Struggling for a silver lining

JON CARDINELLI writes that although the Boks scored 13 tries in this year’s Tri-Nations that attacking success needs to be viewed in perspective.

Defence has been identified as the biggest pitfall in a botched campaign. The Boks finished their worst ever Tri-Nations with the most porous record in the tournament’s history. They leaked 22 tries and conceded the four-try bonus in four of their six matches.

Some have pointed to the attacking displays in Pretoria and Bloemfontein as one reason to feel encouraged. They argue that those fixtures, where the Boks scored eight tries in total, were outstanding examples of how rugby should be played.

They ignore the fact that the Wallabies came to South Africa with a largely inexperienced group, and that over the course of two matches were as diabolical on defence as their hosts.

The stats confirm the fact. The Boks missed 29 tackles and the Wallabies 33. The Boks were allowed to make 19 linebreaks while the Wallabies cut the opposition on 18 occasions.

If people enjoy that kind of rugby, they should push for a new law that limits defence. Both Tests were dramatic, but won’t go down as two of the classics. The players have expressed their regret for multiple errors, and while the Boks have to improve their defence, they also need to sharpen their attack.

Put those two freakish Tests aside, and the Boks’ attacking record reads five tries in four matches. When South Africa came up against a solid defensive line in this year’s Tri-Nations, they struggled.

The Wallabies will finish second in this year’s Tri-Nations, but it will be a distant second to the trend-setting All Blacks. Graham Henry’s side has been the best attacking unit, and have also set the standard on defence. They’ve conceded just seven tries in five games, and are yet to allow the opposition a four-try bonus point.

The All Blacks’ superior and belligerent approach to the breakdown blunted the Bok attack in New Zealand, and even though South Africa brought more intensity to the fixture at Soccer City, they still weren’t as accurate as their Kiwi counterparts. An overall lack of intensity and accuracy has stifled the Bok attack in 2010.

Selections also contributed to an underwhelming attacking performance. Picking Jean de Villiers on the wing in New Zealand limited the midfield’s attacking options, while sticking with an out-of-form Bryan Habana did the team no favours. Gio Aplon showed some spark, and should have featured in all three home Tests.

While there’s no replacing the all-round brilliance of Fourie du Preez, Francois Hougaard proved himself as a useful alternative. The Boks looked better with De Villiers and Fourie together in midfield, but Morne Steyn isn’t the answer at No 10. He kicked flawlessly at goal on the home leg, but the Boks need a flyhalf who can attack with purpose.

The defection of Ruan Pienaar to Ireland is unfortunate, as is Butch James’s serious shoulder injury (James was supposed to start in Bloemfontein). These are two players who can lend the Boks some purpose from the pivot position. If Morne Steyn continues at 10, the Boks will perpetually fail to threaten an organised defence.

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

163 Comments

• 1.Edmond Dantes: Reply to this comment

Morne bashing JC? This blog to explode shortly.

• 2.crikey mate did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

it is a pity that you cant pick a team and one kicker that just come on to kick at poles, he will be perfect for that…

• 3.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@crikey mate did you see that shark(big g)-2: Maybe he should be at fullback??

• 4.crikey mate did you see that shark: Reply to this comment

could possible be yes…
    or maybe in the near future if this jantjies chap shapes up like he is at the moment, we may have a flyhalf that could do everything… and under carlos spencers hands you wont find a much better guy to learn from and grow your talent…
    i can just imagine a bok backline like this soon…
    15 lambie
    14 fourie
    13 jdv
    12 frans steyn
    11 mvovo
    10 jantjies
    9 hougaard
    i know theres a few positioanl changes but that could be so freeken exciting, then vermaak, de jong, habana as reserves

• 5.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@crikey mate did you see that shark(big g)-4: I assume you meand JDJ at 13 and not JDV? Don’t you thibk JDV is too slow to play 13? I do, personally.

• 6.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

The Boks have never had a flyhalf who can attack with purpose, and Morne did very well recently at 10 – once the forwards had shaped up a bit and the game plan had change.

If support for Francois Louw’s poor performances is always going to be based on the pack not fronting, then why isn’t this extended to the 10? Quade Cooper could do nothing in the second half on Saturday after SA started getting go forward – you can’t expect a 10 to perform with slow, rubbish ball.

South Africa’s attacking problems are the result of having two crash ball runners at 12 and 13 – when last did de Villiers throw a half decent pass? And also the result of forwards (Burger, Matfield, Smith etc.) always being in the backline. Give the ball to the players in space who should technically know what to do with it. Not to forwards who charge into the closest player, or throw double skip passes when you have a two man overlap.

• 7.danuk: Reply to this comment

I thought Morne played ok in the tests against Australia, you surely cannot blame him only for the lack of attacking penetration?

• 8.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-6: Jean does quite well to always get through or halfway through his channel and generally passes then or offloads, so dont think the crash as prevalent as you say?

I do agree they could run for space a bit more though!

• 9.danuk: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-6: exactly, good post

Our attack is so predictable that its a pattern by now

I just looked at the S14 highlights of the Stormers and Bulls again and they very often skipped the 1st channel and played much flatter than the boks

• 10.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-8: Since he has got back, there has been a lot of crash ball from him. He really appears to have regressed in terms of his attacking play. He played at 13 in Ireland for some of the games, and I wonder if this hasn’t contributed to him struggling a bit.

I just get so frustrated when good ball in space ends up in the hands of a stampkar forward. We had three or four overlaps on Saturday which were butchered by a forward either cutting back inside, no passing or throwing a skip pass when it should have gone through the hands.

• 11.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@danuk(danuk)-9: Playing deep really is a South African thing – even Jantjes – an attacking 10, plays very deep, or did on Saturday, when compared to Cooper, Carter, or Giteau, for example.

• 12.danuk: Reply to this comment

look at the 1st try of the Bulls against the Crusaders and JDJ’s try against the Waratahs from the S14 semis

• 13.danuk: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-11: I partially agree, we S14 teams had greater variety, where the Bulls played with big forwards running flat in a line as 1st phase and the stormers played a little deeper, ran straight but really moved the ball quickly wide

• 14.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@THEBokFan(bokfan1)-8: JDV has played reasonably well in the past two games but what about passing before he takes it up or tries to get through? that way the wings actually see the ball in space.

• 15.Zandberg Jansen: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-14: The problem is that JDV gets the ball to flat, what he is intending to do, is to break the line and off load in the tackle…..nearly worked!! JDV and JF just need some game together to get it right. No defence can stop that!

• 16.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Zandberg Jansen(Zandberg Jansen)-15: I know that’s what he’s intending to do, the issue is he does it almost every time and sometimes he dies with the ball, other times he has no support. A wide game (like Oz/NZ have) can never come to fruition if the ball never goes wide.

