Kings’ inclusion forces Super shake-up
30 Jan 2012
JON CARDINELLI examines the ramifications of the Southern Kings’ guaranteed entry into the 2013 Super Rugby tournament.
For better or worse, there is going to be change. Saru has confirmed the Kings will join the Super Rugby family next year and that one way or another the competition is never going to be the same.
Discussions around next year’s format are ongoing, and the final decision on the format as well as the total number of participants in 2013 will only be announced by Sanzar in March. What’s guaranteed is that the Kings will feature, meaning there’s a possibility one of the existing franchises will be excluded or that two teams could be forced to unite under one banner. Saru CEO Jurie Roux said there was another option that would see all six South African franchises playing in 2013.
The problem with the first option is determining who should be relegated. Is it the team that has struggled in recent years or is it the side that finishes at the bottom of the South African conference in 2012?
Another thing to consider is that the Super Rugby competition will be underway by the time Sanzar announces their decision. How will that alter the strategies of weaker teams like the Cheetahs and Lions, who will be effectively scrapping for survival in top-flight rugby?
If it’s a realistic option at this stage, the clash between these two teams in Round 1 could be vital. The Cheetahs and Lions may also look to rest their best players for matches against Australasian opposition, as they would know that success in the SA conference would be influential to their continued inclusion in Super Rugby.
Is it the right call to combine the two franchises? A lot of people claim the Cats concept didn’t work, and yet the Cats qualified for the Super Rugby play-offs in 2000 and 2001. The best finish for the Cheetahs since they split from the Lions is 10th (in 2006 and 2010) while the Lions are marginally worse with a best finish of 12th (in 2007 and 2009). Since 2006, both teams have failed to finish the league stage in the top half of the table.
The question that needs to be asked is whether either of these teams will ever challenge for a play-off place. It must be part of the deliberation process, although Saru will have other things to consider.
Where do they base the amalgamated franchise, Bloemfontein or Johannesburg? The Cheetahs’ administrators have also argued against the mooted reunion for many years as they feel the loss of a Super Rugby franchise will result in the death of the Free State Union. And considering the importance of this union in terms of the young talent it nurtures at age group level, the continued survival of Free State and Cheetahs rugby is important for South African rugby.
But including all six franchises in the 2013 competition could present a further problem. It would necessitate the revision of the league format, as it would be unfair for South Africa teams to play two extra games in their conference because of the impact it would have on the combined log and because of the toll it would take on the South African players. The Kings will play in 2013 and if Sanzar insists on keeping the Cheetahs and Lions too, they will need to come up with a new league format.
Going back to a round-robin system could have multiple benefits. This would require that each side plays 15 games during the league stage, just one less than is currently played under the conference-based league format. The play-off round would fall away and the best four sides would advance to the semi-finals. Overall the competition would be shorter allowing the best players to balance their Super Rugby obligations with Test commitments in June and in the Rugby Championship.
The conference-based format currently in place is flawed from a commercial and rugby view point. New Zealand especially is struggling to sell the derby concept to the Kiwi public while the dilution of talent in Australia means top teams like the Reds and Waratahs pick up easy five-pointers whenever they play the Melbourne Rebels. South Africa is at a disadvantage because they effectively play a mini-Currie Cup in their conference, and these games are typically physical and can result in injuries.
There are other reasons to celebrate the Kings’ inclusion pertaining to transformation and the further development of the South-Eastern Cape. But with regards to the format, their inclusion could force a change the competition certainly needs.

431 Comments
30 Jan 2012, 12:38 pm
long over due milk shake-up dragons!
30 Jan 2012, 12:40 pm
The next big political decision will be to give the Kings entry into Super rugby and the poor Lions will be scrapped.
Is it fair that a team ,who only came second in 1st division, get super rugby entry ahead of a team that won the currie cup? Politics politics. All the bad financial exposure the Lions are getting will not attract any more investors, which is probably the only way to save the sinking ship. With a brilliant coach and with recent currie cup success, youd expect that SARU will do a bit more to help out the Lions…
But its pretty convenient considering that SANZAR will not agree to SA having 6 teams and that the Kings have already been promised a spot in the super comp… Maybe their recent success is too little too late…The Lions have always been terrible in Super rugby. It will be interesting to see if the Kings can do better, thankfully theyll have a few unemployed Lions to choose from to bulk up their squad…
30 Jan 2012, 12:43 pm
For about the last 10 days I have been trying to buy season tickets for Newlands.
I have phoned WP Rugby offices several times… I have tried to phone the lady in charge of season tickets several times only to be told she is busy etc etc…
I have tried to find the tickets on computicket to no avail…
This morning I was told the lady in charge… one Revenne Maritz is simply “not taking calls”… and I must go to wprugby.ticketpros.co.za to get information and tickets etc… “it’s all there”… I was told…
Well it wasn’t all there… there is a button for renewing season tickets only… nothing on prices, seat availability… nada nix nil…
I phone both numbers provided by the website… one just rings… one says “the number you have dialed in incorrect” despite redialing several times just to make sure…
Phone wprugby again… different lady… “no it’s all there” she assures…
“I’m looking at it right now… it’s not there…” I say…
So she goes online… “no it’s not there… bookings closed on Friday…” they will now process the bookings and release unsold season tickets in due course…
“when” I ask…
“when they’re done…”
“can I be put on an email list…”
“no you must just keep checking…”
this is how the most supported rugby franchise in the world treats it’s supporters…
the arrogance and patronizing tone is shocking…
I have been trying for 10 days to get info about which seats are available at what price but due to everyone being too busy to take calls or too busy to be actually working have now missed the deadline which nobody bothered to tell me about… and eventually find I should have gone to a website which wprugby does not advertise on their website and the lady they do advertise as the contact decided she’s not taking calls…
“don’t worry…” says the patronizing voice on the phone… “they have released all the match day tickets so you can go online and buy tickets for every match…”
is she farking serious…?? Has she not heard a word that I’m looking for SEASON tickets…
So around we go in an ever quickening downwards spiral…
Whoever has contacts out there… please make sure rob wagner and theuns roodtman and whoever see this post…
Gentleman… up your farking game… You are too damn arrogant and complacent and it’s about time you started respecting the people who come back and support Province year after year… You run a business… it’s about time you started offering service commensurate with the status of your product… It’s about time you communicated to your employees just where the hell their cushy salaries come from… without us going to the grounds weekend of weekend, year after year do you think sponsors such as DHL would be interested…?
DHL… a word in your ear… tell your WP Rugby buddies to get their act together otherwise your millions may as well be peed on the railway track,…
I’ve supported wp since I first watched them play as a boy in 1968… sheesh… I’m only one man… but I’m “this” farking close to telling you to take a flying jump into table bay…
30 Jan 2012, 12:44 pm
going to be interesting
however the cookie crumbles
30 Jan 2012, 12:46 pm
@ufo-3:
I’ll hook you up with some bulls season tickets.
come to the dark side.
our beers are cold and the biltong is moist.
30 Jan 2012, 12:48 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-5:
if i didn’t live in cape town i would accept them…
30 Jan 2012, 12:49 pm
I personally cant wait for the Kings to be included.
The humour value is going to be off the scale. Records broken all over the place.
You get drilled by Boland and you think you’re going to handle the Saders and Blues running at you.
Christmas every weekend.
30 Jan 2012, 12:50 pm
Include the kings at the expense of the Stormers…
that get’s my vote…
30 Jan 2012, 12:51 pm
Less rugby would be good… but
having the Lions and Cheetahs form the Cats again will be cool too… I think with the right coach the Cats can make a helll of a squad with debth and a shhitload of talent…
But less rugby is a must. Why not have two pools…
Test rugby is suffering because of too much rugby. A shorter rugby season would be awesome, it makes Test rugby so much more exciting and something to look forward to
30 Jan 2012, 12:51 pm
surely the time has come for the lions and cheetahs to talk turkey.
30 Jan 2012, 12:53 pm
@ufo-6:
we have a box at mavericks and a big screen.
30 Jan 2012, 12:55 pm
@Jeez-2: Realistic post – i think the re mergence of the Cats is now more than speculation but will become a reality.
30 Jan 2012, 12:56 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-11:
i may have to join you…
seriously…
@the artist formerly known as gunther-11: All you can eat??
I’ll even wear blue.
@John Galt-7: the rebels to a 45 to nil drubbing in their first ever super rugby game, the Kings can’t do much worse. the lions lost ALL their super rugby games in 2010, the kings can’t do much worse
30 Jan 2012, 12:58 pm
So what are the SARU morons going to do with the multi-million rand contracts that the 5 existing unions have in place already for 2013 and beyond … will Toyota sue the pants off SARU …. will MTN demand compensation from SARU if their brand cannot compete with Vodacom.
Hell the fools did not think things through now did they?
30 Jan 2012, 12:59 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-10:
After the Cats spit the LIons and Cheetahs havent done jack shhit to prove that they can truly be competitive in SUper rugby. I know the Cheetahs have won currie cups and the lions have done so recently, but there will aways be the currie cup for them to play in…
Why dont they (cheetahs) go to the heineken cup? Can a franchise go on its own or does it need SARU’s permission?
Besides, the combidend squads will make up a very competitive team, a team that can realistically aim to win the comp, not just be happy with a mid table finish…
I agree, time to talk turkey
30 Jan 2012, 13:00 pm
@ufo-13:
@stormersboy-14:
they do a suberb sashimi platter.
none of this fully clothed cheerleader bullshit.
give me a p….
@Transformation-15: the Crusaders also ended up bottom of the log their first season of Super rugby
@Transformation-15: You’ve got them there…..
You can have everyone barring Elton, Minnie, Mapoe, Taute and Strauss. And maybe Doppies.
We’ll take those okes ok?
30 Jan 2012, 13:01 pm
This topic is also boring.
30 Jan 2012, 13:01 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-18:
cool…
i was going to ask about the… ahem… uniforms… are the the kind kenny kunene dresses his sushi servers in…?
30 Jan 2012, 13:03 pm
@stew-12: Id be ok with that. The cats could do great with a decent coach. Will wil be in charge of making those decisions? I have no idea how it worked way back when
30 Jan 2012, 13:05 pm
@Jeez-17:
if you put the lions and cheetahs to one side and say either get along or one of you takes a dive never to return.
they would have no choice.
its like the difference beteween eggs and bacon for breakfast.
the chicken is involved the pig is committed.
right now the cheetahs and the lions are like little peegs on the saru butcher block.
30 Jan 2012, 13:08 pm
Nothing but a relegation play-off will be fair… because there most certainly will never be a 6th RSA team included.
30 Jan 2012, 13:12 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-24:
Unfortunately there will be many difficult decisions…who will be coach-Naka or Mitch; home games-where; excess players-where do they go if theyre not picked for the cats’ squad?
What they really should do is ditch that crappy name. Jeez ‘Cats’ is so stupid, they might as well appoint Andrew Lloyd Webber as the head coach. Having a new name can bring on some new team work vibes.
30 Jan 2012, 13:13 pm
Two of our existing teams cannot even get out of the bottom half of the log, and now we want to add ANOTHER team into the mix?
Do we LIKE losing?
30 Jan 2012, 13:14 pm
One thing is for sure … Lions and Cheetahs will never ever marry again. Imagine if the Lions marry the Bullies – half the shirt will be MTN and the other half Vodacom.
30 Jan 2012, 13:16 pm
@ufo-3: I’m sure Grant will sell you his at a discounted rate.
After Friday it looks like Schalk will be at 6 for the season so Grant won’t be needing them.
30 Jan 2012, 13:18 pm
@Jeez-26:
nakka can be the forwards coach.
be good to get him out of Bloem.
All the husbands would be quite relieved.
There are worse names than the Cats.
@Jeez-23: Depth wise it will be a good idea – lets be honest both the sides lack the depth and major talent to make it to final of the Super comp – together under a New Zealand coach they could be a threat ( remember the Cats made the semis under a certain Mr Mains )
@Tacitus-27:
Let the Kings try their luck. If the Cats gets resurrected luckily the Cats will have depth and enough quality players to climb the ladder away from the bottom half of the log.
@the artist formerly known as gunther-30:
Yeah. Mighty Elephants come to mind.
30 Jan 2012, 13:19 pm
We could just cut out the middle man and merge the Cheetahs and the Sharks…
Durban is basically home to the current Eastern Cape and Free State academies.
30 Jan 2012, 13:20 pm
@stormersboy-29:
guess we’ll just have to do our normal thing an buy tickets along the way and score the odd invite…
or meet you down at mavericks with gunther and at least we’ll be guaranteed great viewing…
and maybe even see some rugby…!!
30 Jan 2012, 13:21 pm
@stew-31: yeah combined with little talent both have at the moment a starting 15 will actually be a bunch of very talented players.
30 Jan 2012, 13:23 pm
@Jon…….There are other reasons to celebrate the Kings’ inclusion pertaining to transformation and the further development of the South-Eastern Cape.
Ok can you please tell me why when i have watched them play it has mainly been white players and very few players of color in their team, where is all the talent we keep hearing about….serious question.
30 Jan 2012, 13:23 pm
I dont know the teams all that well, what would make a good starting 15 Cats team?
30 Jan 2012, 13:24 pm
@ufo-35: Yes, and I can pick up a bottle of perfume for the wife at the same time.
Win-Win,
I hear the food there’s actually quite good……
30 Jan 2012, 13:25 pm
@stormersboy-39:
i see a plan in the making…
30 Jan 2012, 13:25 pm
In all fairness, I think they should have had to win that tournament they play in first, then maybe we go with the relegation system.
30 Jan 2012, 13:26 pm
@Tacitus-33:
surely an elly is mighty by definition?
30 Jan 2012, 13:29 pm
@Treehugger-37: Don’t bring facts to a political argument hugsy. It clouds the issue.
If you give the Kings a starting slot all the players with a remote connection to the Eastern Cape, especially the non-white ones will suddenly magically come back home to the real spiritual motherland of Rugby in South Africa.
Get with the program sista!
30 Jan 2012, 13:30 pm
@ufo-40: Moi?
30 Jan 2012, 13:31 pm
@stormersboy-39:
indeed.
the catch of the day is fresh.
punani caught on the line.
see?
everybody wins.
including the bulls.
30 Jan 2012, 13:34 pm
@stormersboy-44:
@the artist formerly known as gunther-45:
sounding better and better…
30 Jan 2012, 13:35 pm
@ufo-46: We can invite Dawn.
Chicks get in free.
She can be the designated driver.
30 Jan 2012, 13:37 pm
Will the Kings play in the currie cup this year or Boland? Boland whipped them in the final!
I wonder if the boks will play in this years currie cup…at some point they will have to rest the players…
30 Jan 2012, 13:39 pm
@stormersboy-47:
there’s a plan…
don’t think she’ll want to drive me all to the ferresuid though…
30 Jan 2012, 13:44 pm
@stormersboy-47:
I’ve always wanted to try her dolphin shape.
30 Jan 2012, 13:46 pm
Ryan states………………………………………… “The problem with the first option is determining who should be relegated.”
The winner of the Curried Cup should be an automatic for the people.
Surely this is evident even unto the blind?
30 Jan 2012, 13:46 pm
It is simply put a royal **** up.
Option 1, exclusion, is not an option as stated quite clearly through the article, the Super comp will be well underway before details of this will emerge which is unfair to any current participating teams. Remember they have player contracts and sponsor agreements to honour.
Option 2, also not going to happen, although I reckon it’s the only option.
Option 3, the term ‘when hell freezes over’ comes to mind. SANZAR, led by the Aussies will NEVER allow a change in competition format if SA was to enter a 6th team.
We have given them a fully sponsored domestic competition by agreeing to this conference system where they failed miserably trying to establish one themselves before.
I don’t quite know what Jurie and SA Rugby intend to do given the statement they released – but from where I sit there is no workable solution without staring court cases in the face.
30 Jan 2012, 13:47 pm
@stormersboy-43: Sorry !!! lol….you know i am blond, I just say and ask what comes inot my mind.
