Boks latest – Spies to tackle Poms
23 Nov 2010
Keo.co.za brings you the latest from the Springboks’ end-of-year tour.
Spies to tackle Poms – Pierre Spies will start at No 8 this Saturday while Ryan Kankowski has dropped out of the Boks’ match 22. Ruan Pienaar is the only other change, starting in place of Francois Hougaard at scrumhalf.
Coach Peter de Villiers said wholesale changes would adversely effect the Boks’ synergy as a unit. He said the conditions also factored into the selections at halfback. More inclement weather is expected and De Villiers believes Morne Steyn is the right kind of flyhalf for the occasion.
‘It is always tempting [to start Pat Lambie] but it would be stupid in those conditions,’ he said.
‘A win here would boost our hopes and this is the last time this side will be together before the World Cup. We want to put a marker down and then go and enjoy Christmas.’
Springboks -15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Frans Steyn, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 Adi Jacobs.
England scrum ‘best in the world’ – Peter de Villiers says the Boks are wary of the England scrum, a unit he believes has no equal in world rugby.
‘England has the best scrum in the world, and they’ve annihilated every team they’ve played against in this department,’ he said. ‘It is worrying that they are starting to gel together as a unit. We depend on our first-phase to launch our attacks and stuff, so it’s going to be a challenge.’
Both De Villiers and captain Victor Matfield highlighted the threat of the English at the collisions.
‘They’re hard on the ball when it comes to defence, and on attack, they make a lot of metres,’ said De Villiers. ‘They’ll look to their loosies to provide them with momentum, as well as their No 13. Mike Tindall is a hard nut.’
Matfield added: ‘It’s important that we don’t let them get that momentum. We’ll take some lessons from the Scotland game. We need to believe in what we’re doing and keep the ball in the strike zone. We gave the ball away too many times last week.’
Boks risk rankings plummet – A loss to England this weekend could see the Springboks drop as low as fifth in the IRB world rankings. Last week’s defeat to Scotland saw them drop to third, with Australia moving into second place. As a result of the big win, Scotland moved up from eighth to sixth.
Should the Boks lose to England by any margin this Saturday, and should France thump Australia by 15 points, the Boks will finish the 2010 season in fifth position. England are currently in fourth place, while France are not far behind in fifth.
England call for reinforcements – Martin Johnson has added Anthony Allen, James Simpson Daniel and Chris Robshaw to the England squad as injury cover. Allen and Simpson-Daniel replace centres Riki Flutey (calf) and Dominic Waldouck (posterolateral disc bulge). Robshaw is cover for flank Joe Worsley, who has a cheek injury.
Boks welcome doping tests – The Springbok medical staff is confident that the six players tested for banned stimulants after the Scotland Test will be cleared. ‘We welcome it,’ said team doctor Craig Roberts. ‘It takes a week to eight days to get a result and given the precautions we have taken since early last week [when Chiliboy Ralepelle and Bjorn Basson tested positive and were banned] we have no reason to be worried.’
Roberts confirmed that the Boks have been taken off all supplements, vitamins and minerals that are not on the “safe list” as prescribed by WADA (World Anti Doping Association). There is still no clarification on what substance caused Ralepelle and Basson to test positive for the banned stimulant.
No fear of Twickers – Twickenham is not the fortress it once was, with South Africa winning on their last two visits to the English stronghold. The last match played by the Springboks at this venue in 2008 resulted in a 42-6 triumph for the visitors, and the Boks will take confidence from that showing as they prepare for a must-win Test this week.
‘It was a good performance and it was a great day for us as a team,’ said scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar. ‘Yes, Twickenham is a place where I feel confident, we did well there last time, and I am looking forward to playing there again.
‘We didn’t have a good day against Scotland, but need to look to the future, the lows are part of the game and you have to recover from them and just get on with it. We know we have a massive Test on Saturday, and there is a lot of hard work to do before the game. But we know that we need the win to boost our confidence ahead of what is going to be a tough season next year.’
Lock Bakkies Botha added that it’s vital that the Boks finish their tour on a strong note.