• 17.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-14: Yeah good point, he does need to vary his play a bit more

• 18.Zandberg Jansen: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-16: Yes its a problem….!!! Backline to flat, thats why JF is always running 10m side ways to gain 3 meters forward. The poor oaks are really trying!!

Played centre in my days (pet hates)
    1- Forwards in the backline
    2- Flyhalf taking the ball to flat
    3- Flyhalf ‘loving the ball to much’ or bostic
    4- Flyhalf kicking TO MUCHHHHHHHH – another SA sickness

These problems can easy be rectified…..

• 19.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The job of piercing the opponent’s defence falls primarily on the 12 and 13. As an occasional variation the 10, or even the 9, will have a rare snipe, but the principal line-breakers are always the midfielders. If a backline lacks penetration, it’s because the centres aren’t good enough to get the better of their opposite numbers.

Nonu and Smith can ghost through gaps or crash-bash with the best of them. The ageing De Villiers is now very limited; Fourie is far more skilled but tends to be too cocky and selfish to remember there’s actually a man on his outside who can easily outrun him. As for poor old One-Try Olivier…pfft! Move on.

The combo surely has to be De Jongh and Fourie.

• 20.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

And not a whisper of the Blunt Spies!

• 21.wpforever: Reply to this comment

19 Tackler,who would you field as a Springbok side….from 1 to 15 ?

• 22.diewareouboet: Reply to this comment

Most tries are still scored from quick turnover ball or as the AB’s and Aussies have done with great success against us attacking from the deep with lots of space.

Get players who can generate quick turnover ball and we will score more tries. Dream on if you think that any midfield can penetrate the AB defence in structured play.

• 23.wpforever: Reply to this comment

20 Horua Spies is not a number 8,if you wanna see classic 8th man play Robbie Diack is a better choice imho.

• 24.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@wpforever(wpforever)-23: Showpony, that Spies. They should bring Puke back!

• 25.Boo_Habana: Reply to this comment

As long as there is a Loftus & 1000000000000000′s of bulls supporters, puke won’t put a foot in SA .. banggat!

• 26.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@wpforever(wpforever)-23: I think the question is – is classic 8th man play now the standard required when the 2nd man to the breakdown is a ‘hybrid’ fetcher? I am not sure that under the current laws that a classic 8th man is the perfect fit. I see todays 8 as needing a bit more speed (possibly a bit less bulk to achieve this) and a few more of the 6/7 skills. The classic strong 8th man carry is still a part of the game, but they have an increased function at the breakdown which is critical.

• 27.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@Boo_Habana(suffer_guy)-25: Dont worry, the ANC will change Loftus to Tswane’s Rugby Kraal if BEES goes to jail…and it will be soon

• 28.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

Conditioning confirmed:

“The South African Rugby Union have confirmed that all the contracted Boks will undertake a conditioning programme for the next four weeks.

The schedule will see the players withdrawn from their Currie Cup squads until 6 October after what has been a disappointing Tri-Nations year.

All non-contracted Springboks are available immediately for their provinces. The arrangement has been made in consultation and with agreement with the players’ contracting provinces. The following contracted Springboks will undertake the conditioning programme:

Blue Bulls – Victor Matfield , Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha, Wynand Olivier, Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez and Pierre Spies
    The Sharks – John Smit, Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira, JP Pietersen and Adi Jacobs
    Western Province – Schalk Burger, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, Ricky Januarie and Andries Bekker
    Free State Cheetahs – Juan Smith, Heinrich Brüssow and CJ van der Linde

All players have been given a programme by the Bok conditioning and medical team and will follow this under the supervision of the Provincial conditioning teams and in consultation with Springbok management. The contracted players will report to Cape Town on 4 October for testing.

The contracted group will be available for the final round robin stage of Currie Cup matches as well as the play-offs.”

• 29.Boo_Habana: Reply to this comment

mighty .. lekker droom :-)

• 30.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

The Saffa press thrives on negative emotion.

I have not seen so many responses now that sa rugby is in the doldrums.

I remeber Keo pre 2007 we used to get over 1000 responses on a thread…all due to negative emotion.

we seem to be heading that way again.

A saffa hates negative emotion but cannot live without it in fact thrives on it.

• 31.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

“Wynand Olivier” :lol: He was brilliant this weekend! No need to recon

• 32.Boo_Habana: Reply to this comment

WO has been better than Habana the last 2 years .. habana, earl rose, jorrie muller = all the same

• 33.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-19: they haven’t really lacked penetration recently though, it’s just when they ‘penetrate’ they often mess it up by making the wrong choice or executing their pass/offload poorly.

• 34.rugby911: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.(wallabie.)-30: ouch!
    Unfortunately we do tend to feed on negativity, a by-product of all sorts of nasties, beginning with our history. You forget how young a nation we are!

• 35.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-10: Amen dude – I feel exactly the same sometimes about the stampkarre :)

• 36.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-27: Very good chance that Bees will walk. A top Metro police memeber apparently admitted that his cops bungled the drunk driving procedure because “they were so angry”. No proof thus that Bees’ arrest was lawful. The defence will have a field day as the private defence justification now comes into its own right. Not was he being robbed, he was kidnapped as well. Throw into the mix the onus of “beyond reasonable doubt” and Bees might be back in time for the 2011 Super 15 finals…

• 37.chucky: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-36: that would be shocking…every case in SA theres a possibility of walking. purely because procedures are not followed.not only by lawmakers but by coaches too

• 38.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Yetirat(Yetirat)-28: They can’t even get conditioning correct – why is Wynand Olivier on a conditioning programme? Same with Bakkies, Bismarck, CJ and Januarie.

All these guys need game time, not time trying to improve their bench pressing.

I hope Spies’ conditioning involves aggression training, and ball skills rather than more bench pressing and squats. That dude needs to do yoga or pilates to improve his body control and stability.

After that he needs to be stuck in one of those chairs in front of a screen with his eyes kept open by match sticks showing him bomb explosions, and nasty things to get him angry. Its about time the beast is unleashed.

• 39.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

“Picking Jean de Villiers on the wing in New Zealand limited the midfield’s attacking options” -

why is JdV such a darling on this site…

when he played on the wing the form no 12 center was picked at 12. jdv was not the best option at 12 at that time he is not now either…

it is no coincidence that some of the worst bok defensive performances were with him at inside centre.

he has lost speed and is definitely not an asset in the backline at the moment. of course many will say “look at his try” but then watch that match again and at most points where the aussies breached the backline you will see ole donkey de Villiers chugging to try and catch his man or not doing anything due to being wrong footed….