@Jeez-48: The CC is supposedly being shrunk from 8 teams (currently) to 6. So the bottom 2 are already falling out if this goes through.
Not sure where this leaves the Boland, who won the 1st. division.
Kings have to stand behind them.
i don’t see either of them moving up to be honest.
CC this year looks to be fought out between
Lions
Cheetahs
Blue Bulls
Natal
WP
Griquas.
@cane-51:
Ryan’s biggest problem is getting their only client mentioned at every press conference he attends.
next to that a new raodmap for peace in the middle east looks like footskating 101.
30 Jan 2012, 13:48 pm
Speaking of the blind……………………………….. Happy new year to the Bullies fans.
@Treehugger-53: inot …..and it seems dyslexic
@ufo-49: We can crash at Svetlana’s place,
You may have to share a bunk though. I hope that’s ok.
30 Jan 2012, 13:52 pm
Excerpt from Heyneke’s interview with Ashfaq Mohamed:
…
In terms of the captaincy, a lot of people are talking about Schalk Burger. But is it too early to say?
It is definitely too early to say. I am going to spend a lot of time with the players, and to pull a name out of the hat now wouldn’t be the right thing to do. I am looking for a specific captain who is clever strategically and who knows exactly what I want. So, it is not to say that I am going to appoint a captain for a long-term period. I may look to appoint someone in the short term and then …
So it won’t be someone for the four years?
No, I won’t do that. I first have to discuss these things with SA Rugby, but I am not a big supporter of appointing a captain for four years, as form is a non-negotiable for me. You can’t keep a guy there for four years and then if you want to replace him after two years, you are forced to keep him. He must earn his place. It is like appointing me for eight years.
Is there a chance of Victor Matfield coming out of retirement to play again?
I think very highly of Victor. I don’t think that you can just throw away his experience, and it is definitely something to look at. But I can’t confirm anything.
As a player?
At this stage, I haven’t thought that far! I haven’t spoken to Victor for a long time, so at this point … I don’t want to say yes or no, because I haven’t spoken to Victor for a while. It would be presumptuous of me to want him to play, but then he doesn’t even want to play! That is why it is important to hear every player’s wish, and then decide.
But I can tell you that I definitely hold his insights as a player in high regard, and he can certainly make a difference to any side. That is why I brought him into the Bulls set-up (as a consultant) to do lineout work. I definitely believe in using former players, specialists. I am not about stroking my ego, that it’s “my way” or else. I want to make use of many people, but they must know who is in charge. But I do rate Victor highly.
The likes of Fourie du Preez, Gurthrö Steenkamp, Bakkies Botha and Jaque Fourie are all overseas. Do you want them to play in South Africa?
Those are all world-class players, and many of them are still young. There isn’t a prescribed policy with regards to overseas-based players, but again, it is about what is best for the team.
If picking them is the best thing for the team, and I will decide that with SA Rugby, then they must play. If it isn’t the best thing for the team – they aren’t here, they aren’t loyal, etc – then they won’t. Of course, Super Rugby form will definitely come into it. We would really like to go and see those guys overseas and hear what their plans are going forward. We would be silly to just throw everyone away
30 Jan 2012, 13:52 pm
6th SA franchise sounds good. 1) I like watching Kiwi/Aussie teams playing in South Africa, therefore more games there, 2) Another 5 pointer is always welcome.
30 Jan 2012, 13:55 pm
@PissAnt-52:
Neither Oz nor NZ would like to see the Super Comp expanded in it’s current format.
And I would think,
the secure SA Teams would be of the same mind.
Change the format radically…………………………………………….then who knows!
30 Jan 2012, 13:56 pm
@Tacitus-59: I expect afkuk will be printing something along the lines of “Heyeke Meyer to go overseas to get Ricky back” or something along that line.
30 Jan 2012, 13:56 pm
Excerpt from article by Craig Rey: “Meyer doesn’t come cheap.”
The South African Rugby Union (Saru) unveiled Meyer on Friday as the man to lead the Boks for the next four years – a decision that has come at a large financial cost.
Meyer will exercise the early-release clause in his Blue Bulls contract, which still had three years to run, meaning that Saru will have to compensate the Bulls financially. Attempts to find out how much Saru will deposit in the Bulls’ bank account were unsuccessful, but a Saru official did confirm compensation would be paid.
End of quote
So the Bulls made it worth their while hey. Well done, chaps. Managed the situation to your maximum advantage.
30 Jan 2012, 13:58 pm
“Meyer doesn’t come cheap” continued…
Over the next four years Meyer’s salary, possible bonuses and the compensation could cost Saru in the region of R10-million. It’s a hefty investment on the face of it, but hardly a massive amount for one of the best rugby minds globally.
In addition to buying Meyer out of his contract, by locking itself into a four-year contract with the coach, the governing body runs the risk of having to make a hefty severance payout in the event it has to sack Meyer at some point before his contract reaches its conclusion.
Saru CEO Jurie Roux wouldn’t discuss details and performance clauses included in Meyer’s contract but they will be there. Roux is a canny operator and before deciding to offer the coach a four-year contract, the chief executive would have given Saru some wriggle room.
Former coaches Peter de Villiers and Jake White were both given two-year contracts with an option to renew midway between World Cup cycles based on their performances. Meyer has the luxury of knowing he has Saru’s backing until 2015 as long as he keeps up his end of the bargain. Exactly what his end of the bargain entails remains undisclosed.
30 Jan 2012, 13:59 pm
This is all irrelevant. The Super Rugby tournament is hurtling into the dustbin of history. Crowd attendance in NZ and Aus is already virtually non-existent. Throw in the extended format with breaks for the Tri-Nations etc, and this tournament isn’t going to be holding anyone’s interest for much longer.
30 Jan 2012, 14:01 pm
@stormersboy-58:
hehehe..
think i could squeeze it…!
30 Jan 2012, 14:02 pm
@Tacitus-59: chill china, we are talking about the thread topic – you know important stuff.
Ever since Heineken got the Bok job you have been as happy as a pig-in-shiit. Enough already it is boring as hell.
30 Jan 2012, 14:03 pm
@Tacitus-64: You trying to put Transie out of a job?
30 Jan 2012, 14:05 pm
@RL-67: _http://www.deonvandermerwe.co.za/Sites/glru/emailorderpage.asp
30 Jan 2012, 14:06 pm
@Tacitus-64: I read that article, the one by Afkuk.
The most important part that you left out was about the whole kicking vs running debate, very interesting to see his tale on things. Not that I viewed HM as a 10 man rugby coach at all, but it’s great to get an insight into how he preps people for the on-field decision making that obviously needs to happen (unless you are Rassie and you have a set of ping pong bats).
30 Jan 2012, 14:07 pm
@Taahirah-68:
No. Could never hope to match his article copying feats.
Merely providing some info I found interesting.
30 Jan 2012, 14:08 pm
What’s pissants site’s name again?
Ruggatalk, or rugga world or what? I wan to pay it a visit.
30 Jan 2012, 14:11 pm
@Tacitus-72: ruggaworld.com.
Don’t tell them I sent you. I have a reputation to uphold
30 Jan 2012, 14:16 pm
Cardinelli has his facts a little twisted. Why should the Lions, for instance, throw their Australasian games when they also count towards conference points? It’d make more sense for them to target the games they reckon they’ll lose to rest players, regardless of who they’re against.
30 Jan 2012, 14:29 pm
JC, the Cats-initiative bankrupt the Lions and Cheetahs local teams. Because they were combined and had to share games, both unions had to pay their own players’ salaries and travel costs.
The Cheetahs only last year managed to pay-off their debt, while the Lions were close, but obviously bankrupt themselves buying certain players.
No Free Stater will ever support a Cats team again. That I can assure you! Which would probably lead to the end of rugby in half the country.
But… if that’s an acceptable loss… go with it.
30 Jan 2012, 14:42 pm
I agree with Tacitus’ sentiment: we already have 2 rubbish teams who permanently languish in the bottom half and now we want to add another weak team? Talk about diluting our resources… talk about fostering a losing South African mentality against NZ and Aus opposition…
If the Kings must be included, as seems the case, the best result would be for the silly and boring S15 conference system to be scrapped and for the competition to revert to a straight league shoot out featuring 16 teams. This will mean everyone plays against each other once – no random/lucky breaks for missing any teams. This will also mean marginally less rugby – a good thing in an already oversaturated market.
It would be even more ideal for viewing entertainment if the S16 was split into two divisions of 8 with an annual promotion/relegation. This would ensure strength vs strength fixtures, and would add an element of interest and intrigue re the promotion and relegation battle. This format would also enable convenient growth of the game in the Argentinian/Pacific Islands/Japanese/North American markets as teams from these potential markets could easily make up a 3rd division of 8 with promotion and relegation too. Who knows, one day we may even see some of these teams moving all the way up through the divisions.
If any two teams are to be merged, surely the most convenient in terms of where they are based, where their fans are based, etc would be a marriage of the Bulls and the Lions into a Super super franchise? This would mean no players would have to relocate and be away from home, and crucially, the fans can go and watch all the home games.
30 Jan 2012, 14:45 pm
@stormersboy-54: SARU’s already decided that “there will be no promotion/relegation games, currie cup premier division will be contested by the top 6 unions in the country”
this effectively means Boland get a big fat NOUGHT for winning the 1st division in 2011 as the “big” unions decided to protect themselves.
30 Jan 2012, 14:47 pm
@Forseti-76:
Why on earth would the Bulls want to give up the most powerful brand in SA rugby and merge with any other union, whether it be the Lions or the Crusaders?
30 Jan 2012, 14:47 pm
@Bouts-75: the decision to merge caused 10 years of damage to both unions … they will never agree to any future merger.
30 Jan 2012, 14:50 pm
I wonder if the promise to the Kings wasn’t made with the small print condition that a 6th SA team be allowed into the tournament.
Failing which the status quo would remain.
30 Jan 2012, 14:51 pm
On behalf of the GLRU, I challenge Cheeky Watson’s outfit to a play-off duel. He can name the time and place, as long as he agrees to abide by the outcome. If he wins, the Kings get to play in the S15 in 2013, and the Lions fall out. If he loses, he gives up on Super rugby for 2013 and focuses his attention on qualifying the proper way.
Sounds fair, doesn’t it?
30 Jan 2012, 14:53 pm
@>^..^< katman-81:
Make it even more decisive. Make it a 3 game mathup. And then, once the Lions have won 3-0, there really will be no argument anymore.
30 Jan 2012, 14:53 pm
mathup = matchup
30 Jan 2012, 14:54 pm
@Tacitus-82: I reckon, if you read the fine print, the Kings have been promised at least three wins and a draw against the other SA teams in their first season.
30 Jan 2012, 14:55 pm
@Forseti-76:
look, the kings will give five points away across the board, wilthout exception or favour. in fact an argument could be made that the five pointer is more advantageous to the locals (they dont have to travel far to get it) than it is to the netherworlder’s (they have to travel far to get it).
a merge..?.. you mean like an unstoppable force meeting with a very movable object..?..
30 Jan 2012, 14:56 pm
I will be over the moon to see the Lions play top European clubs instead of in the boring Super series. I’d much rather watch a Lions vs Sarries game than anything the S15 can dish up. Bring it on, please.
30 Jan 2012, 14:59 pm
@Tacitus-78:
Why?
- Because the Kings “have to be” accommodated.
- Because the previous merger of two weak teams into the awfully named Cats did not work.
- Because part of that failure was the distance between the Cheetahs and Lions unions.
- Because the Bulls can only be made stronger by a merger – they will be entitled to select from the crème de la crème at the Lions.
- Because the Lions and Bulls are conveniently within a 40 minute drive of each other and their respective fans will be afforded the opportunity of attending every home game (they’d probably all fit into the magnificent Soweto stadium too).
- Because it might be the best and most seamless solution for South African rugby overall.
Just a few reasons I could immediately think of.
30 Jan 2012, 15:01 pm
@Tacitus-80: i think that’s what happened
30 Jan 2012, 15:04 pm
I still haven’t been given a satisfactory answer as to why the Kings – with fifth biggest urban population in SA in their catchment area – much bigger than the population or the economy of Bloem – cannot consistently get into and remain in the top 6 of the Currie Cup.
It should be an automatic achievement. They should consistently outperform the Pumas, Griquas and Leopards, not to mention lowly Boland.
This should be achieveable without any government intervention or SARU assistance.
Once they achieve that rather uninspiring feat – given that they really are big boys compared to the men from Witbank, Kimberley and Potch – THEN an argument can be made that they deserve a shot at the big time.
But they are currently the 10th best union in the country, with Boland the Pumas, Griquas and the mighty Leopards all outperforming them despite having less financial muscle and smaller populations than the men from the Eastern Cape.
Until they rectify THAT, they really have no claim to anything.
You can’t blame Super rugby exclusions for not being able to beat the Boland or the Leopards. For that, you can only blame useless management of the game in your province.
30 Jan 2012, 15:10 pm
The way I see it the political pressure from the ANC wouldn’t be what it used to when the ANC’s power lied in the EC. The power has shifted north under Zuma and rugby has been left alone. Under the old ANC the upliftment of EC rugby was important … not such a big deal anymore. Cheeky is scaring SARU with a dead snake.
30 Jan 2012, 15:10 pm
@Tacitus-89: I agree 100% with that sentiment.
30 Jan 2012, 15:12 pm
@Kat-90:
Very astute observation.
Cheeky’s influence has waned.
30 Jan 2012, 15:15 pm
@Kat-90:
He’s back to trying to make videos of people in carparks for leverage.
30 Jan 2012, 15:21 pm
@Tacitus-89:
Nope, cannot agree, that is exactly why they cannot and will not consistently beat the top unions in SA.
Every single rugby player in SA wants to play in Super Rugby – it really is as simple as that. That means your top players will always jump ship at the first opportunity to move to one of the bigger or partner unions in SA – and is incidentally also the reason the Kings are made up of overpaid messiah’s, over the hill players living on former glory, or plain old journeymen who is not wanted/needed at the franchise unions (including the small ones you mentioned).
That is why the end up with De Wet Barry, Monty Dumond and the likes of Rose.
In Boland for instance, first division CC players like Bolla still gets a shot to play Super Rugby…
That said, there are much better ways to get them up to standard.
I know of a proposal that was tabled to SA Rugby, got consent from government even, being completely ignored which would have allowed the Kings professional, international exposure in a competition similar to Super Rugby albeit being against 2nd tier nations. IMO, that was a very good idea and approach to follow.
30 Jan 2012, 15:22 pm
@Tacitus-89: the Kings won the 1st Div in 2010 at their first attempt, then they lost in the final against Boland last year.
in terms of success that is better than the stormers much vaunted 2010 finals appearance & and semi-final exit in 2011 which some were using as a measure of succes on AC’s part.
30 Jan 2012, 15:25 pm
@Kat-90: @Tacitus-92:
SARU’s official statement
The Southern Kings’ place in the Vodacom Super Rugby competition in 2013 was reaffirmed at a Special Council Meeting of the South African Rugby Union (SARU) in Cape Town on Friday. Proposals on mechanisms to identity the four other South African entrants will be considered at a SARU Special General Meeting on March 30.
“The decision to include the Southern Kings in the 2013 Vodacom Super Rugby tournament was unanimously confirmed by the members,” said Jurie Roux, CEO of SARU on Friday.
“We will now look at the options to identify the other entrants to the competition, which will include further discussions with our SANZAR partners on the possibility of including a sixth South African team in the competition.
“The Unions will also be making their own recommendations and the outcome of those discussions and other proposals will be tabled for the Executive Council and ultimately a General Meeting to consider.”
30 Jan 2012, 15:26 pm
The CC cup should be incorporated into the conference part of the S15, with the top2 conference sides playing in a final, at a given date.
This way the CC is not watered down and it maintains it strength vs strength appeal and provides home and away matches and saves a whole lot of unnecessary watered down rugby being played.
30 Jan 2012, 15:28 pm
@PissAnt-94:
How can you say that with a straight face?
Name the Super Rugby players at the Pumas, Leopards and Boland.
