Castle Lager, Springboks, you & your bestie … a match made in rugby heaven

Castle Lager are always there for South Africa’s most famous rugby moments and now they even have a day called ‘Friendship Day’. So on this rugby Castle Lager Friendship Day, a toast to Springboks legends Bakkies Botha, Percy Montgomery and a personal legend Craig Cloete, writes Mark Keohane.
You will know Monty and Bakkies but Cloete is one of you or one of your mates; the outrageous schoolboy talent beaten by injury before his was 21 years-old.
Craig Cloete, among the most talented schoolboy No 8s, was as good a goal kicker as Wallabies lock John Eales. Both Cloete and Eales were bloody good cricketing all-rounders. Some okes just have the balance, in hands, feet, balls and precision, although I doubt Eales could ever braai like Cloete.

Monty is a gem.
I was blessed to write his life story and to celebrate his 102 Tests as the first Springboks Test Centurion in the most beautifully presented and artistic book.
The record-breaking Montgomery
The first Springboks Test Centurion will always the most memorable.
And Bakkies is the original ENFORCER.
Hy is ‘n MENEER.
I was there for his first Test cap against France in Marseilles in 2002, as Springboks Communications Manager, and there for his last Test match for the Springboks in Paris. I was there when the Springboks won the World Cup at the Stade de France in St Dennis, Paris, in 2007. I was there for Bakkies’ last RWC match in in New Zealand in 2011.
I have been blessed to be present to tell his rugby story as the most successful and celebrated player in the history of the sport.
Bakkies has won everything, at club level and Test level, and playing club rugby in the Southern Hemisphere for the Bulls and the Northern Hemisphere for Toulon.

Castle Lager, like Bakkies, has been there forever. And stood the test of time.
Bakkies in numbers and silverware
If you think rugby, friendships, cricket and soccer, you think OLD GUARD and Castle.
My mate Mike Sharman is at the heart of all campaigns Castle Lager, among many others. Retroviral is his baby and it is Africa’s best.
He sent me the campaign and asked if I could post it?
You bet you I can, especially when the Boks are World Champions in XVs, World Champions in 7s and World Champions in under 20s.
Here’s the story but I also want to hear your friendship story.
When this story is posted on SA Rugby Mag’s Facebook page, comment and tell me who and why, and you will win a ‘BOKS BY 10 Macron and Keo & Zels T-shirt and a few other goodies.’
So, as a friendship thank you to – and much love to – Mike Sharman, here goes.
Lifelong connections, bonding over meals, and matching tattoos are some of the quirks that connect the Springboks to their real-life BFFEs
Today sees the launch of Castle Lager’s It’s How We’re Made bite-size, social media, documentary, featuring the best friendships of Springbok Rugby World Cup winners Damian Willemse, Cheslin Kolbe, Ox Nche and their real-life ‘ride or dies’.
30 July is International Friendship Day, a fitting date to launch the brand’s latest Springbok campaign for the upcoming Castle Lager Rugby Championship.
Thomas Lawrence, Brand Director Castle Lager says, ‘South Africans are made differently, and this campaign is a celebration of that.’
He adds, ‘We are so used to seeing the Springboks on our screens as the Herculean athletes that they are, but in the build up to the Castle Lager Rugby Championship, we want South Africa to see how our heroes are truly made.’
Castle Lager is The Taste That’s Stood the Test of Time, made from the finest hops harvested in the Waboomskraal Valley near George, South African sun-kissed barley from Caledon and golden maize.
Lawrence adds, ‘Just like Mzansi’s favourite beer has the best, local ingredients, It’s How We’re Made takes us behind the scrum and backline and illustrates that our Springbok heroes are also made with the finest ingredients and values.
Ox describes this unconditional relationship by saying, ‘It doesn’t matter what, we always have each other’s backs.’
Cheslin’s bestie, Lucian, says, ‘We ended up in the same class and clicked ever since.’
And a highlight of the piece is Damian Willemse describing the matching tattoos shared by himself and his best friend, Sentle, ‘That’s basically him saying don’t worry I got your back!’.