If anyone is a has been in this bok side it is Jdv. far better to reunite the best centre pairing in the s14 – jdj and Mossie or the wc 2007 centre pairing – steyn and Mossie.

Hell, i would far rather see a doppies at 12 for the boks than a donkey….

• 40.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

morne bashing?

what next?

hougaard and him were the only ones earning their pay this past weekend.

what next Peter Grant as bok flyhalf?

don’t be silly.

• 41.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Here is rugby365.com’s Currie Cup Team of the Week:

15 – Zane Kirchner (Blue Bulls):
    Looks hungry to win his Springbok jersey back, with some energetic running.
    Bubbling under: Hennie Daniller (Free State Cheetahs)

14 – Gerhard van den Heever (Blue Bulls):
    A strong and reliable finisher on the right wing, who must be selected on the Springboks end-of-year tour.
    Bubbling under: Odwa Ndungane (Sharks)

13 – Robert Ebersohn (Free State Cheetahs):
    The Sevens star is starting to find his feet in the fifteen-man game.
    Bubbling under: Stefan Terblanché (Sharks)

12 – Doppies la Grange (Lions):
    The game-breaker in midfield was at the heart of the Lions’ attack.
    Bubbling under: Paul Bosch (Western Province)

11 – Michael Killian (Lions):
    Tore the Province defence to shreds with his explosive running.
    Bubbling under: Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks)

10 – Elton Jantjies (Lions):
    Take a bow young man. Creative and fearless, this SA Under-20 star looks to have something special about him.
    Bubbling under: Jacques-Louis Potgieter (Blue Bulls)

9 – Jano Vermaak (Lions):
    The always in-your-face terrior-like scrumhalf is back to his best and just pips Sharks star Charl McLeod.
    Bubbling under: Charl McLeod (Sharks)

8 – Ashley Johnson (Free State Cheetahs):
    The powerhouse No.8 gave Griquas nightmares with his physical play.
    Bubbling under: Warren Whiteley (Lions)

7 – Willem Alberts (Sharks):
    The Sharks forward really took the Bull by the horns in his own combative style.
    Bubbling under: Joshua Strauss (Lions)

6 – Derick Minnie (Lions):
    Outshone Bok flank Francois Louw on Friday. He is flourishing in this young Lions team.
    Bubbling under: Jacques Botes (Sharks)

5 – Franco van der Merwe (Lions):
    The leader of the pack was as dependable as ever.
    Bubbling under: Waltie Vermeulen (Free State Cheetahs)

4 – Juandré Kruger (Blue Bulls):
    He has caught up to southern hemisphere pace and is, at last, showing why he received such rave reviews in the UK.
    Bubbling under: Francois Uys (Free State Cheetahs)

3 – Ross Geldenhuys (Lions):
    The best game we’ve seen from the young tighthead, who has beefed up the Lions front row.
    Bubbling under: Frik Kirsten (Blue Bulls)

2 – Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks):
    As strong and robust as ever, it always seems to take a handful of defenders to bring the big man down.
    Bubbling under: Adriaan Strauss (Free State Cheetahs)

1 – Jaco Engels (Blue Bulls):
    What an impact he made in the second half, with a dream try from the burly prop. His presence swayed the game in the Bulls’ favour – and then some!
    Bubbling under: Coenie Oosthuizen (Free State Cheetahs)

• 42.katman: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-36: You mean free range bees?

• 43.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-41: OMW 7 Lions in that team of the week. And we are only at the start of Mitch’s 3 year term.

Nice :cool:

• 44.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

11 – Michael Killian (Lions):
    Tore the Province defence to shreds with his explosive running.

:cool:

• 45.katman: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-44: And by some miscarriage of justice, Jaco Taute didn’t even make the team. Should have been 8.

• 46.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

10 – Elton Jantjies (Lions):
    Take a bow young man. Creative and fearless, this SA Under-20 star looks to have something special about him.
    Bubbling under: Jacques-Louis Potgieter (Blue Bulls)

Bubbling under is Burton who like Sir Elton is receiving one on one lessons from King Carlos

ROAR!

• 47.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@katman(katman)-45: yes, he has the x factor, exuberance of youth and what a travesty of justice :grin:

• 48.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

9 – Jano Vermaak (Lions):
    The always in-your-face terrior-like scrumhalf is back to his best and just pips Sharks star Charl McLeod.
    Bubbling under: Charl McLeod (Sharks)

our vice captain did more than pip McLeod, he schooled him.

• 49.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

Warren Whitley, Joshua Strauss you guys may have been just pipped – no worries you will make the dream team just keep going.

Roar

• 50.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

Roar..

• 51.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

6 – Derick Minnie (Lions):
    Outshone Bok flank Francois Louw on Friday. He is flourishing in this young Lions team.
    Bubbling under: Jacques Botes (Sharks)

folks read carefully – it says that he made Flo his biitch!

oh it is true.

• 52.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-51: Is it strange to be experiencing success again? Are you a little confused about how to handle it?

• 53.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Redlion, enjoy it, its been a long time coming.

• 54.posts: Reply to this comment

Oh for “Bookies Sake”, when the hell is it going to dawn on the gullible South Africans that it’s all about money and match fixing

• 55.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Trash Morne Steyn at your own peril my child.

Daniel Carter isint an attacking flyhalf either my son.

• 56.sparticus: Reply to this comment

So is PDV fired or not ? Just heard he his , whats the truth ?

• 57.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-56: He’s not White my son, so no, he will not be fired.

• 58.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@BlueBlood(BlueBlood)-55: Sorry but Dan Carter is 10 x more a attacking fkyhalf than Steyn. SA play our playmakers at 9 and 12 unlike NZ who controls the game from 10.

• 59.kwas: Reply to this comment

Has Bok management lost the plot (a bit like asking whether the Pope is catholic)? They are resting hopelessly out of form Boks like Habana and Ricky, as well as players that have not played in months like Bakkies, Jacobs (haven’t seen him play for so long I thought he might have retired), and Bismarck (only recently back from long term layoff).

Should these players not get match fit ahead of the EOYT? Players like Habana and Ricky should be playing in the CC to regain their confidence which must be rock bottom at the moment. Or do they simply rest for a few months and their form magically returns? Does that come with fairy dust?

• 60.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

Bismarck we were told needed game time. Now he is on the conditioning program that means no matches for a month!

Keohane you really have to understanding what you read – basically PDivvy said that Bismarck would be better off playing 80min of rugga against the Bully boys than by sitting on the bench and perhaps getting 20min of game time against the convicts – get it?