I honestly don’t believe players go to the Pumas in order to play Super Rugby. If they cannot make it into the big 5 teams, then the next best team is whichever team can pay them the most and allow them the prospect of playing in the Premier Division Currie cup.
Then they hope that they can get spotted by scouts from the Big Unions in the long term.
No one goes to Boland in the hope that they can play Super Rugby. You go to Boland because you couldn’t make it into WP or the Lions squads.
30 Jan 2012, 15:28 pm
@Forseti-87:
Why would the Lions want to amalgamate with the Bulls knowing very well that none of their players would actually make the starting XV
30 Jan 2012, 15:29 pm
@Transformation-96:
Now why on earth would the Lions and Cheetahs, or the Bulls and Sharks for that matter, vote in favour of such an agreement?
30 Jan 2012, 15:32 pm
@Transformation-95: no they didn’t, not on their first attempt … they changed their name from the Mighty Elephants to the Kings and by coincidence just happen to beat the SWD who topped the log.
30 Jan 2012, 15:36 pm
@Tacitus-100: because Cheeky’s influence is waning
30 Jan 2012, 15:38 pm
@RL-67: You see, you haven’t learned yet how it works at the Bulls.
At Loftus, you can earn legend status quite easily. Even if you perform well in one Currie Cup final, and never again after that you will be serenaded with songs of love and adoration.
Derick Hougaard, Anton Leonard and more recently, Gerhard Vd. Heever were the blue-eyed royalty of Loftus. Oh, and I know Bulls fans that would have volunteered to carry Ettiene Botha’s (RIP) baby. At least Ettiene deserved the adoration – great player – great guy – huge loss !
The rest – pretty average players to be honest. I know guys that are still pining for Vd. Heever, even though he very possibly has the worst defense of any Currie Cup wing. Not too bad as a fullback.
As coach, Heyneke Meyer fills that position perhaps more so than any other Bulls coach ever.
But that all said, I think Heyneke Meyer deserves to be Bok coach.
30 Jan 2012, 15:40 pm
@Bod-99: No Lions make the starting XV after winning the CC?
30 Jan 2012, 15:40 pm
Bod
Are you suggesting that none of the 2011 Currie Cup champion team would make the Bulls (who didn’t even make the CC semis last year, and have lost many of their “star players”)?
Taute and Jantjes immediately spring to mind as being better than their Bulls counterparts, Kirchner and Steyn. Josh Straus is arguably another. There would be more.
The Bulls would be luck to have these players. To dip in and select the best from their close neighbours. Anf hey, presto, you have one of the greatest sporting theatres in the world just waiting to be used. The 90,000 seater state of the art Soweto stadium. This marriage couldn’t have been scripted better.
The boerewors curtain will have to be torn down though.
30 Jan 2012, 15:41 pm
@justrugby-97:
yeah JR… I agree with this 100% and have posted similar comments last year…
it would reduce the number of games played by our guys and keep up the interest and popularity of the CC… and it would reduce the wear and tear on our players in hard-fought local derbies…
30 Jan 2012, 15:42 pm
@Tacitus-64: Tac – do you still think the sun shines from Vd. Heever’s hol ?
@Transformation-95: How is a 2nd division win and a second place in the second division in any way better than being in the top 4 and the top 2 in the Top division??
@RL-101: dude get with the program! the Elephants were (mis)managed by ET’s SACOS pal George Davids and Phillip Josephs. when Cheeky and Anele took over things changed, the union for the first time in close to a decade got an unqualified audit as all the funds were being channeled properly. the Elephants and the Kings aren’t the same team
that’s like saying SA pre-1994 is the same as post-apartheid
30 Jan 2012, 15:43 pm
@stormersboy-108: i’m just messing with you dawg
30 Jan 2012, 15:44 pm
@Transformation-102:
Serious question. Think about it.
Why would the 5 existing S15 franchises vote unanimously for a resolution stating that all of them would be “reconsidered” for S15 participation?
Are you really naive enough to believe that there aren’t additional agreements that we are not aware of? Some kind of incentive for the Cheetahs and Lions – who are most directly threatened by this move – to vote in favour of it?
Come now. You were not born yesterday.
30 Jan 2012, 15:44 pm
@Kat-104: I would have Taute, Strauss and Jantjes at least. Killian would be another, and very possibly Minnie as well. I would have all those in the Bok team without a doubt.
But, as you know, Springbok teams aren’t selected on the back of one Currie Cup win.
30 Jan 2012, 15:45 pm
@Transformation-110: oooooh kaaaay.
Sorry, caught me in between meetings, Sense of humour is on hold.
Consider myself well messed with.
30 Jan 2012, 15:46 pm
@Dusky-112: And Doppies…
And Franco, perhaps
@Tacitus-98:
There is a difference in saying you go to Boland in order to play Super Rugby, and going to Boland to stand a better chance to end up playing Super Rugby.
If you end up at any of the smaller unions outside the big 5 you weren’t good enough – the only logical option would then be to go to a union to afford you the best opportunity to change that.
Boland is actually a good case, there are a number of players that were invited to pre-season camps and trials and a couple that will be included in the Stormers squad.
The franchise participation agreement between local unions and franchises allow for franchises to easily draft players up from their feeder unions.
It gives you a better shot as a player, plain and simple.
(Not to mention monies those unions earn from belonging to a franchise which goes a long way to paying and retaining players on contract).
geographically… the most sense would be for the bulls and lions to merge… and i think there are a number of lions who would force their way into the combined team…
strauss, minnie, taute and jantjies come to mind… (even if they did so on the bench in the case of jantjies….)
at least then the fans can paddle across the jukskei and support their team… the problem with the cats is that the fans could only watch the games in their areas…
@Tacitus-111: Why no promotion/relegation scenario. That would be fair wouldn’t it ? The team ending last in the SA conference gets to play the Kings for a spot in next years Super 15.
Or, is this yet another politically forced thing that ignores merit ? I tell you, I would be embarrassed if I were forced into something by the powers that be, because I wasn’t good enough to make it on my own.
30 Jan 2012, 15:48 pm
@willievz-114: Yes, Franco Vd. Merwe should have been called to the Springboks instead of Hargreaves in the tri-nations. But, we still have a fairly long selection of locks that I think might be slightly better than him. Although with Bakkies and Victor gone….hmmmm….maybe.
Not Doppies dude. Doppies is a great Currie Cup player. Sorry – not Bok material.
@justrugby-97:
that’s a reasonable idea actually. scrap the premier division cc comp and incorporate it into the super comp and retain the first division cc comp as it is.
just one question, what does this have to do with incorporating the kings into super rugby? and how does it solve the square pegs and round holes problem?
@Dusky-112: Those two teams will form a squad that will be unbeatable. Mitch as coach. Ludeke in Heineke’s position. In CC they play seperately. What I’ve said on Morne’s site.
30 Jan 2012, 15:50 pm
I don’t think anyone should be forced to merge. Lets have 2 relegation promotion matches between the lowest ending SA team vs. the Kings home and away. Whoever has the most log points – goes through.
But, it will never happen not in this country where you have to always ‘help ‘n bietjie’
30 Jan 2012, 15:51 pm
I’m genuinely in favour of a Lions + Bulls Super franchise … The Bullions
But we know there are many complexities
30 Jan 2012, 15:51 pm
@Kat-120:
Stupid idea. That’s like joining Pepsi and Coke, or Mcodnalds and KFC.
The brands will be destroyed.
Will never, ever happen.
30 Jan 2012, 15:52 pm
@Transformation-109: that’s like saying that Jannie Ferreira and Manie Reyneke’s Lions are not the same as de Klerks and Moggee’s (CEO) Lions … clearly they are.
30 Jan 2012, 15:53 pm
@Tacitus-111: just like you, i am not privy to any undisclosed additional contracts or agreements. all i have to go on is what jurie roux said, what the EP president has said subsequent to friday’s council meeting and none of these gentlemen have made any pronouncements on riders or provisos or fine prints.
30 Jan 2012, 15:54 pm
@Tacitus-123: are the Lions Coke or Pepsi? they’re bankrupt
30 Jan 2012, 15:54 pm
@Transformation-125:
So what then. You reckon the Big 5 were just in a charitable mood? Happy to **** away their rights to automatic S15 participation?
30 Jan 2012, 15:55 pm
Yes, the more I think of it, the more I like the idea of the Bulls and Lions merging into a Super Gauteng team.
It makes perfect sense. Far more sense than the Cheetahs and Lions rehashing old ground.
They could call themselves the Gauteng Growlers.
30 Jan 2012, 15:55 pm
@Tacitus-123: Tac, if a merger is going to be the only option left then a Bulls + Lions one is the better one to go for imo. Brands will live on in the CC and the franchises are tied to a competition that is nowhere is well established as the CC. The Super Series may even disappear in future.
30 Jan 2012, 15:56 pm
@Forseti-128: Red jerseys with a blue stripe ?
30 Jan 2012, 15:58 pm
The merits/non merits of the Kings being in the S15 next year can be debated till we are all blue in the face.
The one given is it will happen, like it or not !!!!!!
Lets wait and see what strartegy Saru provide for this to happen and then moer each other !!
30 Jan 2012, 16:01 pm
@Dusky-130: The Bulls want to be red anyway and they alreasy played in Soweto. Red Bulls.
30 Jan 2012, 16:02 pm
cheeky has been quoted as saying that heyneke is a good choice as bok coach.
cheeky is de facto spokesman for the anc on rugby matters.
therefore the anc sports dept will not interfere with bok rugby.
which takes the heat off saru.
but no deal is one-sided so saru had to give something back.
a bit like a bee deal – there is always a non-productive cost at the end.
30 Jan 2012, 16:03 pm
@Kat-129:
How to put it differently.
Hmmm.
We don’t want you. Now take a hike.
The Bulls will never merge with anyone.
30 Jan 2012, 16:08 pm
The lions cheetahs marriage coincided witht the most successful period in either franchises super rugby history.
even if some of the children did look funny.
with another kiwi at the helm I’m sure they would do well again.
that the kings will play is a done deal.
If I were either of those two unions I would find a chair before the music stops.
Otherwise they will be playing in the bush league.
30 Jan 2012, 16:08 pm
@Dusky-118: If you say so, then it must be true…
30 Jan 2012, 16:10 pm
@Dusky-130: blue in front with Vodacom and red at the back with MTN (cause Lions are always scrambling back in defense)
30 Jan 2012, 16:13 pm
Well, if the Kings are very weak, in the current system it would be a large advantage for the other SA teams, as they get to play them twice.
It would be a bit like the soft Aussie conference let the Reds get some easy points.
In any case, I see no problem in awarding a 6th conference to the Kings. Yes, they don’t deserve it yet, but they could grow into it, and as pointed out they sure have the population to grow into it. In any case it will give more South African players a chance to gain top flight experience. It can only be good, you will have 15 more first team spots available for young guys coming through.
The competition would have to be reorganized anyway, especially if you add an Argie team or two.
30 Jan 2012, 16:13 pm
Kak coming
oooooh vok
dummy spitting…..I see it
a few soiled nappies already appearing
30 Jan 2012, 16:14 pm
@Kat-122:
The Bullions! Ha. Love it.
30 Jan 2012, 16:15 pm
@RL-137:
you’d think with MTN they’d have better coverage.
30 Jan 2012, 16:17 pm
@Tacitus-89: that sounds fair
30 Jan 2012, 16:21 pm
What do the NZ and Aus rugby unions have to say about this farcical deal? I mean, we in SA have become somewhat blunted to ludicrous decisions that make no logical sense but that tick political boxes. But to expect the average Aussie to see the sense in promoting a team several rungs below the current worst SA team into the competition at the expense of a team that is clearly (and I dare anyone to argue this point) in another league… well, I’d be scratching my head if I didn’t know how things work here in the twilight zone. Don’t they have an issue with weakening the competition?
30 Jan 2012, 16:22 pm
@Tacitus-127: how many unions make up the voting council? jurie said it was UNANIMOUSLY decided, now 5 out ??? is not a “unanimous” decision, so one would assume cheeky did a little lobbying of his own and got buy-in from other unions.
as of last week this is what the presidents of the Lions & Cheetahs were saying, can’t say they we sounding confident hey?
Looking at Super Rugby, Verster and De Klerk — whose franchises have usually struggled in the series — admitted that the inclusion of the Kings next season would put extra pressure on their teams to do well this season.
But while De Klerk emphasised the need for Saru to make a decision that would be in the interests of South African rugby in general, Verster stressed that the financial implications of losing their franchise would be detrimental to the Free State Rugby Union.
“It (the inclusion of the Kings) has to be a rugby decision, not a political decision,” De Klerk said.
“Perhaps a Super 16 series could be the solution, and we will continue hoping that another franchise could be accommodated.
“The restructuring of the existing franchises to include the southern and eastern Cape unions is another possible solution. But it won’t help (the Kings) to buy a team. We have witnessed at the Lions how important it is to build from the bottom and develop a unique culture.”
De Klerk also said it was important to ensure that the correct methods were employed in introducing the Kings into Super Rugby.
“In my view the principle of including the Kings is correct, but we must get the methodology right.”
A worried Verster, meanwhile, painted a bleak picture of his union’s future should they finish last in the series and lose their franchise.
“Our future is dependent on the Super Rugby series … all we will have left if we lose that is Currie Cup and Vodacom Cup rugby, which means there will be no rugby at the Free State Stadium from February to August. That could have a negative impact on our sponsorships and advertising. The same would apply to the Sharks, the Stormers and the Bulls if they lose their franchises.”
Verster offered the same solutions to the dilemma as De Klerk and said: “We could have a Super 16 in which all the teams face each other once, which would also result in a shorter competition.
“But obviously Sanzar (the governing body of Super Rugby and the Rugby Championship) would have to approve such a process. And another is to restructure the franchises to ensure that all the provincial unions are included.”
Verster, however, shot down the suggestion of the Lions and Cheetahs possibly reuniting in a similar structure to the former Cats franchise, and said: “We tried hard to get that arrangement to work, but unfortunately it didn’t.”
30 Jan 2012, 16:24 pm
Bulls lions …cmon man…..you okes are right next dooe…make a plan for the Kings….stop being spoilsports
30 Jan 2012, 16:25 pm
It just doesn’t make sense in any way other than in a political sense.
But from what we’ve been reading, it’s a done deal.
The how is the challenge.
30 Jan 2012, 16:25 pm
door
30 Jan 2012, 16:26 pm
combined bulls lions team will be strong !
30 Jan 2012, 16:26 pm
Lets say for instance SANZAR says no to SA’s 6 teams, which they probably will do.
The LIons will have to drop out or a merger will have to be on the table.
If two teams will have to merge to comply with SANZAR’s decision, it must surely be the 2 worst teams. Thus the Lions and Cheetahs wont have a choice in the matter.
The big issue is whether SA will be allowed to feature 6 teams or not, now that the Kings are definitively part of the 2012 super rugby setup. After SARU’s meeting in March there should be some clarity on what will happen come 2013.
Realistically SA just dont have enough quality players to have 6 competitive teams. History shows us that we actually only have enough for 3. Its going to be another embarrassment to see 3 SA teams lose every weekend. Lets face it the Lions and the Cheetahs just dont have the depth to stay competitive for a whole season… Let alone the Kings…
So what would be the best decision SARU could make? Merge the Lions and CHeetahs or scrap one of them. At least there will only be two teams that lose on a regular basis and not 3.
Imo less super rugby teams will only be beneficial and keep our Currie cup healthy. With less super teams each super squad can grow in quality and with the amount of rugby being played a bigger/stronger squad is exactly what every team needs. Come currie cup every second string player should be part of the starting lineup.
30 Jan 2012, 16:27 pm
imagine Bulls / lions under mitchell
oooh vok
30 Jan 2012, 16:28 pm
@Transformation-144:
Well then Harold probably meas having SWD join the Stormers again, with Border and EP joining the Sharks.
That doesn’t mean a Kings franchise. So that’s probably dead in the water.
There really is no solution.