‘It’s definitely a good place for us to be finishing a tour like this as it is always special to play at Twickenham,’ he said. ‘They are hard and physical opponents and as I have said before I get goose-bumps when I think about the physical challenges of the game. We didn’t do well against Scotland, but it doesn’t help us to focus on negative energy. Today is a new day and this is a new week for us.’
Boks to take positive from massive negative – The Springboks say they will use the disappointment of losing to Scotland as motivation for the next game against England. Scrum coach Os du Randt said the Scots showed how a big defeat (the 49-3 loss to the All Blacks) can be overturned in the space of a week.
‘Scotland felt really hurt after losing by such a big score to the All Blacks, but they came back and used that hurt positively and it motivated them to get up and beat us last week. We can do the same against England and we are looking to do what they did by letting the hurt work for us,’ said Du Randt.
The former Bok prop said although the chances of winning the Grand Slam have diminished, there is still plenty to play for.
‘We are using the hurt as a base to build something on, as something that will help us build towards next year and the World Cup.
‘England have definitely improved a lot, and their scrum remains one of their strong points. They also play well to the new laws. We know we are in for a really tough game on Saturday, but it is up to us to prevent them from playing the game they want to play.’

539 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] Show All
24 Nov 2010, 00:35 am
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1) : ooooh come in to save your countryman have you..
my rants have been nothing compared to the vitriole spewed forth here by all and sundry last year..
so suck it up baby
the fact JL1 could state what he does about SCOTLAND after you guys LOST to them really is farkin hilarious..
another Saffa who cant see the wood from the trees huh?
24 Nov 2010, 00:36 am
@poppa69(poppa69) :
Lol, I know what you are saying and maybe it looks like it from the outside. But I live there and it’s a bit less straight forward than that.
It is frustration beyond belief for the average Springbok supporter. I actually do think they also have the players and are every bit as good as the ABs on their day. But the shiit they have to put up with in SA, stuff you don’t see, you’ve no idea. But it’s in the papers every day, it’s interfering on an unprecedented level.
So I actually think that the Boks are not playing on a level playing field and have not been for a few years. Man I’m fed up with it and it doesn’t really affect me. But it is just unfair a lot of times.
Not trying to be a doos here, just trying to keep it real.
24 Nov 2010, 00:38 am
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1) : speaking of talking sense drop kick, so NZ WILL choke next year ???
bwahahahahaha trying to sound all righteous and intelligent then claiming an event will happen NEXT YEAR..
I know who really lacks credibility…
So they lost because they were poorly coached, still doesnt give someone the right to say that SCOTLAND dont have 22 decent players, they must have to beat your very plain and extra-ordinary Bok side…
bwahahahaha nothing worse then a Saffa whose got the obstinacy to back up the arrogance…
24 Nov 2010, 00:42 am
Night folks. Play nice now y’hear!!!
24 Nov 2010, 00:45 am
@poppa69(poppa69) :
Yep as I suspected, was looking forward to a reply with a smidgen of intelligence & you come back with …… I don’t know what. You’re a child, shouldn’t your mom have tucked you into bed yet?!
Jockbok is spot on with his comments, but then like all of the Scottish supporters after the game they were very gracious and all class. As for you and your ilk, you couldn’t find class if you tripped over it. Now run along chump you’re getting more and more boring and predictible
As for the AB’s next year, unlike you I don’t have a crystal ball. But by the law of averages and based on that delicate psyche you Kiwi’s carry around there is more than a fair chance it will happen. And don’t come here looking for sympathy afterwards after all the vile you have spouted on this site, rather go find the nearest bridge like the rest of your supporters, you are the suicide World Champs afterall
24 Nov 2010, 00:50 am
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1) : bwahahahaha
your the one who came with insults..
so tell me, your team lost to Scotland and JL1 says that Scotland dont have any decent players????
how does he make this assumption? -please explain? because logically, they must be alright to beat the World Chumps dont you think?
as for you, your the boring one, why do you not see the point that Jock made is the one I nmade first… the fact JL1 discredits a team his side just lost too? or dont you want to answer that simple truth I was pointing out? of ourse not, youll sling the whole Chokers tag becauseits the last effort of a desperate man… what o9ther stat do you have to “get one up” on us kiwis?
so continue with your childish insults, it proves the old adage about Saffas and the bully mentality..
what next, you going to call me a sheepshagger or a wife beater?
how utterly predictable and uninspired, m uch like your national Rugby Union side..
bwahahahaha losers…
24 Nov 2010, 00:54 am
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1) : suicide rate compared to murder rate?
how many people were MURDERED in SA last year ?