Now stop your spinning ways and fire up a thread explaining this reconditioning program the contracted players will be on – phone Ricky J and ask him if his program is similar to that of Guthro or similar to that of FDP – gime us details dammit I want to know about a day in the life of a player on this program.

• 61.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@BlueBlood(BlueBlood)-55: Carter has scored 12 test tries — a record for any AB number 10.

• 62.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@wpforever(wpforever)-21: I’m not into pretending to solve any teams woes by amateur selections. You don’t primarily select your way to victory — you COACH your way there.

If Graham Henry or Robbie Deans coached the Boks, they would win. If Peter de Villiers coached the All Blacks or Wallabies, they would lose. Even with the exact same players selected.

• 63.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-62: Hey Tackler – can you get a copy of that ‘internal’ report where Graham Henry and the NZRU lay the blame squarely at the door of Barnes – if you can please post it here so that we can all have a good laugh?

• 64.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Go PdV stuff these lily white palooka pricks and their ANC stooge politicos in the eye

They wanna straight jacket you and muzzle you and turn you into another one of their toothless meek little stooges, and you ain’t gonna be a meek little slaughter ready lamb for their braaivlei party.

The schmucks are all embarrassed because he’s his own man, they simply can’t handle any individuality, they so sh’t scared of anyone that don’t conform to the ravaging party political pack principles so now they wanna throw the book at him and bring him down.

If SA wanna win the world cup stick with this guy.

You wanna get bundled out the quarters or perhaps even the pools, go with Snakey Jakey Pumpernickle ponce eyed White.

• 65.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-64: PDV couldn’t even stuff a pillow into a pillowcase. He’s a simpleton.

• 66.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-63: I’ll get straight on to it right after I’ve found unicorn dung and ubuntu.

• 67.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-64: Dude, you’re desperate to turn this into a race thing – but it really isn’t. Last I heard, Hoskins isn’t white, and neither are the ANC palookas whose cornflakes P Divvy pissed in with his “off colour” Bees comments.

• 68.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-66:

Ubuntu? Don’t you mean uhuru?

• 69.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Tackler let me tell it to you straight

You want NZ to win the world cup you better hope like hell they sack PdV, because if PdV is SA coach at WC 2011 then Boks walk it, not even a single doubt concerning the outcome.

If they chicken out and sack the little dynamo then you stand a chance in taking your long awaited home based WC. If its White or Meyer or one these other staid conventional boring one dimensional twat @ssed palooka pr,ck white has been idiots, then NZ or Aus or France will likely take the honors.

If PdV is at the helm you can forget it. I’m telling you right here right now if PdV is at the helm of this Bok team at WC 2011 there isn’t another country gonna hold a candle to this team, you can bet your bottom dollar on it.

Under PdV Boks walk the 2011 WC, if its anyone else in charge, White/Jones, Meyer, Coetsee, Erasmus, then its open season for the rest of you.

• 70.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Its you dumb whitey palooka pr’ck schmucks that wanna turn it into a race thing, its been a race thing in your jaundiced jelly wobble eyes since day one when the coconut Hoskins declared it was for ‘non rugby reasons’ and you all lapped that up and swallowed it whole straight into your jaundiced disheveled delusional colonial consciousnesses. And you still eating and licking at that same lolly pop.

PdV is the man to take this Bok team to the WC, anyone else and its tickets, anyone still suffering under diabolical second rate delinquent incapacitated jelly wobble JW, HM @ssliocking delusions are like the proverbial two face cry baby panda paddling club.

PdV got more ballas inside those scrotum’s of his then the entire lot of ya’s put together, and he’s only 5’4″ in his socks.

• 71.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-69:

Skoppy, Div and his team scored 1/6 this year against the AB’s and Wallabies conceding a record number of tries in the process.

Now on what do you base your assumption that this same man can turn this around and “walk the 2011 WC” in about 12 months from now.

• 72.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-69: The Frogs are going to win Bill – they will choke the host nation in the group stages shattering their fragile mental facade and condemning them to 4MY’s.

• 73.hashi: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-69:
    Stop! Stop! Too funny!

You are right of course. NZ might as well not bother to turn up to the tourney. Hang on, where have I heard that recently?

Oh yeah, right before the Auckland test this year.

Looks like we ruined the Bokke party by turning up huh?

Twat.

• 74.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

anyway RL out …

• 75.hashi: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-74:
    anyway RL out … of his mind ;)

I mean….MITCHELL?

• 76.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

If SA want to win the WC they have to stick with PdV.

If they wanna lose then switch coaches now

Thats Hoskin’s and Stofile’s and Mark Keohane’s and all your choices.

You wanna win the World Cup PdV is the man

You wanna lose then find an excuse to boot him

But PdV is the only one with enough balls to take that stupid IRB manipulated rigamajig competition and wring its idiotic feeble neck.

The rest of these fancy pants dumb schmucks aint got the cahoonas for it including chicken yellow bellied poncified Mr. White who only enters such daunting tasks clutching the skirt trails of his bosom buddy in arms Eddy Jones.

Heyneke also got no clout, feeble and powerless just ask Leicester Tigers how much grit and guts he got

Not a patch on the little tiger PdV not even a dismal patch of his guts or even half.

• 77.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-70:

Lol, you are the only person who constantly mentions race in his posts and actually gets away with it. Even though personally, a lot of the things I actually find quite offensive.

Not really because of the observations, but more because of your sweeping generalisations about whiteys and colonialists that include every whitey in SA apart from you.

So what makes you so different?

• 78.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Snotskiet Yliad

Foul mouth “klongetjie”….. dis lekker in die Vlaktes ne !

• 79.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

you decide what makes me different Jocky

its simply because I don’t see race, same as PdV he don’t see it, its all these high handed rugby aficionado’s who class players and coaches and people and communities and classes and nations by way of race or skin color or language or elocution or pronunciation or what have you.

I see snot nosed attitudes, that I see thick and fast around here, and it all comes from one neck of the congregation

You do the math and the assessment, if you cannot see it then I guess either you totally blind or you truly are color blind. Though I got my doubts concerning that much.

• 80.whatever: Reply to this comment

oi Stephanie Rice………….go suck on a Jaguar you low life slag!

• 81.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-79: He doesn’t see race. Oh bless him, he really is too precious. He doesn’t see race; he just writes about it – ENDLESSLY. :roll:

• 82.Nils: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-76: OK, Boks do have a fair chance next year among some 4 or 5 other favourites but to “walk” it? especially after recent good snotting from NZ, Aus and probably upcoming canings up north?

Hey, Namibia will not be your only opponent. ;)

• 83.whatever: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-79:

You don’t see race?? cry me a river………then why do you feel it necessary to dis whites in your posts whenever you get the opportunity? Lying twat!