How does a bit of “lobbying” by Cheeky get Harold to vote in favour of a proposal that would see him face the very threat he is so worried about in this article of yours?
Nope, something else is going on, that we don’t know about yet.
30 Jan 2012, 16:29 pm
@>^..^< katman-143:
Katman, lets be a bit pragmatic. Politically speaking it would be good if there is a strong Kings franchise. They are clearly not there yet. But if the Melbourne Rebels could a team together and not be totally useless, then I think the Kings can do so also.
Geographically speaking it makes sense also. Boland might well be a stronger union, but they are intertwined with WP rugby in a way that is very hard to separate. Does the Cape really have place for two big franchises?
And would you really give the Pumas the 6th franchise? Then you have the Lions, the Cheetahs, the Bulls, and the Pumas, all from the North, and only the Sharks and the Stormers on the coast.
So my point is that a franchise selection should not simply be based on performance in a local competition. It should also be taken with future growth in mind, and if it does take a little political pressure of South African rugby then that is also not a bad thing.
Besides, a franchise is not given simply to the strongest single province, but is supposed to come from all the feeder teams. That is the one reason the Cheetahs have looked also a bit better recently, they got a bit of depth from the Griquas (and one or two star players) to back them up.
Don’t get me wrong, throwing out the Lions or Cheetahs would be a bit unfair. But if they can pull of the 6th franchise it would just make sense to place it in the Eastern cape.
30 Jan 2012, 16:30 pm
@Tacitus-151: Yes, how come the Sharks are no longer burdened by the mandatory inclusion of smaller unions? Every other Super rugby franchise is.
30 Jan 2012, 16:34 pm
my gut feel is the Cats will be reborn
30 Jan 2012, 16:35 pm
@>^..^< katman-153:
the sharks wanted out.
and the administrators at border/ep/swd took the money and ran
30 Jan 2012, 16:35 pm
@wpjoulekkading-152: Of course a 6th franchise would be in the Eastern Cape. But that’s not going to happen. And “geographically speaking” shouldn’t even come into it. Gauteng has by far the highest density of people (and players) in SA. So it’s not strange that it should support two teams. If Super Rugby franchises were handed out geographically, then you’d have to ditch the Brumbies and give their spot to Darwin. See what I mean?
30 Jan 2012, 16:36 pm
De Klerk and Verster should stop bitcching. If you end last every season you deserve to be forced to merge or get scrapped. If they do merge they will have a very competitive squad with quality players- thanks to Mitch theLions have decent players again. Besides if they win on a regular basis they can have full stadiums for a change and if they share the profits it will probably be more than what they made on their own! And why not then host games in the Soccer City in Jhb. The should really start to think outside their litter box!!
30 Jan 2012, 16:37 pm
what are saru going to do if one of the bulls, sharks or stormers finish bottom of the sa teams this season?
not impossible and maybe some of the bloggers calling for the cats or bullions might be a little quiet.
@Jeez-149:
Of course South Africa has enough players for a 6th team. We have one of the if not the strongest school system in the world. It would only take a couple of years for enough young players to fill the ranks.
And think of all the varsity teams, we have the varsity cup teams and those guys play some good rugby. You could probably make a decent team just from the varsity cup players if you add a couple of senior players to the mix.
And the effect would filter both ways – not only will more guys get a chance to gain to shine at that level and develop, but they will also take that experience back to the Currie Cup.
@Tacitus-151
bviously he was’t going to lobby verster or de klerk, there are other unions that make up sa rugby. anyway as i said i’m only working with what is in the public space. vesrter & de klerk haven’t made any public statement subsequent to friday’s meeting. what they say next will reveal a whole lot methinks.
in the meantime, i’m trying to get my sources at NMB stadium to get to the juice of the story.
30 Jan 2012, 16:38 pm
cATS.
GOLDEN CATS.’
ORANGE CATS.
YOU CAN SLICE IT
YOU CAN DICE IT.
aLL OVER RED ROVER.
fARK SORRY CATS.
30 Jan 2012, 16:39 pm
@charo-155: Sounds convenient. And I’m sure WP were happy to have ditched the Eagles too. And the Bulls would be happy to go it alone in Super Rugby. Let’s face it, the likes of the Bulldogs, the Griffons, the Valke etc are just dead weight that some unions must carry and others not.
@>^..^< katman-156: Ja, I don’t mean JUST geographically. But there are a lot of people in the Eastern Cape, and a lot of rugby potential. It’s hardly Darwin.
I also said I’m not in favor of dropping the Cheetahs or the Lions, but simply in for adding the Kings.
@charo-155: it was ET’s SCAOS buddies back then and those wily natal souties were too happy to go on their own…scumbags!
30 Jan 2012, 16:40 pm
Realistically SA just dont have enough quality players to have 6 competitive teams. History shows us that we actually only have enough for 3. Its going to be another embarrassment to see 3 SA teams lose every weekend. Lets face it the Lions and the Cheetahs just dont have the depth to stay competitive for a whole season… Let alone the Kings…
So what would be the best decision SARU could make? Merge the Lions and CHeetahs or scrap one of them. At least there will only be two teams that lose on a regular basis and not 3. Imo less super rugby teams will only be beneficial and keep our Currie cup healthy. With less super teams each super squad can grow in quality and with the amount of rugby being played a bigger/stronger squad is exactly what every team needs. Come currie cup every second string player should be part of the starting lineup.
@Transformation-164: SACOS buddies
@Transformation-160:
But you said yourself that it was a unanimous decision. So the “lobbying” must have been sufficiently convincing to bring even de Klerk and Verster to vote in favour of the Kings.
So clearly, something is going on that we don’t know about.
30 Jan 2012, 16:42 pm
@grant10-154: I see no other viable option either.
30 Jan 2012, 16:45 pm
@Tacitus-167: let’s wait & see.
30 Jan 2012, 16:45 pm
@Tacitus-167: yes that something is a knife for Cheeky’s back.
30 Jan 2012, 16:47 pm
So Trans when’s your GQ photo shoot?
30 Jan 2012, 16:50 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-161: Fck that sht. My proposal sees all the Cape teams amalgamated into one big happy coastal family. So the Bulldogs, EP, SWD, WP and Boland would move to a central location – let’s say Oudtshoorn – and be henceforth known as:
The Garden Roots
or
The Southern Mermaids
or
The Poisonous Urchins
or
The Smoked Snoek
30 Jan 2012, 16:51 pm
@Jeez-165:
I don’t agree. First of all it’s been getting better and better – while the Lions and Cheetahs still finished low they’ve at least been winning some games.
And in the long run it will only strengthen the playing pool to have that many more guys with experience, and it will strengthen the feeder teams for the Kings (which currently are pretty bad) which will be good for the local rugby.
AND it might grow rugby more among the black population which makes up a large part of the Eastern Cape. We are 50 million South Africans, but rugby is traditionally more popular than soccer for white South Africans and vice versa for black South Africans (of course not exclusively, there are many many exceptions, just in general). Also I’m not from the Eastern Cape, and I know they have a proud rugby tradition, so please don’t be offended! But I think there is room for a lot of growth there.
Anyway, SA provides most of the money for the S15, why should we develop a 5th Aussie team, a 6th NZ team, but not a 6th SA team? I don’t care if one of our teams finish last, I want the Boks to be the best and at least one team to compete for the superrugby trophy.
30 Jan 2012, 16:52 pm
@wpjoulekkading-159:
I agree,but i dont agree that we have enough quality players to be competitive with all 6 teams. We have only been competive with 3 for the decade-sharks, bulls, stormers. The other teams just dont have the depth in their squads. Bigger squads with quality players are needed to stay competitive during the duration of the season, especially with the extra amount of rugby begin played. Even the top 3 SA teams are complaining that depth is an issue.
So no we dont have enough quality players for 6 teams. Unless you are happy watching our teams losing on a regular basis.
30 Jan 2012, 16:53 pm
Pathetic sharkievarkies, just this morning I predicted that they will be shopping for a prop replacement for Beast … now it is official … those varkies will just not back their young players.
@Transformation-164:
whats the difference between then and now – cheeky?
and good on those wiley natal souties for seeing a greedy admin saco or whatever when they needed it
@wpjoulekkading-163: When will people stop with this “rugby potential” rubbish? Just because a lot of people live there, doesn’t mean they will be any good at rugby. Does India also have “rugby potential”? And Nigeria? Either they are good at it or they aren’t.
30 Jan 2012, 16:55 pm
@Tacitus-167:
the unanimous decision was nothing more than having a wit ou as the bok coach again.
deemed more important than dumping one of the s15 franchises for cheeky’s lot.
30 Jan 2012, 17:01 pm
@>^..^< katman-177:
Come on. If it’s in the news a lot and and the young guys have some local players to look up to it will for sure grow the game there. And if there is a bit more money and sponsors etc in the region it will also interest the young players. It’s a bit like the chicken and the egg, which comes first, the interest or the club?
And your India examples are either just ridiculous or naive, I can’t decide which fits better. South Africa has a sporting culture, and a rugby culture, and all it needs is a bit more encouraging to become more played in all cultures. India has giant potential, but it cannot be awakened because there is no way to interest them in rugby. The eastern cape already has rugby there and it is already growing, but an added injection would speed up the process.
30 Jan 2012, 17:02 pm
@wpjoulekkading-173:
Thats just it, the boks will suffer because of the amount of rugby being played. If there are less teams, the squads will be bigger with quality players, thus a rotation policy can be implemented without weakening the teams and giving the boks a rest.
I want the Kings to play, it will be good for SA rugby if that district can develop. They will need all the support they can get and that will start with some established players in their squad. For that to happen, a team will have to drop out= lions or cheetahs. There is just not enough quality players for 6 teams. Whats the point if youre happy with a few of our teams ending last? Youd like every team to make its supporters proud. Losing rugby is just bad news, look at the Lions if you want a good example.
30 Jan 2012, 17:02 pm
@>^..^< katman-172:
sounds like the menu at one of kenny chuene’s parteez.
lets just call them
the klomp kaapse klopses.
30 Jan 2012, 17:03 pm
I know that in 2006 when the Super Kings first surfaced and promotion/relegations was on the cards, the Lions were contemplating the option of playing in the NH if they were relegated.
Whats wrong with building your brand and using European rugby as a platform.
30 Jan 2012, 17:03 pm
@Dawn-171: WHAT? ET says i’m a “FATBOY”
30 Jan 2012, 17:04 pm
kunene.
that’s the one.
30 Jan 2012, 17:04 pm
@wpjoulekkading-179: The “rugby potential” argument is just good old post rationalisation for a flawed political decision. Where in the world would you reward someone or some team for something that might happen? Nowhere do you get to compete at the highest level without qualifying. Even the amateurs who get to play in the US and British Open golf tournaments have to qualify. There is no explaining this away.
30 Jan 2012, 17:05 pm
@charo-176: Anele Pamba & Cheeky Watson are the difference. they’re not perfect but hell they are doing a great and thankless job!
30 Jan 2012, 17:06 pm
@charo-176: and not forgetting Stephan Pretorius, the Southern Kings CEO…
30 Jan 2012, 17:06 pm
You no fatboy!
30 Jan 2012, 17:07 pm
@wpjoulekkading-179:
Katman has a good point. Developing a region to produce quality players doesnt just happen when you force in a second rate team to play SUper rugby. They will have to buy players at first to get them winning. Then they can start getting local guys who have been in the local academy etc etc.
30 Jan 2012, 17:09 pm
How about keeping the conference system but allowing each union to enter as many teams as they wish. You only play the teams in your conference (home and away),( it becomes a curry cup, air nz cup, Aussie domestic comp) Top two from each conference go on into a knock out tournament against the top two from the other countries. .
30 Jan 2012, 17:10 pm
@Jeraldjay-182:
Can they actually do that? Probably too much red tape to get around… It would be cool though. If you get tired of Super rugby you can at least support a team in the Heineken cup !
30 Jan 2012, 17:13 pm
Merge the Lions and Bulls and call them Lionul….. Hello?
@Dawn-188: tell ET that
@Winesy83-190:
ITs all about the money. Just look at the amount of games. The more the better, thats their motto
30 Jan 2012, 17:16 pm
@Dawn-188:
64.ET. said:
28 Jan 2012, 06:34 am
@Transformation-63:
Hey FATBOY will you ever again reach the physical level of the agile lithe ‘Black Cat’ Cele after all the whisky and beer and more that you ‘suip’.
Is it that nagging thought that causes you to lose sleep on a Saturday, very early , morning?
Be careful I know you to within 2 names but I will not ever write it here
30 Jan 2012, 17:17 pm
@Jeez-189:
Ok, they will have to buy some players at the start. The Melbourne Rebels bought their WHOLE team! At least that won’t be needed.
I tell you, the players are there, they just need the chance. The young guys who can’t find a place immediately with one of the bigger unions are mostly lost for the sport. There is just no space for them. Sure, they can go play for Boland maybe. And hope that they will get payed. How much do people earn anyway playing in the Vodacom Cup or the 2nd tier Currie Cup? If you are a young player what are you going to choose, find a “real” job, or go to a small union and hope to be noticed?
And even for the early developed young star players it can be bad – they get bought by the bigger unions just to sit on the bench as backup to the experienced guys.
If there was another squad with good salaries, the young stars will have chance to play. And then there will then be more space for other players to be back up players.
30 Jan 2012, 17:19 pm
@wpjoulekkading-196: Exposure and experience is EVERYTHING. Or at least if there is talent. And nobody who has watched some school boy rugby in SA can say that we don’t have bucket loads of talent.
@Jeez-191:
Jeez, I know firsthand that the Lions were planning to play in the NH in 2006 if they were relegated. Don’t no whether it’s still possible.
And yes, it would be great to support one of our teams in the European league.
@Jeez-189: you reckon the Force and Rebels faced sooooo much resistance when john o’neill said melbourne will have a franchise where there was none?
30 Jan 2012, 17:20 pm
True Jeez. Wish they could get it through their heads that less is more sometimes. As others have mentioned interest in super rugby/tri nations has really dwindled. I see The best in Aus, NZ, SA play against each other so much that it had lost everything that made it special. Whomever decided the tri nations should go up to 3 tests against each nation started the rot.
30 Jan 2012, 17:21 pm
@Jeraldjay-198: You think SA Rugby would allow that? You think the Northern Hemisphere would take the relegated SA side to play in their premier competitions?
30 Jan 2012, 17:22 pm
@Winesy83-200: Well I agree about the tri-nations for sure – that was a horrible idea. But now with the Argies it’s back to home and away only no? That will be good.
30 Jan 2012, 17:22 pm
It seems to be a common understanding here that if anyone will or should sit out it should be the Lions. This season is going to upset such assumptions. The Lions and FS may well end in a better position than that team that always win the Super Series in February and have the best flyhalf in SA up to the halfway mark of the competition.
30 Jan 2012, 17:25 pm
@Transformation-199: If they were possibly going to lose another franchise to make way for a new one that was far worse, they would have all kicked off.
30 Jan 2012, 17:27 pm
@wpjoulekkading-201:
Fark we 20 years into the professional era and surely the Lions will moer most of the European clubs.
Rugby will also inevitably become global.
30 Jan 2012, 17:27 pm
@Kat-203:
toby titus would NEVER allow that
30 Jan 2012, 17:29 pm
wpjoulekkading, yeah I am excited about the Argie tests that will add a certain amount of the unknown. Hopefully JDV won’t be there to throw anyone into a moat again…. I have just given up caring about seeing the Boks play NZ or Aus because I see Carter vs Steyn, McCaw vs Burger etc 3,4,5 times a year, every year!
30 Jan 2012, 17:30 pm
@wpjoulekkading-201: Maybe SARU should have tried to get the Kings alone and in the Heineken cup in the first place and leave the other Provinces in the Super 15. Watch them get totally loaded and then have more purchasing power then all the other unions.
30 Jan 2012, 17:31 pm
Too be honest all this EC not playing SR nonsense was caused by the Sharks buying out their smaller parrners. This should never have been allowed. In my opinion SARU should fix the mess right there. Let Cheeky pay the Sharks the money back and force the Sharks to include the EC as it should always have been. Why must the other unions deal with this mess? Why should another team pay for this?