24 Nov 2010, 00:56 am
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1) : as I said farkwit, the amount of k@k thrown at us kiwis last year far outweighs anything Ive handed back… but continue with your ignorance…
mamparra!!
24 Nov 2010, 01:00 am
@poppa69(poppa69) :
Yet again you come back with drivel – you keep picking out 2 or 3 posters to base your entire views on SA rugby, it’s players & it’s supporters. Why don’t you piss off back to a kiwi site if it’s all too much for you, or are they as bored of your cr*p as the rest of us.
I don’t base my entire opinion of Kiwi’s based on you or your bleatings – if I did I would be steering weel clear of all of them. You quote what other posters have said – do I need remind you of your postings after your beloved AB’s got whipped last year?
Racist, insulting, abusive, whinging, and crying for post after post. Yet you have the cheek to criticise everyone if they don’t match up to your lofty standard on dealing with defeat. Just as well your boys are on a big winning streak, you’d be bitter and twisted beyond belief.
You’re a complete hypocryte, and a f*cking boring one at that. I’m off to bed, you should get back to your Dan Carter poster before your mom turns the lights out
Oh and you mentioned sheep idiot, not me. Night all, I’d rather watch kak on TV than read anymore of this chumps drivel
24 Nov 2010, 01:02 am
@poppa69(poppa69) :
Don’t know how many were murdered, do you? ever been to SA? Why are you so obsessed with us, it’s almost flattering but more on the disturbed side. You have any mental issues we should be aware of – I mean any more on top of the ones we witness through your moronic posting everyday
24 Nov 2010, 01:05 am
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1) : bwahahahaah
yeah go to bed and cry at your teams loss to Scotland, because they have no decent players do they?
bwahahahaha
24 Nov 2010, 01:18 am
“World Champions”….mfffmffmmmm… ha ha haaaa!
24 Nov 2010, 02:09 am
Boks latest – Spies to mis-tackle Poms
24 Nov 2010, 04:17 am
Ah fukc! What does Alberts have to do to proove himself.
Why no Daniels either and I would have played Zane or Adi ahead of Franny no farking pass doeskopf.
Victor you dont ******* learn do you.
511. poppa69(poppa69) hey peopa96 get in now cos when the Abs choke next year I will be giving you and Panties so much ****.
24 Nov 2010, 04:39 am
@poppa69(poppa69) :
Popps, you are being a boring generalising doos…….go take a jog around the park or something
24 Nov 2010, 04:44 am
Change looms for Newlands…goverment to rezone Newlands. Cape Town stadium here we come.
24 Nov 2010, 05:06 am
Kiwi`s, why don`t you live out your arrogance and preciousness on the precious Silverfern? Talking kak about Bok rugby on an SA forum is not going to achieve anything. I find your obsession with Bok rugby strange.
24 Nov 2010, 05:20 am
@Springbokvel(Springbokvel) : our arrogance
bwahahahahahaha what a statement… too funny, the arrogance shown before this years 3Ns was the very definition of the word, my how quickly you forget…
24 Nov 2010, 06:05 am
@poppa69(poppa69) :
you having a tug?
24 Nov 2010, 06:09 am
Same team, same tactics. Why bother?
24 Nov 2010, 06:13 am
@whatever(whatever) : just stating the truth whatever, but of course with your one eye open you will dismiss the fact that the SA arrogance before the 3Ns this year wasnt evident huh?
typical…
24 Nov 2010, 06:14 am
@whatever(whatever) : yep Im having a tug, I have the replay of the Scot-Boks game and it just gets me sooooo excited..
do you want me to tell you the score or do you know the answer?
24 Nov 2010, 06:18 am
@poppa69(poppa69) :
Wanker!
24 Nov 2010, 06:21 am
@poppa69(poppa69) :
521, yes there most certainly was arrogance from lots of quarters, Keo being one…….. but does that mean you have to be an arrogant toss pot? Try not to generalise.