• 84.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Snotskiet Yliad sit neer jou tik pypie….come out of your sisters room !

• 85.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-79:

I appreciate your point and I understand it to a certain extent, but don’t you think that the time has come where PdV is being judged on his rugby and not his race?

The race issue was brought into the equation by the governement, and when it is used as a hiring criteria, do you really expect people not to complain when it goes wrong?

But now you are throwing everyone calling for PdV’s head in the same category, and generalising that they are all white and want his head for racial reasons.

It’s ludicrous Skop. I remember on here in 2006 when the tide started turning against JW, initially over the Luke Watson/Solly T debacle down under, not to mention the 49-0, the calls for his head were as loud as they are now for PdV’s.

But race was nothing to do with it then, so why should it be now? Well maybe one could argue that race was brought into the game through the hiring of PdV and it is a valid arguement in whether he is up to the job or not.

But you ignoring that, turning it around, and are using the opposite as an underhand tactic to bully others into submission when rugby reasons can’t be justified anymore.

And I simply don’t understand that because quite simply you have a depth of knowledge that would convince most people of your argument without the insults and ranting.

• 86.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Holy sh!tt, Scotland just scored in the 97th minute to make it 2-1 against Lichtenstein, after being 1-0 down.

Phew, and we’ve got Spain in our group, I dread to think what they are going to do to us :(

• 87.Nils: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-86: Looks like ref waited until they score, as there was supposed to be only 5 added mins. Poor Liechtensteinians.

• 88.cab: Reply to this comment

Spain down 3-0

• 89.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-87:

All the feeds I’m reading from my mates on Facebook are saying that Lichtenstein were time wasting like mad and making career ending tackles.

I guess 2-1 is all that counts now and we’re top of the group. I think this may change veryyyy soon as we go away to the Czechs next, then Spain at home.

• 90.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

PdV is getting judged, left right and center he’s getting judged, rawly, unfairly and overtly he’s getting judged.

By all means judge him, thats what he’s job entails, its the hottest seated job in the rugby world I reckon and in his case probably a whole lot hotter simply due to factors outside of rugby directly.

I saw snippet highlights of this last Aus-SA game in Bloem. Deans was almost as much under fire as PdV if he lost.

Smit made some strategic mistakes first half when we had them on the rack first stanzas we were well on top and let the wrench grip slip through taking 2 easy 22m penalty goals. We got caught with pants down by 4 scintillating back line tries through deft fast paced movement ala Robbie Deans prototype rugby. Hit at pace from the back they opened up our midfield and wide defenses through scything running lines and fast long range passing amongst back 3 and through the middle.

Then we came back at them, their own resolve started flagging. We would have won it for two situations.

Retreating back into our safety first comfort zone pockets once we were 4 points up we allowed them back in through the Mitchell try by taking foot off the gas. Then we went into lead again through 77th minute penalty and thought we could pop it up and hold it in forwards while retreating back into our half and conceding that 80th minute Beales penalty which sealed it.

Now you can blame PdV for the losses by all means its his team his captain and his hed on the line, but Boks put in three almighty performances at Soccer City and Loftus and Bloem, latter two both coming back from the dead, once to seal the win and other time to be pipped at the 80th minute post. Soccer City was about conditioning for the full 80, they ran us ragged last 20 min and last 3 min we folded.

In a competition such as this the diffs between success and failure are those couple inches at the death, we came short, but the lessons got learned. Same as in 06, lessons eventually got learned, in fact they only got learned in 07 after the 3N when White realized he was clueless alone and drafted in Jones to give him some variety to his one dimensionality.

This time we don’t need Jones, we know what we about.

PdV can take this Bok team to WC and be successful better than all the other palookas, and whats more he got far more fighting spirit never say die attitude. If it were White 31-6 down no way in hell would he have come back second half, would have been another 49-0 or close to that affair. PdV’s team dug deep and almost pulled it off, with warts and all we almost nailed Deans’ Aussies from behind twice.

I say PdV is the guy for the task in NZ, you wanna win go with him

You wanna compete and get even Stevens maybe another lucky packet draw, go with White or Jones or Meyer or whoever or what have you.

• 91.playedinheaven: Reply to this comment

It’s harsh to be critical of Morne’s attack. He is obviously missing FdPreez making the key attcking decisions or a competent 12 calling the shots. Playing outside FdP at bulls/boks he usually has to only worry about playing his own game whilst the 9 is the key decision maker, now with an inexperienced 9 and a lack of tactical direction at 12 he is carrying alot on his shoulders.

What cannot be argued is his goal kicking. Test matches and world cups esp are won with goal nerveless goalkicking (wilkinson 03, monty 07, Jenkins Lions97, Morne Lions 09…) The wallabies have lost a few games this year alone because they don’t have a competent goal kicker. The boks would be foolish to drop Morne for this reason alone!

• 92.cab: Reply to this comment

Don’t matter who they pick, the players that are coming thru combined with the resting of the seniors will ensure the Boks going to very difficult to beat.

White is not needed, he can take his ambulance somewhere else, this bok side going to be very compeitice come RWC 2011

• 93.Nils: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-89: Ok, then I stand corrected and you are right.

• 94.cab: Reply to this comment

If boks pick the right team and players fit and rested – they going to be right up there as favourites

would be nice if boks can develop a young mobile Aggressive 3 but otherwise the boks have very few weaknesses.

Habana had a fee shockers but he’s pure class and just needs to get his head right, these boys will have all the experience going into 2011.

• 95.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

PdV got more self belief in his baby toe than White in his whole body. (Thats why White will never go this thing alone, he’ll always tie himself into a two way Maurice and Maud partnership with Eddy Van der Jones). De Villiers will do this thing solo if he has to, he got enough gumption deep inside his gut to know he can take it to the toffee noses just as good as anyone else, long as he got the buy in from his players, which i reckon he’s got.

PdV is a street smart little fighter, these other handy fancy shoe shuffle maneuvering dancers are not nearly as tough as this guy.

the problem is Hoskins can’t tame him, he’s a wild cat that aint gonna be tamed, and ANC getting all embarrassed because he shoots from the hip so fast nobody knows when his left jab gonna smack them square in the jaw.

But he knows his rugby all right and he knows his players.

And whats better is by now players know him, and deep down most of them I reckon respect him and ready to die for him. Let them bring White back and they lose all that fire, it goes out the window or down the toilet.

Let them bring a fancy pants silver smooth talking clever d’ck ponce like White back in and these player aint gonna wanna know nothing from that tame hero worship sh’t twice.

I betcha.

