Kings’ inclusion forces Super shake-up
30 Jan 2012
JON CARDINELLI examines the ramifications of the Southern Kings’ guaranteed entry into the 2013 Super Rugby tournament.
For better or worse, there is going to be change. Saru has confirmed the Kings will join the Super Rugby family next year and that one way or another the competition is never going to be the same.
Discussions around next year’s format are ongoing, and the final decision on the format as well as the total number of participants in 2013 will only be announced by Sanzar in March. What’s guaranteed is that the Kings will feature, meaning there’s a possibility one of the existing franchises will be excluded or that two teams could be forced to unite under one banner. Saru CEO Jurie Roux said there was another option that would see all six South African franchises playing in 2013.
The problem with the first option is determining who should be relegated. Is it the team that has struggled in recent years or is it the side that finishes at the bottom of the South African conference in 2012?
Another thing to consider is that the Super Rugby competition will be underway by the time Sanzar announces their decision. How will that alter the strategies of weaker teams like the Cheetahs and Lions, who will be effectively scrapping for survival in top-flight rugby?
If it’s a realistic option at this stage, the clash between these two teams in Round 1 could be vital. The Cheetahs and Lions may also look to rest their best players for matches against Australasian opposition, as they would know that success in the SA conference would be influential to their continued inclusion in Super Rugby.
Is it the right call to combine the two franchises? A lot of people claim the Cats concept didn’t work, and yet the Cats qualified for the Super Rugby play-offs in 2000 and 2001. The best finish for the Cheetahs since they split from the Lions is 10th (in 2006 and 2010) while the Lions are marginally worse with a best finish of 12th (in 2007 and 2009). Since 2006, both teams have failed to finish the league stage in the top half of the table.
The question that needs to be asked is whether either of these teams will ever challenge for a play-off place. It must be part of the deliberation process, although Saru will have other things to consider.
Where do they base the amalgamated franchise, Bloemfontein or Johannesburg? The Cheetahs’ administrators have also argued against the mooted reunion for many years as they feel the loss of a Super Rugby franchise will result in the death of the Free State Union. And considering the importance of this union in terms of the young talent it nurtures at age group level, the continued survival of Free State and Cheetahs rugby is important for South African rugby.
But including all six franchises in the 2013 competition could present a further problem. It would necessitate the revision of the league format, as it would be unfair for South Africa teams to play two extra games in their conference because of the impact it would have on the combined log and because of the toll it would take on the South African players. The Kings will play in 2013 and if Sanzar insists on keeping the Cheetahs and Lions too, they will need to come up with a new league format.
Going back to a round-robin system could have multiple benefits. This would require that each side plays 15 games during the league stage, just one less than is currently played under the conference-based league format. The play-off round would fall away and the best four sides would advance to the semi-finals. Overall the competition would be shorter allowing the best players to balance their Super Rugby obligations with Test commitments in June and in the Rugby Championship.
The conference-based format currently in place is flawed from a commercial and rugby view point. New Zealand especially is struggling to sell the derby concept to the Kiwi public while the dilution of talent in Australia means top teams like the Reds and Waratahs pick up easy five-pointers whenever they play the Melbourne Rebels. South Africa is at a disadvantage because they effectively play a mini-Currie Cup in their conference, and these games are typically physical and can result in injuries.
There are other reasons to celebrate the Kings’ inclusion pertaining to transformation and the further development of the South-Eastern Cape. But with regards to the format, their inclusion could force a change the competition certainly needs.

431 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All
30 Jan 2012, 23:26 pm
@Hondo-348: and thats what i didnt want to say. they will be an inferior team. how does this improve the (already diminished) quality of superRugby?
30 Jan 2012, 23:27 pm
@stormersboy-339:
The Roman church suppressed 90% of true christian teachings, they don’t even recognize the gospels of Thomas or Phillip because they don’t fit into their superstitious traditional framework
Christianity today don’t know the half of J’esus true teachings
30 Jan 2012, 23:28 pm
@man1a-346:
Wistful thinking on your side
SANZAR IS the Super Rugby governing body, Unions from Aus and NZ will not bear the cost of playing at home such an inferior team which can raise no interest so no revenue there.
But their style is more off line, not confrontational, they will deal with it though, rest assured
30 Jan 2012, 23:29 pm
And yet, ET, for all your professed eloquence, you persist in the mindset of “us” versus “them”.
I am not the one who needs to get with the times.
You, sir, are as racist as DF Malan ever was.
30 Jan 2012, 23:30 pm
@Hondo-353: do the kings stand a chance of winning a game? do they at least play innovative rugby? or is it the same old kick and pressure.
30 Jan 2012, 23:32 pm
to everyone not talking rugby, quote from to kill a mockingbird. Scout is a 9 year old narrator of the story who says “Jem, I think there’s only one type of folks, folks” pretty simple really.
in the immortal words of jimmyCliff “we all are one, we are the same persons.”