You come accross as a kindergarten baby who like to sit on top on the jungle jim beating his chest….grow the *** up!
24 Nov 2010, 06:21 am
@Springbokvel(Springbokvel) :
Silverfern is geared towards politically correct speech and all yes men. My profile picture was of a sheep being shaggged and they banned me.
Very uptight these Kiwis.
24 Nov 2010, 06:22 am
@whatever(whatever) : whats the matter, my point is right on the money so you have to revert to name calling huh?
by the way, the score was 21-17
bwahahahaha
24 Nov 2010, 06:23 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn) :
We really need Pops to join them cause then he could have a team wank!
24 Nov 2010, 06:24 am
@poppa69(poppa69) :
Kindergarten is obviously spot on……..
24 Nov 2010, 06:27 am
@whatever(whatever) :
It’s disturbing to me that he admitted to doing that while watching the game. One wonders who he was watching the closest…Lambie?
24 Nov 2010, 06:28 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn) :
I think it was Baxxies
24 Nov 2010, 06:28 am
@whatever(whatever) : kindergarten? bwahaha, take a look back at your posts and your fascination as to whether I have my hand on it or not..
thats real adult of you… !! really, you contradict yourself so much….again, if the situation was reversed I dont envision you saying anything remotely the same as “its childish” to the many SA’s who would delight in their “banter”..
shame you portend to be all adult and mature yet your very actions prove that isnt the case…
24 Nov 2010, 06:32 am
@poppa69(poppa69) :
I’m addressing you and your reaction, not what some other Saffa’s may or not say……….I certainly would not have a wank when the AB’s loose, never mind admit it……anyway, it’s Wed, time for a mid week cold one at the local
Make sure you wipe up!
24 Nov 2010, 06:34 am
@whatever(whatever) : yawn…
see if you can get the new SA haggis?
apparently it was stuffed in Scotland…
tastes pretty sour too according to popular opinion on this site..
24 Nov 2010, 08:28 am
@poppa69(poppa69) :
Jeez Poppa, you really are a piece of work.
24 Nov 2010, 08:29 am
“Coach Peter de Villiers said wholesale changes would adversely effect the Boks’ synergy as a unit”
Seriously Peter, what synergy would that be???
24 Nov 2010, 09:59 am
@poppa69(poppa69) : bwahahaha…..
bwahahaha…..
**** me you are a braying imbecile. Don;t you ever get tired of listening to your own bullshit? You;r elike a ******* stuck record, *****
Get a life.
Get some friends.
24 Nov 2010, 12:27 pm
@poppa69(poppa69) :
Drunk Kiwis…. always good value for money…
New Zealand officials fear their own fans more than the possible threat posed by a terrorist group like Al Qaeda.
According to the New Zealand Press Association drunk hooligans – which caused major problems at a recent Rugby League Test in Auckland – appear to pose more of a threat than Al Qaeda for the Rugby Union World Cup next year.
Police were planning for everything from a major terrorist attack to alcohol and transportation in the lead-up to New Zealand’s hosting of the World Cup from September next year, Deputy Commissioner Rob Pope told Parliament’s law and order select committee on Wednesday.
While the threat of a terrorist attack was low, police were capable of scaling up their response quickly if needed, he said.
“Some of the more difficult issues, I think that we all would understand, is around alcohol management.”
Alcohol would be a factor before, after and during games as well as in the many fan zones planned around the country.
Transportation, particularly in Auckland, would also be an issue, Pope said.
“[We want to] ensure that we play our part in a safe and, hopefully, very enjoyable tournament.”
Police were well into their preparation and were planning in coordination with World Cup officials and international contacts, he said.
“We are actually well qualified to run major events, the difference with the World Cup is that it’s spread over some six weeks and 13 different geographical locations, sometimes with multiple games on the same day.”
24 Nov 2010, 12:40 pm
The Boks biggest problems is the centres. They need to be swapped around, JDV has done better at 13 than F Steyn. This new Bok centre combo has not worked well.
24 Nov 2010, 13:26 pm
@Butchie(Butchie) : All he’ll do is come back woth some tired boring remark about murder and rape blah blah….
Damn, the women in NZ must be crapping themselves over the world cup!!! Their beatings are gonna increase by 300%….
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] Show All