• 96.cab: Reply to this comment

1. Gurthro Beast
    2. Bismarck Smit
    3. BJ CJ
    4. Bakkies Flip
    5. Bekker Matfield
    6. Brussow Potgieter
    7. Juan Rossouw
    8. Burger Spies

9. Hougaardt FdP
    10. Morne Pienaar
    11. Habana
    12. De Jong JdV
    13. JF
    14. JP
    15. Frans

Players like viljoen, basson mapoe, mvovu, elton jantjies, lambie, van den heever all might stake a claim over next year
    plenty young forwards coming through to, would like to see willem alberts, vermeluen, deysel wp nel, Kruger all thereabouts too

• 97.cab: Reply to this comment

Might as well give the Bokke the trophy now

• 98.rugby911: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-95: A rousing speech skop, and I agree about the fighting spirit and street-smarts. But in the real world you also need kop smarts and strategy – PdV has made me feel he has just about lost his grip on the men. Maybe he needs a break.

• 99.whatever: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-95:

blah blah blah……….. hot air out of a brain dead sewer!

• 100.whatever: Reply to this comment

“I say PdV is the guy for the task in NZ, you wanna win go with him”

hahahha……. with this clown he won’t even know where to buy a lucky packet, never mind win………

• 101.dquinn25: Reply to this comment

Straelis Boks scored 13 tries in 4 games in 2003, tries scored are irrelevent when the defence is so weak, the defence has gone to pot in the last 2 years, the truth is it was **** last year as well

One good thing i would take from the games is the character they showed to comes back especially from 25 points down, that takes some going, but the way they have gifted so many tries is worrying, lets be honest how hard did the opposition have to try to get any of those 22 tries?

Im pretty sure in Mallets first 2 years they barely conceded that amount

• 102.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

yeah whatever just like you second rate chicken runners who got no balls, PdV will smack you poncified prats from here to eternity

sometimes I actually hope you get your wish, get your second rate Judas Jake and Judas Jones to come do a coup de etat conniver take over and see exactly where it gets you and where we land up

Jake and Jones get this team its tickets I’m telling you straight out, klaar gelag. I actually hope this schmoozer Hoskins chickens out and bales out the back door and sidles up to his old arch enemy and does a backhand little dark alley deal with the impostor.

Then you schmucks will get your just deserts.

If SA rugby want to compete with dignity at WC 2011 then they must go for it with De Villiers

If they wanna chicken out and compromise and take second best safety first options which is how they always wanna do it over here, then pick that two timing second grade underhanded toffee apple sweet talk garbage songster and do another merry little waltz down the aisle hand in hand with his better half in toe.

• 103.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-100:

“its simply because I don’t see race”

This must be one of the funniest posting ever on keo…I think we should change the “dragon” first post to the above sentence to give it its rightlfull place in history…?

• 104.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Its always these second grade double standard two timing chicken runners like whatever or sjambok or you name them ex saffatjies that are up this schmucks A-hole like bees in a hive, birds of a f’ng feather this lot, one colonialist double take back stabber just as good as the next

Chicken cowards run for cover, duck and dive till the cows come home, behind each others backs, JW got EJ covering for him cos he knows he got zero cred where it actually counts, now the shady two timer wanna come make hay under someone else’s sunshine when he got saved by the balls by Hoskins once, he wanna come do it again. Come call up his old debt with Saru and pretend he’s the great messiah one more time.

The dudes f’ng despicable and these dumb second rate chicken running ex saffatjies up his naught like bees to honey, no wonder they reckon he’s made from Swiss cheese, he’s just like them.

• 105.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

1. New Zealand 94.29
    2. Australia 86.04
    3. South Africa 85.22

When De Villiers took over in January 2008 the Boks were ranked No 1, with 90.81 points.

Exactly how much dignity is there in dropping down the rankings? The worst you can do is nothing and leaving PDivvy in charge is doing NOTHING!!!

• 106.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Jy moet die dokter gaan sien oor jou slaaploosheid, pille kan jou net so ver bring!

• 107.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

you see race Koos, which race you see chummy chum chum?

you see or smell the blood of an Inglish mon?

Yeah you wouldn’t know it till you walk in another mans shoes would you, its cos you feeble take cowardly European natives reckon you so sh’t hot superior the world is your oyster

It ain’t Mr. thats right, less you haven’t worked it out yet, your race ain’t superior to none other, get that through that thick Caucasian bone head and then you might realize that race is in fact a misnomer, a non event, a figment of your dumb deluded self righteous infatuation with your kith and kin to the tune where white ain’t right its left. And neither is black, or brown or yellow or pink or blue bottled jelly wobble insignificant pygmy canary colored Eskimo’s in Iceland.

Dumb schmuck idiots.

• 108.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Whites Boks were ranked 4th on IRB world rankings on 8th Sept. 2007 when WC 2007 started

We emerged at No.1 6 weeks later Oct 20th as a result of defeating the following nations

Samoa 12th, England 7th, Tonga 14th, USA 16th, Fiji 13th, Argentina 6th, England 7th.

Meanwhile just a few months prior to the fiction rated world rating competition, we had once again lost to NZ and Aus successively over the previous 2 years to the tune of 7 defeats and 3 wins which is why we found ourselves ranked 4th going into that lucky packet day dream fairy tale WC shindig.

You still don’t get it at all, your eyes are simply widely shut. Forever, to eternity.

Poor fools.

• 109.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

World ratings are based on week-in,week-out, year-in-year-out consistency.

Knock-out tournaments are based on just having the lucky breaks on one or two days.

• 110.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

slaap tyd

trap sag in die woestyn, die miere luister en **** jou trappe lank voor jy nader kom.

alles van die beste… aan almal.

• 111.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

**** is glad nie n vloek woord, of dog het ek so gedink tevore.

• 112.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Assumption is the mother of all f-ups skop, so on that basis I will ignore all the **** you assume about me.

But please do me a favour and explain why a person who see no race (his words), will use a public forum to talk about it in almost every single post (of numerous posts that is) to talk about it?

Who said anyhting about JW? My post refer to the fact that the Boks were #1 when PDivvie took over and has now dropped to #3. If you accept that then I am glad you will never build anything for me…3rd rated and all!

• 113.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

die site reken dit is so ek sal weer probeer try

ho@r as in h’or, as in luister, is glad nie n vloek woord, miskien moet iemand die webmeester die verskil leer tussen n meisie van die nag en die wat ons doen as ons luister na die musiek van die sfere, ons h0-er nie, ons h0-or.

• 114.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Boks weren’t 1 for long, they lost to Baa Baas under Jake and Eddy then dropped to their familiar spot 2nd or 3rd either behind NZ or NZ and Aus in 08, same as they did when they went from 5th under Streauli to 1 in 04-05, then down again to 4th under Jake and the WC 07 resurrected their status back to 1 again temporarily as per usual.

