• Rassie’s Rainbow Boks points to a transformed future

    Rassie's Rainbow Boks points to a transformed future

    Rassie Erasmus has selected the most representative Springboks squad in the history of the game. The Bok coach has confirmed that all the players will see Test action in the opening two matches against Wales and England. This is no window-dressing exercise.

    Erasmus confirmed 43 players (24 forwards and 19 backs) for the first two Tests. The squad of 26 to travel to Washington DC for the one-off Test against Wales on June 2 will be announced on Monday.

    Those who stay behind will make up the core of the match 23 for the opening Test against England in Johannesburg.

    Erasmus selected 20 players of colour, 17 uncapped players and just five overseas-based players in the 43.

    Veterans Duane Vermeulen, Frans Styen and Bismarck du Plessis return, as do Willie le Roux and Faf de Klerk. All currently play overseas.

    17 uncapped in the squad are: Ox Nche, Thomas du Toit, Akker vd Merwe, RG Snyman, Marvin Orie, Jason Jenkins, Sikhu Notshe, Kwagga Smith, Ivan van Zyl, Embrose Papier, Cameron Wright, Robert du Preez, Andre Esterhuizen, Sbu Nkosi, Aphiwe Dyantyi, Makazole Mapimpi, Travis Ismaiel.

    The Springbok squad for the June internationals (in order of name, position, franchise, Test caps, points):

    Forwards (24):
    Nizaam Carr (loose forward, DHL Stormers, 5, 0)
    Bismarck du Plessis (hooker, Montpellier, France, 79, 55 – 11t)
    Dan du Preez (loose forward, Cell C Sharks, 3, 0)
    Jean-Luc du Preez (loose forward, Cell C Sharks, 10, 10 – 2t)
    Pieter-Steph du Toit (lock, DHL Stormers, 32, 20 – 4t)
    Thomas du Toit (prop, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)
    Jason Jenkins (lock, Vodacom Bulls, uncapped)
    Steven Kitshoff (prop, DHL Stormers, 23, 5 – 1t)
    Siya Kolisi (loose forward, DHL Stormers, 28, 20 – 4t)
    Wilco Louw (prop, DHL Stormers, 5, 0)
    Frans Malherbe (prop, DHL Stormers, 17, 0)
    Bongi Mbonambi (hooker, DHL Stormers, 14, 5 – 1t)
    Oupa Mohojé (loose forward, Toyota Cheetahs 18, 0)
    Franco Mostert (lock, Emirates Lions, 18, 5 – 1t)
    Tendai Mtawarira (prop, Cell C Sharks, 98, 10 – 2t)
    Ox Nche (prop, Toyota Cheetahs, uncapped)
    Sikhumbuzo Notshe (loose forward, DHL Stormers, uncapped)
    Trevor Nyakane (prop, Vodacom Bulls, 37, 5 – 1t)
    Marvin Orie (lock, Emirates Lions, uncapped)
    Chiliboy Ralepelle (hooker, Cell C Sharks 23, 5 – 1t)
    Kwagga Smith (loose forward, Emirates Lions, uncapped)
    RG Snyman (lock, Vodacom Bulls, uncapped)
    Akker van der Merwe (hooker, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)
    Duane Vermeulen (loose forward, Toulon, France, 39, 10 – 2t)

    Backs (19):
    Lukhanyo Am (centre, Cell C Sharks, 1, 0)
    Curwin Bosch (utility back Cell C Sharks, 1, 0)
    Damian de Allende (centre, DHL Stormers, 28, 15 – 3t)
    Faf de Klerk (scrumhalf, Sale Sharks, England, 11, 0)
    Robert du Preez (flyhalf, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)
    Aphiwe Dyantyi (wing, Emirates Lions, uncapped)
    André Esterhuizen (centre, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)
    Warrick Gelant (fullback, Vodacom Bulls, 2, 5 – 1t)
    Travis Ismaiel (wing, Vodacom Bulls, uncapped)
    Elton Jantjies (flyhalf, Emirates Lions, 23, 203 – 2t, 38c, 39p)
    Jesse Kriel (centre, Vodacom Bulls, 29, 40 – 8t)
    Willie le Roux (fullback, Wasps, England, 41, 50 – 10t)
    Makazole Mapimpi (wing, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)
    Sibusiso Nkosi (wing, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)
    Embrose Papier (scrumhalf, Vodacom Bulls, uncapped)
    Handré Pollard (flyhalf, Vodacom Bulls, 26, 218 – 3t, 37c, 40p, 3d)
    Frans Steyn (utility back, Montpellier, France, 56, 132 – 10t, 5c, 21p, 3d)
    Ivan van Zyl (scrumhalf, Vodacom Bulls, uncapped)
    Cameron Wright (scrumhalf, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)




    Article written by

    Keo has written about South African and international rugby professionally for the last 25 years