30 Jan 2012, 23:33 pm
@ashampoopaloo-352: yes, the gnostic gospels. I’ve actually read them.
Interesting stuff,
The Nicene creed did decide what was divine and what was earthly and a great deal of stuff was omitted and destroyed over time.
We’ll never know the total of all that was lost and corrupted.
But that’s the difference between faith and religion.
30 Jan 2012, 23:35 pm
@man1a-351:
It surely will not
The latest expansion teams the Rebels and the Forces are based in a huge metropolitan centres in Aus, the economy drives the sport there, no shortage of sponsors.
What has PE to offer in comparison?
Just an exercise in futility to undermine the struggling Cheetahs and the Lions, it makes the day at the ancyl boychiks, rest assured
30 Jan 2012, 23:39 pm
Stormers trio back in training
2012-01-30 20:42Email | Print
Cape Town – A few young hopefuls will have their last chance to impress this week ahead of the Stormers selection of a 26-man squad to usher in the 2012 Super Rugby season against New Zealand’s Hurricanes in three weeks.
Stormers head coach Allister Coetzee said on Monday that players would have a final chance to prove their worth against the Cheetahs at Newlands on Saturday.
After the Cheetahs match, the Stormers would decide on their Super Rugby squad and those players would play a final warm-up match against the Southern Kings at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in mid-February.
30 Jan 2012, 23:41 pm
@Hondo-358: yeah i agree
i dont know much bout SA politics but i do see that the lions and cheetahs will end up getting the raw deal as the other teams are well established and have all the economic and personnel advantages.
cheetahs have come a long way and i enjoy watching them play. they have a courageous creative mindset. they deserve to stay.
30 Jan 2012, 23:42 pm
Die-354:
As far as the cortical function is concerned i have little or nothing in common with you outside of my special senses. Non-rracialism is what I have and still do, strive for whereas you make excuses for your forefathers(trying hard to be funny). So why should I strive to wastefully be one with you a LIAR?
Now even my “eloquence” bothers you instead of making you proud. Imagine what my knowlegde in the madical sciences does?
Yes striving against you louts and hordes for the TRUTH that you all are so eager to deny out of sheer shame does certainly make me your “racist” but to the genuine millions just in the Cape ,east and west, I am much accepted as a no-racist like all of them. Afetr all we did not give our homeland APARTHEID.
NOu kan jy maar huil, drink en slaap. F O K K O F.
30 Jan 2012, 23:47 pm
How humorous it is to be on the outside just reading the daily/evening posts of the deluded ‘brothers’ in racial hatred, ET and Shabs. Like Laurel and Hardy, these two clowns.
30 Jan 2012, 23:49 pm
A no-racist?
Extraball is the biggest racist of them all.
Have to have a chat about him when I see Prof Noakes later in the week.
30 Jan 2012, 23:50 pm
@bryce_in_oz-345:
he got jackshit to work with, pity about giteau probably a season or two left and needed, but a bit of a shitstirrer, thing about the aussies tho is they will go full tilt and will eat up that conditioning.
30 Jan 2012, 23:50 pm
ET do they know you as a “no-racist” in “Tokoza”?
30 Jan 2012, 23:54 pm
@ET.-361:
yeah but with the europeans came science and medicine, so what u wanna complain about the broeder or stil be banging on the bongos puffing peace pipe and cooking the rabbit in a pot of hoe?
30 Jan 2012, 23:56 pm
@Hondo-348:
think he coached their in the 80s, school always been pretty poor at rugby, he took them to the top, which is no mean feat considering the culture of some of the other big rugby powerhouse schools – quite amazing what coaching can do actually especially at that level.
30 Jan 2012, 23:57 pm
@man1a-351: how did the force improve super rugby? how about the rebels? they took a 43-0 drubbing from the waratahs even after being allowed to buy more international players than anyone else. where was all this indignation?
you think the lions’ performances in 2010 “improved” super rugby?
30 Jan 2012, 23:58 pm
not even the wheel was used or known to the peace pipe smoking (in between Mfecane breaks) locals. The couldn’t even take the hint offered by the dung beetles.
30 Jan 2012, 23:58 pm
ET is known worldwide as a “know-nothing”.
31 Jan 2012, 00:01 am
Yes Teutonic, and i guess listicked pink pigs can fly too, like you correct?
When a mere morsel is latched onto as if it was a gold bar then you have what is the personification of desparation. There must be a gigantic difference between no and non hence the end result or effect is exactly the same.
31 Jan 2012, 00:01 am
should read lipsticked
31 Jan 2012, 00:03 am
Madical sciences, indeed.
Exeunt.