30 Jan 2012, 17:31 pm
@Kat-203:
Yes, it might well be that the team that finished 2nd on the log for two years running might do much worse this year.
So Kat, you are in favor of a last team on the log is relegated scenario? Are you sure?
30 Jan 2012, 17:34 pm
@Jeraldjay-205: The European clubs are better at Moering the Boks then the countries are. Leicester and Saracens have both taken them down in recent years, so unless the Lions are better then the Boks you can forget about it.
30 Jan 2012, 17:34 pm
It’s high time for the other unions to stand together and tell SARU to make the Sharks + Kings thing work.
30 Jan 2012, 17:37 pm
Hmm, look, don’t get me wrong. The Lions (or any SA team) would do great in a NH competition. If it could be done it would be perfect, the relegated team gets to stay sharp and financially afloat.
But in practice it will just never happen. These deals are signed between governing bodies, not just the clubs themselves. The Lions can’t on their own negotiate any such deal, and the competitions won’t negotiate with them.
And for the Heineken Cup for example it can only be bad. Why would they take a relegated team? If they do bad then they add nothing to the competition. And if they do good they embarrass the NH.
30 Jan 2012, 17:37 pm
For anyone who didn’t see the Stormers Lions the other day, here is some amateur footage of Aplon’s beauty of try.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3YiqFStE2zE
30 Jan 2012, 17:39 pm
@Kat-212: Ja, have to agree, that whole business was a rotten one. Don’t know if putting it back like it was now will solve all problems, but it’s for sure better than it is now.
And of course you know that money is all gone.
30 Jan 2012, 17:39 pm
wpjoulekkading (210), all I’m saying is that if someone has to fall out by whatever mechanism it ahould not be assumed it should/will be the Lions or Cheetahs. What of they end up in the top 8 and one or two of the othe SA teams don’t?
30 Jan 2012, 17:45 pm
@Kat-216:
And with that I agree completely with you.
In fact, I don’t see any way how they could drop one of the current teams without causing a major disaster. We can discuss for hours what will be the most fair, but it would end up as an economical disaster for that union. And even worse, a relegation system can only work if there is actually a league below it. As it is now the franchise (whichever one) will have to disband and then magically reform to somehow compete in the S15. That will ENSURE we always have the bottom team.
I think SARU have put all their eggs in one basket – they plan to add the 6th team. Maybe the extracted some agreement from SANZAR when the Rebels was added that makes them think it is possible next year.
30 Jan 2012, 17:51 pm
@HongKongSlong-211:
Hehe. Forgot about those defeats and now you go and remind me. Doubt whether Leicester and Saracens will play with the same emotions against the Lions.
@wpjoulekkading-213:
Was involved with the Lions in 2006 and know that the then CEO was planning the move if they were relegated.
30 Jan 2012, 17:52 pm
@Jeraldjay-218: The CEO can plan to go to the moon for all I care, he would need backing from SARU and welcoming arms from the NH.
30 Jan 2012, 17:53 pm
@Kat-209:
That was only part of the story. First they signed up their top players. The payment to EC and Border was actually proposed by those unions in return for them forgoing the agreement to host games.
You’re right that SARU should never have allowed it to happen. SARU then compounded the error by putting up the 5th franchise to auction, knowing that 1 of the applying regionsof the EC and Cheetahs/Griquaswould be excluded. SARU should have determined the composition of the franchises as originally happened under Luyt. Of course, at the time, Luyt thought that the Cats would emerge as the strongest combination.
30 Jan 2012, 17:57 pm
I know I have suggest this myself before, but a merger (of any kind) is not really a viable option considering the dynamics of SA rugby for a very simple reason – we have NEVER adopted the concept of ‘regional franchises’ correctly from the start.
Either we do that (and then mergers are more than possible) or an alternative means need to be found.
30 Jan 2012, 18:18 pm
Sharks probably bought out the EC cos the were tired of Cheeky Watson interfereing if he was involved then.
30 Jan 2012, 18:19 pm
Between the bulls,lions and cheetahs there should be no problem in a merger of some kind. They afterall share the same culture , church ,food,dress code and Afrikaner Broederbond influence.
30 Jan 2012, 18:25 pm
this is a stuff up….
will be cats….round 2
Or a 6 th Franchise…
30 Jan 2012, 18:34 pm
@Treehugger-222: why do you dislike Cheecky so much?
Because he refused to embrace apartheid sport?
Because he was brave enough to say no to evil discrimination?
Or because you like to run with the pack?
30 Jan 2012, 18:36 pm
@grant10-225: I was still a bit young when the apartheid politics went down. But I do think at least half the whole Luke Watson as Springbok debacle was caused by Cheeky (even if indirectly by giving his son the wrong advice).
30 Jan 2012, 18:39 pm
when EP fell by the wayside Sharks picked up the slack and inherited almost all their players, hence Ndungane, Daniel, Kankowski, Sithole, Mvovo, etc etc all automatically became Sharks straight out of junior franchise
So if Lions fall by the wayside all their inherent talent will automatically be scooped up by either Bulls or Cheetahs, unless Sharks jump in first and catch the early worm when talent gets discovered.
Alberts, Deysel, the twinkie toed fullback, couple of cases in point.
So bottom line its swings and roundabout time, money propping up defunct and destabilized bankrupt franchises simply cannot call the shots, as much heritage and prestige has gone into Transvaal and Lions rugby over the past how many generations, when the sickle of the grim reaper comes swinging, if the wheat is ready for the harvest its gonna get chopped down.
30 Jan 2012, 18:47 pm
Cheeky weren’t involved with EP when Sharks bought all the EP players.. when Luke Watson automatically became eligible to play for Sharks back in 2003-2004 Cheeky had zero zip nada to do with any of it at all.
People got this fat vrees surrounding Cheeky Watson, Jake White caught such a mammoth spook the minute you mentioned the name Watson that he brazenly went out his way to create a pariah out of the guys talented son. To the extent that the guy still carries the trademark that Jake the Snake tattooed around his neck…
When Cheeky tried to intervene with PdV surrounding Luke Watson’s future in the PdV team, Snit and Co. chucked their dummies and we all know exactly how that pantomime played out, Watson went to Bath, Van Niekerk went to Toulon, and Smit and the closed circuit ra ra club rode the PdV bandwagon all the way to 2011 WC around PdV’s neck.. and PdV got kicked in the teeth for his trouble, while the glory boys are still covered in halo’s…
30 Jan 2012, 18:48 pm
Cheeky Watson could be termed a white person with integrity and courage to stood up to the afrikaner Broederbond controlled government of the day .my organization would certainly collaborate with those whites instead of the hatred and racist filled whites represented by this character treehugger and her cronies.the nbpp will sort out this problem one way or the other.
30 Jan 2012, 18:54 pm
so chairman shabasputdrovnik are you pink yellow brown purple or white? what colour is your epidermis tainted with? cos your heart is filthy black as soot.. thats absolutely no maybe.
30 Jan 2012, 18:55 pm
@ashampoopaloo-227: you know a Bulls team with the inept Ludeke could very well end up stone last in the SA conference and they could face automatic relegation from Superrugby … hell the brokebacks without Rassie and Nienaber, led by the mediocre AC could finish stone last and be relegated again, as they were in 1997 …anything is possible.
Send a message to Tobie Tightass, tell him to get Divvy in as the new province DOR.
30 Jan 2012, 18:59 pm
@ChairmanShabazz-229: shut the fark up Capo – do you want Keo to moer you and then ban you again.
30 Jan 2012, 19:03 pm
Feck knows how this lunatic keeps coming back.
30 Jan 2012, 19:05 pm
@RL-232:
RL this poephol popped up on Friday and I wasn’t sure whether he was Capo or not until post # 229.
30 Jan 2012, 19:08 pm
@RL-231: Ok
Divvy at WP joulekkerding might just be what the good doctor ordered to get all the broederbonders sitting at the back of the bus…
WP or Bulls will likely not end stone last this year but you can always hope and pray… miracles sometimes do happen
30 Jan 2012, 19:08 pm
@Jeraldjay-234: I figured it was him when he posted that ‘super Afrikaner’ post. Now I know we he gets ‘super blacks’ from.
30 Jan 2012, 19:09 pm
Capo is the leader of our French chapter.brother capo has achieved a great deal in France but I would not like to take credit for his good work.thanks in any case RL.
30 Jan 2012, 19:10 pm
@Treehugger-222: I sounded mean there…
didnt mean to
Just trying to find out your reasons for your obvious dislike of someone who is respected by a large % of SA…
30 Jan 2012, 19:11 pm
@RL-236:
Keo better strike when the pan is cold.
30 Jan 2012, 19:14 pm
If a team (LIons) gets relegated and they could actually find a spot in the Heineken Cup…
Why having a team play in the Heineken cup would be good for SA rugby:
1. The club who gets relegated doesnt go under and might even gain financially, via sponsors etc.
2. SA players playing for other clubs in the tournament will also get local exposure.
3.Other top players (locally and abroad) might consider playing for Lions. Foreign based players could see it as a way to get best of both worlds and come back home.
30 Jan 2012, 19:18 pm
@grant10-238: Well then if she isn’t in the majority then she obviously isn’t running with the pack?
30 Jan 2012, 19:19 pm
Fort Hare vs UWC and the crowd is 98% black.
I noticed they sang the Afrikaans part of the anthem the loudest.
30 Jan 2012, 19:20 pm
RL , you really need some solid education.the article in question was one printed in the British. Independent newspaper dissecting the influence of the Afrikaner Broederbond on south African society.the newspaper discussed the the book ‘super Afrikaners ‘based on the activities of the Afrikaner Broederbond but in your ignorance or lack of educational skills you are trying to pinn two words on the honorable chairman shabazz.don’t worry,between brother et and I we will educate you to an acceptable level where you will be able to debate with us serious matters concerning world affairs .
30 Jan 2012, 19:22 pm
So?
30 Jan 2012, 19:24 pm
@241 Do you believe Mr Watson’s fight against your government’s apartheid policies was a noble fight?
30 Jan 2012, 19:25 pm
Blah blah blah
30 Jan 2012, 19:26 pm
@stormersboy-241: the majority doesent exist on this forum my friend…
30 Jan 2012, 19:33 pm
@ChairmanShabazz-243: even the kak. way.you type has Capo written all over it.
Capo you have an unmistakable stench – just like a skunk and I know skunk when I smell one.
Smell you later.
30 Jan 2012, 19:37 pm
@grant10-247: There is always a majority and minority in a group,
if you are talking about roughly 30 – 40 bloggers not being representative of South Africa, well that goes without saying.
I wouldn’t pretend to speak for them any more than you should
Our opinions are our own.
Just saying.
30 Jan 2012, 19:42 pm
I wouldnt dream of talking for 90% of them…
30 Jan 2012, 19:43 pm
@ 247.I believe that you are wasting precious energy debating with one of the leaders of the wolf-pack.
30 Jan 2012, 19:44 pm
Must say there’ve been a few attitudinal surprises on this blog lately.
30 Jan 2012, 19:44 pm
but then again what do I really expect from a Saffa Rugby blog
actually a huge waste of my time
nothing but frustrating
30 Jan 2012, 19:50 pm
On blogs like these you only educate instead of debating.you can never debate with intellectually inferior human beings.
30 Jan 2012, 19:53 pm
Yes. This we have discovered.
No debating with you.
30 Jan 2012, 19:55 pm
@Jeez-240:
It is clear that it would be great for the relegated team.
But what would the NH and the Heineken cup gain?
-possible embarressment by a team that was relegated
-a lot of travel and organizational headaches
-a negotiation with SARU about the terms
And while we are the moneypot for the S15, the NH will hardly queue up for the revenues that one SA team brings in.
30 Jan 2012, 19:57 pm
@wpjoulekkading-256: “embarrassment” of course. How embarrassing
30 Jan 2012, 19:59 pm
I mean rangerman. Get your kilt back here and explain this!
“rangerman Says:
January 30th, 2012 at 9:23 am
@Sheriff-75: haha, sheriff you are as contraversial as ever bud, howzit!
what i dont understand is this seperation of “afrikaners” and “cullarts”?
surely afrikaans speaking cullarts are afrikaners?
white and cullart afrikaners share food, traditions, humour and most importantly, dna.
in fact, according to my research (part time and mostly vicarious sadly) ALL afrikaans speakers are cullarts?
so heyneke is basically just another in a long line of cullart coaches broken only by kitch and mallet since readmission?”
30 Jan 2012, 20:01 pm
Wat nou! I’m an Afrikaner!
30 Jan 2012, 20:01 pm
@wpjoulekkading-256:
Well i guess it depends on how SARU/the Lions can spin it. SARU has apparently been contemplating the move north for some time, so there must be some way to sell the idea to the north.
30 Jan 2012, 20:02 pm
@255 are you black?if you answer yes to that question you are more than welcome to join the new black panther party.we need more feisty sisters like you to spread the good work of the nbpp in South Africa.
30 Jan 2012, 20:04 pm
I think shabang is our kiwi bro Black Panther reincarnated.
30 Jan 2012, 20:10 pm
@Dawn-258:
And English speaking cullerts are Souties.
30 Jan 2012, 20:16 pm
I’m confused
30 Jan 2012, 20:23 pm
Boy: Dad, today teacher told me that Jan van Riebeek a man that came from Holland arrived in 1652 and that the Khoi-san greeted them upon arrival.
Dad: That’s right son, the khoi-san were the original inhabitants of the Cape.
Boy: So Dad were did the cullarts come from?
Dad: Well son they came 9 months after Jan van Riebeek arrived.
30 Jan 2012, 20:49 pm
225@Grant, i dont give a toss a bout his politics and race stuff, if i like you or dislike you its got nothing to do with race, why is it always race and political judment from you, different strokes for different folks, the influences and life experiences of people is what molds them so i dont judge them.
As 4 Cheeky, for me he falls into the tosser lane, he tries to infuence and interfere in SA rugby constantly, over the years thats all i have heard and read about, and have had a family member (not close family) who had dealings with him and his brother, and to put it mildly the man is a bully and unpleasant.
The question should be why do you like him and Pukey junior so much, what outstanding things have they done to unite rugby and not cause unpleasant controversy. Am typing from phone so hope not 2 many mistakes. Oh and yes there are some bloggers i enjoy and relate to and few i am on friendy terms with and not just on this rugby site.
I dont mind if some one does not care for me, its irrelevent because those that do are wonderful, interesting people that i know 100 percent have my back and i theirs.
Feck think i have lost the plot a bit, took 2 long 2 type this on cel 2 erase.
30 Jan 2012, 20:50 pm
@Treehugger-222: this whole post smacks of ignorance. you don’t know why the sharks wanted to go it alone but you’re willing to venture a guess that it had somethinng to do with cheeky who seemingly you know jack about…double whammy of ignorance.
come on up your game love…
ask gunther if you have to
30 Jan 2012, 20:52 pm
everyone always has a family member that dealt with cheeky or a boet that went to school with luke.
30 Jan 2012, 20:59 pm
If your hatred for Mr Watson ,a white man that fought against your government’s evil apartheid system,is so intense,I just shudder to think your level of hatred for the black man of South Africa.
30 Jan 2012, 21:03 pm
this is such a dumb decision. SA’s transformation policies means that we’re getting another team in superRugby and its just the same old rubbish. SANZAR need some serious creativity transplants. what happened to proper expansion instead of just adding another team again from the same old country? what happened to trying to get an Asian or Argentinian franchise? it would definately offer something different and expand super rugby into new markets.
not sure whether transformation is working or not but this is internal to SA, now NZ and Aus have to put it up with the results of its politics.
30 Jan 2012, 21:12 pm
@grant10-225: Niether of the above, I dont give a toss about his politics and race stuff, what has that to do with rugby, if i like or dislike a person it has nothing to do with race stuff, Its always got to be about race stuff and politics with you, different strokes for different folks, its the influences and past and present life experiences that mould people, I dont judge them.
