC etc. He also understands the SA rugby political dynamics.
I can’t see why it’s going backwards.
8 Sep 2010, 04:50 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-660:
Coach, JW suggested he takes on the role as caretaker till after the WC. He propose to take AC under his wing at the same time and groom him to take over after the WC.
Like Funky I struggle to understand how JW can be a step backwards, doing nothing is a huge step backwards, anything else,including JW is a massive step forward.
8 Sep 2010, 04:51 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-661:
Kooorek!
8 Sep 2010, 04:54 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-663:
Caretaker maybe yes. Some of the senior players yes
Some players who possibly should not be in squad?
I just cant see them firing Pdv now
If he does not do well at WC he will be fired the day after it ends
8 Sep 2010, 04:57 am
Also imagine a caretaker coach not doing well at the WC
You will never hear the end of it from you know who
8 Sep 2010, 04:59 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-665:
Sure, not a spring clean needed but definately a few cobwebs in the corners and behind the fridge that needs to be cleaned out.
We still have the basics of what is potentially a very good Bok team but I just can’t see PDivvie as the man to turn them into a winning combination. Ask Staal, and I know he has some serious contacts, and he will tell you the players don’t trust him. A problem almost impossible to solve unless you get rid of him.
8 Sep 2010, 05:01 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-666:
Yeah well, I prefer having a go rather than give up 12 months ahead of time.
8 Sep 2010, 05:02 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-665:
Howzit Coach
I can’t see Hellium going yet boys…….. as much as most think he is a clown, we have him until the WC at least. Only some kind of miricle devine intervention is gonna save our arses from being nailed next year.
Having said that we have a number of players like Brussouw, FdP, Bissie, Bakkies to come back still. Get the boys together, get fit and maybe something will happen, who knows!
hellium must at least know that he has to do something and that sitting on his gat and thinking it will all come together is not gonna do it? Surely?
8 Sep 2010, 05:02 am
The only answer is to hire an external coach, one who isn’t encumbered with provincial favouritism and won’t be swayed by picking the correct colour balance.
But as Coach says, PDiv is here until the day after the RWC so just sit back and count off the days.
8 Sep 2010, 05:03 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-667:
I know exactly what you are saying.
Its a difficult situation and the timing is bad too
Pdv has had the talent. This year was very poor.
The trouble is he had a good year in 2009 and we all did not expect this.
I hate to say this mate but we may be stuck with the current situation and either hope they turn it around for next year or
accept we may not win the WC or even make the Semis
8 Sep 2010, 05:04 am
@whatever(whatever)-669:
But PDivvie keeps on telling us there is nothing wrong
8 Sep 2010, 05:06 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-671:
Coach, I refuse to accept it and will go down kicking and screaming! I mean, he already told me I am not a Bok supporter anymore so stuff him!
8 Sep 2010, 05:08 am
@whatever(whatever)-669:
Howzit
Yes remember we are getting back Brussow and Pdv
Plus Juan back there now and no matter what other think i like Jdv and JF at center
We have Hougaard as back up 9 (bye bye ricky) and we need to add
Vermeulen, Potty stegman, and Alberts
Forget Kanko and Spies too
Also Bismark will be back
8 Sep 2010, 05:10 am
sorry Pdv on the brain
should have been Fdp
8 Sep 2010, 05:11 am
And throw in Sir elton
8 Sep 2010, 05:11 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-674:
All true and you can add a few other names that may well be there at the end of the S15 next year. Fact remains that under the current coach it will boil down to nothing!
I have seen the lack of confidence in the players this year, it has nothing to do with missing players but all to do with a distruct in the coaching staff.
8 Sep 2010, 05:12 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-675:
Aish, the stuff of nightmares, I tell you!
8 Sep 2010, 05:14 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-677:
True but i am gonna tell you something.
Forget coaching
I noticed how the pack missed Fdp The pack is a whole lot more confident with him there
A huge loss this year
8 Sep 2010, 05:20 am
and get rid of Spies or get him a new pack of steriods, cause he was lame this year in the G&G
8 Sep 2010, 05:24 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-679:
I think it cuts deeper than that or I well hope so!
@whatever(whatever)-680:
Ja, daai smarties wat hy die jaar gebruik het, het nie gewerk nie!
8 Sep 2010, 05:31 am
mmmmm, just heard I’m off to Chch tommorow……..should be fun.
They just had a 4.1 and a 4.3 in the last half hour….. eish!
8 Sep 2010, 05:44 am
@whatever(whatever)-682:
Good luck!