31 Jan 2012, 00:03 am
@Transformation-368: your looking for an argument in the wrong place. i was against the force and rebels getting a franchise. they havent contributed anything to super. i was indignant then as i am now about these extra teams. SANZAR however didnt pay heed to me then and i doubt they will now
not sure bout the lions didnt watch a lot of their games. what did they contribute? little i think but not entirely sure as i was tracking the sormers and bulls of the SA conference.
what i’m asking is how is including the kings good for superRugby and I dont mean the good it gives to SA, thats your internal issues to deal with., i want to know what good it will provide for superRugby as a whole
31 Jan 2012, 00:04 am
@cab-366: that is quite an insulting line if thinking, you reckon the only way an exchange of ideas can happen or technology advance is for some to be subjugated?
come off it man ffs
31 Jan 2012, 00:06 am
@Transformation-375:
its v insulting, pity u were insulted, suppose its a bit too close to the bone and all.
31 Jan 2012, 00:08 am
What a disgrace and insult to rugby supporters including the Kings – they will concede 50 per match – pathetic
31 Jan 2012, 00:11 am
ET, if you start correcting your mistakes you’ll post nothing but corrections from now until the end of time.
What you fail to understand is that even if you had a passingly decent grasp of English you would have nothing of any interest to communicate.
And RANDOMLY capitalizing words doesn’t add any gravitas to your ramblings.
So kindly **** off.
31 Jan 2012, 00:12 am
So the basket-baby broederbonder has come down from the hills he ran to on Friday in utter haste? Does he not realise that the hills are alive with the sound of music despite his khaki shorts and knickers escapades?
Is he still trying to link his H.M. to the Broeders or is he still struggling with the eradication of the excrement he was dragged through by some so visibly on Friday and that caused his run?
Actually after the dogmatic and militaristic utterances of his hero this week-end he may now get the Broeder tag to stick.
One thing he should not deny is that he got an education about his Broeders ,esp. in rugby, and also should have learnt that what happens today in rugby MAY only be revealed 20 – 60 years from today and certainly not in a book by C. Greyvenstein(does he even know that name)?
31 Jan 2012, 00:13 am
@man1a-374: the same thing the likes of the highanders, lions, cheetahs have been providing!
hondo goes on about melbourne being a cosmopolitan city and ridicules PE yet he ignores BLOEMFONTEIN
when was the last time he saw a FULL stadium during a super rugby game @ vodacom park?
ellis park which is in the big financial hub of SA has been deserted by fans for the past DECADE, who complained about this?
31 Jan 2012, 00:14 am
look bottomline if u got okes talking ****, what u want me to engage in a sensible conversation with them for? are u mad, this is just kakpraat central. but its actually a good point here is ET complaining about the europeans and yet the entire body of medicine which he is so proud of is fudamentally a western european exercise, sure u got some dipshits who like to pretend the arabs had a little something to do with it, but zippo in reality. actually i think the bongo drummer pipe-smokers had it right, all they did was chase tail over the kalahari 24/7…
31 Jan 2012, 00:15 am
@cab-376: msunu wakho
31 Jan 2012, 00:15 am
@man1a-374: Ignore him. You’re quite right, of course. Super Rugby is increasingly becoming a bit of a farce. The absolute last thing we need is another team – the competition is far too long already. The only way to improve the quality is to reduce both the number of teams and the number of games. The conference system also needs to go. It was invented purely to give the Aussies a domestic competition and does’t benefit SA or NZ at all.
31 Jan 2012, 00:17 am
I will repeat this post because it was an excellent one.
We already have 2 rubbish teams who permanently languish in the bottom half and now we want to add another weak team? Talk about diluting our resources… talk about fostering a losing South African mentality against NZ and Aus opposition…
If the Kings must be included, as seems the case, the best result would be for the silly and boring S15 conference system to be scrapped and for the competition to revert to a straight league shoot out featuring 16 teams. This will mean everyone plays against each other once – no random/lucky breaks for missing any teams. This will also mean marginally less rugby – a good thing in an already oversaturated market.
It would be even more ideal for viewing entertainment if the S16 was split into two divisions of 8 with an annual promotion/relegation. This would ensure strength vs strength fixtures, and would add an element of interest and intrigue re the promotion and relegation battle. This format would also enable convenient growth of the game in the Argentinian/Pacific Islands/Japanese/North American markets as teams from these potential markets could at some stage in the future easily make up a 3rd division of 8 with promotion and relegation too. Who knows, one day we may even see some of these teams moving all the way up through the divisions.
If any two teams are to be merged, surely the most convenient in terms of where they are based, where their fans are based, etc would be a marriage of the Bulls and the Lions into a Super super franchise? This would mean no players would have to relocate and be away from home, and crucially, the fans can go and watch all the home games.
Why?
- Because the Kings “have to be” accommodated.
- Because the previous merger of two weak teams into the awfully named Cats did not work.
- Because part of that failure was the distance between the Cheetahs and Lions unions.