As for Cheeky, for me he falls into the tosser category, he tries to influence, interfere and bully in SA rugby constantly, over the years that is all you hear and read about, and have had a family member(not close family)who had dealings with him and his brother and to put it mildly the man is a bully and unpleasant.
The question should be why do you like him and Pukey junior so much, what outstanding things have the done recently, not long ago when he stood up to discrimination. All they have been is divisive. Take off the rose tinted glasses. Not everyone that took a stand against the past is necessarily a good and decent person.
If I run with a pack, so be it. There are some other like minded people and i am in good company.
30 Jan 2012, 21:16 pm
Oh cook !!!! the cell phone posting did go through
30 Jan 2012, 21:17 pm
@Transformation-267: actually I said something about if he was at the Sharks at the time, and that was my opinion, up your game.
30 Jan 2012, 21:20 pm
Quite pathetic the way some try play a race card if one dislikes the Watsons, now that shows ignorance because it has nothing to do with race.
30 Jan 2012, 21:21 pm
@Transformation-268: Yes just like you and I both went to Waterford, small world.
30 Jan 2012, 21:23 pm
@man1a-270:
Why is SARU trying to support the largest black rugby playing province in SA considered “transformation”, and including Argentina or an Asian Franchise “development?
30 Jan 2012, 21:27 pm
David it’s the “dynamic”
30 Jan 2012, 21:29 pm
The way things are panning out we will have the Super 20 by the time this decade’s finished.
30 Jan 2012, 21:31 pm
No need to show your ignorance twice.
30 Jan 2012, 21:33 pm
Who the heck you talking to now
Have the decency to address people properly
30 Jan 2012, 21:34 pm
isnt it transformation? excuse my ignorance but this kings team smacks of transformation, if it is the correct term. basically i see it being wrought because of SA politics and its spilling out to the entire superRugby countries.
development? Argentina because they need to be part of the superRugby more than europe. Argentina joining the 4Nations is a good idea as they’d bring a lot of excitement and fresh tactics to the comp. having a franchise for them would help them be a professional rugby nation
Asia – untapped market that can bring a lot more needed viewing audience and money.
also argentina and asia is something fresh and untried.
kings is just another attempt at a former attempt of the cats. its the same old **** under a different name. i dont want to see the cheetahs relegated, they’re an exciting team that needs to be given a chance.
dont you think we have enough SA (NZ and Aus) teams?
30 Jan 2012, 21:35 pm
281 post is directed at David 276
30 Jan 2012, 21:38 pm
@Treehugger-273:
I think the point that Grant10 is trying to make, is that in most white peoples mind, Cheeky was a traitor for joining the ANC to oppose Apartheid.
30 Jan 2012, 21:41 pm
If anything, this blog is consistent.
I fear for the future of my country.
Playground politics.
30 Jan 2012, 21:42 pm
I am not here to engage with intellectually challenged/inferior invaders,but only to educate.
30 Jan 2012, 21:47 pm
You preaching to the converted.
What you blather here is nothing new, just 30 years out of date.
Were you caught in some time warp somewhere?
30 Jan 2012, 21:48 pm
Your country?
It’s a SLAVE language fools and you from Putsonderwater have just cowardly allowed it to be stolen from your forebears.
The evidence:
” ndeed, Bosman claims the majority of Afrikaans speakers in this country aren’t Afrikaners.
“By far the majority of Afrikaans-speaking people are the coloured people.
“From a population of 5,9-million people that speak Afrikaans, only 2,5-million are from the white community, so white people can no longer claim ownership of Afrikaans. ”
Reclaim that which is rightfully yours such as language, land , its mineral wealth and mostly your national economy.
The world is not dialectical – it is sworn to extremes, not to equilibrium, sworn to radical antagonism, not to reconciliation or synthesis. This is also the principle of evil.
30 Jan 2012, 21:49 pm
treehugger: i know it was your ‘opinion’ babe but that alone doesn’t preclude it from coming across as ignorant or even prejudiced…how does cheeky bullying our boet/hubby co-relate with the sharks desolving the Coastal Sharks franchise?
The two don’t mix, but somehow your hatred of cheeky prompted you to find a connection, however tenuous
i bet you even gunther would bully your boet
30 Jan 2012, 21:49 pm
The world is evil.
30 Jan 2012, 21:50 pm
In fact why don’t you get on a plane to Philly and stay there.
30 Jan 2012, 21:52 pm
Now who the feck is extraball talking to.
30 Jan 2012, 21:53 pm
@man1a-281:
I don’t disagree with the plan to include Argentina (what about Uraguay) and Asian countries as a way of globalising rugby, but SARUs responsibility is to SA. In order to develop the game in South Africa it’s madness to exclude the largest and oldest black rugby playing area in the country.
30 Jan 2012, 21:53 pm
The fact that I am now an Afrikaner has given me a migraine.
30 Jan 2012, 21:58 pm
It is indeed ironic that those who claim to rage the strongest against the injustice of a racial classification system themselves continue to perpetuate its existence.
I find it bizarre that self-proclaimed struggle heroes still emphasise our racial differences, betraying the ethos of non-racialism.
I might have been born with a light skin, but I am not “white” nor am I “black”.
I am an African. Born in this country and on this continent.
My ancestors include Europeans and Africans but in the limited purview of racists on separate ends of the spectrum I am “white”.
I am sorry but I refuse to be so simply classified in a manner reminiscent of the worst and most undignified excesses of discrimination of the Other.
30 Jan 2012, 21:59 pm
30 Jan 2012, 22:01 pm
@David-294: i agree that this is an issue but its internal to SA. what will happen to the other teams? cant boot out the cheetahs, they play the most attractive rugby and are only now getting momentum. lions won the CC cup so deserve a chance to prove temselves.
will SA now field 6 teams and in a few years some politics results in a 7th then 8th team. all this is unimaginative.
why cant those same black players play for a different franchise? i probably dont want to know the answer because it’ll be much too politically complex than i can fathom.
yes development of black players is important to SA but why do the rest of SANZAR have to suffer for it when it appears this is just a knee jerk reaction to appeasing those that are ineffeciently pushing transformation?
i know i’m fairly ignorant to SA politics. so tell why this is such a good idea
30 Jan 2012, 22:02 pm
@ David, i think that is assumption on his part, from what i hv read on here most of the guys have said that is the one thing they admired, somethng about him refuseing to play for a white club because people of colour could not and i agree its good to make a stand.
My dislike like i said has nothing 2 do with race and grant was attempting 2 put me down, i am not the most articulate with the written word but the agendas here can be be very blatent, i am very blunt and things i write can be misunderstood but i dont give a chit about race, never have, was not brought up in that kind of envirement, if i think think something is about race i will say so it is not taboo and does not mean the person is racist. I really detest that race and ridicule is brought in2 ever disagreement.
30 Jan 2012, 22:09 pm
@Treehugger,
You strike me as someone who wears her heart on her sleeve. That’s not a bad thing – that’s you! Don’t take this blog personally.
You have always struck me as a person of integrity willing to fight for your beliefs. But sometimes you have to take a step back and not get into the filthy ditchwater.
You’re so much better than that.
30 Jan 2012, 22:10 pm
I dont think so Transie as he was shot in the driveway getting out the car by a 14 year old with a homemade shotgun.
30 Jan 2012, 22:21 pm
@David-283: I think Grant is assuming too much.
I admire Cheeky’s stance that he took by not making himself available for Springbok selection.
That doesn’t in itself make him a saint and immune to criticism.
He comes across to ,me as a political manouverer of the highest order and after the debacle with the PDV “i’ll vote for you if you pick my son as Captain” affair I lost a lot of respect for him.
He’s shown himself to be nothing more than a cheat who would have his agendas furthered at the expense of merit.
I know there are some that for some mystical reason are blind to the faults of some and ignoring of the faults of others.
Everyone is entitled to their opinion and their point of view,
When I challenge people on this blog it is because I struggle to sometimes understand the anger that some display when people have an opposing point of view.
I don’t expect everyone to agree with me, it would be boring if it were so.
I love the fact that people on this site have strong opinions. I learn a great deal from them. Sometimes my mind is changed, sometimes not.
But i will always allow those that don’t agree with me to do so without fear of me attacking their character.
30 Jan 2012, 22:23 pm
@ 300.. you right sigh !!! but sometimes u hv 2 stand up 4 yrself even though u know u not good at the written word, i will never let a person walk over me, none of this upsets me, just frustrating, like saying hate cheeky and hvnt used the word.
30 Jan 2012, 22:25 pm
Good post, stormersboy.
When we fail to shop at the marketplace of ideas is when we lose our ability to acknowledge others and progress halts.
30 Jan 2012, 22:27 pm
302:
But in your khakis at that time in the 1970s you also pictured him lying at the bottom of a pool? Just for Burger snr., your hero, sake, correct?
you see now stormersboy is articulate and said what i meant.
@WP Till I Die-304: Amen Brutha,
When we doing that lunch?
30 Jan 2012, 22:29 pm
Treehugger, stick to your guns.
But, be willing to consider your opponent’s point of view too (which you mostly do).
30 Jan 2012, 22:29 pm
@Treehugger-306: I think you explained yourself perfectly well hugsy.
Very heartfelt and if you were sitting here now I’d be high-fiving you.
30 Jan 2012, 22:30 pm
Till I Die-304:
Het jy nou net in jou khakis gekak.?
Julle twee khaki-bonders lieg nou so lekker.
” You’re better off dead if you have not yet died. “
30 Jan 2012, 22:32 pm
-307:
Gebruik die woord BROEDER man ons het al lankal goed verstaan, soos jy op die ander ‘thread’ lees.
30 Jan 2012, 22:34 pm
Noone trusts the Yappies.
Noone.
Not even the Yappies trust the Yappies.
30 Jan 2012, 22:35 pm
Sy is maar deel van die Susterbond, is dit nie?
Julle moet haar mos beskerm, nie so nie?
30 Jan 2012, 22:35 pm
@ET.-305: Ai yai yai poephol,…..
In the ’70′s I was myself at the bottom of the pool pretending to be “Die Man van Atlantis”
I never knew who cheeky was until the ’90′s.
And I’m not really a “movement” kind of guy. Never was a boy scout, or Voortrekker.
If you would like to brand me as a Khaki wearing AWB/Broederbonder (In your mind they are for some reason close) type I couldn’t give a toss.
In fact I take a great deal of comfort in the fact that you have a negative opinion of me.
Given your nonsensical ramblings the last thing I would want is for you to identify with me in a positive way in any shape or form.
30 Jan 2012, 22:36 pm
lol thnx guys, think u need an imaginatiom to get me.
30 Jan 2012, 22:37 pm
@man1a-298: for someone who claims “ignorance” about the dynamics of sa rugby you seem very vehement in your view that this whole inclusion of the kings is a bad idea, what do you base your opinion on besides your complaint that nz & australia have to now play the kings & that you “like” the cheetahs and the way they play?
30 Jan 2012, 22:38 pm
@Treehugger-301: sorry to hear that…
30 Jan 2012, 22:38 pm
ET.
I pity you, I really do.
I’m not trying to be blase.
But you do tend to remind me of my father’s racist uncle, now ensconced in Canada with likeminded folks, passing judgment on what he sees is wrong with South Africa.
(By the way, he also loves using divisive terms like “white” and “black” and “coloured” and “Indian” and pejorative versions thereof, but then, he is an educated and intelligent racist, not unlike some, nay?)
30 Jan 2012, 22:40 pm
Can you blame genuine fellow S.Africans who prefer “to hug Great Danes instead of S.African Danes”, especially those who belong to the ‘Susterbond’?
30 Jan 2012, 22:43 pm
these two little inconsequential coolycreep fakfaces perpetuating their self loathing hatred through incessant personal inadequacies and hate for a sector of south african society because their own insidious desperate hatred consumes their heinous pitiful decrepit souls and who come spread their irrelevant inconsequential feeble agendas on an innocent rugby blog, shows the despicable pitiful sick fake fak’s they are. They got no place in a reasonable society that why these pathetic punkeyed pitiful punks are crawling up yankee doodle dandy arses in expatriated exile. feeble coolycreep rats are definitely no asset to any conciliatory seeking society anywhere.
‘J’esus in India’ very interesting documentary on SABC 2, watch it if you wanna get little bit enlightened.
30 Jan 2012, 22:47 pm
I Die-318:
You need that pity since it is clear that your family is seeped in the Broeder tradition even though you deflect it to your “uncle” so conveniently.
Do you care to explain why the one that was your receptacle into this life/world did the work she did and for whose benefit? Name the real organisations.
There is nothing in my life that is so dehumanisisng and demeaning that warrants your pity.
How many Broederbong lecturers and profs. nurtured your ‘glorious’ Bond attitudes, khaki-cladder?
You are so effin lame outside of your pack- mentality protectors’ company, coward.
ET the Struggle Fighter (R).
Fought against racial oppression.
So – in the 70s and 80s our government classified anyone failing the pencil test as non-white and hence inferior.
Aluta continua. Apartheid gets defeated. Non-racialism!
2012: ET (the struggle hero) classifies people (on a perception as arbitrary as the pencil test) as members of the Broederbond.
Irony?
@Transformation-316: what does adding another sa team have to offer? sure u have the depth (no other country does) but what will the kings bring to the comp that other sa teams havent show cased already?
not just aus and nz but sa teams will have to play extra derby games. how is that going to work? wont sa be disadvantaged somehow having 6 in their conference? does that mean aus and nz get another team? aus cant field another franchise (they cant support 5 as it is) and nz dont want another.
does having more of the same old teams bring anything new
i’m getting sick of superRugby because all SANZAR ever does is increase the teams from the same countries and increase the amount of rugby to be played, and its the same old games over and over.
as much as the kings need to be included for the sake of black rugby, superrugby isnt where they should go to develop. development of black players is important but this is internal to SA.
i sound petty i know but its how i feel. i dont want ot watch a team developing, i want to see them compete
Its ok Transie, shouldnt hv said that and make u feel bad. Ok am watching a mild horror now and wondering if Dawn is watching.
30 Jan 2012, 22:48 pm
should read Broederbond but bong suits too as it suggests pong, stink, stench
30 Jan 2012, 22:48 pm
@ashampoopaloo-320: Actually watching it at the moment. Very interesting.
30 Jan 2012, 22:50 pm
but were the Broeders that bad really, i think we were very lucky to have them, look at all the infrastructure they built, ok so they were as crooked as ET’s rudder at the swembad, but no-ones perfect ekse.
30 Jan 2012, 22:52 pm
sainthood & cheeky watson are very far apart concepts imo which is probably why the man is such a staunch christian.
30 Jan 2012, 22:55 pm
Hugsy you stick to your guns.
You have fuckall to answer to from a flip flop ja broer like grantie whose convvictions change with every Cape Argus headline.
As for Khaki Extraball and Capo the poodlenaaier the less said the better.
30 Jan 2012, 22:55 pm
@Transformation-328: Going to church doesn’t make you a Christian any more than standing in a garage makes you a car.
30 Jan 2012, 22:56 pm
ET.
You do love your assumptions.
Try engaging the truth firsthand.
(Apres moi la deluge)
30 Jan 2012, 22:58 pm
Cheeky is an opportunist.
Always has been always will be.
Caveat emptor.
30 Jan 2012, 23:00 pm
this excruciating twaktalker filled with hatred against a sector of society he cannot embrace belongs in a lunatic asylum, he’s so full of his own fak’d up brainless desperate hateful intolerance he got broederbonders crawling out through his self delusional excrement twak
30 Jan 2012, 23:02 pm
Tell you what is interesting tho is how JW transformed Jeppe from relative shite into one of the best rugby schools in the country, that bugger knew alot about rugby imo. Be interesting to see how he goes at the brumbies, but they;ve lost all their best players, think he in for big problems, much like mitchell at the lions.
30 Jan 2012, 23:04 pm
I Die-322:
Oh! my and there the known racist comes out once again with his ” our government classified anyone failing the pencil test ” BLACK( is the word you should use. I am BLACK, I am PROUD and I say it out LOUD . Are you non-black?)