P Div also went from 1 to 2 down to 3 back up to 1 again in 09 and down to 3 again now, maybe to go back up again if we strike another lucky packet WC draw just like last time, or even better we might earn it authentically this time by beating proper higher ranked opponents than we did before when they were all ranked below 6th and all and all.

As far as race is concerned like I said already its actually a misnomer, a figment of everyone’s imagination, only their imagination is so rife they reckon one particular color skin for some stupefied rhyme or reason denotes more intelligence or class or brain capacity or superiority in one dumb form or another compared to some other color skin.

Yeah its stupid I know so, but do anyone else think how stupid it actually is, I seriously do wonder?

• 115.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

nag alweer, die keer is dit rerig so, moet bietjie oe toeknyp anderstens is ek vaag in n paar ure se tyd.

• 116.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

But that is where you miss the boat and ASSUME (yes, we back at that!) that people classify races along colour lines alone.

Race classification is done based on various factors such as culture, language, social practice OR heritable characteristics.

See, only one reference to what may lead to classification according to skin colour.

At the end of the day we all belong to the species “**** sapiens sapiens but if you imply that means we all the same race, then you live in a dream world. We are not the same and using the criteria above we are divided into different races.

Being divided into different races is natural and not wrong. Where it does go pear shaped and where racism rears its ugly head is when certain races believe themselves to be superior to others.

You telling me every person who classify himself or herself as a specific race automatically qualify that person as racist, how can that be?

• 117.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Aarg!!! **** = H0m0…kan die mense by keo nie h0or nie?

• 118.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@BlueBlood(BlueBlood)-55:
    Your name says it all.
    Lets hope you dont believe in your post cos it shows you know nothing about rugby.

• 119.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-63:
    There isnt a copy around.
    You can find the NZRU report but GH did not blame Barnes. I have posted it all ready,google it yourself if you are so interested

• 120.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-119:

Hehe Harrycane, how many errors did he point out though? Was it 33 or 53?

• 121.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-120:
    Dont know,you tell the me and show me

• 122.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Ok, only 17 errors then.

AB coaches call foul on Barnes

PlanetRugby, Thursday 15th November 2007

All Black coach Graham Henry and his assistants Steve Hansen and Wayne Smith have laid the blame for the side’s World Cup quarter-final defeat at the door of English referee Wayne Barnes.

According to the New Zealand Herald, Henry and his assistants produced video evidence of Barnes’s blunders in a performance review held behind closed doors at the New Zealand Rugby Union headquarters.

This is the first time that the coaching trio have publicly aired their discontent with Barnes’ refereeing in the All Black’s 18-20 loss to France. They previously maintained a diplomatic silence on the issue.

The coaches pointed out that Barnes and his assistants had ‘missed’ 17 errors made by the French team in the second half of the game.

France were not penalised once in the second half.

Henry and his assistants also pointed out that the yellow card awarded to inside centre Luke McAlister had cost them a try, as had a missed call on a clear forward pass.

It was also revealed that Barnes’s refereeing had been the main part of the coaches’ defence in their drive to hold on to their jobs.

The failure of the All Blacks to attempt a potentially match-winning drop goal in the dying minutes of the game was explained away by the coaches. The side opted to play for a penalty which failed to materialise.

The NZRU review committee will now present to the entire board on Friday all of its findings, which are likely to decide the fate of Henry and his assistants.

This is not the first time that Barnes’s refereeing has been questioned by New Zealanders.

• 123.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

But I get it, it was behind closed doors so it does not count.

• 124.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-123: certainly wasnt a “declaration of war” via media, or the hint of cullusion and conspiracy when mentioning “better they won because seats need being filled for a tournament the following year” via media..

:oops:

• 125.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-123:

Ja well no fine :)

klink vir my dat n whinge is n whinge is n whinge!!

• 126.whatever: Reply to this comment

“If SA rugby want to compete with dignity at WC 2011 then they must go for it with De Villiers” – skopdoos

Another pearl of wisdom…….dignity…….????? Geez with Hellium there is vokall chance of that…

• 127.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-124:

And where did I say it was the same? I was only replying to Hurri who said it never happened at all.

• 128.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-126:

Los die man, hy het my lekker laat lag vanoggend!

• 129.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-128:

Yeah, I see that……. he has been on true skopdoos form :)

• 130.richw: Reply to this comment

@RedLion is born again(RL)-63:

Wow, talk about off topic….

Or is this a concealed jibe at how PDV blames Bok loses on, McCaw, travel, ‘lack of tutu’s', weather, astrological alignment or the Ref’s for picking up on the foul play and binning a Bok?

At least Henry learnt from past mistakes, PDV still hasn’t learnt to keep his mouth shut on camera yet.

It’s damned embarrassing that the media are more interested in what bizarre headline PDV will provide rather than rugby information.

If PDV holds his job, Henry and Deans will be quietly smiling their way to the RWC.

• 131.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Guess who said all this…

“Goodness man! Get yourself a spokesperson!”

“Even I don’t always understand what he says.”

“The entire organisation’s name is being dragged through the mud. It’s unacceptable.”

“We don’t like losing and are hard and unforgiving when it comes to rugby.”

One of the reasons for the team’s poor performances is that they play “too much rugby”.

“It’s not good for the body. We should not be tempted by money to the point that we are not prepared to rest our bodies.

• 132.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-131:

eeeerrrrr ? :)

• 133.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-132:

Take a wild guess…unless you know, then don’t spoil the fun! ;-)

• 134.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

115. skopskiet(yliad) ****

• 135.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

124. poppa69(poppa69) **** too

• 136.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Pdiddy Devilliers???

• 137.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-135:

1 from 6

has them apples kevin?

• 138.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

“has them apples…” say what? :roll:

• 139.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-138: hows them apples, typo :D

• 140.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-139:

huh?

• 141.whatever: Reply to this comment

“1 from 6″………sounds like a WC record to me?

• 142.whatever: Reply to this comment

sorry, forgot the faarken smiley :lol:

• 143.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-141: take a closer look, thats the World Chumpions record in their last 6 games… really making a mockery of that title huh?

• 144.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-143:

Same can be said about WC titles you faarken smart arse Twat!

• 145.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-139:

It pays to take a little extra time when you want to wind someone up, making a mistake like that takes all the wind out of it and makes you look silly. Horua did the same yesterday…

• 146.whatever: Reply to this comment

1 from 6 yup, that would be right……….

• 147.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-143: forgot my faarken smilie :D

• 148.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Poppa, while you here, maybe you can help me out. I have been contemplating it a lot lately but for the life of me can’t decide which is worse is it…

a) A whining Kiwi or;

b) A gloating Kiwi?

