• Pieter-Steph starts in one of two changes to Bok side

    Pieter-Steph starts in one of two changes to Bok side

    Rassie Eramsus, ahead of the second test in Bloemfontein, has made only two changes to the starting side that edged England 42-39 in the first test of the series last weekend. 

    Both changes come in the pack as versatile forward and captain against Wales, Pieter-Steph Du Toit, moves into the starting lineup at blinside flank, while Jean-Luc Du Preez drops to the bench. Stormers tighthead Frans Malherbe swaps straight in for Wilco Louw  at number three as Louw drops out the squad completely, after starting both of the first two tests (against Wales and then England).

    The only other change to the side sees Jesse Kriel replace Elton Jantjies on the bench. Akker Van Der Merwe retains his spot on the bench, even though Schalk Brits was called into the squad earlier in the week.

    Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira remains the starting loosehead and will become the 6th South African to play 100 tests for his country.

    Starting XV: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 S’bu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 RG Snyman, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

    Substitutes: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Thomas du Toit, 19 Jean-Luc du Preez, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Ivan van Zyl, 22 Jesse Kriel, 23 Warrick Gelant


    Article written by

    Aspiring digital and multimedia content producer, with a passion for rugby.