How much pride in that ” our government” ? So misplaced and so revealing.
What do you even know about “the pencil test”, other than pure unadulterated hearsay?
The irony is that having not even seen me and many millions more just in Cape Town(that you invade) alone you will make such a Fantasy World claim?
I would actually pass that quoted test you know fokkol -about and I guess that would upset you more(maar ‘n hond kak ook maar hare) but I can thank my grand-parents on both sides for considering your sickness.
But thank you for exposing yourself so demeaningly ‘Bonder’.
30 Jan 2012, 23:07 pm
@stormersboy-326: yeah interesting doccie on SABC 2 about saint Yssa in India… The missing 16 years of JC’s life the vatican don’t wanna know about.
@man1a-323: what SA does with its franchises is its prerogative, same as with the other two partners. don’t worry yourself too much about saffa teams when you’ve got the likes of the canes depleted the way they are.
nz & australia don’t have to agree to an additional team from sa, saru has to decide how this cookie will crumble, they’ve been avoiding/sidestepping this issue since 2005 but it’s back and it cannot be ignored any more with everyone acting like its business as usual.
Hello ladies.
Handbags away please.
Interesting article. Did any one actually talk about the issue in the article?
30 Jan 2012, 23:11 pm
@ashampoopaloo-336: Yes watching it now. Not sure if I’m buying the whole India thing, but learning a few things nonetheless.
30 Jan 2012, 23:11 pm
@stormersboy-330: i don’t recall mentioning that he goesto church
30 Jan 2012, 23:13 pm
you go to Jeppe how you know how JW resurrected Jeppe rugby, when we played Jeppe back in 68-69-70 we used to smack them to smithereens
KES was always the english speaking school to beat.
30 Jan 2012, 23:16 pm
@Transformation-340: No you didn’t.
It was allegorical.
But you knew that.
30 Jan 2012, 23:16 pm
@ashampoopaloo-341: Go School.
30 Jan 2012, 23:18 pm
I Die-322:
All of the apologetic defences, needless cover-ups and LIES, distortions, twisting of facts, Fantasy World sucks(failing pencil test) and much much more and the fact that you cannot outsmart with the TRUTH I own nor handle me in its stunning revelation, earn you all the label, Broederbond mentality.
If the cap fits, wear it.
Why not negate the truths of Abe and Avril Malan, Dawie DeV., Nellie Sm., Kobus Louw ‘en talle meer van julle gemors’?
Recall, what happens today in your neo-racist rugby may only be exposed 20 – 60 years from today.
Your ‘taunts’ are so immature that they are an amusing ‘joke’ Signs of desperation again.
Have you forgotten how proudly you stated your mother’s role and contribution? I never forget such things. I simply store for a rainy day and there are many for your sick ilk.
30 Jan 2012, 23:19 pm
@cab-334:
Yep the loss of 16 players including most their Wallabies has them the weakest Aus team on paper by quite some way this year…
But it’s quite amazing some of the (out of the square) things JW has already enforced from last year already to try and get the club and players back on track to being a power-house…
-their pre-season and conditioning programs started 3 months earlier than the other unions
- every squad member has to pick a local ACT club to represent rather than the powerful Sydney/NSW league most currently play in
- every squad member has long had a personal nutritional diet drawn up to follow, with the club canteen having been totally over-hauled and only offering specially designed menu’s (and takeaway menu’s) for the players… and so on and so on…
Going to be interesting to see if they can avoid the conference wooden-spoon… Rebels will be an improved outfit, Force are stronger are paper (albeit with no accomplished 10/12 axis with Ripia sacked) and Tahs/Reds will be as strong as ever…
30 Jan 2012, 23:19 pm
@Transformation-337: yes what SARU does is its own business. how it affects SANZAR is another thing.
explain to me how inclusion of the kings is a good idea. from where i sit it seems politically motivated.
30 Jan 2012, 23:20 pm
@SodaJoe-343:
You worried about Brum tomorrow?
People in Leeds are furios with Bates, Harvey and Grayson.
If Leeds win tomorrow then it may well be written in the stars.
30 Jan 2012, 23:21 pm
@man1a-323:
Treat it as a token rhetorics from the 3rd world
Most Super Rugby Unions currently struggle financially, introducing a far inferior team will cause substantial losses and diminishing interest in Down Under, and money talks.
@cab-334:
Which years do you refer to JW’s stint at Jeppe Boys?
I doubt the school still exists, 15 years ago it was abandoned already by most of its white pupils when the whole Bez Vally was in advance stage of ‘Informal Settlement’
30 Jan 2012, 23:24 pm
@ET.-344:
Douche-bag… you keep wasting your time posting your incoherent ‘non-rugby’ poorly constructed/punctuated drivel because I very much doubt anyone reads past the first line (if you’re lucky)… more than likely the case in your daily life too?
That’s rhetorical…
30 Jan 2012, 23:26 pm
349:
Shame ‘Broeder’!
30 Jan 2012, 23:26 pm
@Hondo-348: and thats what i didnt want to say. they will be an inferior team. how does this improve the (already diminished) quality of superRugby?
30 Jan 2012, 23:27 pm
@stormersboy-339:
The Roman church suppressed 90% of true christian teachings, they don’t even recognize the gospels of Thomas or Phillip because they don’t fit into their superstitious traditional framework
Christianity today don’t know the half of J’esus true teachings
30 Jan 2012, 23:28 pm
@man1a-346:
Wistful thinking on your side
SANZAR IS the Super Rugby governing body, Unions from Aus and NZ will not bear the cost of playing at home such an inferior team which can raise no interest so no revenue there.
But their style is more off line, not confrontational, they will deal with it though, rest assured
30 Jan 2012, 23:29 pm
And yet, ET, for all your professed eloquence, you persist in the mindset of “us” versus “them”.
I am not the one who needs to get with the times.
You, sir, are as racist as DF Malan ever was.
30 Jan 2012, 23:30 pm
@Hondo-353: do the kings stand a chance of winning a game? do they at least play innovative rugby? or is it the same old kick and pressure.
30 Jan 2012, 23:32 pm
to everyone not talking rugby, quote from to kill a mockingbird. Scout is a 9 year old narrator of the story who says “Jem, I think there’s only one type of folks, folks” pretty simple really.
in the immortal words of jimmyCliff “we all are one, we are the same persons.”
30 Jan 2012, 23:33 pm
@ashampoopaloo-352: yes, the gnostic gospels. I’ve actually read them.
Interesting stuff,
The Nicene creed did decide what was divine and what was earthly and a great deal of stuff was omitted and destroyed over time.
We’ll never know the total of all that was lost and corrupted.
But that’s the difference between faith and religion.
30 Jan 2012, 23:35 pm
@man1a-351:
It surely will not
The latest expansion teams the Rebels and the Forces are based in a huge metropolitan centres in Aus, the economy drives the sport there, no shortage of sponsors.
What has PE to offer in comparison?
Just an exercise in futility to undermine the struggling Cheetahs and the Lions, it makes the day at the ancyl boychiks, rest assured
30 Jan 2012, 23:39 pm
Stormers trio back in training
2012-01-30 20:42Email | Print
Cape Town – A few young hopefuls will have their last chance to impress this week ahead of the Stormers selection of a 26-man squad to usher in the 2012 Super Rugby season against New Zealand’s Hurricanes in three weeks.
Stormers head coach Allister Coetzee said on Monday that players would have a final chance to prove their worth against the Cheetahs at Newlands on Saturday.
After the Cheetahs match, the Stormers would decide on their Super Rugby squad and those players would play a final warm-up match against the Southern Kings at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in mid-February.
30 Jan 2012, 23:41 pm
@Hondo-358: yeah i agree
i dont know much bout SA politics but i do see that the lions and cheetahs will end up getting the raw deal as the other teams are well established and have all the economic and personnel advantages.
cheetahs have come a long way and i enjoy watching them play. they have a courageous creative mindset. they deserve to stay.
30 Jan 2012, 23:42 pm
Die-354:
As far as the cortical function is concerned i have little or nothing in common with you outside of my special senses. Non-rracialism is what I have and still do, strive for whereas you make excuses for your forefathers(trying hard to be funny). So why should I strive to wastefully be one with you a LIAR?
Now even my “eloquence” bothers you instead of making you proud. Imagine what my knowlegde in the madical sciences does?
Yes striving against you louts and hordes for the TRUTH that you all are so eager to deny out of sheer shame does certainly make me your “racist” but to the genuine millions just in the Cape ,east and west, I am much accepted as a no-racist like all of them. Afetr all we did not give our homeland APARTHEID.
NOu kan jy maar huil, drink en slaap. F O K K O F.
30 Jan 2012, 23:47 pm
How humorous it is to be on the outside just reading the daily/evening posts of the deluded ‘brothers’ in racial hatred, ET and Shabs. Like Laurel and Hardy, these two clowns.
30 Jan 2012, 23:49 pm
A no-racist?
Extraball is the biggest racist of them all.
Have to have a chat about him when I see Prof Noakes later in the week.
30 Jan 2012, 23:50 pm
@bryce_in_oz-345:
he got jackshit to work with, pity about giteau probably a season or two left and needed, but a bit of a shitstirrer, thing about the aussies tho is they will go full tilt and will eat up that conditioning.
30 Jan 2012, 23:50 pm
ET do they know you as a “no-racist” in “Tokoza”?
30 Jan 2012, 23:54 pm
@ET.-361:
yeah but with the europeans came science and medicine, so what u wanna complain about the broeder or stil be banging on the bongos puffing peace pipe and cooking the rabbit in a pot of hoe?
30 Jan 2012, 23:56 pm
@Hondo-348:
think he coached their in the 80s, school always been pretty poor at rugby, he took them to the top, which is no mean feat considering the culture of some of the other big rugby powerhouse schools – quite amazing what coaching can do actually especially at that level.
30 Jan 2012, 23:57 pm
@man1a-351: how did the force improve super rugby? how about the rebels? they took a 43-0 drubbing from the waratahs even after being allowed to buy more international players than anyone else. where was all this indignation?
you think the lions’ performances in 2010 “improved” super rugby?
30 Jan 2012, 23:58 pm
not even the wheel was used or known to the peace pipe smoking (in between Mfecane breaks) locals. The couldn’t even take the hint offered by the dung beetles.
30 Jan 2012, 23:58 pm
ET is known worldwide as a “know-nothing”.
31 Jan 2012, 00:01 am
Yes Teutonic, and i guess listicked pink pigs can fly too, like you correct?
When a mere morsel is latched onto as if it was a gold bar then you have what is the personification of desparation. There must be a gigantic difference between no and non hence the end result or effect is exactly the same.
31 Jan 2012, 00:01 am
should read lipsticked
31 Jan 2012, 00:03 am
Madical sciences, indeed.
Exeunt.
31 Jan 2012, 00:03 am
@Transformation-368: your looking for an argument in the wrong place. i was against the force and rebels getting a franchise. they havent contributed anything to super. i was indignant then as i am now about these extra teams. SANZAR however didnt pay heed to me then and i doubt they will now
not sure bout the lions didnt watch a lot of their games. what did they contribute? little i think but not entirely sure as i was tracking the sormers and bulls of the SA conference.
what i’m asking is how is including the kings good for superRugby and I dont mean the good it gives to SA, thats your internal issues to deal with., i want to know what good it will provide for superRugby as a whole
31 Jan 2012, 00:04 am
@cab-366: that is quite an insulting line if thinking, you reckon the only way an exchange of ideas can happen or technology advance is for some to be subjugated?
come off it man ffs
31 Jan 2012, 00:06 am
@Transformation-375:
its v insulting, pity u were insulted, suppose its a bit too close to the bone and all.
31 Jan 2012, 00:08 am
What a disgrace and insult to rugby supporters including the Kings – they will concede 50 per match – pathetic
31 Jan 2012, 00:11 am
ET, if you start correcting your mistakes you’ll post nothing but corrections from now until the end of time.
What you fail to understand is that even if you had a passingly decent grasp of English you would have nothing of any interest to communicate.
And RANDOMLY capitalizing words doesn’t add any gravitas to your ramblings.
So kindly **** off.
31 Jan 2012, 00:12 am
So the basket-baby broederbonder has come down from the hills he ran to on Friday in utter haste? Does he not realise that the hills are alive with the sound of music despite his khaki shorts and knickers escapades?
Is he still trying to link his H.M. to the Broeders or is he still struggling with the eradication of the excrement he was dragged through by some so visibly on Friday and that caused his run?
Actually after the dogmatic and militaristic utterances of his hero this week-end he may now get the Broeder tag to stick.
One thing he should not deny is that he got an education about his Broeders ,esp. in rugby, and also should have learnt that what happens today in rugby MAY only be revealed 20 – 60 years from today and certainly not in a book by C. Greyvenstein(does he even know that name)?
31 Jan 2012, 00:13 am
@man1a-374: the same thing the likes of the highanders, lions, cheetahs have been providing!
hondo goes on about melbourne being a cosmopolitan city and ridicules PE yet he ignores BLOEMFONTEIN
when was the last time he saw a FULL stadium during a super rugby game @ vodacom park?
ellis park which is in the big financial hub of SA has been deserted by fans for the past DECADE, who complained about this?
31 Jan 2012, 00:14 am
look bottomline if u got okes talking ****, what u want me to engage in a sensible conversation with them for? are u mad, this is just kakpraat central. but its actually a good point here is ET complaining about the europeans and yet the entire body of medicine which he is so proud of is fudamentally a western european exercise, sure u got some dipshits who like to pretend the arabs had a little something to do with it, but zippo in reality. actually i think the bongo drummer pipe-smokers had it right, all they did was chase tail over the kalahari 24/7…
31 Jan 2012, 00:15 am
@cab-376: msunu wakho
31 Jan 2012, 00:15 am
@man1a-374: Ignore him. You’re quite right, of course. Super Rugby is increasingly becoming a bit of a farce. The absolute last thing we need is another team – the competition is far too long already. The only way to improve the quality is to reduce both the number of teams and the number of games. The conference system also needs to go. It was invented purely to give the Aussies a domestic competition and does’t benefit SA or NZ at all.
31 Jan 2012, 00:17 am
I will repeat this post because it was an excellent one.
We already have 2 rubbish teams who permanently languish in the bottom half and now we want to add another weak team? Talk about diluting our resources… talk about fostering a losing South African mentality against NZ and Aus opposition…
If the Kings must be included, as seems the case, the best result would be for the silly and boring S15 conference system to be scrapped and for the competition to revert to a straight league shoot out featuring 16 teams. This will mean everyone plays against each other once – no random/lucky breaks for missing any teams. This will also mean marginally less rugby – a good thing in an already oversaturated market.
It would be even more ideal for viewing entertainment if the S16 was split into two divisions of 8 with an annual promotion/relegation. This would ensure strength vs strength fixtures, and would add an element of interest and intrigue re the promotion and relegation battle. This format would also enable convenient growth of the game in the Argentinian/Pacific Islands/Japanese/North American markets as teams from these potential markets could at some stage in the future easily make up a 3rd division of 8 with promotion and relegation too. Who knows, one day we may even see some of these teams moving all the way up through the divisions.
If any two teams are to be merged, surely the most convenient in terms of where they are based, where their fans are based, etc would be a marriage of the Bulls and the Lions into a Super super franchise? This would mean no players would have to relocate and be away from home, and crucially, the fans can go and watch all the home games.
Why?
- Because the Kings “have to be” accommodated.
- Because the previous merger of two weak teams into the awfully named Cats did not work.
- Because part of that failure was the distance between the Cheetahs and Lions unions.
- Because the Bulls can only be made stronger by a merger – they will be entitled to select from the crème de la crème at the Lions.
- Because the Lions and Bulls are conveniently within a 40 minute drive of each other and their respective fans will be afforded the opportunity of attending every home game (they’d probably all fit into the magnificent Soweto stadium too).
- Because it might be the best and most seamless solution for South African rugby overall.
Bring on the two division S16 (with the Kings)!
If not, bring on the Bull Cats!