What do you think?

• 149.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-148: undoubtedly a conspiracy believing Saffa… they whinge more then the collective of NZ..

but im sorry you cant recognise that fact..

• 150.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-149:

I think you are going to extreme lenghts not to answer my question, all you had to say is that you don’t know. Instead you prefer to go down the generalisation route yet again. Pity that…

PS. Feel free to show me a single post where I gave the slightest hint of believing in any conspiracy. But don’t worry, there is no rush as you have time until the AB actaully win a World Cup….

• 151.richw: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-149:

To be fair Poppa69, Saffa do take a top down approach to whining, it starts at SARU, then the coach, etc etc!

Don’t see any whining coming out of NZRU or ARU or their coaching staffs?

• 152.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@richw(richw)-151:

Oh it happens Rich but I must admit the current crop at the ‘head’ has set the bar very high…

• 153.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-150: and your questions werent generalisations? hehe the ole holier then thou attitude is not becoming of a Saffa… at all..

what should be of a more pressing concern for you is the fact that you guys led a 14 man Aussie into the last ten minutes of the match and proceeded to lose…

yet still many proclaim here you guys have won next years title..

as for gloating, the amount between last years 3Ns and this years was endemic, just helping most swallow that very large humble pie theyve had shoved in their mouths..

• 154.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-153:

Still avoiding to answer the question I see? Where did I suggest all Kiwis fall into those two categories? Feel free to correct me if it is indeed the case but I was merely asking which one of the two groups you think is the worst.

If you paid any attention between your normal repetition of posts you would have noted I have had a lot to say about the current issues with the Boks. If you came here to talk Rugby you would have been able to join in the conversation but alas…

By the way, is the caps lock key on your computer broken by any change?

• 155.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-153:

You have turned from being a pretty reasonable bloke to a smart arse faarken kn ob end. One swallow does not make a season. We had a cr ap season this season, you had one last year. Some on this site gloated like walleys, some did not.

You unfortunately appear to have won the WC after the first game at Eden park and have been gloating ad nauseum.

I foresee a lot of tears next year……..

• 156.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-155:

Very true whatever, I can remember we had some lank conversations with the bloke when he first arrived on the blog.

• 157.iceman: Reply to this comment

The Boks will no doubt be better next season just with returning of Fourie Du Preez, Heindrich Brussouw, Bismarck Du Plessis and Bakkies Botha.

However, if we can get a half decent coach or two and give all a senior plays a good rest period we will even be stronger and will offer a very much improved performance next season.

• 158.garth: Reply to this comment

The **** performance will hopefully be the catalyst to get rid of the pathetic coaches.
    PDV is a twat and out of his league. The WP pack was nonsense under Gold. The Lions were rubbish under Muir.

• 159.Transformation: Reply to this comment

to think we’re still faffing around with a carthorse like francois steyn, with no attacking ability, no pace and an errant boot…

Israel Dagg eyes No15 jersey

By DAVID LONG – Sunday News
    Israel Dagg has his eyes on a starting spot
    for the All Blacks at the World Cup.

Dagg has had a tremendous start for the All
    Blacks, which culminated in a sensational
    match-winning try against the Springboks
    in Soweto a fortnight ago.

But rather than bide his time at fullback as
    the back-up to Mils Muliaina, Dagg wants to
    push ahead of the veteran Chiefs captain and grab the No 15 jersey.

“I’d love to be starting [at the World Cup],”
    Dagg told Sunday News.

“I’d love to be playing but at the moment
    I’m not. Mils is in there and playing some
    top rugby so I’m just watching the master
    in action and learning from what he does.

“Mils is playing some great rugby and he’s
    one of the standout players in the team. It’s
    a learning curve for me and I’m just waiting
    for that opportunity, and when it comes I’ll
    make the most of it.”

Despite Dagg being hungry for Muliaina’s
    jersey, there is no animosity between the
    two players.

Muliaina has had to fend of a number of
    challengers for his spot in the starting team
    since making his All Blacks debut against
    England in Wellington in 2003.

Of all those who have been chasing his
    jersey, he says Dagg has impressed him the
    most.

“When you see a player come in for the first
    time, they’re all shy and things like that,” he
    said.

“But how they develop and take things in
    their stride is really up to them, and I’ve
    seen Israel do that the best.

“He really wants to learn but you can learn
    things then not go out there and express
    yourself.

“His biggest asset is that he’ll go out there
    and apply those things he’s learnt.

“He’s definitely a guy who’s going to be in
    this environment for a very long time and
    he’s someone who’s keeping me on my
    toes.”

Dagg and Zac Guildford are often seen as a
    pairing.
    They came through the scene at Hawke’s
    Bay at the same time and they’ll both be
    playing for the Crusaders in next year’s
    Super 15. But in the All Blacks their careers
    have been poles apart.

Guildford was in the team last year, while
    Dagg missed out.

This season the tables turned, with Dagg in
    and Guildford playing provincial rugby.

“You want one of your good mates in the
    team but things don’t always turn out like
    that,” Dagg said.

“I’m sure he’s working hard on his game to
    get back in the team for the end-of-year
    tour.

“He’ll be working hard for Hawke’s Bay and
    will want to increase his chances of getting
    back in here.

“It’s the same with me. I’ve got to prove
    myself, train well and, if I get the
    opportunity, play well so I can stay in the
    team and not just be a one-tour man.”

• 160.husky: Reply to this comment

I don’t mind the Kiwi’s gloating, but pretty childish on an SA “rugby” site. The AB’s are the Greg Norman’s of rugby but in spades. Making women happy; leading all the way and still coming second.

Now Snottie. I have to admire your blind, race based support of PdV and blaming everyone (mostly Smit & Matfield) except him for the Bok woes. But why don’t you be realistic. Admit his weaknesses (he definitely has them) and suggest how they can be fixed. My view is that he shouldn’t be fired. Accept that just maybe merit wasn’t the only criteria for his selection (Hoskins said so). Then support the poor bugger with a decent bank of well qualified specialists, talent developers, administrators and officials. Muir and Gold have their places but they are not able enough to do it all.

Don’t be a blinkered twit and keep proving how right Mallett was when he said SA rugby fans were stupid.

• 161.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@wpforever(wpforever)-21:

Non of the south african players!!

• 162.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-159:

Until he proves he is as good under the garryowen as he is at beating the man with ball-in-hand, then he should forget about the Test no15 jersey.

• 163.lapoftherugbygods: Reply to this comment

@husky(husky)-160: not sure how played 15 3N tournaments played, won 10 makes the ABs the Greg Normans of Rugby Union.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.