- Because the Bulls can only be made stronger by a merger – they will be entitled to select from the crème de la crème at the Lions.
- Because the Lions and Bulls are conveniently within a 40 minute drive of each other and their respective fans will be afforded the opportunity of attending every home game (they’d probably all fit into the magnificent Soweto stadium too).
- Because it might be the best and most seamless solution for South African rugby overall.
Bring on the two division S16 (with the Kings)!
If not, bring on the Bull Cats!
31 Jan 2012, 00:18 am
Die-373:
Another rapid-typing-morsel as the Extraterrestrial takes on again the wolf-pack of up to a dozen at one time.
The DESPERADOS are shameless. When will you come to your senses?
Nou f o k k o f vir goed, gemors.
31 Jan 2012, 00:18 am
@Transformation-382:
hau hau, u forget i am fluent.
31 Jan 2012, 00:19 am
utate ipiepie isuzu isizulu inji wena, yoh yoh yoh!
31 Jan 2012, 00:22 am
yoh imagine how exciting the two division S16 promotion/relegation battle would be!
31 Jan 2012, 00:22 am
@cab-386: hahaga you’re “fluent” as ET is eloquent
31 Jan 2012, 00:25 am
@Transformation-389:
yeah he’s going on about the hills are alive with the sound of music so its all going one way.
31 Jan 2012, 00:32 am
@cab-381:
You are being stupidly dishonest as I have with a sincere purpose highlighted the despicable interferences of the Broederbond in SA rugby for years until some exposure in a book in 1995.. Much has been quoted bfrom their documents and if you have not read all then you must shut up
Nowhere have I ever used the term “europeans” in that discourse In fact I have deliberately ignored you for days in that discourse as you are irrelevant with your stupid comments thinking you are funny. Everything written on that topic is the TRUTH.
Broederbonders are a specific set of Europeans and not the other way round. Few Europeans speak Afrikaans and that is one of the qualifications needed to join that scum.
31 Jan 2012, 00:34 am
@ET.-391:
but what have the broederbonders, an organisation rooted firmly in the past, got anything whatsoever to do with the present, pray tell?
31 Jan 2012, 00:34 am
@cab-390:
If you do not know and cannot follow from what has been said before then STFU.
31 Jan 2012, 00:36 am
@kaksioek-383: @kaksioek-383: for as long as super rugby has been on there have been kak saffa teams…for nearly a decade the heyneke meyer coached bulls were the only team to have gone winless, prior to that they were always languishing around position 10 & 12.
everyone keeps singing that heyneke developed the bulls himself, well imagine if they’d been relegated at the end of 2002?
31 Jan 2012, 00:40 am
@ET.-393:
u think im going to read thru your reams of kak? just give me the shortened version asb. basically as i understand it you are rehashing that there was a broederbond that existed in SA rugby 30 years back, whats the breaking news?
31 Jan 2012, 00:43 am
@Transformation-380: sorry you’ve lost me.
@kaksioek-383: fully agree. these derby games only benefit Aus. i dont want to watch NZ teams play each other thats what our ITM cup is for. i have to say tho that i like the SA derbies. saffa’s hit each other harder than any other team
format the way it stands sux. reduce the teams reduce the amount of games. heard it here that it’d be better going back to S12. couldnt agree more. 4 teams each would mean much more quality rugby and we wouldnt be thrashing our best of the best
@Forseti-384: good idea…except i can see a whole bunch of political landmines in wait. also do u think Aus will let SA have another team without another fight? pretty sure NZ doesnt want any more teams. aus’s push to get 5 teams was stupid yet they went ahead and got it approved. i imagine if sa have 6 teams then aus will want 6 as well and then we’re back to adding a bunch of senseless teams because they can not whether they should
@cab-392:
Again you read and do not understand .
Do you belong to the Afrikanerbond to know what they are not doing or may well be doing?
Because of your membership can you catergorically deny their involvement?
I have copiously said that what can be happening today may only be revealed in 20-60 years from today.
Do you even realise that the breakdown in the Guma Tac deal with the GLRU revolves around the notion of transformation that everyone in SARU swear to promote? Is that not a racial issue and where is that emanating from?
How do you explain the clear non-racist attitudes in all of the Tvl when you look at team sheets of Puma, Valke, Bulls, Lions(prior to Mitch.) and more?
Ophou soos ‘n gek aangaan.
@Transformation-394: Ja, but now that they’re not kak anymore you want to replace them with a tam that is guaranteed to be kak. For what – for Cheeky’s benefit?
31 Jan 2012, 00:44 am
@kaksioek-398: tam should be team
31 Jan 2012, 00:46 am
@cab-395:
Then STFU ,as you are not relevant to the discussion and have no right to call it ****.
Why do you think I ignored you wrt a serious matter for me and many S.Africans?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All