8 Sep 2010, 07:13 am
@funkyzoo(funkyzoo)-645: “he
invented the blitz defense (which drove the
oppo backs towards our back row)” – for the record and please NEVER forget it, Jake White did NOT INVENT the ‘rush defence’, ironically GARY GOLD did! Chew on that sh*t
@keo(keo)-648: hahaha oh now you’re hea doing your boy’s dirty work? You should’ve spoken to him before he went around flapping his mouth to craig ray! I’m even more convinced now that journalism IS another form of prostitution and in this case jake has craig ray on retainer like wayne rooney!!!
8 Sep 2010, 07:27 am
PDV has surrounded him by a bunch of losers
Diek has not won anything and Gold should change his name to Bronze cause he is a better technical analyst as a forwards couch
I have a feeling that Diek is telling PDV what to do
8 Sep 2010, 07:29 am
divvy ain’t going anywhere..can keo’s colleagues perhaps write something of more substance?
8 Sep 2010, 07:29 am
Oh my, I would love JW to come back – just to see the Snotskiet rants; I don’t care if the Boks lose all their games; they pretty much do now anyway.
In the current fiasco that is SA rugby JW (who, in my view, was a good, but not great coach) can’t do much better or worse than the incumbents. That is unless there is a massive shift from the present self absorbed cadre deployment that is SA Rugby; except for the players.
I reckon SA could produce 3 squads who, if each was coached by say, Deans, Meyer and Jones and their pick of personnel, would do at least as well as the current Boks.
8 Sep 2010, 07:30 am
@JL1(JL1)-685: here you have to blame Saru..they pay the salaries and should have appointed experience next to divvy…all the blame falling on the coach & yet Hoskins is walking around as if he’s the shite
8 Sep 2010, 07:39 am
@mountaingoat(mountaingoat)-688: PDV actually chose the Jedward twins from all the applicants
…but you are right they let Diek submit his application late and most probably forced him to take the dog and pony show act
Saru need to get some experts back into the management team
cOnditioning expert- Coetzee from Bloem
Vision- Sheryl Calder
Defense-Maybe the WP man
Backline coach- Eddie Joans
Forwards- Gert Small, John Mitchell, Plumtree
8 Sep 2010, 07:39 am
@husky(husky)-687:
He vowed not to return if JW ever came back….ahhh, we can only wish!
8 Sep 2010, 07:40 am
what clown PDV knows about rugby, I’ve learned in grade 4!
8 Sep 2010, 07:48 am
get heyneke or Mr rugby = rassie
8 Sep 2010, 07:51 am
@Boo_Habana(suffer_guy)-691: he clearly knows more than you
8 Sep 2010, 07:54 am
PDV went to school? can’t be
8 Sep 2010, 08:10 am
@Boo_Habana(suffer_guy)-694: no straight to college
8 Sep 2010, 08:15 am
Sydney – Triple Olympic swimming gold medallist Stephanie Rice has made a tearful apology for a homophobic slur she posted Saturday on Twitter.
Rice twice broke down in tears at a news conference she called Wednesday in Sydney where she asked for forgiveness for her “thoughtless and careless” comment.
The 22-year-old Rice tweeted the derogatory remark after Australia’s last-minute win over South Africa in a Tri-Nations rugby Test match in Bloemfontein.
Rice, who reportedly is dating Australia flyhalf Quade Cooper, later deleted the tweet and apologised, saying she didn’t mean to cause offence.
sal jou leer jou dom donner!
8 Sep 2010, 08:36 am
Allister Coetzee will be assistant coach all his life.
Hy kan net onder ‘n baas werk
Baas Jake en nou Baas Rassie.
Hy herinner my aan Vincent Barnes wat nou al 20 jaar hulp afriger is
8 Sep 2010, 08:54 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-651: What a load of b0llocks. When are you going to quit talking crp and just admit that you so vehemently support crusty simply because he is coloured? please do us a favour. you keep on stating “guts” as his leading atribute. what the fk has that got to do with coaching? We dont need guts we need brains please, and a lot larger helping than pdv was dished out. Some coaching ability would be welcome too. you really are a complete tosser and I dont know why youre given the time of day by the other bloggers on this site.
8 Sep 2010, 12:10 pm
651. skopskiet(yliad) :
ROFL!!! from teh guy that didn;t believe we could win the WC in 2007 now telling us how to win a WC.
There is no end to yoru stupidity
8 Sep 2010, 12:13 pm
I feel for PDV and don;t want to be another jumping on the corpse crushing bandwagon. By Jake is my freekin hero and would support his return above any.
I liek the ide aof Alister Coeztee coming in after the WC, i really do
Pages: « 1 … 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 » Show All