31 Jan 2012, 00:18 am
Die-373:
Another rapid-typing-morsel as the Extraterrestrial takes on again the wolf-pack of up to a dozen at one time.
The DESPERADOS are shameless. When will you come to your senses?
Nou f o k k o f vir goed, gemors.
31 Jan 2012, 00:18 am
@Transformation-382:
hau hau, u forget i am fluent.
31 Jan 2012, 00:19 am
utate ipiepie isuzu isizulu inji wena, yoh yoh yoh!
31 Jan 2012, 00:22 am
yoh imagine how exciting the two division S16 promotion/relegation battle would be!
31 Jan 2012, 00:22 am
@cab-386: hahaga you’re “fluent” as ET is eloquent
31 Jan 2012, 00:25 am
@Transformation-389:
yeah he’s going on about the hills are alive with the sound of music so its all going one way.
31 Jan 2012, 00:32 am
@cab-381:
You are being stupidly dishonest as I have with a sincere purpose highlighted the despicable interferences of the Broederbond in SA rugby for years until some exposure in a book in 1995.. Much has been quoted bfrom their documents and if you have not read all then you must shut up
Nowhere have I ever used the term “europeans” in that discourse In fact I have deliberately ignored you for days in that discourse as you are irrelevant with your stupid comments thinking you are funny. Everything written on that topic is the TRUTH.
Broederbonders are a specific set of Europeans and not the other way round. Few Europeans speak Afrikaans and that is one of the qualifications needed to join that scum.
31 Jan 2012, 00:34 am
@ET.-391:
but what have the broederbonders, an organisation rooted firmly in the past, got anything whatsoever to do with the present, pray tell?
31 Jan 2012, 00:34 am
@cab-390:
If you do not know and cannot follow from what has been said before then STFU.
31 Jan 2012, 00:36 am
@kaksioek-383: @kaksioek-383: for as long as super rugby has been on there have been kak saffa teams…for nearly a decade the heyneke meyer coached bulls were the only team to have gone winless, prior to that they were always languishing around position 10 & 12.
everyone keeps singing that heyneke developed the bulls himself, well imagine if they’d been relegated at the end of 2002?
31 Jan 2012, 00:40 am
@ET.-393:
u think im going to read thru your reams of kak? just give me the shortened version asb. basically as i understand it you are rehashing that there was a broederbond that existed in SA rugby 30 years back, whats the breaking news?
31 Jan 2012, 00:43 am
@Transformation-380: sorry you’ve lost me.
@kaksioek-383: fully agree. these derby games only benefit Aus. i dont want to watch NZ teams play each other thats what our ITM cup is for. i have to say tho that i like the SA derbies. saffa’s hit each other harder than any other team
format the way it stands sux. reduce the teams reduce the amount of games. heard it here that it’d be better going back to S12. couldnt agree more. 4 teams each would mean much more quality rugby and we wouldnt be thrashing our best of the best
@Forseti-384: good idea…except i can see a whole bunch of political landmines in wait. also do u think Aus will let SA have another team without another fight? pretty sure NZ doesnt want any more teams. aus’s push to get 5 teams was stupid yet they went ahead and got it approved. i imagine if sa have 6 teams then aus will want 6 as well and then we’re back to adding a bunch of senseless teams because they can not whether they should
@cab-392:
Again you read and do not understand .
Do you belong to the Afrikanerbond to know what they are not doing or may well be doing?
Because of your membership can you catergorically deny their involvement?
I have copiously said that what can be happening today may only be revealed in 20-60 years from today.
Do you even realise that the breakdown in the Guma Tac deal with the GLRU revolves around the notion of transformation that everyone in SARU swear to promote? Is that not a racial issue and where is that emanating from?
How do you explain the clear non-racist attitudes in all of the Tvl when you look at team sheets of Puma, Valke, Bulls, Lions(prior to Mitch.) and more?
Ophou soos ‘n gek aangaan.
@Transformation-394: Ja, but now that they’re not kak anymore you want to replace them with a tam that is guaranteed to be kak. For what – for Cheeky’s benefit?
31 Jan 2012, 00:44 am
@kaksioek-398: tam should be team
31 Jan 2012, 00:46 am
@cab-395:
Then STFU ,as you are not relevant to the discussion and have no right to call it ****.
Why do you think I ignored you wrt a serious matter for me and many S.Africans?
31 Jan 2012, 00:47 am
@ET.-397:
membership? what has my subscription to virgin active to do with the broeders?
31 Jan 2012, 00:48 am
@cab-395:
Jou Baaskap dring deur weer jou vuilhond
F O K K O F nou.
31 Jan 2012, 00:49 am
@ET.-400: “Then STFU ,as you are not relevant to the discussion and have no right to call it ****. Why do you think I ignored you wrt a serious matter for me and many S.Africans?”
Seriously, the tannies still take the evil broederbond seriously? Jirre you know how to chew a bone, most spat it out 30 years ago oom.
31 Jan 2012, 00:50 am
My casual observation is that Cab seems to have ET’s measure.
31 Jan 2012, 00:51 am
@ET.-400:
christus, u being serious, u greaving for the ghost of greyvenstrein’s broeders of wat?
besides what discussion u having, i mostly see u and brother spazz shabazz on some some of trolling exercise.
31 Jan 2012, 00:56 am
Yes, and it 10 inches by 3 inches.
Keep flying you lipsticked,pink pig.
31 Jan 2012, 00:57 am
@kaksioek-398: “guaranteed to be kak”? who is making guarantees here?
some of u okes live in a different dimension really. the bulls were allowed to be kak, the lions have been allowed to be kak but noone else is allowed to develop while playing in super rugby and enjoying the financial rewards that accrue from being part of the competition
there are no unions that should see themselves as more equal than others in SARU. everyone can build structures it is not the sole preserve of some…
anywho i’m tired.
31 Jan 2012, 00:59 am
lol @ lipsticked pink pig
fk me this is one funny bugger, not operating with a fully firing engine under the hood.
31 Jan 2012, 01:04 am
@cab-405:
Why not address the GLRU transformation failure to honour to acquire the Guma millions or the lack of non-racial teams in the total Tvl region and elsewhhere.
Why ignore too the existence of the Afrikanerbond which is the re-incarnated Afrikaner Broederbond as my posts show having the same aims and goals and whose top boy was Louis Luyt’s spokesmman recently still? :
31 Jan 2012, 01:06 am
oh no, don’t start the Philly brown rat off on the Afrikanerbond theme again.
31 Jan 2012, 01:08 am
@ET.-409:
Why is there a need for the existence of the Afrikanerbond.?
Are they doing anything in rugby or possibly nothing? Do you know as you so categorically deny activity because of your impendinng membership.
Or are you waiting for me to expose some new revelation 20- 60 years from now?
31 Jan 2012, 01:09 am
@ET.-409:
cos its late and i actually dont care, totsiens.
31 Jan 2012, 01:09 am
@man1a-396: yeah you’re going to be lost because these are inherently saffa issue that you know nothing about, your stance is based on ‘i like the cheetahs the DESERVE to stay’ um, sorry pal that doesn’t wash around here.
31 Jan 2012, 01:10 am
Did not last long enough HG?
Just a pitiful fool are you. I told you yesterday, Helen, I knew who you were/are
31 Jan 2012, 01:11 am
@cab-412:
Typical coward after being exposed as a fraud again, ” Blackie” se neef of is dit niggie?
31 Jan 2012, 01:34 am
@Transformation-413: you havent given a reason why its a good idea to have the kings included. I’m open minded enough to be educated with reason and i may be slow but i do learn
i dont see any advantage to rugby including the kings.
if i’m wrong then point out why. i know there are sht loads of inherent saffa issues, no way will i be really able to appreciate all of them. but my stance is from my observations, cheetahs play good rugby so should stay. my motives are purely rugby motives. what are your arguemnts for the kings being included?
31 Jan 2012, 05:20 am
@ET.-411: Why is there a need for BEE?
31 Jan 2012, 06:36 am
Afrkanerbond?
Agent khakiballs is on the trail again.
Keep up the good work.
I’ll let Noakesy know that his former cleaner is doing great things.
31 Jan 2012, 06:42 am
Once again like little Lulu Twatson and his Bok Blaser, his team is now a forced inclusion in something they do not deserve.
31 Jan 2012, 06:43 am
@ET.-414:
You sound like Shaunie, big boy making threats on a website……when confronted in real life that yellow stain down your back looks like a baby that shat down his back
31 Jan 2012, 07:25 am
@man1a-416:
A fledgling Democracy has to take bold steps to be inclusive of all its peoples. Rugby is not the end all,be all. We have to take affirmative action to help those who are disadvantaged through no fault of their own. Long Live The Kings.
31 Jan 2012, 07:45 am
What utter nonsense Cardinelli writes here.
This is a ridiculous charade by SARU. How is it that the Australians and Kiwis get it every single time and the journos here are so wide of the mark and eat up a BS release from SARU.
For what it is worth people – read this and see what the real situation is:
South Africa pushes Southern Kings’ bid into Super Rugby
BY:BRET HARRIS From:The Australian January 30, 2012 12:00AM
Increase Text Size
Decrease Text Size
Print
SOUTH Africa is strongly supporting the Southern Kings’ bid for admission to Super Rugby next year, but further expansion of the competition is unlikely to occur for a few years.
The South African Rugby Union has re-affirmed its desire to see the Kings become Super Rugby’s 16th team and will discuss the issue with its SANZAR partners, Australia and New Zealand.
The South Africans are keen to use the Kings, based in Port Elizabeth in the Eastern Cape, as a vehicle to promote black rugby, a strategy that is heavily endorsed by the South African government.
But it is difficult to imagine SANZAR bringing in the Kings in the middle of a five-year broadcast agreement.
The addition of the Kings, which would result in South Africa having six teams to Australia’s and New Zealand’s five each, would necessitate the dismantling of Super Rugby’s conference system, which was hailed as a success last year.
If South Africa wants the Kings in Super Rugby next year, it will probably have to accommodate them in its five-team conference, which includes the Bulls, Cheetahs, Lions, Sharks and Stormers.
The only way the South Africans could achieve this would be to introduce a promotion and relegation system or for two existing teams to merge.
If the South Africans are patient, there could be an opportunity for the Kings in 2016 after the current broadcast deal is renegotiated. It is possible SANZAR will look at expanding to a Super 18 competition, but without additional teams from Australia and New Zealand. Australia does not have enough depth of talent for a sixth team, while New Zealand lacks another city large enough to accommodate an additional franchise. As a result, SANZAR would almost certainly look to Japan and the US.
When the Kings competed with Melbourne Rebels for the 15th Super Rugby licence, they proposed to play as the fifth team in the Australian conference rather than as the sixth team in South Africa to retain the five-team balance in each of the three conferences.
On this basis, a team located in Tokyo could play in the Australian conference and a team from the the US could play in the New Zealand conference along with a new team from South Africa.
An 18-team competition would appear to grant the Kings automatic entry to Super Rugby, but the South Africans may face stiff competition.
Argentina will compete with Australia, New Zealand and South Africa in the new Rugby Championship this year.
Rugby in Argentina is still amateur and the vast majority of the Pumas play professionally in Europe, mainly France.
The presence of a Super Rugby franchise in Buenos Aires could help to professionalise the game in Argentina, which could see more of Argentina’s top players playing in their own country.
While the Kings would be the firm favourites for any future expansion, Argentina at least offers another potential option.
“The conference model does provide flexibility, which could involve North American, South American or Asian teams in Super Rugby,” ARU chief executive John O’Neill said.
“We can examine options to see what can be done. You could have a Super Rugby team out of San Francisco, Buenos Aires or Tokyo.
“There would be logistical issues, but as long as the integrity of the competition is maintained and the teams are competitive . . . it’s exciting what the conference system presents us with.”
Amen.
31 Jan 2012, 08:01 am
Fear and Loathing in Las Keo…
Schweet…
31 Jan 2012, 08:17 am
Have to laugh at Extra-testicular and Chairman of the Bored…
These guys are stuck in a time-warp of irrelevance and trying desperately to get back to the future… which has passed them by…
These Armchair Faux-Revolutionaires left the country and got left behind by the revolution… they have absolutely no relevance, recognition or credibility in their adopted countries and none whatsoever in South Africa either…. and the only way they can force anyone to listen is by trying to hijack a rugby blog and preach to a ‘captive audience’… but they are too thick skinned and thick-skulled to realize that virtually everyone sees through their emotional-stupidity, sub-intelligence, dishonesty and cowardice…
You have to feel sorry for Extra-Testicular when they only media that covered his recent state visit to South Africa was a journalist called Extra-Testicular who published his eagerly awaited press releases (not) on the SA equivalent of the Huffington Post… keo.co.za…
These guys are so dof they can’t even articulate any original thought or debate of their own and are reduced to cutting-and-pasting hackneyed decades-old philosophies and constant repeats of information published elsewhere as if they have just discovered google and are so impressed with their ‘advanced’ abilities and think no one else has ever heard of the information age and the internet…
They display their cowardice above all else by preaching from the comfort of their soft, warm lounges secure in their Philly Freedom and call for others to rise up and join them… how…? By running away too..? Like tin-pot wannabes they shout from a safe distance when if they had any integrity or sincerity they would not be wasting their breath or finger muscles beating up their keyboards, if they were not the liars they are they would be working in places like Masiphumelele, Dunoon and Khayalitsha doing all they can to uplift these communities and help them attain the economic freedom for which they still wait…
But it’s way more convenient, easy and safe to stroke their own egos in farsical yet sickening displays of ego masturbation in the safety of their wealthy homes overseas…
How that helps anyone but their own self-satisfaction only they will ever know…
Revolutionaires Extraordinaire…
Hehehe…
31 Jan 2012, 08:29 am
@Gordon Gekko-422:
Are they crazy! More teams=more rugby + crazy travel schedules ! This super rugby tournament is starting to pisss me off. Test rugby is much more important to rugby supporters. They are killing it by super sizing the rugby season. Its going to be everybody’s excuse when we see mediocre Tests from fatigued international players. Every year we are told not to expect the boks to win much of the end of the year tour games, because the players are dead tired after a long season!
Its total bulll (no pun intended) for HM to be expected to train a bok team in a week. And its totally unfair to expect super rugby coaches to release players for bok training/rest for tests. In order to have tests, a realistic space should be made for them to take place in. SANZAR’s hand is getting stuck in the cookie jar and someone should stop them!
The IRB should step in and tell these greedy SANZAR buggers to cool it! Rugby fans who would rather see their players protected from too much rugby and see the quality of test matches protected should boycott or sign a petition or something. Id be happy with a 4 month super tournament, a decent full strength (boks included) currie cup and test matches.
And I dont support conference games. Why would we want to play a mini currie cup? The point is to test ourselves against nz and au clubs! If they cut out the conference games or make local teams play against each other once, there will be a lot less unnecessary games and less rugby.
Boycott/ Petition !!!!!! WHERE DO I SIGN????????
31 Jan 2012, 09:10 am
@Jeez-425:
JEEZ my good man, this is the way it is.
The words to look for here are, “the television schedule is set through till 2015″.
How does SARU in their one cote to the two votes of Oz & NZ sway this?
They don’t, they just bend down and take it again from O’Neil.
Did you not know that SARU is O’Neils & Tew’s *****?
31 Jan 2012, 09:11 am
@Jeez-425: this is the legacy of one greedy aussie doos, his filthiness john o’neill
31 Jan 2012, 09:18 am
meant bee-atch!
31 Jan 2012, 09:37 am
Capo hasn’t left the country.
His parole officer won’t even let him leave Cape Town.
31 Jan 2012, 12:26 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-429:
oh… thanks…
by their rhetoric they all look the same to me…!
31 Jan 2012, 12:49 pm
@trupisero-417: in 1948 the national party practised a very similar system when they got to power.in 1948 english speaking south africans were replaced by afrikaners in all major government and private institutions.afrikaner companies got promoted to levels not yet seen in south africa again.it could be worse ,so in that respect the anc government has done quite well.